DataSnipper

Improve the speed and quality of your audit.

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(124)
Value for Money
4.6/5
Features
4.6/5
Ease of Use
4.7/5
Customer Support
4.6/5

99%
recommended this app
Sort by

124 Reviews

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great solution, but I miss some discontinued features

Reviewed on 4/1/2023

There's no doubt it is a great solution and makes quality checks of financial statements much...

There's no doubt it is a great solution and makes quality checks of financial statements much faster. I'd love to see faster response to reported issues and a more agile approach to pushing new fixes.

Pros

DS makes it incredibly easy to check accuracy and consistency within financial statements. It has saved me and my teams precious hours everyday in FS quality checks.

Cons

The latest updates removed some useful features such as viewing the math checkmarks during the IC check. Also, custom checkmarks are hard to access and don't print into the PDF.

Harischandra
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Auditing with DataSnipper

Reviewed on 17/3/2023

Our team has been using DataSnipper for several months now, and it has considerably improved our...

Our team has been using DataSnipper for several months now, and it has considerably improved our efficiency in audit work. The automation features have saved us a significant amount of time on repetitive tasks, allowing us to focus on higher-risk areas. The intelligent audit features have also helped improve the accuracy and quality of our work. However, there are some functional issues, such as the Validation Snip and Table Snip, that need improvement. Additionally, the pricing structure can be prohibitive for small and medium practitioners with low license volumes. Despite these issues, DataSnipper remains a valuable tool for auditors looking to streamline their workflow and improve efficiency.

Pros

DS has truly impacted the way we audit over the last year. We have been using the tool for a few months now, and we can confidently say that it has saved us a considerable amount of time on repetitive tasks. This has allowed us to shift our focus towards more high-risk areas and tasks that require the attention of senior resources. As a result, we have been able to improve the quality and accuracy of our work.One of the key benefits of DS is its automation features. The tool automates many of the manual tasks that we used to perform, such as vouching, verifying, copying and pasting data, and reconciling data. This has freed up a lot of our time and resources, which we can now allocate towards more valuable tasks that require our attention.Another benefit of DataSnipper is its seamless integration with Excel. Most of our audit work is done in Excel, so having a tool that integrates with it is incredibly convenient. This also makes it easy for us to get started with the tool without extensive training, as we are already familiar with the Excel interface.The user-friendly interface of DataSnipper is another advantage. The tool is intuitive and easy to use, even for those who are not Excel experts. Overall, DataSnipper is a tool that any auditor should consider. It streamlines our workflow and improves our efficiency, which allows us to provide better value to our clients.

Cons

While DS has been a useful tool for automating certain audit tasks, there are some areas for improvement that could impact its overall effectiveness. One issue is the high price, which may be prohibitive for small and medium practitioners with low license volumes. Additionally, the pricing structure can be discriminatory towards customers with lower volumes, which can be frustrating.There are also some functional issues that could potentially affect the reliability and accuracy of the tool. For example, the Validation Snip does not actually validate amounts and users may unintentionally mark something as validated when it is not. The Table Snip also has issues when editing rows, which can cause data to be merged incorrectly.Another area for improvement is the lack of formatting options and inability to change general settings of functions, such as font size and color. Additionally, it would be helpful to have the ability to insert audit ticks into imported documents.While the FIND ALL SUMs function is useful, it does not always accurately check the totals when there is a net total, and the SUM Snip may pick up some numbers with a minus sign when they should be positive. Overall, while DS can be a helpful tool for automating audit tasks, users should be aware of these potential issues and weigh them against their specific needs and preferences. DS's use may cause Excel to freeze and it's incompatible with older versions of Office, but doesn't detract from its overall value.

Gili
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Thanks

Reviewed on 4/1/2023

To find mistakes

To find mistakes

Pros

The comfort of find all sums and to search words in a document

Cons

Document matching is not so useful as i thought because it's demand similar template for each document.

Clemens
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Implementaion process of DataSnipper in our audit firm

Reviewed on 28/6/2023

Implementing the tool was quite easy. The whole DataSnipper-Team is very helpful and has quick...

Implementing the tool was quite easy. The whole DataSnipper-Team is very helpful and has quick response times

Pros

Easy to use; makes life easier for an auditor; allows perfect cross referencing; all documents are collected in one excel-sheet --> very easy to review to work papers

Cons

Slows down the response times of excel-workbooks due to the embedded documents

Aubin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great tool

Reviewed on 13/7/2023

Pros

Easy to use and saves our time.They also keep updating the software with bug fixing and new features.

Cons

Sometimes some "snips" stop working and we don't always understand why.

Takao
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Reviewing Audit Workpapers

Reviewed on 10/7/2023

Pros

Most impactful feature for me is DataSnipper can show where the numbers/words come from. This is critical when I review audit workpapers prepared by my staff. By this function, I don’t need to search tickmarks put in the evidence documents.Also, DataSnipper is intuitive to use, so it's easy to teach staff how to use it.

Cons

Table Snip is a powerful feature, but I think it could be better.If there is an option like Text snip that can indicate where the numbers and strings are coming from, work efficiency will be greatly improved. Currently I achieve this with a combination of Table Snip and Document Matching, but I wish Table Snip could do it in one shot.

Mduduzi
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Value for money

Reviewed on 1/6/2023

We are able to manage time and reprioritize Resorces to optimize client satisfaction.

We are able to manage time and reprioritize Resorces to optimize client satisfaction.

Pros

Time efficiency. The ability to manage multiple documents under one document.

Cons

There is nothing I like least about DataSnipper.

Mmatsie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Makes work more efficient

Reviewed on 27/7/2023

Pros

Snip tables feature. It is a quick way to add tables to create lead schedules and cast financial statement

Cons

Nothing yet, I still need to explore more features.

