Compliance & CE

4.7 (289)
Cloud-based learning management system (LMS)

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(289)
Value for Money
4.6/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Support
4.7/5

97%
recommended this app
Sort by

289 Reviews

MOHAMMAD
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

excellent

Reviewed on 19/6/2018

Pros

for me this software is very useful ,as per our user's & including me we are not face any problems of this software so easy & our exp is excellent cause i am using this software more than 10 years,easy to use any one .

Cons

i would like to thanks your software team because they did wonderful job for your IT team ,i am using this software more than 10 years and never face any problems of your software,especially after finish the course & get the exam & get the certificate & your valuable survey.

Annamarie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great learning tool! I just found the Course Builder a little confusing at first, but am...

Reviewed on 2/10/2017

Con Ed learning
We have built our training modules in the Course Builder
We have also set up our yearly Skills Assessment for all staff using Medialab. We have about 250 staff members in the laboratory.

Pros

There are many topics to choose from. This is also a great Skills Assessment software which we use a lot of at our hospital. All staff are provided a yearly skills assessment.

Cons

The special Histology courses and TM courses are costly.
There are not enough licenses either when we do pay for the extra Histology and TM packages

Doris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Help set up this system in a few labs

Reviewed on 18/6/2018

Pros

Cheap in cost, easy to implement..

Cons

need more ways to organize effectively and efficiently, have the ability to create online forms that can be directed

Lee
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to set up and easy for staff to get used to!

Reviewed on 2/10/2017

Integration of various lab operations and compliance elements

Pros

The price point and features are second to none when looking at similar software and well designed. The diversity of CE's and the overall expertise in their development is keep in staff competency.

Cons

Lack of solid mobile platform can be a down side for more tech savvy staff. Reporting could be a bit more fluid and robust, but it does provide a decent amount of drill down.

Linda
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Medialab reinforces our students with quality courses and excellent cell morphology

Reviewed on 21/6/2018

Increases student comprehension and understanding of courses and cell morphology

Pros

The software enables me to customize courses and cell morphology per student. Courses assigned to students allow them to review questions and materials for review and better comprehension.

Cons

With students taking the courses I would like to see all their scored attempts in one view on a spreadsheet for easier grading of the assignments

Candance
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great tool to use for Document Control, POC Administration, Inspections and CEU's!

Reviewed on 26/9/2017

It really helps with Inspections and keeping up with regulatory requirements.

Pros

The ability to link documents and forms from Document Control to uploaded Inspection checklists. CEU courses are fantastic!

Cons

I can't think of a con, maybe a little more ability for customization of the Compass functions like being able, as an administrator, to waive some requirements that may be redundant.

Gwenn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MediaLab's Compliance and CE package includes the courses our lab staff needs to be compliant.

Reviewed on 26/9/2017

As an administrator, it is easy to create new employee profiles and set them up with the courses they need. You can also easily track their progress and send out emails. I am also a user and take advantage of the clinical courses to keep my ASCP certification current.

Pros

The comprehensive and broad course offerings. I am ASCP certified and must earn 12 CEs every year in hematology, micro, BB, chemistry, lab safety, and HIPAA, all of which available to me and make it easy to keep my certification current. Plus, our lab and New York State requires all lab and admin. staff to have certain CEs per year, so we all use MediaLab.

Cons

Many of the same courses that MediaLab offers reappear each year. The courses are not updated as often as I would like.

peter
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I really like medialab. The courses are wonderful specific summaries of lab topics.

Reviewed on 2/10/2017

I like most technologists find myself working in the same discipline throughout my long storied award-winning illustrious career . Though my memory is sound and I keep abrest off the new exciting developments in clinical technology I still like to broaden my knowledge - expand my horizons, etc etc and the reviews from media lab fit the need.

Pros

You could go back and forth through reviews. Stop at any time and get back to it later, print material out. Also you could take exams three times and the answers were explained. I love that feature. Also it was very easy to do exactly what you wanted to do.

Cons

Nowadays especially with PowerPoint lectures all over the place online, you get use to colorful backgrounds and numerous photos. could use more of them I suppose

Lisa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Makes offering and attaining CE credits super easy!

