Blender

4.7 (800)
On-premise video editing tool for developers and designers.

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(800)
Value for Money
4.8/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
3.7/5
Customer Support
4.3/5

97%
recommended this app
Sort by

800 Reviews

George
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Opinion from Blender use who has 5 years of experience

Reviewed on 22/11/2019

I have been working in blender for over 5 years, i am an interior designer and blender gave everything i wanted in this field : Redering, modeling, lighting, materials.... Blender has everything for me to work on a big projects. I started working in blender and i think ill never change it, maybe i will add some but i will never change blender to other 3D software.

Pros

Blender is Open-source software which is Free which is very important thing if you compare it to other softwares. Blender can give you same result as paid softwares. In this program you can make a lot of things, you can : Paint, 3D models, Sculpting, Video editing, Rendering, Animation and many more things.
Blender has it's own Rendering engine so you don't have to buy it and trust me it's very good even if it's free.
Development team is putting their heart in this product and you can see it in their daily builds, it gets better and better.
Community is amazing, you can find many groups, forums and websites dedicated to blender and blender users, there are alot of plugins and models too. you also can use models from other softwares by simply importing FBX or OBJ file format in blender scene.

Cons

It's not an industry standard and ill try to explain why.... Blender is new program and lately it got better that's why many people don't use it, they think that it's a free program and they don't look at it seriously, also many big companies already have stuff which work on Maya or 3Ds max and they don't want to get a new team member who works in blender, because big companies make big projects, every team member is making his part in this project and if one of the team member uses different program, he/she could not use others assets, materials, lighting and many other stuff.... to cut a long story short, Blender is not industry standard because many people don't use it and they still use 3Ds max, maya or any other software.

Micalen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Blender: 3D modelling and Animation software for developers.

Reviewed on 27/6/2022

Overall I've had a rather pleasant experience using blender. The amazing lighting system and effects tool really makes this one of the best animation software. 3D modelling is made pretty simple once used to all the tools and functions. There are a lot of features that I haven't used or at least not to its full potential as some features can be very confusing to use. Blender the best free 3D software to use and one of the best overall.

Pros

Blender is free software which is always a pro! It is also one of the best 3D modeling software out there. I love how easy it is to import objects into blender as well how simple conversions are. Blender has an amazing lighting system which I use to create cool animations for game scenes. The rigging system is a very useful tool for creating in-game animations. There are many different tool to help you sculpt and create models. It has a pretty powerful text system which is very different to the text system of a drawing software. This text system can create 3D objects of the text which can then be edited and animated.

Cons

The few cons I have with blender mainly include that the software is not the most user-friendly. It can be very confusing to use at times. There's a lot of features which is create but it lacks tutorials to learn how to make use of those features. Likely other tutorials can be found online. The software can become very system heavy but that only for complicated models.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Powerful but hard to work with it!

Reviewed on 18/10/2021

I'm annoyed about user interface and menus, I hope that in future the customization will allows you to make deep personalization. But when you need to do something really creative you absolutely need this software.

Pros

You can do really anything! I'm not joking, you ca do all you can imagine and maybe more. We edited videos, make simulations, modeling, textured, and more.

Cons

Menus are terrible. Working is really hard! You have to search on internet the way to operate, if you don't find some tutorials you'll lose your time, you can never find the right way to do a thing!

Tshepo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great 3D model and animation tool on a tight budget

Reviewed on 29/9/2022

Its great for modeling your own models and objects especially if you are not keen on buying from the marketplace

Pros

i love that its free to use and that it has a lot of hidden functionality than meets the eye

Cons

Its difficult to use when you are a beginner, its needs watching multiple video tutorials to learn

Balazs
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Blender for architectural visualization

Reviewed on 30/5/2022

We doing architectural and product visualization, blender is excelent choise for these

Pros

We can create soo beautiful visualizations with blender including drone videos with embedded buildings / urban 3D models

Cons

A bit difficult for beginners, but there are thousands of tutorial videos, so everybady can learn easily and free

Alternatives Considered

SketchUp

Reasons for Choosing Blender

Better value for money :)

Switched From

3ds Max

Reasons for Switching to Blender

Blender have more features including camera tracing and so good integrated render engine and compositor
Deni
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Hollywood quality studio with minimal budget

Reviewed on 6/9/2022

I really enjoy working with Blender, because there are so many sources of information and learning due to the wide community involved in developing Blender.

Pros

Blender is an open source 3d and animation software so we can participate in developing its features in it. And most importantly it's free.

