VEGAS Pro

4.6 (61)
Integrated video and audio editing software

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(61)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support
4.2/5

90%
recommended this app

61 Software options

Bob H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

You are on your own

Reviewed on 4/10/2021

The customer service is so poor that the overall experience is frustrating at best. At worst it costs me money because i can no longer sustain a project session without the software freezing and losing work.

Pros

After years of use and watching a decline in stability update after update, I am saying goodbye and helping people understand there is no after-purchase support with this product from MAGIX.

Cons

Once some of the best video and audio software on the market has become bloated and unusable, glitchy, and unreliable. This is a buy at your own risk software. There is NO support. None. Nada. To even get to a support request you have to click through pages of FAQ and suggestions that are also no help before you can actually submit a support request. After you submit your request there isn't even an automatic email that lets you know your request has been submitted. I have used this software for 20 years...and I am now looking for a more reliable company. Because once you purchase, you are on your own.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Awesome video editing program!

Reviewed on 10/10/2021

In general, it is a very friendly program for someone who is just starting out in the editing world, or if you need it to quickly edit a video.

Pros

It is a very easy to use program, it has a very intuitive interface. Practically it can be used without tutorials, it also has a very large variety of editing tools.It is a very stable program, very few times it has crashed.

Cons

For very few things it is necessary to use external programs.

Eliezer C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Powerfull and Simple Video Editor

Reviewed on 2/12/2019

Vegas' timeline has always been very simple—It allows for speedy editing while not detracting from functionality. Other NLEs' timelines feel clunky (I've use almost every major editor). Rather than holding to firmly to a layout which is over-inspired by outdated linear editing systems, Vegas has always (even since the Sonic Foundry years) been one of the quickest NLE's to learn.

Pros

I love the unique qualities that allow the user to be able to alter and edit video from color to manipulations. With endless ability to get added transitions, and capability to render any way you prefer I think it is a unique user experience that I can't get anywhere else. Best of all? It is easy to learn if you are willing to look up some youtube tutorials. I have used this for years. Get it.

Cons

Some advanced manipulations are difficult, and in regard to free transitions and such, options are slightly limited. I can't say much else is a dislike.

John A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Terrible customer service

Reviewed on 27/9/2021

Before Sony sold it to the new entity, it was a joy to use. Now, I am actually looking to get a different editing software the actually helps its customers.

Pros

The software was easy to use and as I mentioned the learning curve was quite easy. More complex operations required some research but usually the problem at hand was easy to solve and the results were impressive.

Cons

Before it was sold by Sony, it was easy to ask questions and get technical support. Now, it's nearly impossible to get any help or support. Their website is useless when it comes to addressing customer service.

Freddie M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Indie Filmmaker's Best Option

Reviewed on 16/3/2020

Aside from the duration of the rendering, this is the best software out there.

Pros

Sony Vegas is one of those products that only gets better with each function you discover. From magic spells to invisibility cloak to the Infinity Snap, Vegas Pro does it all. Tutorials are so easy to find on many platforms. It's simple enough for even an amateur to understand. It can render in a variety of formats.

Cons

The rendering capacity depends on the computer. Even offline, the rendering can take hours for a two minute video.

Jeff S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Vegas Pro Keeping up with thechnology

Reviewed on 2/6/2021

Vegas has been my go to editor for 15 years. I can customize nearly every option of a render format quickly and easily.

Pros

This is the most intuitive Non-Linear-Editor I've used. What takes several clicks in other editors is a mouse-drag away on the timeline.

Cons

They recently changed ownership, which was not without a few bumps in the road. Thankfully it is all ironed out.

Nicholas C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use, confusing video formats

Reviewed on 4/12/2019

Pros

I liked how there are keyboard shortcuts for tools. The interface is really clean and straight forward.

Cons

Selecting the video format to render can be difficult as some formats/options state 1080p but look really low quality. In order for videos to look higher quality certain advanced settings within specific options needed to be tweaked which was confusing for the average user. I had to follow certain YouTube tutorials in order to render my videos to achieve a level of quality that I was satisfied with.

Edward A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazingly great product for easy editing

Reviewed on 18/5/2021

I have had a very positive experience with Vegas Pro. While it is very expensive, I still believe it is the best video editing tool on the market right now.

Pros

I absolutely love Vegas Pro, and I always recommend it to my friends over other products like Premier Pro since I like how Vegas Pro feels like I can do everything on it and I don't need a bunch of other platforms to help me do the one job, like I feel with Adobe products.

Cons

The price is very expensive for Vegas Pro, so I always try to get it whenever I find it on a steep discount. The initial price offering makes it a little unattractive in my opinion.

Holly H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

VEGAS Pro Review

Reviewed on 16/2/2020

My overall experience with VEGAS Pro has been positive. I highly recommend it.

Pros

I liked that I could create videos such as AMVs with VEGAS Pro.

Cons

Honestly, there was nothing that I didn't like least about this software.

