Adobe InDesign Reviews

Adobe InDesign

Layout and page design software

Overall rating

4.8 /5
(264)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.7/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support
4.2/5

100%
recommended this app
Sort by

264 Reviews

Ángel
Ángel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

InDesign - Printing efficiency defined?

Reviewed on 29/10/2021

InDesign is outstanding. It saves so much time when you need to fit pages, trim pages, adjust...

InDesign is outstanding. It saves so much time when you need to fit pages, trim pages, adjust designs, etc. Picture this: it's 10 pm, you need to have that magazine ready by 00:00, but the articles are still being reviewed. But if you have InDesign, you still have plenty of time. The designer can be working on the layout while editors are reviewing the content. And the program is so efficient that you're going to have the magazine done and ready to be printed by 11:59 pm.

Pros

InDesign is SO efficient. This software speeds up productivity so much that it can help you turn hours of adjusting the pages of any kind of publication you're trying to make: whether it's a bulletin, a magazine, a poster... to minutes! Plus, it has a really friendly user interface, which makes it a really comfortable software to use.

Cons

Although it's GUI is really friendly, it can be difficult for new users to start. Training (or qualified personnel) may be necessary. And, as it's another marvelous Adobe program, this software belongs to that really expensive group. Though it can easily compensate for that.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Relations & Communications
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Adobe InDesign: your ace in the hole for your layouts

Reviewed on 14/1/2023

Overall it is the best page layout program in existence: convenient, practical, with any functionali...

Overall it is the best page layout program in existence: convenient, practical, with any functionality and ability to add hyperlinks and videos, so exporting interactive formats, it is super!

Pros

Especially in case you are a designer, art director or graphic designer: you can't be unfamiliar with Adobe Indesign. With him all your publishing projects can come to life; you can typeset, books, brochures, business cards, in short anything that can be printable, but not only that! Also formats for digital, so you can work in both RGB and CMYK on any format on want and with any file to be integrated within it: png, jpg, psd, whatever!

Cons

Sometimes, like all Adobe programs, it might shut down unexpectedly because it takes up so much space with RAM it sometimes crashes, it happens infrequently, but when it does you can not worry most of the time because the program always saves a recovered file from your last job.

Alternatives Considered

Canva and Keynote

Reasons for Switching to Adobe InDesign

Because it is the most complete of everything, compatible with any format to achieve professional results!
Arumuga
Overall rating
  • Industry: Animation
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Adobe Indesign Software Review

Reviewed on 29/9/2022

Pros

The first stage of your website design is to set up a simple skeleton – something that is ‘structurally sound’ and doesn’t require too much work. You should then test this with colleagues and customers before the final design is completed.

So how can you design a website that is going to be a success, that will get people to engage with it and, at the same time, keep you in business?

This article contains some tips that can help you get the best out of your time in designing a website.

It’s all in the software .The main difference between web design software and graphic design software is that the web design software has content-management tools and content-creation tools, such as photo editing software. Graphic design software, such as Photoshop, offers similar content creation tools but does not include any content-management tools.

To work the best, most designers prefer to create websites in a tool where the elements (pictures, text and so on) can be put together in the order you want them to be seen on screen.

Adobe InDesign, in particular, is well suited to this because it contains a range of built-in tools for laying out the different pages of the website (although web pages, in themselves, are really just files on the internet), including drag-and-drop, which is one of the most common methods of working. However, there are many other programs that offer similar functionality and it can often be a case of using the ‘right’ program for your work.

Cons

In Photoshop, you start with a blank canvas and create all the elements in the order you want them to appear. For a web design, Photoshop works best if you start with a template that already contains all the elements. There are also other programs that work in a similar way.

Once you’ve got your website in the right shape (which can take a while) it’s time to add the final finishing touches. Web pages are often created with Flash (using programs like Flash Catalyst), but HTML (using InDesign) and XHTML (using an editor like Notepad) are the most common forms of web page creation. Flash is more commonly used to animate elements on websites, for example, when you have a picture of a car, which moves down a ramp as part of a scrolling screen. You can animate a lot of elements (such as moving text) using CSS, but if you have more than a few items to animate it is easier to create them using Flash or some other multimedia programme.

If you’re working on a website that has complex formatting, such as ‘page-breaks’ or ‘margins’, then it’s best to work on this before adding the page layout so that you can avoid having to go back and make these changes if your design changes (and, let’s face it, sometimes designs do change). You can add these formatting tags using a program such as Dreamweaver, but it’s more efficient to add them after the page layout is complete.

Skyler
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Extremely Helpful

Reviewed on 9/11/2023

Pros

Adobe InDesign gets the job done everytime. You do need a small amount of computer skills to use this program, but it provides an excellent product.

Cons

There are a ton of extra tools and objects and some of they're functions can be unclear.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

InDesign is the Premiere Document Layout Tool

Reviewed on 12/11/2021

I have been using InDesign for over fifteen years and have used it to successfully design everything...

