KeyShot

4.7 (52)
Write a Review!
3D rendering solution for Graphic designers

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(52)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.3/5
Customer Support
4.1/5

96%
recommended this app
Sort by

52 Reviews

Mehmet Recep
Mehmet Recep
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

A love story in completed

Reviewed on 15/9/2022

If your main job focuses on studio rendering, you can't find it better than the Keyshot. It's fast,...

If your main job focuses on studio rendering, you can't find it better than the Keyshot. It's fast, the Luxion team working hard, easy to use and the results are awesome. But that's all! If you are looking for simple or complex interior scenes, Keyshot is not for you.

Pros

1- Easy to use, even for the beginner.
2- Easy to learn. I'm also an educator. My students are very happy to learn quickly and start to create in a couple of hours.
3- Great interface. You don't have to worry about changing assets every single time. It's stable. You can use the Keyshot on many different computers and you will be familiar with the interface.
4- Environment (light painting) is very efficient.
5- GPU, Performance mode, and Denoise modes are perfect for variable hardware.
6- You can get "almost" perfect renders even with GPU rendering. You will be devoid of some render elements but it's %60 fast render more than CPU render. It's a wonderful option, especially for multi-scene projects.
7- PSD file export option with materials.
8- Compatible with 3D plugins. Especially you can import scenes with the camera from the 3Ds Max. This really works for me.
9- Thanks for the animated Environment feature. It's really cool.

Cons

Ah Luxion... You are always missing "being impeccable" with tiny steps. You are always focusing on the wrong development with every single update and versions.

Here is my list of my least;
1- You stop in accordance with compatibility with the HDR Light Studio plug-in.
2- The environment still works efficiently but it could be more than it is. You have to develop a light painting feature and add new pin types. (That's what the HDR Light Studio was doing good).
3- We need new light sources. Studio rendering is good but still, it's hard to create "simple" interior scenes.
4- Edit normals, UV mapping features could be much more useful. I especially hate UV mapping. It's too complicated and limited.
5- We need a feature like "Turbo Smooth" in 3Ds Max. Edit normals features are weak.
6- I knot this is a little bit fantastic and beyond the purpose of the Keyshot but the Probolean feature will make everything really different for the other users. (Think about that).

Ash
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Drag and drop easy to use rendering package

Reviewed on 12/9/2023

Pros

The product is mostly drag and drop, some alternatives such as V Ray are much more obtuse with a greater learning curve. KeyShot can be set up quickly and is easy to get a professional looking render out.

Cons

The price is quite high and some of the useful features such as HDRI editing are now locked behind the pro license.

Alternatives Considered

V-Ray

Reasons for Switching to KeyShot

Ease of use, KeyShot was used at University so already had basic understanding.
Sam
Sam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Ok software for modeling and handling 3D

Reviewed on 19/4/2018

Pros

I liked that it didn't take me long to become familiar with the functionality and use of this product.

Cons

I am not a poweruser when it comes to 3D and maybe this is a great bit of software but we were using it to handle 3D models of cars coupled with backplate images in a teaching environment for photographers. There exists now other software options that might work better that you might already have on your desktop. Highly likely though that if 3D is your thing this might be a great software solution

Roldan
Roldan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Keyshot for Product Designers and enthusiast

Reviewed on 13/11/2022

Great! Among all other rendering addition, I chosen Keyshot. As it does a good job integrating with...

Great! Among all other rendering addition, I chosen Keyshot. As it does a good job integrating with Cinema 4D as well. The way it handles models, textures and product animation is just uncompromiseable. Highly recommended for product designers, graphic designers for quick 3D Projects.

Pros

- It has really elaborate texture rendering. Lifelike texturization, fast preview and output is just amazing.- Perfect for Product Designers. It's integration with Solidworks works best too. My wife use this software avidly as a product designer.- Clean interface is a fireworks. Understandably, as this is just a rendering software, it has clean and user-friendly interface. Easy to use.- Lighting effects are maximized with Keyshot. Just the presets are good enough to use. Drag and drop is just making your 3D life easy-breezy.- Material libraries on it's own are one of the best addition of Keyshot. Really intended for product designers and small project in graphic design and web design.- Easy to learn - take that!

