OBS Studio

4.6 (635)
Free Video Editing Solution for Professional Video Creation

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(635)
Value for Money
4.9/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support
4.2/5

96%
recommended this app

635 Software options

Roya R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Recorder and Broadcaster's Homeland: OBS Studio, the Free Resource

Reviewed on 19/8/2020

OBS Studio is the successor to the original Open Broadcaster Software (OBS) application, delivering a lot of serious Quality of Life benefits to the software and allowing for a more Professional Grade look while also not having nearly as many problems as the original OBS suffered from; while OBS Studio suffered in its earlier years because many of those who adopted to this from the original OBS were on noticeable lower end hardware (such as myself), the performance handicaps that it suffered from have only dissipated over time as computer hardware evolved and allowed for more accessibility; now plentiful games, applications, and videos that were attempted to be recorded and/or aired using the software five years ago are noticeably easier to run now and that is essential towards the future of its life going forward.
In 2016, I personally used OBS Studio to get back into Live Broadcasting, with me even recording the first and only North American commentary of Star Cruiser (Sharp X68000) on the application in July of 2019, and with the improvements that have come as it evolved, I can easily recommend OBS Studio to anybody getting into any form of Yellow Collar work; it may require some messing around with the settings to optimize certain projects, but the end result will always pay off far better than anticipated, it's not often that one finds free resources such as this and OBS Studio will forever remain on your person if you need to record or go on the air without a hitch.

Pros

~ Virtually Lossless recording quality when capturing footage locally in any available framerate and resolution provided by the software.
~ Plentiful visual effects and the ability to layer multiple images and clips allows for a Broadcast Quality and Professional Grade template and appeal for any project or Live airing.
~ Customization of User Interface themes allows for proper Eye Care when in Dark Mode.
~ Users of the software who are running an Intel CPU that has QuickSync will see a reduced load on their Graphics Card by about 05% to help improve performance and stability in GPU~intensive workloads.

Cons

~ RAM consumption is high and not meant for modern systems with 016 GB or less without the proper CPU and Graphics Card combo.
~ Users who have a CPU and Graphics Card with a low core/thread/pipeline count, frequency, and VRAM can expect noticeable framerate dips and massive performance instabilities, especially when using hardware that is running on older architectures.
~ Footage may occasionally get inexplicably cropped Horizontally when imported into Vegas Pro and other video editing software for Post~Production.
~ Not fully compatible with all forms of Video Capture devices, Webcams, and Professional Grade Cameras (though there are workarounds for some forms of hardware).

John M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

OBS is great for streaming and recording!

Reviewed on 4/9/2019

Overall, using OBS has been a really good experience. Once you begin to learn the ropes and get an understanding of what the terms mean and the ways that they can affect streams and recordings, it becomes a very valuable tool for content creation that streamlines a lot of the finer details of a streaming and recording setup and allows one to focus on making content.

Pros

OBS is software that really helped to make my streams and recordings really simple to manage.
I stream and record most of my gameplay from Xbox One and with OBS I am able to use a simple set up to add personality and flair to my streams. I can also integrate OBS into my operation to stream to places such as YouTube, FaceBook, and Twitch using overlays which aren't provided natively by the Xbox One console which really helps one to stand out amongst other streamers. Set up is relatively easy because the OBS software has features that can detect what you have available and set itself up based on the specifications that it detects.
When it comes to recording, using the capture software allows me to add overlays and things such as watermarks to content as it records as well as set up audio options such as microphones and the levels of audio that it records.
Getting help is quite simple since there are many forums and other ways to find information and tips online as well as turotials provided by the developers themselves.

Cons

What I liked the least about this software was probably trying to understand what some of the options would do once I began to explore the program and options that it offers. Being new to streaming at the time, it was more or less a problem not having a good understanding of how to set things up overall.
Once I spent some time browsing forums and the other sources of help regarding OBS, I found that it was pretty easy to understand how to adjust things as I needed to.