Cons

We have to learn on our own to determine the right settings in adjustment to the hardware we have.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Animation and modeling for beginners up to professionals

Reviewed on 15/9/2022

We are constructing models for games, websites, desktop applications and animations.
Once you get the philosophy that goes with the software it integrates nicely into the pipeline and is very easy to use and get results. Having support from some 3D rendering farms on the cloud generates a resource and costs optimization in our production pipeline.

Pros

The community is the best part of this software.
There is always someone you can ask, and they are all willing to give a hand or a pointer in the right direction. There is also plenty of materials for almost every possible topic.
It has become a fundamental piece of software that many artists use for their daily work and there is always a new plugin that will add more tooling to your creative process.
And you can always create, modify or better any thing that you have in mind as it is open source, but it also has API access to almost every functionality.

Cons

I believe that the community has been constructing a great piece of software and has eliminated any thing I could have had against it.

Tristan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best FREE 3D and Animation software

Reviewed on 10/9/2022

Great software that I use every day for making assets. The best part is that it can do everything other software can do but for free

Pros

There are so many features for everything you need

Cons

It can be a bit intimidating for beginners but everything needs time and practice

hussein
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

nice software

Reviewed on 28/7/2022

Pros

blender is good software, it offers so many powerful tools not offered in any free software before and gets updated regularly

Cons

it s so hard software to learn and take too much to understand every button role

Alison
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent free software

Reviewed on 30/6/2022

Along with editing the software is great for building models, texturing, modeling and scenery and landscape generation.

Pros

Blender is not difficult to learn thanks to plenty of tutorial. It is
great with plenty of features and numerous addons both free and paid. It is easily comparable with software such as 3DS Max and others yet it is free.

Cons

There isn't anything missing from the software. It is updated on a regular basis and has something for everyone.

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Blender - Blending Open Source and Functionality

Reviewed on 21/10/2019

I use Blender on a daily basis to design 3D models of objects found in historical dig sites. I also use Blender to tweak the designs of others from many of the popular online modeling communities.

Pros

Blender is free. It's open-source and has an active developing community that works hard to keep the software as up-to-date as possible with today's fast pace. I primarily use Blender to design 3D models for later printing and the built-in tools for model design work wonderfully.

Cons

If you're looking to create 3d movies, be prepared for work. The open-source nature of the software is also a downfall if you're looking to create fully immersive 3d worlds. Plugins and scripts are required for more expansive work, and finding the right plugin is a hassle in itself.

Alternatives Considered

Fusion 360 and AutoCAD

Reasons for Choosing Blender

Blender was a free option that had well-documented support for all of the features that I needed.

Switched From

Fusion 360

Reasons for Switching to Blender

Blender is a little more lightweight, as I don't need the heavy lifting of Fusion 360 or AutoCAD.
Edwin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Best tool for a 3D developer.

Reviewed on 12/9/2021

It is completely the best perfect tool if you want to learn 3D. It takes time for one to learn but once to understand how to use it you will never for any other software used to develop 3D models.

Pros

First is its freeness, this software is a free and open source software thus it doesn't restrict you from using it if you have no money. Another thing I like is that it does not only creation of animations but also one can create games using this software. Navigating through its interface is easy with its various features. This software supports various graphic formats compared to related alternatives. Lastly is its versatility, adapting these software is easy and it can easily be changed to develop 2D also.

Cons

Learning curve is really deep but one you understand how to use that software, you would not have any need of these other software's. This really consumes a lot of time since you'll have to look for supporting documents for for you to fully understand the workings of this software, otherwise it is so far the best software I have ever used for 3D modelling.

Freddy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A (somewhat) hidden and overlooked gem on professional digital production

Reviewed on 16/2/2021

We needed a modelling tool for our entry level designers, but we didn't have any spare licenses on any other softwares for them. We chose to let them use Blender instead, and they probably achieved more than we could have done using more traditional software. Now we are all trying to make the switch to Blender mainly from Autodesk programs.

Pros

Blender has all the feature and capabilities of any thousand dollars, enterprise level softwares out there, and for FREE!!!
Allowing the modelling, sculpting, the use of parametric plugins, UVing, animating and rendering, without having to switch to any other program.

Cons

With the amount of features that Blender has to offer, you can feel overwhelmed by the amount of options (and hidden options) that you are presented with. At the beginning you'll have to familiarize yourself with the UI concepts, with the shortcuts and the overall workflow of Blender, and that can be a really steep curve to learn for starters.

