Xara Designer Pro X

4.6 (16)
Graphic design and creative management software

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(16)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support
4.2/5

100%
recommended this app

16 Software options

Edgar R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Performing Arts
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Top Notch Multi-tasking Designing for the Average User

Reviewed on 29/8/2018

Xara Designer Pro X is actually now my first go to application on a daily basis.
Mainly because it runs pretty smoothly on my desktop computer and laptop as well. I do a lot of presentations and print design where photo editing is now necessary. I could do these chores with Illustrator and Photoshop running side by side, and I still do when the job requires the need of all the tools and options of these two, but the use of RAM starts to lag the computers in a matter of hours when many layers and vector points start to sum up, but for not complex designs Xara Designer has it all.
Ever tried to edit a PDF file in Photoshop and Illustrator from another source that is not yours? Well, Xara Designer makes editing PDF files is a breeze and it respects the original formatting and design.

Pros

Vector editing, photo editing and enhancing, web design, layout and print design, presentations are also available all in one package. Did I mention vector editing? Yup! Now lets add some cloud editing option on the last release!
Memory (RAM) consumption is quite low compared to Illustrator or Photoshop, which makes it a great option for basic computers.

Cons

Coming from other graphics software Xara Designer could mean a new learning challenge, but the curve is not that steep. The interface is quite simple to understand after a few runs but the color picker and the layers palette could mean the dedication of minutes of playing around to fully understand how to get things running to usual designing times.
Transparency options are also limited as compared to Adobe Illustrator or Photoshop. Masking could also be cumbersome and understanding how they work needs some trial and error hence they work together with the layers palette (under masks options).

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Love This!

Reviewed on 6/7/2018

This can help you scale images, enhance and clean-up backgrounds like a pro!

Pros

So, I simply use this product for Photo editing, but it can do so much more. I think this product stand closely next to Adobe Illustrator & Corel, but...easier to learn and understand because the platform layout is not complicated and cluttered.

Cons

They do have a free trial...however I think it is worth the money. If you are a Designer or Photographer, then get this.

Augusto S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very powerful design software, but not too intuitive...

Reviewed on 12/5/2020

Very helpful, we use it basically to design websites, we are happy even it is not the most intuitive piece of software, but once you learn how to perform certain tasks, then you will love it.

Pros

This is really very powerful software for designers. Once you figure it out, you are only limited by your imagination. Also, they continuously improve it and add additional features. A great alternative to designing websites if you do not like or do not want some of the inconveniences of Wordpress,

Cons

Some very essential / basic features are too difficult to figure it out. It is not too intuitive at all, even sometimes using the help on the software.

Zoran L.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A well rounded, professional all-in-one software for design, photo editing, DTP, websites and...

Reviewed on 6/3/2018

Xara Web Designer Pro 365 has an enormous number of features. It will give you an integrated solution for almost all of your design, layout, DTP, Illustration and web design needs. The learning path is worth diving in. It is a stable, professional product that belongs in the top ten tools of my design toolbox. It carries a modest price and has a rather confusing update service. If you are in a small or medium business as a freelancer, UX/UI/web designer, a publisher or a photographer just to name a few, I suggest that you give Xara Designer Pro 365 a try. Definitely recommended.

Pros

Xara Designer Pro365 (version 15.0 tested) is an absolutely robust and well-integrated software package for design, photo manipulation, Illustration, layout, DTP and web design tasks. It is Windows Vista/7/8/10 compatible. Very fast and stable. A capable alternative to Adobe Photoshop.

You can professionally create different graphic design elements for the professional looking logos, a web responsive mock websites and much more. It has a sophisticated photo edit and manipulation tool. It is an easy-to-use once you learn the basics. The following features I like:

1. Help, tutorial, and support sections.
2. Over a million different archive photos and illustrations.
3. Hundreds of templates, filters, effects, layouts, and elements of all kinds.
4. Regular updates and upgrades.
5. Unlimited Undo/Redo function.
6. PDF manipulation and export functions.
7. 3-D objects Manipulation.
8. Many creative effects.
9. Adobe plugins integration.
10. Up to 25,601% zoom for very detailed work.
11. Intelligent scaling.
12. Color separation.
13. Many data formats including Raw formats.
14. Interactive presentations.