Christopher G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Inexpensive solution to your streaming video production needs

Reviewed on 10/3/2021

We use the OBS box as a headend for an RTMP stream. Using OBS gave us far more control over the output to the streaming site, including the ability to transition from various sources and add overlays to the outgoing video.

Pros

Wide variety of features and effects. Highly customizable. Active development team and user forums group. In latest version, OBS output can be configured as a virtual web camera compatible with popular video conferencing software. OBS is also a highly effective for recording desktop presentations or walkthroughs.

Cons

The learning curve is very steep. Documentation is available but is written for the tech savvy. Certain esoteric bugs are long standing and have not been fixed necessitating workarounds.

Alternatives Considered

XSplit Broadcaster

Reasons for Choosing OBS Studio

We were using a BoxCast digital encoding rig to stream a daily student run television show. Using OBS we were able to return the hardware box and set up out own RTMP streaming system using left over hardware from the tech lab.

Reasons for Switching to OBS Studio

OBS is free, which we found appealing. The feature set for both Xsplit and OBS were essentially the same.
Tyler F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerful, free encoder that anyone can use

Reviewed on 11/5/2020

This is by far the best free streaming software out there. Works will nearly all hardware and streaming platforms. Needs hardware with a lot of CPU (or GPU) but works well when it gets them.

Pros

OBS is an incredibly powerful live streaming (and recording) x264 encoder software with a feature set that rivals some of the biggest names in the space - but all open source, and completely free. The breadth of production capabilities is impressive, including overlays, source/camera switching, source mixing, media file playback, and much more. OBS also has direct integrations with many popular hardware devices and streaming platforms, making setup quick and easy.

Cons

Occasionally we have found performance to be an issue, where even on the heftiest hardware the encoding process will still max out resources or drop frames. In addition, it can sometimes be difficult to find certain settings and features (intuitiveness), but this is also rare. Better formal documentation would be helpful, though usually asking a question in the forums will bring a helpful answer.

Alternatives Considered

Wirecast and XSplit Broadcaster

Reasons for Switching to OBS Studio

Open source, price
Stacey B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Customized streaming solution on a budget.

Reviewed on 31/1/2021

OBS provides an excellent way to either stream live demonstrations of software to YouTube, including voice-over audio, picture in picture to provide a talking head view in the corner of the stream. Recording streams allows for editing and uploading video compilations to multiple streaming platforms.

Pros

Integrates well with most common streaming platforms from YouTube to Facebook, Twitch and others. Simple user interface allows for quickly getting up and running with streaming or even screen capture. Support for multiple platforms allows for hosting streaming from Linux, Windows and MacOS. The interface is consistent between platforms. Supports both streaming and recording, both individually and simultaneously. Embed picture in picture, picture in video, video in video. Overlay text, graphics or a number of sources controlling placement and visibility. Inputs support webcams, screen capture including window or selection based. Capture game output as well as software demonstrations useful for tutorials as well as demonstrations, all live. Multi-track audio control so you can switch between audio tracks as well as overlay multiple audio tracks, adjusting volume and mix levels. Commercial support available through StreamLabs Prime for a low monthly fee.

Cons

Does not support streaming to multiple destination streaming platforms simultaneously unless you have the commercial StreamLabs Prime version. Does not have built-in support for sharing a source input. There are technical methods to do both streaming to multiple streaming destinations through use of the command-line open source tool ffmpeg. You could also split an input source using ffmpeg and use it to feed multiple copies of OBS to stream to multiple destination streaming platform simultaneously, but that method is complicated if you are not familiar with ffmpeg.

Paul S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Filled With Customization Options

Reviewed on 21/1/2021

Great system with great flexibility and customization options. Serves all needs I have, or at the very least, can be used with other systems to achieve the same end. I would strongly recommend.

Pros

I went with OBS due to the ability to simultaneously steam and record video content, which not many of the free apps allow for. Beyond this, the system allows for multiple sources merged into a single output, with the ability to incorporated a near unlimited number of other apps, browser sources, etc. The quality of the output is good, with great customization options to get the best result based on your systems ability, as well as the ability to swap between encoders to best utilize your system resources.

