OBS Studio

4.7 (913)
Free Video Editing Solution for Professional Video Creation

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(913)
Value for Money
4.8/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support
4.2/5

96%
recommended this app
Sort by

913 Reviews

Saviour
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A Dynamic Tool for your video streaming preference Plus its "Open Source"

Reviewed on 1/8/2022

Realizing that I can still perform the functions of automation the way I want, I found ease in automation and usability with my team. OBS is a powerful and Dynamic Video tool I can recommend to any similar service provider within the niche. It is simple and consistent, its advanced features are mesmerizing, and its Open Source

Pros

First, I like that Its open source, and with that, it's user-friendly and consistently undergoing integrations to smoothen the user experience.
For advanced users, It serves advanced functionalities even while it is an Open source project
OBS hardly forces shuts down while in runtime.
One of the best features for me is customization. I like that I can tweak my automation with my timelines, to fit my needs.

Cons

Because the product is open source, the latest version upgrade comes with changes in syntax. i.e., Having a lower-third animation function, the commands change with a new update, and it can be difficult to get the product started if you do not visit the developer's forum to follow through with the changes.
If you want to implement most settings/preferences to take effect, you may have to restart OBS, which is normal with most software.

Alternatives Considered

Adobe Premiere Pro and vMix

Reasons for Switching to OBS Studio

Having all the advanced functions in an Open Source software, with the feature of customization to fit my business needs is Gold for me.
T. Ryan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Extremely powerful tool for broadcasting multiple video and audio sources.

Reviewed on 19/5/2021

Overall I think OBS is fantastic. It is a bit kludge-y in certain aspects but I have been using it for about a year and a half now and I can't imagine switching to a different tool. It has been able to handle multiple camera scenarios with ease. I just love it.

Pros

This product allowed me to quickly put together professional "studio grade" composite video scenes that were then easily broadcast to a number of online sites. I used it most frequently with Twitch and it has nicely integrated twitch features, but it can also be used to broadcast to facebook or youtube given that you have things configured correctly. The ability to apply video and audio filters as well as support for a variety of different audio and video formats for inset playback was extremely useful.

Cons

This product has a bit of a DIY flair. For anyone with a background in video editing or audio editing it wont take too long to figure out how to set up a scene and broadcast with OBS. However, the onbaording for new users is virtually non existant. I certainly wouldn't give OBS to someone with little to know technical experience and expect them to be successfull. In today's tech landscape, especially when it comes to streaming there are so many unsophisticated users attempting to get started that I think a few more passes to the UX and UI would be beneficial.

Alternatives Considered

Camtasia, Bandicam Screen Recorder and Snagit

Reasons for Switching to OBS Studio

OBS has much better integrated streaming features that many of the other video / screen capturing products i looked at do not.
Sabiq
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good screen recorder

Reviewed on 15/3/2023

Pros

Free and open-source software.User-friendly interface for recording and streaming.

Cons

RAM usage is little bit high when comparing with others.Limited support for multi-camera setups.

Donna
Overall rating
  • Industry: Cosmetics
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

OBS is great for LiveStreams

Reviewed on 28/8/2020

If I was still streaming on Twitch, I would still be using OBS. I tried Streamlabs after trying OBS but didn't like the way it ran. Too many hiccups .. so I definitely recommend OBS for streaming.

OBS is also REALLY amazing if you want to record a webinar that you are working because it allows you to record your screen.

Pros

I used OBS for streaming on Twitch. I liked that I was able to integrate my own layouts and have them show up on my screen. I also loved being able to change back and forth between scenes.

Cons

OBS is challenging to use. I had to watch several YouTube videos to make sure I was connected correctly. I feel like OBS should come with a user manual to make it easier for tech noobs.

mohamed
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

my experience in OBS Studio

Reviewed on 7/12/2022

In general, it is a really powerful program, and it contains a lot of things and tools that help you in capturing anything, whether for a window and recording it, or for a game, aho for a web page, and recording or creating a broadcast through it. It is really a very special program that offers a lot of advantages

Pros

From my point of view, the advantages of this program are many and different. First, ease of use. Secondly, it can record windows, display devices, capture, game recording, capture audio input and output, has a capture browser, and also has a video capture device and image slideshow, which helps all content creators anywhere. video. Capture the screen to the players or go live and broadcast it live.