Cons

- Lags and glitches. Sometimes, Keyshot tend to get stuck and don't give the effects that you just need. No error feedback given. I hope they have fixed this one.- Cannot edit some of the modes. Which is obvious, some user want to edit with keyshot. But we need to put things in place - Keyshot is a rendering software and not a 3D Modeling Software.- You might need faster computer to maximize the benefit of Keyshot.- Will make your computer a little unstable and hot specially rendering high-poly models.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Keyshot is key to get the perfect shot ;)

Reviewed on 14/2/2019

Overall, Keyshot is fantastic, and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone. The quality is...

Overall, Keyshot is fantastic, and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone. The quality is astounding and can make your product look so good!

Pros

I used Keyshot in school, and now in the startup I am working with. I have always found it to be the best rendering program I could get my hands on. It is easy enough to use that even beginners can get really cool renderings. I ended up getting the keyshot pro version because I felt like having the HDRI editor would be important to get more custom lighting environments. After using Keyshot over the last year, some of the features that I have really appreciated using in my workflow is the model sets and studios. As a designer I do a lot of iterations and so being able to make these different model sets and being able to switch between them quickly for comparison has been really valuable. The keyshot viewer software that goes along with that seems really useful for that too, though I haven't used it very much yet.

Cons

You want to make sure you have a pretty powerful computer because it definitely takes a lot. I am running on a windows surface and it works it pretty hard. Sometimes it takes a little while for the renderings to be done, but it works. The only other issue I have had is sometimes when I click to open the render dialogue box, the software will just close/crash and I lose all of my work if I didn't save beforehand. I have lost a couple of projects that way. Of course I should always save often, but I wish they had some kind of recovery method or something.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Rendering made easy

Reviewed on 4/6/2021

I use Keyshot to visualise and render the design I do. The results are impressive, even having very...

I use Keyshot to visualise and render the design I do. The results are impressive, even having very little knowledge on rendering.

Pros

I love importing an object I'm designing, and within minutes I had the most amazing render setup! Rendering also takes not that long (depending on settings), but you can stop and save the render at any time.

Cons

Rendering fabrics or wood on solids isn't easy Keyshot doesn't unwrap the surfaces to apply the texture, instead you have to say it's either a box, plane or cylinder

Ayodeji
Ayodeji
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect 3rd party rendering  software for models

Reviewed on 16/10/2021

It is cool using keyshot as external rendering software. It is a great tool to use. I have never...

It is cool using keyshot as external rendering software. It is a great tool to use. I have never regretted the use of it because it has always given me a nice and realistic output each time I render with it. Mostly, I use it to render Engineering Design (CAD).

Pros

The user interface is great and perfect. You get a good and realistic rendering ones you have gotten the hangs of the settings.
Also, it has a lot of inbuilt materials which can be used directly or manipulated to meet your design requirements.
One other thing I like about keyshot is that it can also be added as plugin on most CAD softwares, which means you can directly  send your design to keyshot right from your design software.

Cons

It has a steep learning curve. Though the interface is good, it has too many settings for a beginner to learn for a good image to be rendered.
Well, of course every good thing comes with its price. For a good, smooth and time saving rendering, you need a good personal computer with a good ram, preferably a good graphics card. Because you will most likely be frustrated if you try it out on low end PC.

Yiyu
Yiyu
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The latest Keyshot 9 is so much better than the previous versions

Reviewed on 12/6/2020

I have been using Keyshot for almost 10 years now, ever since Keyshot 2. It never let me down....

I have been using Keyshot for almost 10 years now, ever since Keyshot 2. It never let me down. Works great with Rhino. Awesome when you have a detailed model.

Pros

While Keyshot has been my go-to render software for the past almost 10 years, the new Keyshot 9 really impressed me. I can now use RGB codes for diffuse of a material, and the color will stay true to the code, it saved me so much time creating new materials. The stock materials are much better too.

Cons

I hope Keyshot can add a stock "sunlight" or "outdoors" option for rendering larger objects or environment.

Sofia
Sofia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

For all computers. Easy and fast!

Reviewed on 16/9/2021

Overall, it has a minimalist interface and is a rendering engine suitable for any computer.

Overall, it has a minimalist interface and is a rendering engine suitable for any computer.

Pros

I like that this engine knows how to use the capacity of any computer well when rendering with a speed that cannot be compared. You can create very fluid animations and very realistic images.

Cons

The only bad thing is at first it is not very easy to use.