Cons

I would approve of a few additional built-in customizations. For example, additional transitions between sources would be advantageous, multiple stream outputs to various services, or the ability to better manage audio (in regards to what OBS picks up, in which it could have a built-in multiple channel option for desktop audio, rather than capture all desktop audio by default). While these can certainly be fixed with 3rd party apps and hardware, having them built-in would be advantageous.

Christopher H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The only screen recording app you need

Reviewed on 28/5/2020

I am an artist and designer and have recorded many time lapse videos, as well as art process videos, wherein I record my screen. That is just scratching the surface too, you can take it so much further. Screen in screen, switching on the fly from one screen to another for live broadcasting, custom overlays and inserts, the list goes on and on! This software is free and incredible. I cannot recommend it enough!

Pros

OBS Studio is amazing. First of all it's FREE. But quite honestly it is my go-to for screen recording over my built-in Quicktime screen recorder (on Mac) because of the versatility, quality control, ability to customize, and so many more features.

Cons

It can be complicated at first, but there are plenty of online tutorials and guides to get you up and running quickly.

Alternatives Considered

Camtasia

Reasons for Choosing OBS Studio

I switched from using my computers inherent screen recorder (Apple Quicktime) to OBS Studio because I wanted more control over what I was recording and how I was recording it. OBS did NOT disappoint and in fact gave me more than I could have even imagined.

Reasons for Switching to OBS Studio

Honestly PRICE was a huge motivator, but unlike other situations, OBS wasn't stripped down and just a basic free app, it was just as robust as you could have hoped for with a paid app. Plus there is a huge devoted community to OBS as well.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Best Software to do a Professional Produced Broadcasting

Reviewed on 7/5/2021

Pros

I like the ease that this program has in all the settings and all the tools that it has, it is perfect for all the users, from the newest user to the most professional user.

First of all, if you're a new user, you have a really simple new useful tool that scans your pc components and your internet connection to do the better configuration for you.

In the case that you be a professional in broadcasting or video production, you have open possibilities in this software because there are a lot of plugins on the internet to modify a lot of things inside the software, at last but not less important, it is an open software and you can do anything that you need to do in this software.

Cons

So, sincerely I didn't find any cons in this software because is perfect for all the users and I appreciate all the things that could be done in this software.

Alternatives Considered

XSplit Broadcaster

Reasons for Switching to OBS Studio

Because OBS Studio is the most perfect thing that I have ever seen.
Melody kay C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Free streaming software, with the features of a paid one!

Reviewed on 12/4/2021

We use OBS Studio for live streaming of our church services every Sunday. It has allowed us to provide multiple views and scenes, and to insert scrolling text, our church logo, etc --- all of these we used to not be able to do when we were streaming directly from Facebook

Pros

OBS Studio has been our go-to streaming software ever since because it is FREE, first of all. There are so many features and functionalities in OBS that you'd feel like a professional when you use it for streaming. It is also very widely used that it's easy to get support for issues we encounter.

Cons

It's not that easy to learn how to use it if you're not tech-savvy. It would require a number of times of use to get used to it.

Avery M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

PERFECT for first time streamers and Long Time streamers

Reviewed on 2/1/2021

During the pandemic, I decided to start live streaming. OBS was the first program that was suggested for me to use. I think it helped me become more creative with my streaming capabilities, and it allowed me to stream with confidence. Definitely an A1 software.

Pros

The simplistic overlay was something that impressed me the first time I used OBS. The layout was easy enough to understand. I did watch a tutorial to figure out what everything does, but in the end it was very easy to grasp. For first time streamers, this will probably be your Go-To program besides Streamlabs, and I recommend this before ANYTHING. OBS makes streaming possibilities a reality, and with it's inclusion to upload templates from Stream Elements, it's simple to drag and create the best outlay for your streaming needs!

Cons

There were plenty of times where my video output would not work, or my audio microphone decides to not come through. It became frustrating at times, and I would have to restart the program to hope that it works again. Most times it did indeed fix itself, but there were times where it would not work for me.