Praise
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Datasnipper

Reviewed on 5/7/2023

Pros

Data extraction, vouching and referencing.

Cons

It makes my system and excel hang and slow when I import like 2 folders into my workpaper.

James
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

BDO - London Financial Reporting team use

Reviewed on 30/5/2023

Great so far, a great time saver and accuracy checker for the team

Great so far, a great time saver and accuracy checker for the team

Pros

The internal consistency check and PY figures check - very quick and useful for checking for errors and more accurate than a manual review

Cons

The export of version comparison - It is not so easy to review when exported into excel. The export of the PY comparison checker is a lot more useful. The casting of sums is also inconsistent. Sometimes it does not recognise columns with totals casted sideways across the page.

Upasak
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great tool

Reviewed on 25/4/2023

Good.

Good.

Pros

Great tool for recognizing OCR data, snips are really useful, efficient and effective.

Cons

At times file becomes heavy, Sum snip lacks at times.

Chinomso
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Seamless substantiative Auditing with Datasnipper

Reviewed on 4/1/2023

Am glad i used data snipping tool, is wonderful and have helped my work immensely

Am glad i used data snipping tool, is wonderful and have helped my work immensely

Pros

The ability to read data from invoices, Pdf, word document etc. Is a happy snipping exercise and experience

Cons

The table snipping needs to improve. Sometimes the table will not ready properly and it will lead to manually adjusting the work. Outside this overall is a good experience

Aaron
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

DataSnipper is a game-changer for anyone looking to streamline their data extraction process.

Reviewed on 18/4/2023

I´ve ben using DataSnipper in Aura and it has completely transformed the way I work. No longe do I...

I´ve ben using DataSnipper in Aura and it has completely transformed the way I work. No longe do I have to spend hours manually entering data from images or scanned documents - DataSnipper does it for me in just a few clicks. The interface is intuitive and easy to use, and the results are consistently accurate. I highly recommend DataSnipper to anyone looking to streamline their data extraction process

Pros

DataSnipper allows me to quickly and accurately extract data from photos or scanned documents, saving me time and increasing my productivity.

Cons

On a few occassions, data extracted from tables were not seperated as such. I had to spend time separating them.

Hambelela
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Data snipper & Audit

Reviewed on 4/1/2023

The benefit are higher than the cons, saving time and too much typing.

The benefit are higher than the cons, saving time and too much typing.

Pros

converting of PDF in editable data, matching document.

Cons

sometimes numerics come out as texts, you needd enough training.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Game Changer for Test of Details!!!

Reviewed on 4/1/2023

Saves so much time with switching between documents and tracking exact locations where changes...

Saves so much time with switching between documents and tracking exact locations where changes happen.

Pros

Ability to use pdf's within excel and track changes with just one click!

Cons

It's crashed a few times here and there but never an issue getting it to restart or redownload

Sherwin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Datasnipper is the best

Reviewed on 4/1/2023

Pros

Datasnipper allows us, the user, to conduct audit a lot easier than manual audit. It helps and enables us to work efficiently and effectively.

Cons

None noted. Everything about the software is topnotch.

Ronny
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 14/3/2023

Pros

Makes the job quicker and easier to review.

Cons

That when i use document matching on f.example. dates, if many invoices have the same date, one document gets all the snips. Maybe there could have been a place to "hook" that you want max one snip per document when you use document matching?

Anel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

DataSnipper for audit

Reviewed on 3/5/2023

Pros

Snipping data for direct audit trails...

Cons

More financial statement review functionailities

Jarryd
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

DataSnipper review

Reviewed on 25/5/2023

Great!

Great!

Pros

Saves time in matching data to source documents and importation of data from underlying sources to perform further calculations on.

Cons

Nothing comes to mind. I have no other comments to add here.

Charlotte
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very easy! Must have for documenting

Reviewed on 22/3/2023

Pros

It saves a lot of time and effort. It gives a clear overview.

Cons

Sometimes it doesn't work. It doesn't understand Arabic languages.

Cliford
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I love it

Reviewed on 27/4/2023

fantastic

fantastic

Pros

Everything. The table sniper, the sum sniper

Cons

Not able to take the snip at its original format

Ashley
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

DataSnipper Review

Reviewed on 10/4/2023

Pros

A great tool for efficiency! Makes auditing easier.

Cons

Not being activated in excel from time to time

Raphael
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

User Experience for Auditors

Reviewed on 4/1/2023

DataSnipper has significantly decreased our total cost of Audit processes, bringing automation,...

DataSnipper has significantly decreased our total cost of Audit processes, bringing automation, standardization, and cutting-edge technology, leveraging Azure OCR.

Pros

DataSnipper is a simple yet sophisticated platform to speed up our audit time which gives us the time to aggregate more value to the customer.

Cons

The deployment process for huge environments. I feel a lack of info regarding distributing the software itself using different deployment tools.

Krishnan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing tool-Data Snipper

Reviewed on 18/7/2023

I Love data snipper and would be recommending it to all colleagues and friends.

I Love data snipper and would be recommending it to all colleagues and friends.

Pros

Data snipper helped avoid manually entering data and it reduced the time to 1/10th of what it took originally and also eliminate any human errors.

Cons

Sometimes table snip can throw the formatting a bit off. Apart from that there's nothing that comes to mind so far.

Daniel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

DataSnipper at JPA Romania

Reviewed on 13/6/2023

Pros

DataSnipper greatly increases efficiency and productivity during the audit work, reducing significantly the time needed to perform repetitive tasks.

Cons

Very rarely, the app is not able to correctly identify the characters when the writing on the documents is in cursive.