Square 9

Content, contract and document management system

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(117)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.3/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support
4.4/5

92%
recommended this app
Sort by

117 Reviews

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

New to Document Archiving

Reviewed on 25/4/2023

We had many years of client files that we are required to maintain. We have saved so much space it...

We had many years of client files that we are required to maintain. We have saved so much space it is incredible, and our documents are much more secure.

Pros

Our agency had always done everything on paper and we were not very technologically savvy. Square 9 got us up to speed with their training and support and we have been able to dramatically reduce our amount of paper documents with a goal of making everything electronic.

Cons

Being new to document archiving, many of the processes were foreign and the terminology was unfamiliar. It was a slow start for us but Square 9 walked us though it and we were able to develop processes that worked for us.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks David for your review! We are glad to hear that you are reducing the amount of paper documents and digitally transforming your office! We are here to help, so please reach out to see how we can continue to improve your processes and check out our Education resources at www.square-9.com/resources/customer-e-learning/.

Kristen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to customize for specific needs

Reviewed on 24/7/2023

Square 9 assisted our company with going paperless with electronic approvals for all AP. We have...

Square 9 assisted our company with going paperless with electronic approvals for all AP. We have employees who work in different locations, and this has helped greatly.

Pros

We had a lot of customization requests for our business needs. The original set up process was successful, and as we used the product adaptations were easily made.

Cons

The one drawback to Square 9 is the delay in downloading. It seems to lag a bit at times.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review, Kristen! We are glad to hear you are going paperless using our platform. Thanks for your feedback.

Connie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good product for basic document storage and organization, but has bugs that need to be worked...

Reviewed on 21/6/2017

Pros

Pricing is reasonable, and support is responsive. Support is all based within the company, which is located in CT, and there are wait times posted online. They are easy to contact, and generally get back to you within the day. Since the company is small, you can be escalated through the support and dev teams rather quickly depending on the severity of your issue.

Cons

Interface is clunky, and pushing updates company wide is not easy. Updates and hotfixes are frequent, but not advertised. You must request them. Additional modules implemented have not been successful. Base product is worth looking into for a small solution, but modules have not been reliable.

Megan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Satisfied Customer

Reviewed on 5/10/2023

From implementation to completion, it was apparent that our satisfaction was Square 9's top...

From implementation to completion, it was apparent that our satisfaction was Square 9's top priority. I'm happy to report that they earned us as a satisfied customer!

Pros

The document storage feature was the primary attraction to Square 9. But what sold us on Square 9 was the OCR technology, which has automated the invoice entry process. Further, with Square 9, we are able to import that data into our accounting system. Above all, it is easy to use, which has allowed a smooth transition for all users.

Cons

Nothing to report.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review, Megan! We are glad our platform has improved your organization's processes and document storage. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for being a Square 9 customer.

Melanie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Individual & Family Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good software for small business

Reviewed on 20/7/2023

Customer service is probably the fastest of any software service. They also will assist any time I...

Customer service is probably the fastest of any software service. They also will assist any time I just can't figure something out in programming.

Pros

Square 9 provided a technician to do the initial setup and training. Programming is relatively simple as new companies or users are added. Annual downloads are perfect for audits.

Cons

There is no retention process available, so this has to be done manually as documents meet their expiration.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review, Melanie! We are glad to hear you have success with our support team. Thank you for your feedback.

Glen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Maritime
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use and administrate

Reviewed on 20/7/2023

Have been using this product for 20+ years. Since it was Fortis, then SmartSearch, to GlobalSearch,...

Have been using this product for 20+ years. Since it was Fortis, then SmartSearch, to GlobalSearch, and for every transition the S9 team has been a great asset to making the change go smoothly

Pros

So easy to maintain and for users to use the product. Great and quick customer support when there ever is a problem (rarely)

Cons

There are so many features that i can't think of any cons

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review, Glen! We are glad to hear you have had success with our platform. Thank you for being a long-standing customer and we appreciate your business.

Rhonda
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Record keeping Dream

Reviewed on 21/7/2023

We absolutely love having Square 9, would not want to work without it.

We absolutely love having Square 9, would not want to work without it.

Pros

Square 9 provides easy access to all our records and has features that help save time for staff members. Eliminates the need to keep paper copies but yet can easily print or email to people when needed.

Cons

indexing documents after scanning can be time consuming.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review, Rhonda! We are glad to hear you are able to easily access your records and eliminate paper. Thanks for your feedback.

Kristin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Customized to our needs

Reviewed on 22/8/2023

Pros

Square 9 is helping us to go paperless not only on our AP side but with all of our barge paperwork. We are slowly eliminating the need to have to dig through file cabinets of folders and papers. We are in the process of using their new AI component to create all the templates needed for our AP scanning. What a huge time saver! Also, the team at Square 9 is great about helping when you have an issue. I am a new admin and they have been helpful walking me through how to fix things when I don't know what to do.

Cons

Can't think of any issues. Everything has been resolved.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review, Kristin! We are glad to hear our platform is helping you go paperless and saving you time. We appreciate your feedback.