Cons

One of the negatives that I encountered when recording games at the highest quality is that it consumes a lot of the processing unit

Chester Dervin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A Comprehensive Review of OBS Studio: Pros and Cons of the Popular Broadcasting Software

Reviewed on 13/3/2023

Pros

OBS Studio is a free and open-source broadcasting software that offers a wide range of customization options and supports multiple platforms, making it a popular choice for streamers and content creators.

Cons

OBS Studio can have a steep learning curve for beginners and may require additional resources or plugins to fully optimize its functionality.

Adam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great for pre-recorded live stream and its free.

Reviewed on 11/3/2023

Pros

Extremly powerful tool for broadcasting multiple video & audio sources. One of my favourite features is multi screen recording and on demand recording. I used it for pre recorded livestreams and it does the job very well. It cost nothing. It`s completly free.

Cons

Very heavy software that using too much of your CPU.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

My experience using OBS studio for my videos

Reviewed on 22/1/2023

Pros

The connections are so easy and efficient.The sound system is also perfect.

Cons

Sometimes, the software freezes for no reason, except you restart the system.

Lesily
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

OBS is for professionals

Reviewed on 13/2/2023

Pros

I can record my PC screen while talking in background. I can pre record classes

Cons

Its complicated for some features, the videos recorded can be too big

sparsh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Reviewing OBS Studio

Reviewed on 23/1/2023

A great feature of OBS Studio is its support for various streaming platforms, including Twitch, YouTube, and Facebook Live. This makes it easy for users to stream to multiple platforms at once, increasing their reach and audience.

Pros

OBS Studio offers a wide range of advanced settings and options, such as video encoding, audio mixing, and custom hotkeys, which allows users to fine-tune their streams to their liking.

Cons

I dont think there's anything that needs to be disliked as its really helpful for me

Giovanna
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Reliable tool for recording and streaming!

Reviewed on 25/9/2019

I have used OBS to successfully stream video gameplay with minimal to no latency or problems. I have also used OBS to record tutorials on how to use different software for work-related projects. Overall, it provided me with exactly what I was looking for.

Pros

I downloaded OBS some years back when streaming was starting to kick off. I considered a handful of different streaming programs, but I keep coming back to this one. OBS works great because it is lightweight and powerful. It doesn't take up a lot of memory space, doesn't create lag or latency and the screen recording delay is minimal. If you are playing a game and streaming, it doesn't slow your FPS (frames per second) rate, and it works great with any decent computer set up out there. If you can run any of the popular games out there, you can run OBS. It works great with Twitch, and it being open sourced means it is a budding streamer's best friend. Simple tools let you manage your screen recordings along with sound, screen transitions, and a captioning option; while providing extra tools that help streamline your projects. With a tool kit that is practical and easy to understand, OBS excels at providing just what you want for your screen recording and streaming needs.

Cons

OBS isn't tailored to any specific use or website. It focuses on general use for streaming and/or screen recording. For this reason, it lacks some of the flash and bang that other streaming software may be able to provide. Although the tools are easy to understand, it's not as intuitive as other programs and may require a little time to learn, especially if you are not familiar with similar software.

Alternatives Considered

iSpring Suite and Bandicam Screen Recorder

Reasons for Switching to OBS Studio

Overall, OBS is affordable (being open sourced), has great updates, and is lightweight while still giving me both screen recording and streaming tools. I found a few other programs didn't perform well, didn't save in the format or resolution I was looking for. I also experienced problems where the audio fell out of sync with the image. I have never had any of these issues while using OBS, which is why it's been my number one, most reliable choice for several years now.
Aaron
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Why didn't I know about this sooner!

Reviewed on 27/5/2021

We had struggled through live streaming using a different studio for several years. We continued to have problems, because with the software we were using they limited us on the quality of the video unless we started to pay a yearly fee. On top of it, we had troubles with bugs in the system. I consulted with other people in our vocation and 90% of them pointed to OBS Studio. Once we started using this software we have never turned back, it was exactly what we needed and it has worked BEAUTIFULLY without any hiccups. We recommend it to everyone who is live streaming their services and concerts.

Pros

For live streaming our services, this has become the most valuable software we have ever used in our church and in recording videos. It was simple to set up, easy to use, and other than the occasional user error in the sound room at our church, we have had ZERO problems with this software.

