52 reviews

Unanet

Web-based integrated project management and ERP solution

4.3 /5 (52 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.3
/
5
Value for Money
4.4
Features
4.3
Ease of Use
4.3
Customer Support
4.5
88% recommended this app
52 reviews
Frank B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Very Poor SW Update Test and Verifcation Before Release

Reviewed on 9/10/2019

Pros

Product is fine as long until an update is release

Cons

Can not trust an update will "work" without extensive problems and loss of past functionality. It recent "update" timeslip functions that a junior SW tester should have determined didn't work (resulting in a quick update) were not found prior to release.

MAJOR issue is that Government Cost Plus reports and invoice function DOES NOT WORK. After a week of "so called customer service" - No answer other than it is being worked..... Blogs indicate that multiple users are having similar issues. How can a basic function not be verified before release?!?!?!?

Kathleen K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great Software

Reviewed on 13/11/2019

Pros

Unanet is very user friendly and on the off chance you can't figure something out their support team is right there to help you and in a timely manner. Unanet allows you to attach documents to everything so we no longer need to keep track of things in different places. You can attach award and mod docs to the contracts, bank statements to reconciliations, checks and invoices to AP Vouchers and AP Payments. It's a great way for everyone to have access to the things they need.

Cons

Some of the updates they add change the information for my custom reports and you need to make adjustments to get the same information after the update is live. However the system exports a template so you can make the changes easily without having to recreate the whole report.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Highly Recommend Unanet

Reviewed on 14/11/2019

Pros

I love the real time data you receive from Unanet. When a time sheet is updated, you automatically see the data within your project reports, etc. This allows for managers to view the most up to date data on hours and funding. This also allows for faster completion of time sheets which leads to quicker billing times.

Cons

The learning curve. There was a learning curve coming from another product but we were all able to quickly pick up the system and begin using it.

Nabeel C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Unanet is an innovative tool that looks like the future of financial softwares

Reviewed on 13/3/2018

Unanet is an amazingly powerful software that is way ahead of its competitors in its user-friendliness and its intuitiveness.

Pros

Unanet is an excellent project accounting and financial tools. It is incredibly easy to use and its inherent intuitiveness make this is an extremely powerful tool. It even comes up with cell phone app and can be navigated from virtually anyplace. It seems like Unanet is a more advanced, technological and user-friendly version of its competitors like CostPoint and GCS Premeir.

Cons

Unanet is such a powerful financial tool that there is very little not to like about it. However, still like all softwares, it has its shortcomings and one of the major shortcomings it has is its ability to accommodate complex project setup structures that roll up and consolidate into a higher level. This makes project setups in Unanet very different and challenging and it also greatly affects corporate financial reporting.

Jenny C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Unanet Projects offer powerful reporting tools

Reviewed on 28/8/2015

Pros

Unanet project tracking is easy to update - can upload data from excel and also export to excel.
So many reports help me manage projects. I created my own - detail of client time charging to use when I need to document what I've done on a project over time. Also created one that shows charging with monthly totals so they can see the level of support. Have also used Unanet reporting to pass DCAA audits with a client.

Cons

would like to see them continue to expand in their markets so they can keep growing an engaged customer base

Kaitlyn R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Facilities Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Unanet for GovCon

Reviewed on 18/11/2019

Pros

Unanet is perfect for a growing company trying to keep overhead and admin staff small. Their customer support is great and they have a wealth of knowledge available online. Additionally, Unanet welcomes suggestions from customers on how to improve their software and the suggestions are actually made, when possible.

Cons

I wish Unanet would develop an app. They do have a mobile website which is really good for timesheets and expense reports - but I'd love to see an app in the future.

Tiffany B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Not bad for what it's used for

Reviewed on 20/1/2017

We use Unanet for time and records keeping while at the same time using it for our Resource Management tool on the Consulting side. It took awhile for the main users and admins to get ramped up. Some of us attended training and were still left with questions at the end.

Pros

A lot of out of the box functionality which is good on the wallet
Plenty of built-in reports so the need to customize is lessened.

Cons

Ease of use is lacking. Even with training, our admins have a tough time navigating
Admin settings are tough -- you either get full access or limited. No in betweens.

Baan A.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Must Have for Small Business

Reviewed on 18/7/2009

Easy to use and designate different roles in your organization. Integrates neatly with Quick Books for invoicing. Gives real time information about your business without having to dedicate overhead resources to project management and finance. Available template reports and graphics allow for ease of management of overall business on a daily basis. Great value for your money.

Pros

Unanet allows my small business to act and think big! The tool allows me to plan tasks, track projects, allocate resources, hours per each task, forecast business revenue, calculate business expenses with graphics and quick and simple reports. Effectively I have a project management and finance department all at my fingertips. The tool allows you to meet your business growth seamlessly.