Kathie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

At the tip of your fingers

Reviewed on 20/7/2023

Overall we have had a great experience. We have to save 40 years worth of information and this...

Overall we have had a great experience. We have to save 40 years worth of information and this frees up a lot of real estate

Pros

The ease of accessing files that we would otherwise have to look thru files drawers for.

Cons

Integration when purchasing a new scanner was not all that easy

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review, Kathie! We are glad to hear you are able to easily access your documents with our platform. Thank you for being a Square 9 customer.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

New Client, Take With A Grain of Salt

Reviewed on 12/10/2023

So far so good

So far so good

Pros

I do like how much training is available.

Cons

Training can be outdated and sometimes answers can be flat out wrong on quizzes.

Alternatives Considered

Perceptive Content

Reasons for Switching to Square 9

It's cheaper

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review, Chris. We are glad you have had success using our training. We update our learning manager frequently and if you have any questions regarding the LMS, please contact [email protected]. Thank you for being a Square 9 customer.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Environmental Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Super happy with our implementation so far. We're just getting into things now...

Reviewed on 26/6/2017

one step closer to going paperless

one step closer to going paperless

Pros

Love the workflow design interface for global capture and global action. Also, the batch manager is SO useful in tracking the workflows and how they are working (or not working). The ability to tie documents to other databases with lookups is also very powerful.

Cons

I wish the documentation had some examples, esp with the OCR template setup. An example in particular of the directional OCR zones with repeats for line item data extraction into a table field. Even a walk through video would be VERY helpful. The current documentation doesn't explain all the settings and how to configure them for repeating zones. Since its difficult to explain in text, a visual would REALLY help. I've been fighting with it for some time now and I still don't have it working.

A hyperlink data type for URL fields would be a great add on. We have many documents that we would like to link to a mapping application ie. work permits link to a location. Many of our documents have a spatial reference that i have in a lookup field in another database that has geographic coordinates based on address. I can't believe this hasn't been implemented yet?! The proposed workaround in the forum doesn't work. The ability to click a hyperlink field that opens a new browser window to a specific URL would be SO nice.

Matthew
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great value

Reviewed on 5/5/2023

Pros

It is next to impossible to find an equitable solution for a similar cost. They price very appropriately for what you get.

Cons

Standard headaches that you could get with any number of platforms. Things happen, stuff may not be configured correctly, etc. I wish it were more intuitive and modernized, but that sounds like something that's in the works anyways so we'll see how that turns out.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Hi Matthew thanks for your review. Glad to hear Square 9 is meeting your needs. If you ever need assistance setting up your environment, please reach out to [email protected].

Sandra
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Smart Search

Reviewed on 25/4/2023

Awesome cant say enough about it or the service they give

Awesome cant say enough about it or the service they give

Pros

Ease of use and the cost of what you get with the product

Cons

It is a great system and is easy to use

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Hi Sandra, thank you for reviewing us! We are glad to hear you are having success with our solutions. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, so thanks for your kind words and we look forward to a long and continued relationship.

Jake
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 5,001–10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Does what it says, good value for money

Reviewed on 4/5/2023

Pros

low-code approach to processing logic design

Cons

little/no support on the weekends - our business operates 6 days/week so if we have issues on Saturday we sometimes have to wait

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review, Jake. We are glad to hear you've had success with our solutions. Our support team does their best to respond to any support needs quickly. Thank you for being a Square 9 customer.

Fressia
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

User friendly. Organized workflow. Easy to retrieve records by any detail.

Reviewed on 23/6/2017

Pros

I primarily use the program to input accounts payable invoices. Having all the invoices, contracts, tax forms, and crucial correspondence in one location is great for facilitating my workflow.

Cons

The Key Free feature is a wonderful tool in theory. However, I find myself having to go back and re-enter a lot of the line items, because it captured the invoice number or date incorrectly. Also, going back and forth from Key Free to manual entry is too time consuming, that I've discontinued using that feature.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Hi Fressia,
Thanks for taking the time to review GlobaSearch! Your feedback is always appreciated. I did want to let you know that there are ways to optimize the OCR results for your your document types so you will get better results. Please contact our support desk at (203) 789-0889 opt 2 at your convenience and we will be happy to assist.

Tracey
Overall rating
  • Industry: Public Relations & Communications
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Square 9 Is An Excellent Asset

Reviewed on 17/8/2023

My overall experience is a positive one. It has become essential to helping me complete my...

My overall experience is a positive one. It has become essential to helping me complete my day-to-day job duties.

Pros

Square is readily accessible. This is essential b/c I use it everyday.

Cons

I really can't think of an issue that I dislike.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review, Tracey! We are glad to hear our platform is making your job easier. Thanks for being a Square 9 customer.

Jeff
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Solid software that delivers good results

Reviewed on 26/6/2017

Pros

The core Smart Search functionality is very strong and delivers "just works" kind of results. It installs fairly easily and the server requirements are pretty minimal.

I would definitely encourage someone looking at Smart Search to be certain that their reseller or integrator is well-versed in how to set up Smart Search as that will definitely impact the effectiveness of the installation and setup process. Ours was and our installation and user training went easily with few real issues.