Amberlynn amor E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Friendly Video Editing Software

Reviewed on 14/8/2021

It has the features I need in order to make the project I am making more appealing, and because I find it user friendly, I am able to finish my task with ease.

Pros

The most simplest transition and effects makes a great impact already on the video editing that I had done, it is indeed user friendly and already recommend this software to my friends, it really helps me to be able to finish the task of video editing quite fast.

Cons

The Video Event FX is useful but I always had a hard time navigating it.

David J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Always breaks when updates are being sold

Reviewed on 19/9/2020

Every year it causes enormous frustration and outrage due to having scheduled failures

Pros

I've been using it for almost 10 years and it is very easy to learn and use BUT every time a new version becomes available it stops rendering and saving project files. Contact support and you get told 'We don't support that version anymore, you need to purchase the upgrade if you want support.'

Cons

The fact that it breaks as soon as sony start selling a new version and support wont help unless you purchase the upgrade. It's an unethical scam

John C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Alternative Medicine
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy install

Reviewed on 21/11/2019

Pros

Easy install anyone can do it, easy instructions to read.

Cons

I think the entire thing is great no complaints.

Gustavo S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Professional video editing tool

Reviewed on 17/1/2020

Pros

Sony Vegas is a reference for video making and editing, especially among content creators. It offers a very large set of options and expandable effects library

Cons

Resource intensive and difficult to learn how to properly use many functions. Previous training is highly reccomended.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Training Wheels to a Real Software

Reviewed on 24/5/2020

VEGAS continues to impress as a low-cost option to step into a NLE software suite. However, with free options like Davinci Resolve now on the market, and applications like Final Cut Pro and Adobe Premiere also being on the market, VEGAS is really relegated to simple tasks for the independent content creator.

Pros

VEGAS is one of the least expensive and simplest ways to get into editing software beyond the basic software that comes with your computer or that you can find for free online. We really like that it is based on a one-time purchase, and is not a subscription software that we have to keep renewing.

Cons

We felt very limited in the formats that were supported to edit in, as well as the options for exporting. It feels like the software wants to make decisions easier for you, but hides the crucial minutia of the export window which is frustrating for our editing staff.

Christopher D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the Best Video editors available

Reviewed on 6/12/2019

If you can afford it, you should have it, its pretty easy and powerful, im editing all my videos with it

Pros

It's on of the easiest programs to master, most of its features have a very simple and nature way to function that you instantly know how to use them, like the fade in fade out feature
Completely professional with every feature you ever need from a simple youtuber to a photography studio

Cons

No free version, only free trial
It is only compatible with Windows
Interface while it has some amazing features, it hasn't been changed for a lot of major releases

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great Program just Way to Expensive

Reviewed on 8/6/2021

I really enjoyed the trial I had of Vegas Pro, but again the price of the program was too steep for my pocketbooks. If you have the money then I recommend it.

Pros

I really liked the user interface was really easy to use. If there were questions I had about the features of the product I would search for tutorials on Youtube as I am a visual learning and it helped make the program easier to work with.

Cons

I feel that Vegas Pro although a great program is really overpriced, especially when you have Hit Film Express that does the same editing and the program is free with the exception of buying what you need.

Roya R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Modernization of Local Programming: A Brief Insight on Ten Years with Vegas Pro

Reviewed on 19/8/2020

I have been using Vegas Pro in an official capacity since 2011, with history using it as early as 2008, currently on Version 016 (Build 0352) as of typing: This software has served as the only resource that I and many of those who make up my production team use to produce our local programming, due to its noticeably easy User Interface and extreme ability to be enhanced through Third Party extensions to help keep a user on the same build for many years before having to do a major upgrade; its constant performance and stability improvements with each version and future generations of CPUs, GPUs, and RAM assures that it will continue to see ever more use as it becomes easier and faster to produce even the heaviest of workloads.
Although it is plagued with a plethora of Glitches and Crashes that get fixed as the software matures and CPU/GPU Driver updates arrive, Vegas Pro is significantly more affordable and accessible than Adobe's suite of software and other relevant competition, having far more community support than most other platforms; optimized for Intel and AMD's modern era Sixteen+ Core CPUs and AMD's Vega II GPUs, anybody can build a High End Desktop for less than 2000$ USD and see effective results with Vegas Pro for many years to come, media producers such as myself can develop local programming without having to upgrade an HEDT system for a good while and we'll still get the most out of the software, it is ageless and will continue to deliver a powerful impact.

Pros

~ Significant levels of Ease of Access for multiple media file types of many ages and forms.
~ Expansive resource set to allow for more Extensions, Special Effects, and Scene Transitions to help mature and evolve the software's capabilities.
~ Support for High Framerate footage and countless forms of Colour Profiles.
~ Usable on virtually every possible Desktop or Laptop hardware combination over the past matter of decades.

