Sketchbook

4.5 (26)
Professional-grade drawing app with customizable brushes

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(26)
Value for Money
4.7/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.7/5
Customer Support
4.3/5

92%
recommended this app
Sort by

26 Reviews

Luis Humberto
Overall rating
  • Industry: Animation
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great tool to make art

Reviewed on 17/8/2022

Sketchbook can be a excellent program if you're trying to find a good drawing program, i use sketchbook to draw the characters of my story and works perfectly

Pros

Easy to use, has a lot of useful tools and you can add more tools, you can even download more textures from the official sketchbook site, has a lot of brushes and pens, works excellent on digital tablets, and has a mobile version.

Cons

At the moment I didn't experience any bad things with the program.

Miriam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Free Solution to your editing issues

Reviewed on 21/11/2022

Pros

Sketchbook is very easy to use. It doesn't over complicate things with to many tools that you dont know how to use anyway

Cons

The mobile app is a not as user friendly as the desktop based version

Gal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 4.0 /10

Benefits and struggles of Sketchbook

Reviewed on 19/2/2022

Pros

Sketchbook has a great variety of brushes, allowing you to recreate your favorite traditional media or adopting a new technique and style. Sketchbook is ideal for those random drawing ideas you get while out of the house (remember the software doesnt reach its full potential unless it's paired with a pressure sensitive stylus)

Cons

While you can get anythin you may need for sketching and drawing, there are some functions that are limited in sketchbook that you can get in other drawing softwares regarding editing, heavy rendering and vectors

Simon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

An amazing software but.....

Reviewed on 22/9/2022

I'm old enough to remember using the old glass bottle Magic Markers but since going digital, with the help of Sketchbook, Photoshop and CSP, I find I am more productive in terms of speed and quality of work.
Drawing in Sketchbook is incredibly intuitive and satisfying, I only wish I could open more than one file at a time.

Pros

I think the drawing brushes and pencils for linework are some, if not the best I have found in a drawing app.
I especially like the snap to curve, elipse and perspective rulers.

Cons

I am a storyboard artist which means I am usually drawing and colouring a number of frames at once, sometimes as many as 30-40 frames. I would love to be able to open up a number of frames so I can achieve uniformaty of line and colour across the frames. I also dearly miss the Copic colours you used to have.

Aditya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Sketch good with sketchbook.

Reviewed on 26/12/2022

Its a great tool to sketch when it comes to freehand drawings. Airbrush feature along with copic colors makes it perfect for art.

Pros

User friendly tool for sketching digitally, has great options from pencils, pen to airbrushes. Copic colors are available.

Cons

The user interface is a bit outdated. The lasso and selection tools can get better.

Wahaj
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Sketchbook

Reviewed on 19/11/2022

Sketchbook installed in any graphic tablet is like a sword in any artist's hand. It has enhanced the quality of creativity and improved my sketching and graphical representation a lot.

Pros

The software is open to all and is free to use.

Cons

In my opinion, the software has not any demerits for initial users.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing app for digital art creation

Reviewed on 7/11/2022

I absolutely love this app for digital art, to create fun and festive backgrounds for photos and as a relaxing and an enjoyable hobby.

Pros

Quality of saved images, ability to save in various formats, options of brushes, layers and colors, intuitive functions, fun usage and ability to get better as you get more and more experience with the ap

Cons

Mobile app is not as good as the desktop version, everything is limited and I don't find it intuitive. I use the desktop app frequently and find that I can not use the mobile app practically at all.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Want to have a drawing hobby? Try this software!

Reviewed on 16/4/2022

Pros

This is a fun way to draw, paint or stretch anything you want on your mobile device.

Cons

Sometimes it doesn't save my work and I hope it can be fixed.

Krista
Overall rating
  • Industry: Animation
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Free and easy to learn

Reviewed on 8/12/2022

I love using sketchbook for drawings and I especially like that you can import any photo or picture you have saved on your phone, change the transparency, so you can trace over it and make it your own with brushes.

Pros

I love that it's an app for your phone that's free and has lots of features included, everything you need to draw and lots of brushes- pencils, pens, spray paint, watercolors, acrylic, inks and crayons

Cons

I haven't found any cons, the app always opens up easily and it's quick to export your drawing. Maybe some other apps have additional features but I've only try sketchbook as it was the one that had the best reviews compared to others when I searched.

Ananthakrishna
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The best alternative for procreate

Reviewed on 7/12/2022

Wonderful digital art software for windows or android users

Pros

>The software is completely free of cost>>The user interface is clean with no clutters and confusing icons> Custom brushes level up the usage experience of an artist>It's one of the most dynamic and highly fluid software for any artist.

Cons

>User has to have some knowledge about the vast options.>The interface looks old but can be improvised.>Mobile app has lesser options.

Tanjib
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Unleash Your Creativity: A Review of Sketchbook - The Ultimate Digital Art Software

Reviewed on 15/1/2023

Sketchbook is a powerful and user-friendly digital drawing and painting software. It offers a wide range of tools and features that are perfect for both professional artists and hobbyists. The interface is intuitive and easy to navigate, making it accessible for users of all skill levels. The brushes and pencils emulate traditional art tools and the color options are endless. The ability to create layers and import or export files make it a great choice for creating digital art or designing graphics. Overall, Sketchbook is an excellent choice for anyone looking for a digital art software.

Pros

Intuitive and user-friendly interfaceWide range of tools and features for digital drawing and paintingEmulation of traditional art tools like brushes and pencilsLarge color palette optionsLayers feature for advanced editing and compositingImport/export options for easy sharing and use in other projectsSuitable for both professional artists and hobbyistsRegular updates and new features added

Cons

Some features may require a subscription or in-app purchaseLimited 3D modeling capabilities compared to other softwareSome users may find the interface cluttered or overwhelmingSome users may find the software too simple for advanced or professional useSome users may experience performance issues on older devicesSome users may find the cost too highSome users may find the learning curve steep.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Sketchbook Your Smart Drawing.