Square 9 as a company is responsive to requests for assistance and support can usually resolve issues quickly.

Cons

The web interface is janky--just not well thought through and with some limitations that are not friendly to users. The client software that is more highly-featured is Windows only so if you are working with users who aren't on Windows that can create issues.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Hi Jeff,

Thanks for the great feedback.

We wanted to let you know that we are less than 90 days away from our v4.5 release of GlobalSearch which will feature an all new web client. The new browser interface will bring both the feel and functionality of our LAN client to the web along with some newly added features.

We are super excited about it and think you will be too.

Janine
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good solution with good customer service

Reviewed on 8/6/2023

Overall, it is a good document retention solution. When I get additional information about the...

Overall, it is a good document retention solution. When I get additional information about the additional features, it seems like an even better solution. Unfortunately, our IT department is not staying current on rolling those features out.

Pros

The customer service is very responsive.

Cons

Most of the cons are related to how our IT department has implemented the solution. Wish it could be easier for me to be an admin to do things like workflows, etc. without having access to company wide information.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review, Janine! If your IT department still needs assistance with implementing our solutions, please reach out to our support team. We appreciate the feedback.

Don
Overall rating
  • Industry: Aviation & Aerospace
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Global Capture

Reviewed on 19/2/2020

We bought this to automatically import files into a home-built system and it's worked well for...

We bought this to automatically import files into a home-built system and it's worked well for that. The company has helped us upgrade a couple times and they have been responsive to issues.

Pros

Configurability
Able to do a lot with the software.

Cons

SLOW!!!!
We originally got the version that didn't have a browser interface and it was MUCH faster. I recently had a job where we needed to scan several thousand documents and pull some info from them. It's taken a week to get it done.

Liliana
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Review

Reviewed on 15/6/2023

My overall experience is okay, like I said it's not that great to manage employee files.

My overall experience is okay, like I said it's not that great to manage employee files.

Pros

The product is easy to use and manage. But when you get to look up files, it's not the best.

Cons

Even though the product is easy to use, it's not fit for employee files. The files themselves are not easy to manage or find the documents easily. It does not provide like subfolders. You have to scroll down, it's hard when the employee has about 500 documents. You can't even do a search with the new uploaded files.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Hi Liliana, thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback, if you have any questions about your solution, please reach out to your Square 9 representative for help. Thanks for being a Square 9 customer.

George
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Evaluation of Square 9

Reviewed on 4/12/2023

I am very satisfied with the Square 9 usage and ability for our school system. We mainly use it to...

I am very satisfied with the Square 9 usage and ability for our school system. We mainly use it to store and recall documents on a daily basis throughout the school year.

Pros

I like the Document storage and working in each document plus the PDF conversion of each document.

Cons

Should be easier to troubleshoot issues instead of having to know SQL to do so plus information regarding the locations and troubleshooting.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review, George! We are glad you are having success storing your documents with our platform. We appreciate your feedback.

Bill
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

We had some reoccurring issues when first implemented. Few and far between afterwards.

Reviewed on 23/6/2017

We are eliminating our physical storage.

We are eliminating our physical storage.

Pros

Simplistic enough for our current use. We will be able to expand our usage as our needs grow in the future.

Cons

Some of the configuration setup could be a bit more simplistic. Video tutorials would be a massive help.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Bill,

Thanks for the great feedback.

We just wanted to let you know that there are several video tutorials for GlobalCapture configuration already available. We are actively developing additional videos for GlobalSearch administration as well. You can request access to these online training classes at www.square-9.com/resources/education/.

There are also a number of video tech tips available at www.square-9.com/product-videos/technical-tip-series/.

Hope this helps and once again, thanks for your continued support!

Matt
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Square 9 for "Windows"

Reviewed on 13/6/2023

Square 9 has helped our business get more organized and secure. We have several sales people with...

Square 9 has helped our business get more organized and secure. We have several sales people with traveling computers and Square 9 has created a hub for all our order document s and invoices.

Pros

Square 9, for our window company, helps keep documents flowing and accessible for all sales people. Order documents and invoices can be found easily and minimize the need for accounting folks to help with the simple everyday tasks.

Cons

Can be hard to find things at the beginning.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review, Matt! We are glad to hear your company has been able to easily access documents. We appreciate the feedback.

Honey
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great customer service

Reviewed on 20/7/2023

It has been great to be able to use this company for our document storage.

It has been great to be able to use this company for our document storage.

Pros

Communication is always good if I need help with anything. Easy turn around times.

Cons

Nothing I feel is missing. Everything that was needed for our company, Square9 satisfied.

Response from Square 9 Softworks

Thanks for your review, Honey! We are glad you are having a great experience with our platform. Thanks for being a Square 9 customer.

Amy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very organized in document management.

Reviewed on 22/6/2017

The benefits I received are organization for scanning documents into SmartSearch and easy to search...

The benefits I received are organization for scanning documents into SmartSearch and easy to search for the documents. It is very user friendly. Great for document management.

Pros

Easy to learn and use. Easy to become familiar with and very organized. It is user friendly. Allows capability for adjustments.

Cons

Many features I am not too familiar with, but have not been in a situation when I needed to use them.