Reviewed on 26/9/2017

Enables our organization to provide technologists with the required CE to meet regulatory standards.

Pros

Requires ZERO training to begin using provided CE courses. Making customized courses is very easy, and can be edited easily as well. I haven't found anything I don't like about the CE program. The feedback from my company's users is always positive.

Jessica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Makes it wasy to get all my credits in one place with material relevant to my job.

Reviewed on 27/9/2017

I've been able to improve my microscope skills by reviewing gram stains in the microbiology courses and also by using the white blood cell differential simulator. It also allows me to pick subjects that I have more trouble in to focus on my weaker areas. As I don't work as a generalist, it is useful in keeping current with my knowledge and subjects that I'm not using everyday.

Pros

There are wide variety of programs available to use for studying. I'm able to take courses that are relevant to my current job field and to also learn about new technologies that are always emerging. It's also much easier to have your credits in a digital format then having to send everything in the mail.

Cons

The thing I like least about the software is sometimes the pictures for hematology in microbiology questions are too small, leafing to wrong answers. On some phones I've had trouble loading questions that contain blood bank charts.

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Medialab is a great tool for our students, it provides great documentation. It's an excellent...

Reviewed on 2/10/2017

Great documentation and excellent online instruction.

Pros

The automatic credit documented via CE broker is a great feature. The documentation is excellent for our students.

Cons

Some of the photos of the white cells are sub-par. On some of the modules, not enough photos are utilized and some of the images are not clear.

Dee
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

We use this to make sure all of our staff have been trained and remain compliant.

Reviewed on 26/9/2017

Pros

Ease of use! It is very helpful that this site is accessible form anywhere with internet, and not based solely on a PC somewhere.

Cons

My only issue is the time difference between me and Customer Support. I often have questions and they have already gone for the day.

Dana
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Has been awesome for about 15 years now

Reviewed on 27/9/2017

Countless benefits that I've already described in the previous questions.

Pros

Applicability to re-certification for my MLT's and MLS's, and a wide variety of coursework. The price is also attractive and can hold a lot of information that inspectors like to see.

Dana
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I like reading about the subject, and then being quizzed on the materials. It makes learning...

Reviewed on 2/10/2017

A greater understanding of the materials. I also require the MLT students to perform the assigned modules. I REALLY like that MediaLab requires the students to receive a certain percentage correct on their quiz before allowing them to be able to print off their certificate. Then I require the students to upload their certificates for their assignment. The students even state how much they enjoy learning from the MediaLab modules. Thank you!

Pros

The photos and information are very helpful in the learning process. I really like to learn about the materials prior to be tested on the information. The Compliance & CE is of greater value to study up for the ASCP exam, to give me better understanding of the material rather than memorizing the answers to the questions.

Cons

The only bad thing... is that there are not more modules in Body Fluids. I would like to see additional modules for Chemistry... perhaps Kidney Function Tests, Liver Function Tests, Endocrine Tests, Cardiac Tests, Blood Gas Tests, etc.

Sarah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Lab Review!

Reviewed on 14/5/2019

I love this program! I'm able to keep up with CE for my MT certification as well as my employer offers it's own CE courses that are easily kept track of.

Test simulator can be purchased which is a great tool for those taking tests to be certified. Well worth the cost!

Pros

I love that there are endless amount of CE courses are available as reading and tests.

Cons

Not being able to have a default of showing certain dates and being able to change and save it to show every time your on the home page instead of always showing all courses from the lifetime of the account.

Michelle
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

We've used the tutorials and the practice certification exams for several years and love it.

Reviewed on 13/6/2018

Gives students a great review

Pros

From and administrator's point of view, it is very easy to use. I can easily set up the required tutorials and pull the reports to see how the students have done.

Cons

I would like to see more on the analysis portion of the certification exam. Specifically, if a student takes the exam, there would be an option to possibly assign a quiz based on the area that the student was most deficient. Currently, I rely on the student to look at the results and assign themselves another test on just that area.

MARINA
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great website for CE! The testing center was helpful when studying for MLS certification.

Reviewed on 26/9/2017

CE for CM. I also get the ability to keep up knowledge in other areas I rarely work in.

Pros

Great CE! I enjoy the contributors and wide variety of topics. Every area of clinical practice is offered for CE.