Cons

I would like to see a phone instead of an email only support and some people may desire Xara Designer ProX365 localization in languages other than English and German. Also, Xara Designer ProX365 comes with their version of the subscription program called the Update Service. That's why there is the number 365 in the name. It is free for the first 12 months from the date you buy the software, and it keeps your software up-to-date for one year with new updates and improvements.

After the initial 365 days of updates expire, you have to pay for renewal at a discounted price. If you decide not to pay for your renewal, you can continue to use your software plus all the updates they granted you for the first 12 months. But If you for some reason, reinstall the software even on the same computer and do not pay for another 12 months of renewal, you will lose all of your updates accumulated in the first 12 months. Then, the software reverts to its original, basic form just as it was when you bought it 12 months ago.

So, since it is just a preview of the next year update, Xara cannot grant you a continuous use of those new features unless you pay for the next 12 months. I suggest further reading of their fine print, terms, and conditions.

Martin H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazingly powerful, yet simple and friendly. On the hard drive or in the cloud.

Reviewed on 29/4/2021

Xara Designer Pro is a powerful, yet easy-to-learn and friendly vector graphics package, which is a true delight to work with on daily basis. If only the Magix annoying marketing messaging associated with the program was less intrusive.

Pros

Xara Designer is a must-have vector graphics editor both for the beginners and graphic enthusiast as well as for pros. Amazingly powerful, yet very easy to acquire advanced skills with user-friendly interface. What's also impressive is the sheer amount of tutorials and how-to hints easily available (Xara Xone) including the large program user community, always able to provide an advice and widely publishing graphics created in XARA. Exists as a standalone program installed on a PC or as a Xara Cloud app.

Cons

After Xara was acquired by Magix, the marketing of the new [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] became quite intrusive and impossible to get rid off. Permanent pop-ups and reminders to pay subscription even if one decides to opt out of the scheme is extremely annoying. And really, spoils the enjoyment of the perfect software package to a large extent. Silly and not necessary.

Mike F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Xara is a all in one powerhouse

Reviewed on 27/3/2019

One of my go to pieces of software for web design. Some of my most attractive sites were made with the help of Xara. I love the fact that i can stay in one piece of software for all graphics tasks. This is one powerful software package. Highly recommended.

Pros

Its a photo editor, page layout and web design software under one GUI. Fantastic photo editing features, cool templates and very large library of assets and effects. Very powerful and responsive web design software. Extremely dependable.

Cons

Lacking core programming features. No easy way to create custom forms. Must buy templates for forms. Requires a mildly expensive yearly upgrade fee for new versions.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Xara Designer Pro X provides a GREAT alternative to Adobe Creative Cloud

Reviewed on 23/10/2018

I loved the old adobe Fireworks program and Designer Pro is the best replacement I have found. Seems to do everything Fireworks did and then some!

Pros

Love the fact that you can edit / create bitmap and vector graphics from the same app. Provide a wide range of tools for the novice and pro user alike. Great alternative to Adobe's $600 per year solution.

Cons

Designer Pro does have a little bit of a learning curve. Not everything is as instinctive as you might think. But once you begin to understand how things work it seems to fall into place.

Ajesh K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best photo designer software ever - DESIGNER PRO X

Reviewed on 18/3/2019

I used this software as one of my friends suggested it for my photo editing for my social profiles it's easy, much effective product for the work for beginners and mediocres but I don't prefer it for professionals as it only comes close to Adobe but considering the money factor it's the professionals choice and I leave that choice to them, but for me it was the perfect one

Pros

The main advantages are:
1. It's got a 1 year free trail with all the updates that comes during that period.
2. It's easy to use for a non designer
3. Tutorials helps a lot
4. Plenty of functions to do photo editing
5. Works on low end systems
6. It's better than Adobe considering 1 year free trial to use

Cons

The disadvantages are:
1. It's not great for people who does not know anything about designing or photo editing
2. Even though tutorial is there it doesn't make you know everything about the software
3. On low end PC's it might become working slow depending on prolonged usage
4. Not available on Mac

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Love Xara Designer!

Reviewed on 7/7/2021

Overall, a great and low price graphics software for day to day use!

Pros

I like it's ease of use, it's low price, and its high quality output.
It is very easy to create great graphics with it!

Cons

I don't like that it doesn't support Right to Left languages, like Hebrew. It shows the text in reverse.