David W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Highly functional open-source video producer

Reviewed on 13/9/2020

Overall, OBS is a great option ESPECIALLY for a non-profit with budget limitations.

Pros

OBS functions on a much higher level than one would expect from a free software. The ease of using scenes combined with the ability to layer elements in each scene makes OBS one of the most recommended softwares for video streaming among free and paid options. OBS gets the job done.

Cons

OBS has some infrequent issues with losing setup details and losing audio / video sync that seem to be related to allowing the software to "idle" for too long. We have resolved almost all of those issues by not bringing the software up until we are within 10 minutes of streaming.

Alternatives Considered

Vimeo Livestream
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

OBS Studio is one of the best streaming software

Reviewed on 17/6/2021

my overall experience with obs studio is that it's one of the best streaming programs i have ever used also it provides me many features to add on my stream to make it more enhanced

Pros

what i like most about obs studio is that it helps me streaming with 1080 60 fbs its an awsome streaming software

Cons

what i like least about obs that it got some problems when streaming with low-end pc so it keeps lagging and keeps dropping fbs

Austin H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

I love using OBS, and here's why..

Reviewed on 18/3/2020

I have loved my experience with OBS, I use it every day to record my videos for youtube, and i will always use it!

Pros

OBS is a great way to record and stream your gameplay or just capture your screen. Some pros about OBS is the fact that its free, you can't go wrong with something that's this good, and free. It works great and has a lot of features!

Cons

Some cons about OBS, is the fact that you have to configure the settings to your liking, and for some people that could be difficult.

Rose C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Cosmetics
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

OBS is wonderful

Reviewed on 20/1/2020

OBS is wonderful. My husband and i both use it and we cant be happier. Its so easy to use and gives use the ease to stream and do podcasts. Sometimes obs can act up depending on the update they do, but once they fix it, usually within 24-48 hours, its back to normal. I highly recommend obs software for all your streaming and broadcasting needs.

Pros

I like obs because it gives you the ease of wanting to broadcast or stream without to much of a hassle.

Cons

Every once in a while when obs has a software update, it does tend to have a couple of bugs from not working to stuttering for streaming. Other than that, there is nothing else i dislike about obs.

Tyler C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

OBS is great for streaming on PC

Reviewed on 14/3/2019

I've used OBS on and off for multiple years with streaming. I stream mainly video games but it's been great for other things I've streamed to friends. It's got great features to tie into Twitch, as well as many streaming assistance platforms have plugins for OBS. I've never had any software related issues with it, even with Daily use for around (3) months. It did exactly what I needed it too, and even allowed me to setup a very nice green screen behind me for better quality streaming with ease.

Pros

- Easy to use once you understand it
- Tons of guides online
- Awesome plugins to popular streaming platforms

Cons

- Looks a bit dated
- Can be confusing with layers / layouts if you don't look up guides

Justin R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Best Option for the budget! It's Free!

Reviewed on 15/4/2021

This is a great product to use for streaming and recording. I love finding the new features that they add every update.

Pros

It's always being updated and it is free. There are so many features that keep getting added. I love how it is easy to use.

Cons

I had some some trouble with the updates. It will freeze and shutdown occasionally. Once the bugs are worked out then they usually fix it. I want an easier to use projector feature also.

Alternatives Considered

ProPresenter, Ecamm Live and vMix

Reasons for Switching to OBS Studio

Free and versatile features
Keziah M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great screen recording when you are on a budget

Reviewed on 19/8/2021

It's free and quite easy to use once you know your way around it.

Pros

The first time we were able to Go live we used this software and we loved how easy it is to go live with it and still record the session.

Cons

It can take a bit of time to set up things on the back end which needs a lot of patience, but once it's up and running it gets really smooth and easier.

Desi A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Streaming at it's best.

Reviewed on 29/12/2018

OBS is the best if you are new streaming or even a long time veteran. Having different options at the power of your own creativity.

Pros

Everything about this software is amazing. The ability to use different streaming platforms for output, the customization for scene inputs. Getting your stream to the right theme is a big plus.