Cons

Some might consider this overkill for an organization of less than 10 people, due to the initial cost and the learning curve. I personally found the value of the information provided by Unanet to be worth the investment and time.

Pavan B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Unanet Project Portfolio

Reviewed on 27/2/2017

This is very good product and was helpful to me. Initially it was little difficult to get user-friendly, but eventually, i got used to it.

Pros

I really like the features and functionality.

Cons

a little bit hard to get used to it as I found not so user-friendly initially.

Kateyn W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Good product

Reviewed on 27/10/2016

Easy to navigate and keep up with projects in real time

Nathalie G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Research
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great timekeeping tool

Reviewed on 16/11/2019

the benefits I have realized are effective timesheets

Pros

What I like most about this software is the ability to go back and change things if there is a good reason.

Cons

What I like least about this software is its a little complicated to deal with expense reporting, but that's minimal.

Keith M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

DCAA / EVM compliant timekeeping and project management system

Reviewed on 6/7/2009

Unanet is good for both small and large companies and provides a single repository for all timekeeping, project, planning and personnel data with robust reporting. The integration of multiple platforms (time, project) is well executed and allows companies to see what is happening at the project/task level in real time.

Expense reporting that meeting federal government travel regulations and granular permissions to ensure that users only apply expenses to those projects for which they have been assigned

This is a strong product as it combines both the compliance (DCAA, EVM, JTR) and ensures that timekeeping, expenses and project reporting are accurate. It allows the delegation of responsbilities for cost rate, bill rate and project managment increase productivity and visibility.

Pros

Extremely strong timekeeping capabilities down the the task level
Granular permissions for all levels of the organization
Excellent reporting structure on all aspects of personnel and projects
Easily customizable export features
Ability to easily import data for people, projects, etc
Robust integration from timekeeping, planning, projects and tasks
Cost Effective solution with "pay as you go" model
Availability and uptime near 100% (hosted)
Excellent customer support (including complex reporting, exports, etc)
The abililty to "slice and dice" data to meeting government, commercial and internal reporting requirements
Ability to add cost structures based on company actuals (DCAA-G&A, Overhead and Fringe)
Robust expense reporting eliminating "paper expense reports"

Cons

Not able to export reports (need to cut and paste)
Tech support should provide a "tiered" pricing structure (currently one rate for all support)

Ed H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Essential capability for government contractors. Unanet has been key to our success.

Reviewed on 29/7/2017

Pros

Integration. Unanet combines time/expense, project management, billing, and financials all in one system. No import/export of data between systems. When an employee logs time or expenses, the cost automatically rolls into your billing, accounting, and project management functions.

DCAA Compliance. Calculates indirect rates and applies to billing. Enforces DCAA timesheet rules and JTR travel rules. Using this software enabled us to consistently get invoices approved by DCAA in less than 5 days, and got our incurred cost proposal accepted without an audit as "low risk."

Report and Invoice Formats. Very customizable in all aspects. I'm told they are much more flexible than competing systems.

Two months after we implemented Unanet, we received our first CPFF contract as a small business. If we did not have Unanet, we would have hired at least one more overhead person, and probably several more. Unanet has been a key factor in our business success.

Cons

Learning Curve. With power comes complexity. Unanet is no exception. Rollout was difficult, and there were a lot of setup decisions to be made without a full understanding of the functionality implications. We got the budget version of rollout services; I don't recommend that.

Flexibility. Unanet can be too customizable at times. Sometimes I wished they would just say "here is the way to do this" instead of giving so many choices for how to implement some functions.

Accounts Payable. Less than fully developed Vendor Invoice reporting, especially lack of ability to link to projects at invoice level. Costs incurred via invoice also do not appear in T&E reports, and now way to budget and control vendor costs.

Jenny C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

DCAA Compliance with outstanding reporting for Program Managers (PM)

Reviewed on 9/12/2016

Unanet makes it easy for employees to complete their timesheets, allows notes and includes the audit trail requirements for DCAA Compliance. But what I like best is the way it supports Program Managers, who can get REAL TIME reporting from a huge number of reports and charts. You can also set budget hours at employee level or task level, preventing overruns and labor transfers.

Pros

Easy to import and export - plays well with multiple systems and they've done a great job of keeping it open. Excellent charts and reports for Program Managers (PMs), as well as people in accounting who are doing billing, project reporting, and financials.

Cons

Sometimes I am not sure of the sequence of steps and have to look it up, but it's all well documented in their online knowledge center with many examples, not just the old "a targeted rate is a planned rate."

Brad E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Unanet for a Small Company

Reviewed on 30/3/2019

Overall, if you’re a small company in the services space and looking for an easy to implement cost accounting system, I’d recommend Unanet.