Ray
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Powerful open source 3-D graphics software and editor that rivals commercially available tools

Reviewed on 31/8/2018

Overall, Blender is a very powerful tool, that can be used for video editing. However, because it is designed to be a 3-D graphics tool which also has video capabilities, it is not the easiest tool to use. I continue to remain intrigued by Blender and in a year or two will revisit it's video editing workflow.

Pros

Blender is used by professionals around the world. Because it is open source and has such wide usage and effort behind its development, it is very unlikely that Blender will ever fade away. Using Blender for your projects ensures long-term access to your files and you'll accumulate skills that will be useful well into the future.

I used Blender only for video editing so I cannot comment on its other features.

Strong video editing capabilities - it is relatively easy to import footage and to make basic cuts, move footage, and add basic fades and transitions.

To simplify the import of video clips, install the Kinoraw Tools addon.
It offers a good way to import media clips through the file browser. The Kinoraw tool will allow you to import all files in the browser, or

This plugin adds features that allow the user to select large numbers of small clips and snap the selection to a designated clip. It also allows selection by type of clip so its easy to grab all of the sound clips to export to an audio editor. The plugin also includes an "inverse" selector to select everything except the currently selected clip. The Kinoraw tool also includes a convenient fade-in fade-out tool accessible in the Strip menu option

Cons

After reading and watching many tutorials on using Blender for video editing, I hoped to rely on Blender exclusively for video creation.
While Blender indeed offers powerful video editing features, the average person will not find it easy to use.

Blender cannot automatically detect resolution and frame rates so if you have video from different cameras and wish to edit these different resolutions files in the timeline in Blender, you will encounter numerous problems. Software should be able to detect these various settings automatically and make necessary adjustments or at the very least, warn the user that the clips are incompatible and guide the user through various fixes.

There were too many other problems with trying to edit a 2 hour film and I eventually gave up and moved to the open-source video editor Kdenlive.

Regardless of my experience, many users in fact rely on Blender for video editing and enjoy the process. Maybe you will find it to be the best tool for you.

Jonathan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Gone has the ugly duckling!

Reviewed on 22/6/2020

I switched to Blender from 3D Studio Max about 8 years ago. At that time I was working with clients that had been using Blender to produce their models & really wanted to give it a fair shot. Back then the UX was a lot more difficult to get used to but once I did I found it hard to switch back. The abilities of the cycles engine also impressed me a lot & I made it a permanent switch.

Fast forward to today and Blender has massively been transformed. Whilst the likes of Autodesk Maya often get touted as being an industry standard Blender has often suffered a bad reputation for some of the work that has been produced by the more amateur users. I've always thought this was extremely unfair and a deeper search soon revealed to me the capabilities that Blender has always had. With no entry fee for starting with Blender there was always going to be a much larger pool of work produced in Blender that wouldn't be quite as impressive.

I followed the 2.8 update from the early alphas and to release saw the momentum that was building behind it. This wasnt just a minor release, it was a massive milestone.

For new users the interface is now much more friendly and offers a nice middle ground to those transferring skillsets from similar 3D Suites (3DS Max, Autodesk Maya, ZBrush), realtime rendering is a gamechanger & the community around Blender has only grown stronger with many top artists now using it for their work daily.

Pros

Extremely powerful 3D suite, perfect customization for viewport displays, excellent sculpting abilities, realtime rendering with eevee, massively improved interface, plenty of plugins.

Cons

I still feel that the rigging & animation options are a little limited without plugins. I would like to see an update focusing on this with further content from the developers on how best to use them. Little in this area is covered by the community.

Aleksandra
Overall rating
  • Industry: Arts & Crafts
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Brand new look

Reviewed on 21/12/2019

In 2019 Blender changed a lot, making the software easy to manage. UI became simpler and more intuitive and the general design changes made it so much more viable as a professional 3D program. I have used it over the years for small projects, although they always took quite long, as the learning curve was extremely steep and for each small project there had to be hours of research. Coming back after the new version was released, I have reached my goals quite easily, effectively reducing time spent on each project.

Pros

Blender's UI is clean, elegant and intuitive. Its features are on par with those of professional 3D suites, which makes it a free alternative to industry's most known programs. The performance is quite good, considering I've been using it on a low-end PC and besides some issues with particle system, there's no considerable lag or stuttering. Plugins, extensions and user-created content makes it easy to customize and prepare for any 3D work and environment.