Cons

At first, it is a hard software to understand. Getting the right output settings based off of your own ISP speeds and computer specifications. Once you figure out that learning curve, you will be streaming in no time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A powerful tool for users looking to livestream

Reviewed on 3/12/2019

OBS is the base software for livestreaming, and its status as an open-source solution for broadcasting makes it one of the most important pieces of software to study when building a livestream setup. It is not easy to learn, but unlocks a very large list of potential applications when it is learned.

Pros

- Open source software base, meaning free to use and highly customizable
- Wide userbase providing support, add-ons and technical guidance

Cons

- Intimidating and hard to learn for unfamiliar users
- Requires technical specs that may not always be feasible for livestreaming

Alternatives Considered

XSplit Broadcaster

Reasons for Switching to OBS Studio

Price and open-source support
Caleb B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Power features for multiple use cases

Reviewed on 15/11/2018

OBS allows us to live stream professional events, webinars, and screen recordings in the simplest ways possible via all the major streaming platforms. It has also enabled us to create quality tutorial videos by allows us to record our screens and save it on a local drive.

Pros

The best feature of OBS was one I didn't expect: High quality screen recording. You can save recordings locally and control the quality settings or other overlays/transitions in real time. In addition, OBS makes streaming from multiple sources a cinch. Easily superimpose multiple screens or feeds all at once, have multiple audio sources, and multiple "scenes" to transition between. It's professional software that entry level users will benefit from, too.

Cons

Besides a small learning curve, there's nothing negative about OBS--it is feature rich while maintaining a simple interface.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to start, good advanced option to dive deeper

Reviewed on 9/9/2018

Pros

I use this to stream to Twitch. It's easy to use right out of installing, but if you want to dive deeper and set bitrates and more to tweak your quality, it's easy to go through the options and tweak what's needed. There was a hiccup a year or two ago where updates would cause problems, but that was a while ago and I haven't had any troubles in a long time. Very easy to use to get streaming (or even just recording your screen to a local file). Highly recommended!

Cons

If you're not familiar with bitrates and resolution and knowing what works well with your connection speed, it can be a little daunting to get a reliable stream with good quality (more so the lower your internet speed is), But doing a quick search for the best settings for your speed is a good starting place to see what to set.

Sean M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Open Broadcaster Software review

Reviewed on 19/4/2019

Obs is a technical and effective tool to make high quality content

Pros

Free no ads no scams just software like it should be. OBS or Open Broadcast software is a free software to encode and recording a variety of different things from a game and facecam to a presentation with effects

Cons

Its very technical you need some base knowledge to configure it to your likeing but overall it just works because of the community that supports and helps solve its problems

Jeremy B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Record, stream, present. OBS does it all

Reviewed on 17/7/2019

Pros

OBS was created and is primarily intended for use as a way to stream video games to sites such as twitch. It also has great business value as a screen recording software with the ability to add things like filters, text and adjusting of audio levels. You can record and also stream making it ideal for many uses.

Cons

Sometimes it crashes or freezes, as does most software

Betssy M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

OBS STUDIO THE BEST SCREEN RECORDER

Reviewed on 28/4/2021

In the beginning I doubted whether this would work out or not. But gradually when I started exploring more and more, the toughest of my tasks was made easier with the help of this software.

Pros

Its completely free, user friendly and efficient. The best live streaming software I have ever used. It provides options for customisation which helps to create high quality videos for company promotions and presentations. It can be used for live streaming in almost all the social media platforms, which is the best feature because I don't have to search for other applications for live streaming in other social media platforms. It allows you to manage multiple scenes, add custom transitions, create hotkeys, etc. It has made the virtual life during the pandemic a much easier task.

Cons

Getting started and educating yourself is a bit difficult task, but then once you get started you will never back off.

Matthew R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A great and easy way to record or live stream

Reviewed on 25/6/2019

With OBS I am able to do my live streams to all my friends and family and reach out to new people.

Pros

Easy to use and not very complicated to set up.

Cons

It can be slow and stream quality can be low and drop out depending on your internet connection.