Cons

There are features that I would love to be able to use on the software, but not having too many technology inclined people in the church has made some of the features for us useless, but that isn't a negative on your part, it just isn't something we can use at this time.

Jason
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Not only FREE but intuitive

Reviewed on 18/11/2022

I absolutely LOVE OBS Studio. It's like a gift from the heavens. It's completely FREE with the option to donate to its development because it is an open source program. All it took to get started was to watch a few how-to videos on YouTube for the setup I was going for and BOOM! We're in business.

Pros

OBS Studio is FREE. Let that sink in. It also does more than other paid software I've used in the past (Bandicam). I can screen record and live stream it to social media platforms. If I need to capture the audio coming out of my Digital Audio Workstation, I simply have to put a plugin called Reastream from ReaPlugs at the end of my master channel to route the audio out of my DAW and into OBS Studio.

Cons

It can be a little tricky to setup how you want it but YouTube has a plethora of how-to videos showing you how to setup OBS Studio in various configurations.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My review of OBS Studio

Reviewed on 3/12/2020

I am very satisfied with this Software and I would recommend it to friend, as it is easy to use and has good audio and video quality.

Pros

I like using this Software while playing games with friends for instance and also my fiancée started using it to record her Spanish lessons, without any prior knowledge of this Software or any intro from me, so I can confirm that this Software is really user friendly and that anyone can use it with ease.

Cons

It would be nice to have a little intro for new users, who never used this Software before and who don't know that they need to Setup the Scene and add every Source one by one and configure the device which is being used by that Source.

Gift
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Video Live Streaming Software

Reviewed on 11/4/2022

It is there when I need it the most, the in-the-moment recording of my digital journeys.

Pros

For me, it was the multi-tasking screen recording facet inside the software. There are 2 screens which records the videos upon installing this and that helps a lot to double record, in case the other one screws up. Also, it was easy to learn all the buttons and easy to navigate esp for beginners like me back then. The app records in the background with no fuss at all.

Cons

Probably the amount of time I have to research and learn the software but after that, everything is easier.

Sean
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The go-to for broadcast management!

Reviewed on 31/5/2019

I stream on Twitch.tv as a side-gig and OBS is my go-to program. Its easy to use and free. Managing subscribers can seem like an overwhelming task for someone new to the business/hobby but with OBS its simple and free.

Pros

- OBS is an extremely easy to use program, very intuitive.
- OBS makes managing subscribers and donations easy and simple
- Being a free program, you cant beat that.
- There are loads of tutorials online where you can learn some very cool things.

Cons

- When first managing your subscriptions it can seem overwhelming but that is just a fleeting feeling that soon fades with experience.

Alternatives Considered

FreshBooks and Zoho Subscriptions

Reasons for Switching to OBS Studio

There was a plethora of easy to follow tutorials online and after watching just a couple I had the confidence to handle my subscriptions easily.
Casey
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best streaming software on the market

Reviewed on 31/10/2019

At the time I switched over to OBS, I was using the now defunct "Adobe Flash Media Live Encoder" (a mouthful). OBS was a massive improvement over existing streaming applications for a multitude of reasons.

FMLE was showing it's age (and lack of support). XSplit was a heavyweight when it came to hardware requirements. And other software on the market was obscure and occupied the same space as XSplit.. only XSplit did it better.

And then came OBS. Free, lightweight, open source. It was fantastic. I've never used another streaming app since.

Pros

Well for one, obviously the price tag- can't go wrong with free. But not only is it free, it's lightweight and simple. I've taught many people how to stream using OBS.

Cons

The interface can be a bit of a pain to use. It's a little too simple in my opinion. Some more functionality baked into the main UI could go a long way. This is mostly solved with the "Streamlabs OBS" version, which is built on top of OBS.

Honestly it's been a while since I had to use the profile functionality, but admittedly it was a bit lacking when I did have to use it.