Aravind Narayanan
Aravind Narayanan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Animation
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Keyshot Rendering Review

Reviewed on 22/3/2019

Pros

I am a well trained animator come product visualizer.I used Key Shot software since 2015.I like the quality of Rendering and the simple interface of software .I did many product visualizing works using key Shot.and its well co operate with z brush.

Cons

Rendering time.It Takes much rendering time than other rendering software but.giving us a mind blowing rendering output.

Deniz
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Personal Render Assistant in ALL Level + Best COMPETITION Visualition

Reviewed on 6/6/2021

Contest preparation processes are much shorter than a product production process. And here the aim...

Contest preparation processes are much shorter than a product production process. And here the aim is to reflect the concept in the best way possible. Again, in this field, I prefer "keyshot" in the visualization field.

Pros

+Variety of materials and their editing panel
+The interface is designed for "Computer Aided 3D" users, and in order to use this application, it is necessary to make 3D production first.
+ Surface reflections are *above* real quality. (Marketing images in some concepts, exaggeration is made to convey this. Infrastructure enables processing.)

Cons

-The intersection details, which we call corner and border, are the main factors that new users cannot focus very much on, but that take the product to the next level during the visualization phase. It needs a feature that can bring the product to a higher point by bringing the details to the fore.
-+ (Notr ) Being able to choose the camera angle and rendering and animation depending on this is part of this job, but the new user is inexperienced in this regard. At this point, the animations in the stock scenes contain parts of the product, but there is no scene pattern without the product. In line with the dimensions that should be added here, a different mold should be created for a product that opens upwards and a different mold for a product that opens to the side should be added to the "default" process. (The camera angle change and presentation concept should be prepared in advance in the patterns here, just like a showcase design) (Basic example: A showcase with bases with half pyramids, cones and rectangular prisms will bring the product to the fore. )

lizbeth edith
Overall rating
  • Industry: Furniture
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

MAKE KEYSHOT FRIENDLY

Reviewed on 18/12/2020

In general, everything is very well done, but I think it can get better in a friendly way.

In general, everything is very well done, but I think it can get better in a friendly way.

Pros

The software is very complete, I like how the features are set up in different ways, but at the same time makes everything understandable. I really love the cloud library, that makes everything easier for us as a customer, and also it was helpful for me as a student.

Cons

Even the cloud library has a lot of stuff to use, there are some things that are just on the web page, so if everything could be in the program, that will be great. Also, it will be cool if there was a page where we can share our keyshot projects, models, textures, etc.
Also, I had some issues while learning the program because yeah, it is friendly but I think just for the people that had used a program like that before, not like for students, or people from another career.

Andreas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Best tool to create photorealistic images

Reviewed on 6/8/2021

Pros

Before we used this software, we had our CAD-software with the small integrated rendering function. But those never looked good or some realistic. KeyShot is very different, if you are able to set all right parameters, you have to look very often, if it is a picture or rendering! Great!

Cons

In the beginning, the software is not that easy to use. There are so many settings and controller you have to move, to get a good looking rendering. And you need a good graphics card or processor, if you do not have it, the rendering time rises much!

rishiraj
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Luxion Keyshot review

Reviewed on 30/6/2022

The ability to create quick realistic renders to show my client is what made this software...

The ability to create quick realistic renders to show my client is what made this software important for me to have.

Pros

The implementation of material libraries and different environments to make a realistic render makes this software a great one to use for rendering. It is very easy to use with a million online tutorials to learn and use. I had to install few plugins and that is all it took to integrate it with my existing workspace.

Cons

The software needs to run on a powerful machine to run properly otherwise it takes forever to finish a small render. Other than that I would say it is expensive to get this software.

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent program for mechanical design marketing

Reviewed on 13/10/2022

As I mentioned in the "Pros" section, being able to create photo-realistic renderings is very...

As I mentioned in the "Pros" section, being able to create photo-realistic renderings is very helpful in showing depictions that are not easy to photograph. And having virtually unlimited background images is a huge plus. Overall, I am very happy with this software. Make sure you have a good graphics card in your computer, as rendering does need graphics power.

Pros

Keyshot was included with Alibre Expert (MCAD software) and integrates very well with it. In order to show potential customers what my products look like as assembled and exploded models, I use backgrounds within Keyshot or my own background images. This version of Keyshot does not contain animation but creating amazing photo-realistic images is very quick and easy. There are many lighting selections and I often switch back and forth to see which looks best.