I have been using InDesign for over fifteen years and have used it to successfully design everything from reports and infographics to album and novel covers. After learning it once, it remains intuitive and powerful--it is the only document layout tool I've used where I am able to create whatever design I can imagine. It has earned me plaudits for good design and clarity of communication. Above all, it has enhanced the professionalism of the materials I produce, always making the information contained therein clearer.

Pros

InDesign is the most powerful and fully featured document layout tool available. It provides flexible, easy to use layering that enables advanced overlays and far more complicated designs than are possible with a more traditional layout tool. What's more, with a wide variety of font types and masking tools, the sky is the limit for making professional looking documents. It is flexible enough to lay out everything from infographics to multi-column reports to covers and posters. Plus, it brings the power of the Adobe Suite through integrations with Photoshop, Illustrator, and more.

Cons

There are few features I've encountered that are missing for InDesign. That said, the learning curve for can be steep for someone who has no experience with design products, particularly those of the Adobe Suite. That said, Adobe provides ample learning resources so that users can get up to speed fairly quickly. InDesign integrated seamlessly into our report production workflow, so I fully recommend it.

Jennifer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Design Solution

Reviewed on 27/1/2022

Adobe is hard to get support from, but you can always Google and get answers.

Adobe is hard to get support from, but you can always Google and get answers.

Pros

I love being able to integrate graphics and images easily into layouts with linked graphics/fonts easily packaged.

Cons

I have no complaints! I love InDesign!! I have used it as a designer for over 25 years and will until I no longer design. Best layout software ever!

Alternatives Considered

QuarkXPress and CorelDRAW

Reasons for Choosing Adobe InDesign

The printing industry made a shift and this is what was being used.

Switched From

QuarkXPress

Reasons for Switching to Adobe InDesign

Ease of use and industry standard.
Cushi
Cushi
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A great tool for experienced designers to create beautiful, highly custom print or digital...

Reviewed on 8/3/2022

Generally, I enjoy working with this software. it allows me to work between Photoshop and Illustrato...

Generally, I enjoy working with this software. it allows me to work between Photoshop and Illustrator while using it in a seamless way, which is essential for my workflow when designing. It's feature rich and has more than everything you'd need to create exceptional designs for things such as: portfolios, information packages, pitch decks, business cards, and more.

Pros

I like that this program easily integrates with Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator making importing of files exceptionally easy, even if the file is currently open in one of those other programs. I also love the simplicity of the drag and drop editor, the various views that show guides or print preview while working, the comprehensive keyboard shortcuts, and the straight forward PDF export process. I'd highly recommend this program to designers, but if you are a solopreneur without design experience looking for a graphic design solution that you can utilize yourself, I'd suggest Canva as the learning curve is less steep

Cons

I am completely frustrated that there is no way to allow the color picker to work like Photoshop's. Also, the color swatches should work as simply and easily as they do in Photoshop as well. Instead they are complex and not the least bit intuitive.

Alternatives Considered

Canva and Affinity Designer

Reasons for Switching to Adobe InDesign

I chose ID because of my familiarity with the Adobe suite as well as my preference of the user interface compared to Affinity Designer. I chose over Canva because as an experienced designer, the Adobe suite gives me more control over my work.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great product IF you commit to Adobe

Reviewed on 17/3/2022

If you can afford the Adobe CC suite, InDesign is definitely a worthwhile investment of time to...

If you can afford the Adobe CC suite, InDesign is definitely a worthwhile investment of time to learn the software and functionality.

Pros

The functionality for creating small booklets and brochures is the best part about this software. There are plenty of design tutorials if you need a creative spark. Combined with the CC Suite, this functions very well.

Cons

You must buy into the Adobe world, mastering their language/terminology and shortcuts to function at the highest capacity. It also works best with the Creative Cloud suite and that can get costly.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Adobe InDesign - A software that caters to your design needs.

Reviewed on 12/7/2022

Once I got a hang of it, I started to really enjoy all its features from being able to collaborate,...

Once I got a hang of it, I started to really enjoy all its features from being able to collaborate, to adding in custom fonts and its variety of ready to use templates. I do hope that in the near future Adobe InDesign does add in some training so people that aren't accustomed to this type of software are able to catch on a lot faster making it much more user friendly.

Pros

I enjoy how I can easily make changes to all my files in the format of my choosing. It also saves me time by being able to collaborate with stakeholders all from one app. I like how when editing images it integrates with other Adobe software so I can quickly switch between them.

Cons

In the beginning, it is very difficult to use. I would like a few tutorials added in or mini interactive training videos just to help get used to the software.

Carolina
Carolina
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

the best program for complex layouts

Reviewed on 11/8/2022

Pros

What I like the most is the possibility to adapt your designs easily and above all the printing advisor, which allows you to print booklet type copies in a very easy way.