Alternatives Considered

XSplit Broadcaster

Switched From

XSplit Broadcaster
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

OBS Studio is the best Free Computer Screen Recording Software

Reviewed on 13/7/2022

At first I could not understand the settings of OBS Studio, but after practicing it several times, doing live broadcasts, adding effects and adjusting settings each time, I was able to get an excellent experience from it, it is enough that it is free and offers very high quality sound and picture

Pros

Yes, there are many programs that offer screen recording, but the problem is that some of them are free and paid and the free programs do not contain enough features to inspire you to use them, so I will shorten the topic for you and tell you about the wonderful OBS Studio program that contains features that I love and use a lot on my device and all of this Open source and free
An easy-to-use and flexible program that offers you high-quality audio and video, and does not take up much space on the device as it is very light and does not pose any weight on weak devices, and supports live broadcasting on more than 20 different platforms, before saving the broadcast, you can also use various video editing tools to edit it.
One of the features that I liked and used a lot is the feature of adding audio filters directly during broadcasting without the need to use external programs, in addition to the presence of many filters for image improvement, color correction, and others.

Cons

Sometimes while doing a live stream with OBS Studio, the stream gets stuck from minute to minute, after which it goes back to working fine
There is also difficulty in the beginning to adjust the settings, but after practice you will get used to it

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

One of the best free recording and streaming software

Reviewed on 30/9/2021

When making videos for YouTube OBS make it less stressful by reducing additional editing steps. This is because the scene can be set prior to recording by OBS' editing features.

Pros

OBS Studio is free, cross platform (Windows, Mac and Linux) and open-sourced. This makes it more transparent in terms of security. And also there is a powerful community of developers backing the project which means that more features are added regularly and fewer bugs.

The software has got some awesome features packed inside a decent and optimal user interface. Users can highly customize their scenes with text, images, videos, webcams, display or window captures etc. Also users can add unlimited number of scenes and switch between them seamlessly while recording or streaming.

The audio mixer is so simple yet powerful with features like noise suppression, gain etc. The layout of the interface could be rearranged or undocked out of the main window to use on a separate window space. The recordings can be saved in multiple formats and settings. Customizable hotkeys could be used to arrange shortcuts.

When it comes to streaming, OBS allows hassle-free streaming across popular platforms. Account set up is easy and the streaming quality adjusts automatically based on the connection speed.

Availability of a powerful API for integration with numerous plugins and scripts makes it more versatile and functional. Video conferencing could be made more interactive with video input from OBS Studio virtual cam tool. There are various filters available for videos like cropping, masking, color keying to remove backgrounds etc.

Cons

When it gets to settings and advanced adjustments in some features, most people gets confused with the technical terms and values. It is always better not to mess with the default values.

On some devices there is a problem the with the screen recording that it becomes completely black. This can be solved by adjusting the system's graphics settings.

Stacey
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Customized streaming solution on a budget.

Reviewed on 31/1/2021

OBS provides an excellent way to either stream live demonstrations of software to YouTube, including voice-over audio, picture in picture to provide a talking head view in the corner of the stream. Recording streams allows for editing and uploading video compilations to multiple streaming platforms.

Pros

Integrates well with most common streaming platforms from YouTube to Facebook, Twitch and others. Simple user interface allows for quickly getting up and running with streaming or even screen capture. Support for multiple platforms allows for hosting streaming from Linux, Windows and MacOS. The interface is consistent between platforms. Supports both streaming and recording, both individually and simultaneously. Embed picture in picture, picture in video, video in video. Overlay text, graphics or a number of sources controlling placement and visibility. Inputs support webcams, screen capture including window or selection based. Capture game output as well as software demonstrations useful for tutorials as well as demonstrations, all live. Multi-track audio control so you can switch between audio tracks as well as overlay multiple audio tracks, adjusting volume and mix levels. Commercial support available through StreamLabs Prime for a low monthly fee.

Cons

Does not support streaming to multiple destination streaming platforms simultaneously unless you have the commercial StreamLabs Prime version. Does not have built-in support for sharing a source input. There are technical methods to do both streaming to multiple streaming destinations through use of the command-line open source tool ffmpeg. You could also split an input source using ffmpeg and use it to feed multiple copies of OBS to stream to multiple destination streaming platform simultaneously, but that method is complicated if you are not familiar with ffmpeg.

Paul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Filled With Customization Options

Reviewed on 21/1/2021

Great system with great flexibility and customization options. Serves all needs I have, or at the very least, can be used with other systems to achieve the same end. I would strongly recommend.

