Paint 3D

4.2 (63)
Photo editing and graphic design platform

Overall rating

4.2 /5
(63)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.0/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support
4.1/5

84%
recommended this app
Sort by

63 Reviews

Miguel Ángel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Music
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Awesome evolution of Paint

Reviewed on 6/8/2021

Pros

I recently decided to use Paint 3D instead of standard Paint for a school assignment. Since I opened it, I really liked the evolution of the interface, this being more modern than the previous one. The tools to use Paint 3D in two dimensions continue to work in the same way as in the previous Paint but with some improvements and new features, which I really liked. Talking about its most remarkable change, namely the ability to now work on a z-axis, it is surprising. Although it is not a software aimed at a professional market, Paint 3D allows you to get closer to that world and get to know it in a relatively simple way.

Cons

I'm not someone who is professionally into 3D digital design, I only used Paint 3D occasionally for a school assignment and I really liked it. I didn't delve too deep into all the features of Paint 3D, but the ones that I got to try I really liked. For this reason, I didn't find any negative aspect of Paint 3D. Perhaps someone with more experience can give a more complete opinion about this software.

Nikki
Overall rating
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Fun tool

Reviewed on 22/8/2022

I have made business cards with Paint 3D and use it to sketch ideas. I attempted to use it for some of my more creative photography but wasn't happy with the results and did not publish.
I chose "Fun tool" as my review title because it is fun and entertaining but falls short of being a professional tool in most cases. Without a touchscreen device and pen even the most talented artist would struggle to create anything of quality.

Pros

The nice thing about Paint 3D is that it came ready to use on my PC. Easiest setup ever. Draw with pen, pencil, crayon, brush, and so on. Change the color, texture, and shape as desired. Choose 3D shapes and models from a categorized library and create your own 3D images. Layer objects or photos and adjust Z axis positioning.
No data/wifi connection required and no bugs or quirks.

Cons

The faunts are very limited and I haven't found a way to import more. Some of the 3D images aren't very realistic, all of the libraries need to be updated.
Other than adding to a photo there's not a lot of photo editing capability.
Nothing from paint 3D makes me want to say "oh wow!".

Cyriaque
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use

Reviewed on 26/11/2022

Fantastic

Pros

This software with its ease of use is reliable and we can easily retouch the photos and its user interface is very improved

Cons

It is a perfect software. I don't see any problem with this software

Miriam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Fun to play around with

Reviewed on 21/11/2022

Pros

This is a neat piece of software that just comes with your laptop or computer. Its a step up from paint and can come in handy to odd time.

Cons

Not as user friendly as the standard edition of Paint

Tajalasfia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Paint 3D review

Reviewed on 19/10/2022

When I need to make a fast adjustment to an image, I always utilize Paint 3D. I only need two clicks to launch it because I have Windows 10 (it is embedded in the context menu). Although I am not a trained graphic designer, I have used this program on a number of challenging tasks, and it has never let me down. It includes a variety of tools that are all extremely simple to use. Both 2D and 3D work may be done. You should definitely try this wonderful and beautiful program; it's free and accessible on the Microsoft Store.

Pros

For a recent school task, I chose to utilize Paint 3D rather than regular Paint. Since I opened it, I have really like how the UI has changed, becoming more contemporary. Although there are some updates and new capabilities over the previous Paint, the tools for using Paint 3D in two dimensions still function the same manner, which I really appreciated. It is startling when you talk about its most notable modification, which is the capacity to now work on a z-axis. Paint 3D enables you to approach and familiarize yourself with that world in a very straightforward manner, despite the fact that it is not software intended for a professional market.

Cons

There aren't many founts left, and I can't seem to find a way to import more. All of the libraries need to be updated, and some of the 3D graphics aren't particularly realistic. There aren't many options for photo editing besides adding to a picture. Nothing in Paint 3D inspires me to exclaim, "Oh my!"

Gonzalo
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Have fun introducing yourself to 3D modelling with Microsoft's Paint 3D

Reviewed on 2/8/2021

Had fun by playing with this software,for learning 3D design it is a great tool.
But for every day work I would not recommend it.

Pros

If you want to learn a bit or more of 3D design or just having fun, Paint 3D is a very easy alternative to create 3D Models.
I have used this to manage my screenshots also, providing an alternative way to edit my images.
You can share your creations on the internet with its share options.

Magic selection makes your life easier.

One very cool gadget is that you can replay your creative process!

Cons

Limited options for professional editing.
Minor glitches on adding text can be annoying.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very good software.