Cons

The only downside is the price of the license, but I think that for professionals who need to make complex compositions it is worth every penny.

arnauld
Overall rating
  • Industry: Animation
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

adobe in styling

Reviewed on 16/3/2023

the overall user experience with Adobe InDesign is positive and the software is considered a tool...

the overall user experience with Adobe InDesign is positive and the software is considered a tool of choice for layout design and publishing

Pros

Export features for print and digital publishing that create interactive PDFs, EPUBs, and interactive digital publications.

Cons

Resource Consumption: Adobe InDesign is a resource-intensive software, which means it requires a powerful computer to run efficiently. Older computers or computers with lower specs may have trouble running InDesign smoothly.

Alternatives Considered

QuarkXPress

Reasons for Switching to Adobe InDesign

Integration with other Adobe applications, Adobe InDesign works with other Adobe applications such as Photoshop and Illustrator, allowing seamless integration of graphics and images into layout projects. Additionally, using Adobe InDesign with Creative Cloud also enables real-time collaboration and automatic saving of projects to the cloud.
Robin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A reluctant fan of InDesign

Reviewed on 23/6/2022

Pros

I was a very reluctant convert to InDesign having been a Quark XPress user for many years. Though it took a while, I can now say I am a happy InDesign user. My favorite feature is the way it works so seamlessly with other Adobe products and fonts. I use master pages, automatic page numbering, layers, libraries, color swatches, and effects on a regular basis, all of which make my job easier.

Cons

When I first started using InDesign, I found it a bit awkward to use. It didn't work smoothly and reminded me of Pagemaker back in the day. However, in the past several years, Adobe has made a lot of improvements which erased my original objections. I can't say that I have any complaints.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Some aspects uniquely InDesign and very good at that

Reviewed on 30/5/2022

Not the best online collaboration but some aspects are very good

Not the best online collaboration but some aspects are very good

Pros

Our monthly newsletter requires weekly updating by team members capturing their respective activities and this requires some sort of online collaboration and editing. Adobe InDesign is a perfect tool for this as we have often used the track changes feature. This allows us to track each user with a predefined color which makes it easy to know what was edited and by whom. The color feature and role in track the changes enables us to do a follow on with the team member on changes made for clarification and enhancements.

Cons

Our biggest frustration with this kind of collaboration has been due to disappearing or unavailable fonts typekit which are unique to our document. This occurs often and very annoying.

Rodger
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Adobe InDesign review - No More Corel

Reviewed on 19/10/2021

Easy for others to use and make changes.

Easy for others to use and make changes.

Pros

Ease of use and cross functionality between programs

Cons

Not their fault but there are so many options and variables...just takes awhile to learn

Barry
Overall rating
  • Industry: Plastics
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great program for print design and layout

Reviewed on 25/10/2022

Pros

Indesign has just about every tool you'd need to create any type of print layout. I've done simple cards all the way through complete books and Indesign fits the need very well.

Cons

Like other Adobe software, there is a pretty big learning curve, and it is EXPENSIVE.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Still Worth Every Penny

Reviewed on 26/10/2023

I am more than happy with Adobe InDesign. I love that Adobe is constantly innovating, which makes...

I am more than happy with Adobe InDesign. I love that Adobe is constantly innovating, which makes me feel content with the subscription model. For a few years I had been more comfortable with the idea of purchasing actual software (back when it came in a physical box!), but the hassle of having to buy new software every couple of years got old. In this technology age, we as professional designers have to stay on top of innovations, and Adobe keeps the tools updated so I can in turn innovate in my creative field.

Pros

I have been using InDesign on a daily basis ever since Adobe donated software to my student-run college newspaper in 1999. That donation opened the door to exploring a world of print layout that I never knew existed, and eventually led to a career in graphic design. InDesign is the main tool in my tool belt, and without it I would have a different occupation altogether. Some people like to complain about the price point, but when you consider a) the value it provides creatives as a tool b) the innovation required by Adobe over decades to produce and constantly refine the software, and c) the lack of a comparatively robust or functional alternative for the design professional, it's a wonder that it's as cheap as it is.

Cons

I wish InDesign had a chart-making tool. Illustrator has one, but it is in dire need of updating.

Marija
Marija
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Layout and Publishing software for proffesionals

Reviewed on 13/5/2022

Adobe InDesign is easy to work with once you get a hang of it. I also have Adobe CC so it is my go...

Adobe InDesign is easy to work with once you get a hang of it. I also have Adobe CC so it is my go to for 99% of all of the publishing and printing projects.