Cons

As the new version changed the software, the available guides and tutorials are mostly outdated, making it a bit harder to find a good learning source, as the changes were so drastic that simple commands or keybinds no longer work. Due to that some problems require reaching out to the community, which may not respond within the time constraints a professional may have.

Ayesh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Blender for Software Developments

Reviewed on 12/8/2020

Overall Blender is a good software to any one who willing to start to do 3D desinig works and the people like me who looking a free software to do your small 3D desinig and animation work.Highly recommend it is worth every second which you spent with it.

Pros

One of the best open source software ever I used is the Blender.I used blender for create some animations to my on going mobile app development project and it is fantastic. I am not mainly doing animation 3D modeling stuff therefore I havent enough budget to buy a software to do my desinigs.And I also need a software which I can learn it quickly and do my desinigs easily.So I found Blender.It is free and also easy to adapt to it and work with it.I need only watch few youtube video tutorials to get learn the Blender.And It has huge fanbase and community so if you are in any trouble with it, you can get help very easily.Blender has lot of pre built desinigs,projects,3D models and plugins like other fameous high end desinig softwares. So you can use those to do your project much easier.At first I thought Blender is not as functional like other high end fameous softwares.But I was wrong.It can perform same as the any payable software in its catogaery even it is a open source software.I highly recommend it for any one who looking a 3D modeling software in free.

Cons

Blender is a good open source software but it has some bugs issues and those are not fixed in frequently.Developer team has done a great job in Blender but they must focus on fixing those bugs before release it. And also you have to get lot of plugins to reveal the maximum functionality of the blender and some of them are payable and those can be expensive .So I wish these functionalities must be built in to the original software. Because of that I do not recommend it for professional high end desinig works.The software can use to do small project but I am shuwer it not suitable to do high end stuff.It can do many of stuff but it is not reliable for professional works.

Abhijit
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

East or West, Blender is the best!

Reviewed on 10/11/2022

With the vision of founder [SENSITIVE CONTENT], he has made one of the absolutely best 3d Digital Content Creation tool accessible to any human wanting to start their journey offering at par if not better features than commercial tools costing in thousands of dollars.Blender has democratised creativity, removed barriers of entry.Blender is one of the best thing that has happened to the 3d DCC softwares industry.

Pros

A beautiful, powerful, ease to use and at the same time complicated with multiple layers of depths, Blender is a program that competes with the so called Industry Standards.It is a jack of all trades, a generalist software which has the capability of taking care of the whole digital content creation pipeline by itself, and with tools which each in their area are highly specialised.The tools are industry leading and in some aspects the developement is way ahead of some of the commercial competitors.Undoubtedly, the love Blender gets from it's users, and the vast amount of userbase it has, speaks for itself about the software and what it's users are able to achieve with it.

Cons

Due to depth of the software and the amount of features and tools, the learning curve for beginners maybe steep. But with a great community around it, Blender has proven where there is a will, there is a way.

Ayon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Motion Pictures & Film
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

One of the finest 3d software out in the market

Reviewed on 12/9/2019

Blender is FREE!!! and as they say, it will always be... So you are at no risk, it took sometime for me to get used to it, although I'm still learning, it has been a rewarding experience. Thanks to those wise people who decided to keep it FREE and open source yet Blender is so powerful that many professional studios has started implementing it into their workflow.
Today Blender is like the Swiss Knife in the world of 3D, excelling in every departments of it.

Pros

Blender, at present the name itself gives relief to all those aspiring 3D and VFX artists, who feel crippled by the price tag that comes with Maya, Cinema 4D, 3DS Max, etc. Blender is capable of doing most of the 3D and Animation works one will ever need for FREE....!!!! This is absolutely hard to believe at first. A free and open source software might give a vibe of being compromised or cut down versions, but not Blender. This software is a beast in its field, providing everything from 2D animation, VFX design, 3D Modelling, Character rigging, Landscape Design, Texturing, Compositing and what not. The latest version 2.8 is a massive update which has a redesigned interface turning Blender into a beautiful and intuitive piece of software plus has a lots of new features making the overall process much easier for anyone from beginner to professionals.

Cons

Blender offers a massive set of features which comes with a learning curve. This might hold you for a moment but when you see what amazing things other people are creating with Blender, you will force yourself to learn the software and once you get hold of it, it will be so unbelievably rewarding that you will never regret learning this fantastic friend who will stay with you for ever, for FREE!!!!