Cons

Animation would be nice to have in this bundled copy of Keyshot and Alibre but I've seen some instructional videos of how to animate using the paid versions of Keyshot and its capabilities are very impressive.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Fine Art
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy Product Rendering

Reviewed on 20/10/2018

I

I

Pros

The best thing about keyshot is how easy the interface is and how simple it is to find the tools and settings you're looking for. The rendering is rather quick and I love just being able to drop materials on to parts of my CAD model based on how it looks in the side bar, which shows the material rendered onto a round ball. The material then assigns in realtime so you can toggle between choices quickly instead of waiting for a high quality render and comparing that way.

Cons

Sometimes will not quite understand your 3D geometry but for the most part does well with keeping the entire model structure together.

Roberto Maurizio
Roberto Maurizio
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A very good program for product renderings.

Reviewed on 11/10/2018

Pros

Keyshot is perhaps one of the most immediate render creation programs. Over the years the quality level has increased considerably, offering the user new and effective features.

Cons

Some problems with transparent materials and with the rendering of lights persist.

Valentina
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 501–1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The key to a good job

Reviewed on 20/1/2023

Pros

If you know how to use it well, it can be decisive to achieve a professional quality in your work.

Cons

There are times when it is difficult to achieve what you want to do, but nothing that cannot be solved!

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

KeyShot from the Perspective of an Industrial Designer

Reviewed on 12/5/2021

I love using Keyshot for all of my product design projects. I struggled with using the animation...

I love using Keyshot for all of my product design projects. I struggled with using the animation feature but I haven't needed it as of yet. For what I do need it works well! My products always come out looking photo realistic and it really elevates my designs to look very professional.

Pros

What I love most about this software is just how much you can manipulate an image. I import products I design in Fusion 360 and thoroughly enjoy adding textures, colors, and lighting to make my ideas look like they've been already been fabricated!

Cons

I hate how rendering makes my mac overheat. My fan goes insane and my computer becomes useless until the render is done.

Eric
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fast and Friendly Rendering

Reviewed on 4/12/2018

Pros

I liked how easy it was to learn and use. There were also many online youtube videos to help with simple tasks.

Cons

Not that great with fabrics, not GPU based rendering and better features added to version 8, but I am stuck on version 7 until I can make a use case for the upgrade.

Linh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing rendering software, bring your 3d models to real life

Reviewed on 3/12/2019

I use keyshot almost everyday to render out products and also use keyshot to help with my photo...

I use keyshot almost everyday to render out products and also use keyshot to help with my photo manipulation projects! Loving it

Pros

I love that it's easy to use, love love love the interface. And the features and functions are amazing. Really like how many material there, and also very easy to set up lighting. Plus the quality of the renderings are amazing!!

Cons

It's a little pricey but there isn't anything i dislike about it. Maybe if it offers a little more of a modeling side it would be nice.

Gal
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

benefits and struggles of Keyshot

Reviewed on 8/6/2021

Pros

The huge variety of materials offered and how realistic and dynamic they look.
Barely any changes are needed to create a realistic render.
Even if rendering it takes ages, i love rendering animations sometimes and the fact that keyshot saves every frame as a high quality image helps a lot

Cons

The lighting system and HDRI is extremely confusing, specially in terms of placement and direction.
Most of the time, when i need a more complex/personalized lighting, i end up creating objects and assigning them the light material instead of using the actual lighting features.

Richin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Keyshot is Quick setup Master

Reviewed on 4/8/2022

Its my favorite software for to use studio renders and Product mockups.

Its my favorite software for to use studio renders and Product mockups.

Pros

This is the best studio render software I see in the market can quickly setup and render it out. So much helpful for setting up up for studio shot renders for product shots.

Cons

I only the software its bit more expensive when you compare to other softwares.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Keyshot Review

Reviewed on 28/11/2020

Pros

This is a good tool for rendering and animation of modelled parts/products. lot of materials to choose from. has a a lot of rendering options.

Cons

Addition of more background back plates and make the colours more customizable. it freezes when working with larger renders. the various wizards can be improved.

Mike
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Devices
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

KeyShot review

Reviewed on 14/12/2022

Good product, have used it for many years. Have gotten good reviews of images and animations...

Good product, have used it for many years. Have gotten good reviews of images and animations produced in KeyShot.

Pros

Accuracy in assembly movements. Wide range of materials. Good control over lights. Good rendering performance.

Cons

I would upgrade more often if the price was lower.