Pros

Adobe InDesign is NOT an easy drag and drop software, and as such it takes some time to master it, but if you do you will get all encompassing tool for printing and publishing. It offers all the functions to make your designs work in almost any scenarios. Master pages are amazing time savers so you don't need to copy and paste repeating elements on each and every page of your book, magazine or brochure. You can also setup automatic page numbering, chapter naming or Table of contents, which are all huge time savers. It is the best software for text editing especially for the large text blocks like books or magazines.

Cons

Adobe InDesign's biggest strength is also it's biggest weakness, it should be used as a part of Adobe Creative Cloud collaborative tools, which means if you need Photo Editing or Vector Editing and design you will need to that in Photoshop because these tools are non existent in InDesign. So if you are looking to by cheap software you need to look somewhere else, this is not for you. In order to unlock all of the powerful tools you need to have all of Adobe's Creative Cloud suite of applications.

Bojana
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect for Creating Digital Content

Reviewed on 15/6/2022

As a graphic designer, I use Adobe InDesign daily and it gives me all the tools needed to create...

As a graphic designer, I use Adobe InDesign daily and it gives me all the tools needed to create beautiful layouts. It's perfect for creating content like flyers, brochures, posters, newspapers, presentations, ebooks, and any files, whether they are digital or printable use.

Pros

I am a creator of digital files, mostly digital planners, and using Adobe Design has helped me a lot to speed up the creation process. It's one of the best multi-page design software. Large files with over 500 pages and over 1000 hyperlinks can be easily created using master pages, which further simplifies the whole process. As the paperless era begins to take hold, InDesign has followed up with a series of interactivity features that allows the production of digital books, magazines, invitations, or any other format. I have a lot of experience using InDesign for interactive documents, and it does offer some impressive features that allow me to create animated documents complete with audio and video.

Cons

I have no complaints about the software and how it works. I like to use InDesign, but maybe the only complaint would be that it has a monthly fee. I'd rather pay once.

Alessio
Overall rating
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I can't imagine my life without it

Reviewed on 24/3/2023

I have been using it for several years now and several improvements have been made over time, but...

I have been using it for several years now and several improvements have been made over time, but the initial basis remains the same. From brochures, to catalogs, to the preparation of visual elements for the web, InDesign will always accompany you with mastery. One of the things I like the most are the frames, very quick to use and that no one (I don't understand why) doesn't try to imitate: I literally do everything with them and the drag and drop feature.

Pros

Software for the management of catalogs and brochures and so on, but also web based products. The different features that characterize it have made it a pillar of the publishing sector over the years. The various shortcuts that are part of the Adobe suite make it agile in every situation. I couldn't work without a tool like this.

Cons

In large files it stops and slows down, even with very powerful computers. A pity for a software that is supposed to handle quite large workflows like big catalogs.

duncan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best layout software

Reviewed on 23/4/2022

since first using indesign i have found it the best and being from adobe the tools and shortcuts...

since first using indesign i have found it the best and being from adobe the tools and shortcuts are all familiar

Pros

ease of use and fully functional does everything i need

Cons

would like to see the ability to add a + sign to features like leading on the fonts

Sian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An Industry Standard piece of software that stands well above any 'free' software

Reviewed on 26/4/2023

I use ID to create publications, company documents for clients, social media images and many...

I use ID to create publications, company documents for clients, social media images and many documents ready for print.

Pros

As part of the creative suite, it's just the right thing to use for setting, design and publications. There's really nothing to compare it to. Automatic updates are great and keeps the software moving forward

Cons

Nothing really. It does what it should all the time

Michelle
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Adobe InDesign - the gold standard for publishing

Reviewed on 7/6/2022

Fabulous

Fabulous

Pros

It is sophisticated but still user friendly. Not too complex; easy to use!

Cons

Would be awesome to have a chat feature somewhere for support

Hulda
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Indesign mush have for Grapic Designers

Reviewed on 1/4/2022

Easy to use. Easy import and export + integration with other software.

Easy to use. Easy import and export + integration with other software.

Pros

Great workspace, tools, import and export tools.

Cons

There is nothing I dislike about ghe software.

Aria
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Modern Day "Old Timer" Layout Designing Software

Reviewed on 4/2/2022

I'm using this software for years, and so far I can say there's no other software can comparatively...

I'm using this software for years, and so far I can say there's no other software can comparatively match this one in this functionality, ease of use, and design-bank capabilities.

Pros

Adobe InDesign is not something new in layout designing, and recent updates are very valuable for everyone in this area. In short, I personally can say this is an "old-timer" software with modern day interface that can be easily operated, even for a beginner.

Cons

Online integration sometimes being a handicap for people that are living in areas with poor internet coverage.

Lukyamuzi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The power of publication design of indesign

Reviewed on 24/5/2023

Pros

Having worked as a graphic artist and instructional designer for over 5 years, I must commend Adobe InDesign for its ability to provide clear objectives for each tool and function, making it an enjoyable platform to use.

Cons

The process of utilizing it and acquiring knowledge about the new features being included is simple.