Cons

~ The Digital Version does not come with an expansive Instruction Manual to understand how to use every effect, specifically in regards to Third Party resources that can be added during the life of the application's run.
~ Massive amounts of inexplicable Glitches and Crashes (though many can be fixed through manual tweaking and official Bugfix builds).
~ Occasional Requirement to reinstall QuickTime after select major firmware updates of Windows.
~ Critical issues with RAM consumption (specifically Committed Memory) when using media assets of a certain codec or a resolution that is significantly higher than the Project Size.
~ Heavy dependency on OpenCL favours AMD's Compute~based Graphics Cards over Nvidia's Graphics~based cards (though this may be beneficial for PC builders on a tighter budget).

Ivan I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The tool for all video editors

Reviewed on 2/11/2019

I had a great time using Vegas Pro. It was easy on the RAM of my PC and fun to play around with. I like it more than Premiere Pro.

Pros

Sony Vegas Pro has an extremely large set of tools that professional editors can use for their projects. It's user friendly UI makes the workflow go smooth without any complications. It even has built-in tutorials for most tools that users can experiment and try out new features.

Cons

Extremely expensive piece of software and takes a lot of time to master. Cannot make projects with FPS lesser than 12.

Melanie B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Epic softwear for everyone

Reviewed on 11/6/2021

It makes my videos look extremely professional. I love how easy it is to use and it saves back ups without any questions. That has saved my project a lot.

Pros

-Easy to use
-User friendly
-Backs up projects with no questions
-Has many specials effects to use
-Has many different formats to export

Cons

-Expensive
-Can crash
-Can take a while to render
-So much stuff it can be hard to pick what to use

Najib A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Textiles
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Your video with Vegas pro

Reviewed on 28/5/2021

I started to create videos with vegas pro knowing nothing about it, i learned to master tools easily in less time, first because it lets you crop,split and even combinefootage with just few clicks of the mouse, seconde it providing various filters and visual effects.

Pros

Easy to handle ,does not affect your pc, if you are beginner it will help you learn step by step, and if you are professional then this is the ideal tool to improve your skills.

Cons

The video takes a long time to extract, but the solution was very easy just to configure the output.

Rafay A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Effective for professional video editing

Reviewed on 21/4/2021

Pros

I have been using this for 1 year and all I can say is WOW!! It contains many professional effects and elements. It contains everything that a video editor needs. REALLY AWESOME!!

Cons

I like everything about it. Its effects, tools, elements all are wonderful and effective

Ben M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Vegas Seen

Reviewed on 7/7/2021

Helping Vegas get the best for its customers on what it owns already

Pros

The filters that the software has by default are nice, that you don't require some more from the internet

Cons

The ability to add filters to the software from the internet, like you can download them and use them later when your offline

Irfan K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Broadcast Media
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Why is Everyone Going Crazy Over Vegas Pro?

Reviewed on 16/9/2021

We use Vegas Pro as the official editing software for our radio. It is used 24/7 and everyone is quite happy with the overall performance of Vegas. It is pretty good to handle 7-8 hour playlists. I put together music B2B for the night and work with multitrack. Vegas Pro is the backbone of our organization and it has definitely had a positive impact on our ROI. You can do a lot of cool stuff with Vegas when it comes to audio engineering.

Pros

Vegas Pro is excellent for audio editing. A big window for multiple audio tracks makes it quite easy to work. The interface is user-friendly and the tools are awesome. The snapping tool provides great help to accurately place tracks. Likewise, the automatic crossfade gives so many different variations to combine the two audios. I particularly like the auto-ripple option that helps moving tracks and saves a lot of time. You can put markers and insert region, and then render the desired final audio. Batch-render is an excellent way to process multiple files at the same time. Vegas Pro is a must-have for a radio.

Cons

We recently upgraded from version 13 to 15 and faced trouble rendering singles files. The new version crashes frequently. Docking panels can be tricky sometimes. We had the Explorer Window undocked by mistake and spent a lot of time figuring out how to fix it.

German liber L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

The best for home and budget projects, not so good for professional jobs...

Reviewed on 4/2/2021

Overall experience with Vegas was good, I had to leave the software once I learned a lot and started doing more professional work. It's okay for beginners and budget/home projects.  Price is too high, feels clunky and outdated and that's a con.

Pros

I use Vegas even before MAGIX bought it, the software is really great, and it helped me a lot when it was my only option a few years ago, when my computer wasn't that great. Vegas is the perfect choice for rookies on video edition, you can learn the basics on aspect ratios, cut-and-paste fragments of video, resolutions, audio parameters, etc. The tools can be pretty advanced and useful if you know how to use them, there are solutions for everything related to video edition on Vegas, you can even do some animation and automated effects. The rendering times are pretty great, even on low-end computers.

Cons

It's not the best for professional use and commercial projects, it can be kind of clunky and the learning curve is slow and very frustrating. Templates for text and cards on video feels really outdated. Animation and automation tools are not the best, while they work, they require, in fact, a lot of hard work to function properly. The prices for it are really high.

Andrew H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Vegas pro when you need video editing

Reviewed on 10/8/2021

Pros

Its the most professional tool with many animations and helpers to produce a high quality movie

Cons

Difficulty in installtion and needs to tutorials to help in using all features