Lívio Bernard
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A nice software to render videos

Reviewed on 22/5/2022

It is a successful software to make geometric forms alive

Pros

In my company, teammates and I use Blender to unify the construction projects and create a video interface that is used to promote the business directly to clients and in showroom presentations. We also love Blender because we can make valuable discussions on ongoing projects with our architecture team.

Cons

It lacks integration with the most used construction platform. If this were the case all my department could save a precious time

Abhishek
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Games
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The only and only best open source software for 3d purpose

Reviewed on 21/9/2020

Super cool and awesome. I would strongly recommend this to everyone and even if you are using any other proprietary software then still give blender a chant. It deserves it !!!

Pros

1.) It is open source (the best thing which I love about it)
2.) It is free hence entry barrier is negligible for newbies
3.) It is increasingly becoming powerful with every new update:- the recent one was a boon to 2d part
4.) Performance is getting better with every new update
5.) It is gaining attention of big parties like top game and movies studios
6.) It is heavily supported by its users
7.) Future is super super bright and difference between blender and other rivals is reducing with every new update
God bless blender

Cons

If I would had written this review few months back, in the con section I would had ranted about its drawback for the 2d part. But now that issue is also solved. And even much better my other issues were also solved with the new update
It would be better if keyboard shortcuts and UI was given a touch ( it would make whole process much better)

Iqra
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Free and Best 3D Creation Software

Reviewed on 9/7/2020

I edit videos for my company and sometimes also for my own freelance project. So I prefer to edit my videos using Blender. Because blender tools are really awesome. I have created a number of professional animations using the blender. I really like and love Blender therefore my overall experience with the blender is really incredible.

Pros

Blender is a very awesome and free 3D creation software. You can create and compose feature films using Blender. Designing Animations is very easy in Blender. There are lots of video editing tools and options are available in Blender. So even you can edit your videos up to the professional level in Blender. The interface is really awesome and you can even customize window layout and shortcuts according to your requirements.

Cons

The tools, features, and functions of blender are awesome. I never faced any problem or issue during the use of Blender. Even I export my work in a professional way according to my requirements, so according to my experience, there are no cons.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Blender opens doors to beginners and keep supporting advanced users

Reviewed on 25/5/2021

Pros

Blender offers a complete toolset for 3d modeling, rendering and animation. Even if some people do prefer other 3D programs for personal reasons, Blender offers a competitive engine for free. That's a huge encouragement to new students on 3d modeling and animation. The more I do with it, the more surprised I am that it has no cost.

Cons

I use it to render and model furniture objects and scenes. According to my usage, I feel it still lacks assets to use in rendering scene compositions.
It could have pre-configured materials as default inside shading options to help newer students on 3D rendering, maybe some tutorial on learning the node system.
Also, the snapping vertices system doesn't work as smoothly as SketchUp or other 3d software when it comes to building architectural visualization.

Tam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Blender is for your 3D modeling and video editing.

Reviewed on 18/10/2021

I use Blender for my teaching. My students love using Blender since it is very simple and easy to use. However, as mentioned, Blender crashes very often. Therefore, I always ask my students to save their Blender projects very often.

Pros

Blender helps you model 3D objects with all basic functions, i.e., translation, rotation, scaling. You can easily put textures and animations onto the 3D models. Blender also supports animation mode where you are able set up each animation frame and preview what your animation looks like. This is very helpful for your video editing. Blender also gives you the Scripting mode where you can code with Python to handle your 3D objects.

Cons

Blender has so many versions. This causes a lot of issues when you save and load your .blend files with different Blender versions. Blender sometimes freezes and unexpectedly shuts down. Therefore, make sure that you save your Blender project more often.

Amanda Josalene
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent & Fosters Creativity.

Reviewed on 11/3/2019

Overall, Blender has been fantastic, and I will continue to use Blender over any other animation software.

Pros

I used Blender (and still do) while I was attending University, where I studied a double Bachelor's in Cinema Production and Animation. I was curious about Blender one day and downloaded it onto my desktop, and have never regretted it since. Blender has a fantastic interface, and it was incredible being able to see my animations come to life and being able to quickly download them onto my PC. Blender is one of the "easier" animation platforms, as it was easier for me to learn how to navigate Blender, but it most certainly does not lack any of the necessary tools that it takes to create realistic animations.

Cons

The only con I have is more so advice to potential users; Blender is a high-tech animation software, and by this I mean you will need a faster computer in order to get the absolute most out of Blender--only because it will take quite the bit for your finished animation to download completely so you can view it in action. Other than this piece of advice, Blender is an amazing platform for animators and those who are interested in getting their foot into the world of animation.