Reviewed on 8/4/2022

Paint 3D has helped me a lot, mainly in quick editions, although it is a bit complicated to use in terms of getting 100% of its benefits.

Pros

Although it is practically free software, what it offers you is more than enough to do a great job.

Cons

It should have more features, and maybe it should look more professional.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Basic Photo Editing Tool

Reviewed on 11/1/2023

I still like this tool since it doesn't cost much and is perfect for day to day basic use.

Pros

This tool can be used daily by people who is not skilled nor trained to use more advanced tools like photoshop.

Cons

It can be very limiting for advanced photo editors.

Alternatives Considered

Adobe Photoshop
Paul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Writing & Editing
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Do they actually test this product on real people?

Reviewed on 17/3/2022

Barely functional. I have mastered how to create text-based graphics that are simple, but regularly I find that I lose my work, make a seemingly uncorrectable mistake or end up at a dead end with the program and have to start over. This product is a misery. Perhaps it's me, but I don't think so. Fundamentally, the design and functionality is so flawed I cannot understand what it was designed to do.

Pros

Nothing. At best I could say it came free with my computer. And it's worth what I paid.

Cons

There are so many deficiencies with this product I don't know where to begin. (1) Figuring out how to edit a graphic after you've clicked off it is impossible. (2) Dropping in a piece of art or a photo can be a misery. (3) You can lose your work if you are not careful. (4) The font size limitations are ridiculous. (5) The color menus are hard to use and limited. (6) There is not grown-up help function...so you are on your own. I could go on, but I won't. It's needlessly difficult to use.

Maruf
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Suitable for simple edits

Reviewed on 3/12/2022

Pros

Sometimes I do small editing work. I can do my work here quickly and easily. For example, cropping the image and changing the aspect ratio.

Cons

It is nice that it is very simple, but the tools it has are very inadequate in my opinion. They need to improve on this.

Sotir
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

How good actually is Paint 3D and what can you do with it

Reviewed on 7/5/2022

I always use Paint 3D when I need a quick edit for an image. I have Windows 10 so I open it with just 2 clicks(it is embedded in the context menu). I am not a professional graphic designer but I have used this software for some quite difficult projects and it has never disappointed me. The various tools it offers are very easy to use. You can work in both 2D and 3D. I suggest you try this amazing and elegant app, and you don't have to pay anything, it's available in the Microsoft Store for free.

Pros

I am going to start with the fact that this software is amazingly user-friendly. The colors, design, and position of all the different tools are just perfect and it all harmonizes so beautifully with the whole app. You can do a quick little edit just to merge, cut, draw something, and add some object to your image or if you are a professional graphic designer or just wanna be a little more creative you can experiment with the more advanced artistic tools and make full 3D projects. The best thing is that Paint 3D is free and you can try it right away.

Cons

My opinion is that the canvas in the original Paint app was a little better than this. Maybe a lot will disagree with me but that is just what I think. That's in view of the fact that with the original paint I feel like you had a little bit more control with the canvas when placing the image. Other than that this software is better in every aspect of the editing process.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great updated version of a classic

Reviewed on 25/6/2022

Pros

I loved the new features, Paint is a classic, the easiest way to edit a simple image, and now it has even more advanced settings, so you can make some great edits.

Cons

The feature I never used is the 3D editor, I understand this may be useful for some people but I think it could be erased and not a lot of people would miss it.

Alternatives Considered

Adobe Photoshop
Bill
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great for very basic image editing

Reviewed on 26/4/2022

I mostly use Paint 3D for quick and dirty image editing. Usually I use it to crop and resize images to use on blogs or social media. It's handy for quick stuff like that, when I don't want to open a bloated piece of software that takes forever to load.

Pros

Paint 3D is not for professional graphic designers, but if you need free software that lets you crop, resize, and do some very basic image editing, it's quick and easy to use. No frills, but it's reliable and does what it sets out to do.

Cons

Few features. Sometimes I want to do more with it, but can't.

Kristzander Alcris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

"My one stop scanned file editor"

Reviewed on 13/10/2022

Fun!

Pros

This my go to software whenever i need to edit some details or words, numbers, values and names on a scanned file templates like, request for permits regarding deliveries or ingress.

You can easily erase parts of the document that you want to edit, then place a text box and type away what you want to replace the ones to deleted.

And that's just one example of scenarios that you can utilize this software and benefit from it being at your disposal. I remember as a kid, that i used to draw with this software using the mouse and paint or color my masterpieces using a virtual airbrush, paint brush and the likes.