Cons

Although the CE is useful, it's limited and it seems the same things are offered continuously. I would like to see new emerging topics. It may be helpful to include topics on new testing platforms. I would also like to see a more interdisciplinary approach to learning by integrating other allied health professions in our learning. I would like to see topics from other professions that relate to our testing. I would also like to see "Spotlights" on different aspects of our profession: combat laboratories, smaller countries testing platforms, odd reference lab testing, etc. I would like to know and learn from more peers about what they do and learn about their tests.

DANIEL
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Our lab uses MediaLab as part of our annual competency assessment program. Excellent offerings.

Reviewed on 14/6/2018

This software is a very important part of our annual competency assessment program for staff and the main source of continuing education credits for staff.

Pros

Wide selection of courses; easy to manage users; relevant content; courses are challenging; the value for the licenses is outstanding, which allows us as an employer to offer high quality CEU opportunities to our staff.

Cons

Microbiology modules are lacking. Engine that enables customers to make customized courses could be a little easier to use.

Erica
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

We use MediaLab to support both faculty and students. The WBC simulator and mock exams are...

Reviewed on 13/6/2018

Pros

Mock exams and WBC simulator. The WBC simulator gives our learners more differential experience without needing additional classroom lab time. This is a huge opportunity.

Cons

Would like some more flexibility within the mock exams for selecting assignments (by specific subject matter, for example ABGs or anemias, etc.) This would allow us to use the mock exam feature throughout the curriculum rather than just at the end of the program.

Philip
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MediaLab provides the best experience in online continuing education!

Reviewed on 29/9/2017

Relevant courses that are helpful in my practice.

Pros

Very easy to use and navigate. I enjoy the abundant topics presented and the course presenters have articulately structured each course for maximum benefit with great content and graphics. There has been no problems with signing up, taking the course, starting and pausing the activity, and then testing. I enjoy that you have both options to have a paper course copy or just follow the online course . I like the review options too. All in all, this is the best program and software for multiple platforms. It is truly an "on the go" continuing education friendly approach to maintaining your goals and keeping abreast of current modalities in Medical Laboratory Science.

cheryl
Overall rating
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

It's so easy to use I can study my continuing Ed from my iPhone

Reviewed on 3/10/2017

Pros

I actually learned from these courses and thoroughly enjoy the graphics. A picture is worth 1000 words and there are lots of pictures as well as text thoroughly explaining everything that you will be tested on.

Cons

There's usually one question in the test that is ambiguous or tricky but most exams have a few test questions that are actually experimental and the majority of questions are very clear-cut / self-explanatory.

Deborah
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Staff is very knowledgeable and responsive to questions

Reviewed on 18/6/2018

Pros

Ease of navigation.
I like to documentation controls modules the most as it allows for tracking of all employee compliance

Cons

I work with physician offices and would like to see a module created to help them a little more. The current software is very for medium to large side. I need licenses for 5 or less.
Would also like a checklist develop for COLA Regulations just like CAP

Benjamin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Biotechnology
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Using Medialab to make our site compliance audit proof.

Reviewed on 27/9/2017

Making my site audit proof and a safer place to work.

Pros

Ease of setup and cost. Also updated when the law updates. We are also able to control trainings that we issue and set up automatic retraining updates.

Cons

I would love a little more research lab centered trainings rather than health care labs. This as cause a little on usage for us as we only do the OSHA trainings for the most part.

Patricia
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great resource for CE and students.

Reviewed on 15/6/2018

Pros

Virtual microscopy is the best thing since sliced bread. Students and those who need refreshing on blood morphology have an excellent way of re-capturing that knowledge.

Cons

The UA Virt microscopy only seems to work with Goggle Chrome. Internet explorer and Safari don't work, but not a deal breaker by any means!

Gail
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

I have had medialab for several years. I like the customer service very much.

Reviewed on 15/6/2018

Pros

1. easy to use
2. transcript capability is great for those MLT/MT who have to keep track of their CEU's and renew every three years.
3. easy to add new employees into the system
4. easy to take to quizzes

Cons

Same quizzes after a few years. I wish there was some best practice methods case studies or evidence based case studies