Pros

I went with OBS due to the ability to simultaneously steam and record video content, which not many of the free apps allow for. Beyond this, the system allows for multiple sources merged into a single output, with the ability to incorporated a near unlimited number of other apps, browser sources, etc. The quality of the output is good, with great customization options to get the best result based on your systems ability, as well as the ability to swap between encoders to best utilize your system resources.

Cons

I would approve of a few additional built-in customizations. For example, additional transitions between sources would be advantageous, multiple stream outputs to various services, or the ability to better manage audio (in regards to what OBS picks up, in which it could have a built-in multiple channel option for desktop audio, rather than capture all desktop audio by default). While these can certainly be fixed with 3rd party apps and hardware, having them built-in would be advantageous.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Streaming for the masses

Reviewed on 23/8/2018

I use OBS as a recording and streaming for personal, freelance work, and volunteer work.

Pros

OBS is an extremely capable piece of broadcasting software capable of anything from basic recordings to broadcasting on platforms such as Twitch.tv, YouTube, Facebook, or even to a custom streaming server. Configuring OBS is very easy for beginners, with many basic configuration options and even a setup wizard to help you get stream settings configured in minutes. However, if you are an advanced user, there are many options for setting up recording, ingest settings, audio, and hotkeys. Because of the wide range of configuration available in OBS, anything from basic screen capture to professional-level broadcasting using multiple scenes, video sources, and effects are possible. Because of the popularity of OBS, there exists an abundant supply of tutorials, guides, and user support that will help resolve any issues you may encounter when configuring and using OBS.

Cons

OBS is still currently being developed, so there may be some features that are not implemented or minor bugs. Because of these issues, OBS may not be the best tool for critical applications compared to similar, paid programs. Additionally, the open source nature of the product means that there is not an official support channel to go to for proper, professional assistance.

Brian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Streaming Software on the market

Reviewed on 6/3/2021

I have a great time using OBS it allows me to stream every day without hitch or spending a dime it's a great software to use.

Pros

OBS provides me with literally the best tools for streaming and because it's open-source everyone uses it to build great streaming programs with it.

Cons

sometimes different forks of obs have issues that cause problems with other plugins so I avoid testing unverified plugins and forks.

Jenna
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great For First-Time Streamers, Okay For Veteran Streamers

Reviewed on 26/7/2019

I've used OBS for the past several years, and while it's a great piece of software that helps you stream on Twitch and YouTube, it does have some pretty big flaws. One being if you don't have an up-to-date, in other words "newer", computer that can handle this software eating up your memory/RAM while streaming, be prepared for any possible computer crashes that will potentially happen.
I've since moved on to software named "Streamlabs OBS", which is still technically OBS but I found it didn't crash my computer as often. For what reason, I have no clue. But just to be safe, I won't be using regular OBS on my new computer just yet.

Pros

OBS has great streaming quality and a fairly easy set-up when it comes to the layout of your streams. Layering webcams, backgrounds/borders (if any), images, and notifications to name a few! It makes you feel very at home and eased into streaming, especially if you've never streamed before and are a little overwhelmed at what the process might entail.

Cons

My biggest gripe with this is is that it's not good for older computers. On an older computer that may still run Windows 7 (unless you did the upgrade, but it will still have this problem), OBS takes up so much memory/RAM to the point where if you have anything else running at the same time, it's only a matter of time before your system crashes and restarts.
A system more updated in the past few years, or even just a gaming computer system will give you a better and smoother stream, but most people can't afford this kind of luxury. It's disappointing to say the least, but for someone like me that does like to stream, it was worth the money to upgrade to a newer system and start to do more streams.

Stefano
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best tool for recording your screen

Reviewed on 23/10/2018

I use OBS almost on a daily basis for work, and even more often for personal purposes. At first I had some trouble setting it up, but after a few minutes it's really straightforward. I can now record my entire screen in its original resolutions, with no watermarks, completely for free. Honestly

Pros

The product is completely free, with no limitations. You can immediately start recording from multiple sources at once, with a fairly nice amount of customization in terms of the options you have. File formats, encoding, streaming, and so on. You can also create your own shortcuts to start streaming/recording. More functionalities are also available for users who need more control.

Cons

Shortcut seem not to always work on the first hit, and some users might find it difficult to use the more advanced functions. Sometimes records a blank screen when trying to record over videogames or other programs running in borderless fullscreen.