Edward M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Gets users away from the "same look" of built-in "out of the box" online web design

Reviewed on 27/5/2019

Easy to use, and yes, OK, sometimes a bit quirky in terms send-to-back and bring-to-front, but gives a very good result. Great price and does what I want it to do. Very convenient that as you build your main internet website, it builds tablet and mobile versions alongside.

Pros

For those who want relatively easy-to use WYSIWYG webs-design software to get away from the relative "same look" of the instant, on-line web site space providers, this could be the programme for you.

While it has a multitude of templates for purchase that are fully customisable, you do have ultimate control through the fact that you have the software installed locally on your machine, which is one of the biggest advantages. One of its other big advantages is that it is easy to get to know how to use - you just need a little experience with placeholders to get things right. That having been said, it is very easy to start a website from scratch out of the box.

The software allows you to make a PC, tablet and mobile-optimised website side-by-side as you work, which is a very useful function.

Adding third party elements such as html code to run widgets etc is very easy, and you can inspect things as you go along. here is the ability to view the single web page or the entire website you are working on (internally via the software or via the browsers [driven by Xara] that you have installed on your PC).

The software always opens "where you left off" and the in-built tab system lets you load any multiple sites you may be working on (very useful if you are working on a main site and its sub-domains).

And if you are a bit beyond out of the box website design, the software allows you to take things more into your own hands

Cons

You do have to have access to the PC you installed the software on as well as your files for design elements you add such as images and text (this is not a collaborative piece of CMS software), although with know-how you can possibly make a portable version of the software.

You need to keep an eye on where you locate your files, especially if you make a large website, so that you have access to any elements you may wish to change - the software doesn't remind you where you keep the elements you use, so if you use, for example, a photograph from a memory stick, you must remember to ensure that photograph is also stored locally on the PC in case you need to make changes.

Sometimes design elements can be hidden at the back of the page and you miss that they are there, or frustratingly you place an element on the page and you can't find it.

Laurie H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Fund-Raising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Thank you!

Reviewed on 7/7/2021

A+ great value, great features that are easy to use

Pros

This does everything I want it to WITHOUT being complicated! I use the Content Catalog frequently for access ti quick use icons or symbols.

Cons

all good, the help section is very basic but gets the job done.

Paul D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

« THE ALL IN ONE »

Reviewed on 30/5/2021

Xara has great features that enables you to work faster . It saves a lot of money with its one time payment. It is all in one because I can make use of it to create illustrations and edit photos .

Pros

It offers a large range of features , and they are all great. It has cloud abilities to view,edit and update any document on any computer or tablet through a web browser . It has one of the sophisticated and fastest vector rendering engines. Which gives it the ability to deliver more complex graphic design efficiently.

Cons

Except the fact that it is available only on windows, xara is a great software.

Raymond A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

3 Tools in one...

Reviewed on 13/9/2018

Overall, Xara has been a good value for our team. It is a little Photoshop, Illustrator and InDesign wrapped up into one package. The file sizes are generally small and the programs run light and fast. I have been able to train our team on this relatively quickly.

Pros

I love the flexibility of this program. It has a lot of capability and is still and light program that does not bog down your system.

Cons

It can be buggy at times and customer support is overseas so it takes a long time for them to hit you back. I wish this was available on MAC. They have a new software that is cloud based but it is not up to par yet.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use

Great Software for Designers and even Non Designers

Reviewed on 30/4/2018

Pros

I loved that this is a flat rate program. So many programs are switching to subscription. This program can be a huge cost savings to companies who have previously used Adobe products. The program is easy to use and even if you're not a graphic designer, this program is fairly easy to navigate and get the job done.

Cons

Product support isn't great. The company just seems to be worried about selling the product than assisting with questions.

Alexis A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Designer Xara

Reviewed on 25/3/2020

If we talk exclusively about design, my experience is excellent, it has everything you need in a very friendly environment to make excellent designs

Pros

Designer pro was at least for me the first online tool that allowed me great practicality as well as advanced design functions

Cons

The only one against today is that it does not incorporate integration with online tools for customer capture and monetization,

Brianna W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Fairly good but has its flaws

Reviewed on 4/6/2019

Not my go-to

Pros

I enjoy what it can do with my pictures when I can actually do it.

Cons

Fairly difficult to figure out functions.