Pros

Unanet is easy to enter data and use for employees entering time and expenses. It’s also fairly intuitive for employees to pull reports for time and PTO.

Cons

Unanet is not intuitive for detailed reports for project managers and is somewhat cumbersome for advanced reporting.

Michael B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Best Time Tracking Tool I Could Find!

Reviewed on 11/6/2014

Pros

I like the reporting capabilities, the customized user dashboards, and the "Alerts" feature. Now each employee knows what projects they are to work on and where their project stands in term of hours used. We use the Alerts to let a project team know when a certain amount of time has been used on a project (50%, 75% and 90%). This lets the team and sales discuss the progress in a timely manner. We have noticed that some projects are delivered on time, and in other cases, we are able to stay on top of out-of-scope opportunities just by talking about the project status when the alerts are received.

This is making everyone more accountable for what they do, and the overall business more profitable. It's perfect!

Cons

The utility that is used for actual tracking of time. You need some kind of start and stop feature so that you know how long you have worked on a certain project. It would help a lot when working on multiple projects in one day, for instance.

Allison M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Defense & Space
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Unanet Review

Reviewed on 18/4/2019

Pros

I was introduced to Unanet when I began a contracting job, being the first time I was ever required to keep time I was hesitant. But Unanet instantly calmed my worries. It was easy to navigate and has easily understandable how to guides. This software made it easy to start timesheets, submit timesheets, and check things like paid time off.

Cons

The only con I found with this software was the requirement to put comments in for changes on the time sheet. For example I put 9 hours on accident so I changed it to 8 and was required to submit a comment that also needed to be approved. Although this isn’t a huge deal it was inconvenient for a simple error.

Yeshuwanth L.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Fairly easy to use project management

Reviewed on 11/4/2018

Pros

consistently get invoices approved by DCAA in less than 5 days, and got our incurred cost proposal accepted without an audit as "low risk."

Cons

The current application doe not contain a purchase order/commitment tracking module. However, Unanet is working on this solution. Unanet also doesn't have a cash flow statement in their financial module

Mehedul hasan M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent project accounting and financial tool

Reviewed on 7/4/2018

Highly Recommended for Architectural Firm and contractor

Pros

I like Most of this product feature are Role-based for security – administrator, user, manager, project manager, financial roles, and customer

Cons

A published data model for external report writers feature would be more flexible and improve customer support

Arpit S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Appreciate the Usability aspect of the product

Reviewed on 7/10/2016

I like the UI screen which is less cluttered and more organized unlike Microsoft Project Management Tool.
It also helps you think aloud before exploring options.

Pros

I like its simple yet effective UI

Cons

I still want to improve the macros a bit more..!!

Nathan P.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Review 1

Reviewed on 15/10/2009

a solid tool

Pros

Customer support - timely, available
Functionality - good standard reports

Cons

Not easily customizable
In a small org it's hard to have the resources available to populate to the level of detail Unanet requires.

Ruth B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Professional Training & Coaching
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Unanet Solves Many Requirements

Reviewed on 13/11/2019

Pros

I like the ease of entering hours worked as well as paid time off.
It is easy to view accrued paid leave time making it a simple solution for planning.

Cons

There seems to be a disconnect within certain sections.
1. If a new pay rate is entered and saved in error, it has never allowed the option to delete the error and revert to the original entry.
2. The designation on the People – Profile - Hire Date is misleading. It should be titled Paid Leave Accrual start date since that is what its function is. Our company starts accruals for new hires effective the first day of the pay period they are hired in.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Upgrading to Unanet Financials

Reviewed on 11/3/2019

We hope to get rid of excel based invoices and move into standardized versions. Unanet financials will also allow us to generate indirect rate statements in real time.

Pros

We were able to upgrade to Unanet Financials from an older accounting software system. As we continue to grow - maintaining fewer systems is a high priority.

Cons

I would like if it were easier to share reports between users.

Amy P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Highly Recommend Unanet

Reviewed on 4/3/2019

We are able to accurately track project time and expenses, gather information on all our vendors and independent contractors, and report on our financial progress.

Pros

The efficiency with which you can manage projects, personnel profiles, vendors, and accounting information within one system; the ability to maintain information and generate reports (in many different ways).

Cons

After upgrading versions, there are some flaws in how the paid time off reflects and minor issues in downloading some reports, but otherwise, not much we dislike.

Jacob D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent Tool for Project Time Tracking

Reviewed on 26/11/2019

Unanet has allowed us to better manage our projects through time tracking. We have been able to better understand how our staff is spending their time.

Pros

Unanet is a great tool to track project-specific time. Very easy to assign staff to projects and establish time budgets.

Cons

The reporting module is a little clumsy. Some options are not intuitive but you can usually solve the issue using the extensive help module.