Reviewed on 7/8/2022

Rated one of the best modern drawing programs, has many dazzling tools, has great drawing tools library months and was in my office in the middle of brushes and pens and colours, I can put Layer If I want to try something and don't want to spoil your painting, Easy to use, you don't need a course to become a professional using, suitable for all ages and different fields.

Pros

I like its tools, it has many colours many brushes and a pen .
I like to use my pen tablet to draw Paintings or any view.
it has a contemporary style for the tools bar.
I like using Sketchbook, like the board to teach my class.
Easy to use, you don't need a course to become a professional using, suitable for all ages and different fields.

Cons

sometimes, on my mac, I can't see the tools bar

hussein
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

review

Reviewed on 31/7/2022

so powerful software to draw

Pros

the best software for drawing anything you need

Cons

in reality, the software provides everything you need to draw so I don't see any disadvantage in it till now

Erwin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

great creative tool

Reviewed on 13/7/2022

An awesome tool for my presentation work. It is intuitive, very easy to use and allows you to explore
more of your creative side that you cannot do with a regular sketchpad and pen.

Pros

Apart from it's wide selection of brushes and pens, Sketchbook allows the user to create architectural perspective views from it's built perspective grids and customizable vanishing points.

Cons

it would be nice if it allows scaling of objects and grids.

Piyush
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Book in a Hand with lots of custom pens

Reviewed on 11/11/2022

I loved this software because of its feel, that I'm drawing in a book. Tools are very useful and easy to start new project and we can nailed it at once.1

Pros

I liked this software because I wanted to create some portraits and some designs that I can draw by my self this software have many tools that I used in my project.

Cons

Some features were not that much useful. Sometime the custom brush don't work properly. Some tools are hard to find and not easy. there should be a tutorial for it.

Prescot
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Simple sketchbook review

Reviewed on 20/7/2022

An excellent app for sketching and adding colours

Pros

This software is just amazing, it doesn't take up system space and it very user friendly

Cons

Some features like perspective take longer to load up

Somi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Architectural renderings

Reviewed on 13/7/2022

Pros

our office, architectural firm, uses this program to generate hand drawn, sketchy feel of building renderings. The outcome is always beautiful, just like an artist's sketchbook.

Cons

It's not very easy to learn all the features at once. If you are a beginner, you have to get used to the functions and be able to maneuver in order to fully utilize the features this program offers.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Reliable and fun to use

Reviewed on 9/11/2022

This program is efficient and intuitive.

Pros

This program has a great price and tons of features. It always runs smoothly and my team and I enjoy working with it to collaborate. Works exceptionally well on all platforms and operating systems.

Cons

This program is not an art industry standard in my creative networks.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

I'm a new user for sketchbbok

Reviewed on 22/7/2022

Pros

The brushes are so smooth and amazing, I totally loved them.

Cons

I hope they develop the windows version to become more user-friendly, and also to work on adjusting more shortcuts.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Sketchbook Experience

Reviewed on 10/6/2022

The overall experience was nice . I have used the mobile app and created some drawings.

Pros

1. So many pencils , brushes , texture and shapes.
2. Easy to use
3. Color picker is so nice.
4. I can also import image or draw styles

Cons

1. The onboarding experience can be improved
2. Provide some guide to use the app

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Animation
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good for what it is

Reviewed on 20/11/2021

Pros

It is a free software and it can be great to start digital art. Can be downloaded into your phone or tablet.

Cons

Limited amount of layers and can be quite tedious because some tools are scattered in other tabs.

Sharonda
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent brush selection and is relatively realistic.

Reviewed on 27/10/2022

Since I didn't need details, I decided to try this and was pleasantly surprised that it met my needs and would work better with different pens.

Pros

I was going to buy a drawing tablet, but I was still determining what I needed until this came along.

Cons

Adding a photo and moving it around to a drawing was challenging.

Andrea
Overall rating
  • Industry: Textiles
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Muy fácil de usar

Reviewed on 7/1/2022

Comienzo a realizar los bocetos de mis diseños y patrones en este software, debido a la comodidad y lo rápido que puedo crearlos, y luego los paso a otros softwares cuando realmente quiero algo más elaborado. Me siento contenta con este software.

Pros

Lo que más me gusta es que es muy fácil de usar, tiene una variedad de pinceles que permiten dibujar de forma intuitiva, tiene las herramientas básicas para hacer figuras y dibujar cómodamente. Se sincroniza rápidamente con cualquier tableta gráfica. Puedo exportar a diferentes formatos y la app es excelente.

Cons

Lo único que no me gusta de este software es que, al no crear vectores, no permite escalar la imagen ni sirven para imprimir.

Roger
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Trazados con Sketchbook

Reviewed on 15/3/2022

Me ha gustado utilizarlo con mi tableta gráfica ya que obtienes una experiencia similar a un lápiz de grafito.

Pros

Posee muchas herramientas para dibujar que pueden ser personalizadas con comodidad. Me encanta las opciones de exportación.

Cons

Debería tener herramientas de precisión, que permitan hacer trazados medidos. Además sería bueno mejorar la opción para generar estrellas configurables.

Rosita
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Bello!

Reviewed on 8/10/2022

Pros

Applicazione semplice da utilizzare, con molte funzionalità e strumenti utili per realizzare disegni, anche professionali, e modificare immagini.

Cons

Non ho riscontrato aspetti negativi nell'uso di questa applicazione fino ad ora.