Cons

At first you have to figure out what the icons and symbols do, but afterwards this software can be really useful.

Krzysztof
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A very good program

Reviewed on 25/1/2022

The program offers basic tools for creating simple three-dimensional objects, it is a big leap in possibilities compared to 2D paint, because it is in windows you will be using, you do not need to look for other programs, unless someone needs to create complex 3D objects.

Pros

The program is easy to use, it has the basic functions of graphics programs, it is free,

Cons

A few more features and layer support are missing.

Nickolas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Best for amateur photo editors

Reviewed on 4/2/2022

Pros

You can access a lot of simple photo and document editing tools for free. If you have a PC, you probably already have it installed, without having to download software.

Cons

If your career is graphic design or photo editing, you are better off paying for a program like Adobe Photoshop.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Painting ur life in 3D

Reviewed on 26/8/2022

Pros

Paint 3D is a programme for everyone. For your child and your grandmother. Everyone has the opportunity to modify photos in an easy, pleasant and safe way. I recommend. The price reflects the quality.

Cons

I do not see any downsides that cause me to change my opinion

Mustafa
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Helpful for template designing

Reviewed on 10/4/2022

Working with Paint 3D makes me feel fun. Besides it is helpful it has an entertaining side.

Pros

This software is coming with Windows 10. So it is easy to reach and operate it. I generally use it when I am working on the preparation of the first templates of the logo kind of works. In simple templates at the beginning of the work this software is very helpful.

Cons

Of course this is not a professinal design program. And this is very time consuming. You cannot do measured detailed works with this program. For professional works you need better programs. I use this only for preparing the templates.

Mukiibi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Paint 3D

Reviewed on 1/2/2022

Its the most satisfying photo editing tools.

Pros

Its photo editing tools are the most efficient and also allows you to save the edited photos in different formats.

Cons

Its online support features are not well integrated with my preferred browser which is Chrome.

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

my Opinion on Paint 3D

Reviewed on 2/10/2022

not bad i give it a 7 over 10. because i was still able to get the format i was looking for with other software apps.

Pros

I was first introduced to paint 3D when I Started 3D printing. it helped a lot with the design aspect of things.

Cons

it wasn't so good at converting the 3D objects to many other formats.

Michael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Not the best photo editing software, but great features for the fact that it's free

Reviewed on 22/1/2022

Pros

It has a lot of features that are similar to Adobe Photoshop, but you don't have to pay for them.

Cons

The tracing tool doesn't work as well as with Photoshop. And the transparent feature doesn't always work. And the color picker doesn't really select the correct color.

Jaime
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

I use this for adding Prices and Details to Photos

Reviewed on 24/8/2022

Pros

I like that I can quickly and efficiently add colorful notes to a photo for real estate ads.

Cons

Sometimes getting the the text boxes to appear in different sized fonts takes playing with. Also having text with a colored background is a nice touch, but it too requires a bit of fiddling with. Once you have made a choice for a text box, you cant edit it. You need to make a new text box and delete the old one.

Daniel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Paint 3D is a most needed upgrade from classic paint

Reviewed on 10/1/2022

I use Paint 3D for small image editing, cropping and collage, sometimes when I'm creating tutorials and user guides

Pros

It's bundled in windows, has a upgraded interface and it's easy to use

Cons

It has some annoying features, and you cannot compress files as much as other software

Tamarah
Overall rating
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

"Painting" in 3D with Paint 3D

Reviewed on 14/6/2022

I love Paint 3D and would continue to use this program moving forward.

Pros

I like how I am able to edit my screenshots and more with ease while using this program.

Cons

I don't like how sometimes the program gets stuck while using it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Libraries
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Paint3D comes with Windows 10 and is basically Paint on vitamins with 3D capabilities

Reviewed on 12/12/2021

A good step up for Paint on Windows with some great features and a nicer UI/UX feel.

Pros

This is certainly a step up from the standard Paint on Windows - which has not really evolved at any great pace in the last 30 years. Paint 3D allows me to model in 3D but also it can be used for 2D shapes etc as well - so it isn't just a 3D modeller. It is basically Paint on vitamins and it certainly feels a lot better, the UI/UX is much nicer to work with and more concise. It is quite powerful but you can still use it to muck around - I think kids will love creating with the stickers. It's magic select feature works really well.

Cons

I found it works best with a stylus if you want to do anything really serious, so if you just use a mouse it can be hard to get the precision right in those cases. If you are not doing anything too serious with it, then a mouse will work just fine.