45 reviews

WorkBook

Project & Resource Management for Advertising Agencies

4.1 /5 (45 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.1 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
78%
recommended this app
45 reviews
Erik T.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Workbook

Reviewed on 27/5/2015

Pros:
We have used 3 different PM-tools previously and about 20 trial versions of different PM-tools previously before Workbook. No other tool keeps their promise like WorkBook when it comes of being the full solution. Most other tools can't even do half of the features that WorkBook handles. They really have an extensive solution for all parts of our business; from CRM, to Cost calculations, Quotation, resource planning, time reporting, flex-hour handling to billing and accounting and analysis all in the same interface. The platform also handles global multi-regional clients and billing in a good way. A need for us since we are handling clients with multiple debtors scattered across different countries. I know no other platform which handles that without being a very expensive custom made platform. WorkBook easily handles different regions with individual currency, payment cycles and VAT rules, making a lot of the process automated. Just set up your client sub debtors and it's all there.

Cons: WorkBook is very extensive, so I would not recommend this product to smaller companies. WorkBook suits companies where there's a resource available for handling Admin / Traffic of such a tool. So if you don't have that setup, then it is not a tool for you. In other words, probably a solution for minimum 10+ employee companies.

Summary: WorkBook is the only one out there we found that handles pretty much everything you need for Admin of an enterprise and at an attractive price. But it is not for micro-companies with 3-10 employees.

Fred P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The right decision

Reviewed on 17/3/2019

Overall we are very pleased with the decision we made

Pros

Multiple functionality is streamlines a day-to-day workflow and allows us to analyse what’s going on from so many angles

Cons

Learning to use this software took far too long and was not well administered. People teaching uscdidn’t seem to have a grasp on our business. No this happened a year or two before Deltek took over, I was not administered by them.

Vladimir V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good planning software!

Reviewed on 27/7/2019

Pros

Easy to schedule and manage time. Easy to create projects and tasks.

Cons

The software is not flexible in term of features. Hard to personnalize for specific needs.

Andreas B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Bilsing Automation GmbH

Reviewed on 8/2/2017

We are using workbook with nearly 150 users in 10 subsidiaries. The go live was 01.01.17 with our headquarter in Germany. At the moment we are using just the scheduling functionality. The next step will be to start with the booking of the needed time. Parallel we will start the rollout in all our subsidaries.

Patrick V.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

The software for the future available today.

Reviewed on 27/5/2015

Although the software at first side looks 'complex', after getting to know it better I do not find any other competitor in the segment of project management ERP which has the unique combination of all the project features and finance combined into an affordable cloud based offer.

Sverre E.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Good workflow. Everything in one place.

Reviewed on 3/8/2015

Visual Garden is very satisfied with using Workbook. Having all important data in one system gives us a good workflow and overview.

Jacob E.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

The best ERP and projekt tool ever

Reviewed on 27/5/2015

Mediegruppen has been working with similar systems for 18 years. Workbook is even better, and is a mayer part of our daily work, life and succes.

Frants e. M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 24/2/2018

Stephen W.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Excellent PM tool with all things integrated

Reviewed on 13/5/2015

WorkBook is a great all-in-one solution and there is nothing like it on the current market.
We used to have multiple systems for different departments, but WorkBook has everything integrated. We now have time tracking, project management, resource management, budgeting, forecasting (incl. pipelines), CRM and all finances in WorkBook. We are in the process of setting up the also-integrated support system.

The WorkBook implementation team helped us get started and customized everything for us. We were up and running in three weeks! They were also good to implement features that we need for our projects.

Cons are the limited reporting in finance, but you can export everything to Excel, so we just manage the data ourselves. It's also a bit hard to get started and get to know the system (even though training is part of implementation), but once you get the hang of it, it's all pretty straight-forward.

Tons of features - I would definitely recommend WorkBook to everybody! But the best part is that you only pay for what you need!

Veronick L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Easy workload planification

Reviewed on 31/1/2020

Easy overall visibility on the workload of a team. Easy modifications to the planning daily.

Pros

Good visibility on the workload of the team and easy changes regarding assigned hours. Création of projects.

Cons

Not easily adaptable to specific needs of a team, organisation. Problèm with our web server, Many delays during the day within the software. The interface could be improved for a better and more modern and fun user expérience.

Trevor T.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Workbook is ideal too to manage the profitability of your services business

Reviewed on 16/10/2012

Workbook is a great product that will suit the needs for most sized marketing and communications companies. It is easy to use and easy to implement. A great tool for managing your business

Pros

Workbooks is centered on project/resource/task framework which makes it easy for agencies to manage their client workload and help control the profitability of their work. The ability to interact directly with clients thru the portal is a great feature. The integrated CRM and Accounting functionality provided make this a complete system for the small to medium sized agency, wanting to save time on administration and to manage their project more efficiently.

Cons

Requires Microsoft Silverlight which is not available in all browsers (Chrome for example)

Tine D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Flexible yet standardized system

Reviewed on 27/5/2015

We were looking for a system that could support our growing company, number of employees and costumers. It had to be easy to use, easy to maintain and easy to update.

Workbook gives us a system that gives us all that we need at a fixed price - and there's no hidden costs in expensive updates that takes days to set up.

At times we get great ideas for new functionality (at least we think so ourselves) and very often we get a quick reply that Workbook also finds it's great idea and develops a solution for all users of Workbook. We find that's one of Workbooks strongest advantages - it's not only Workbook who develops and improves the system but also the users.

Hanne T.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Workbook is designed for my kind of job

Reviewed on 27/5/2015

As an account manager in the advertising-very-hectic-business it is perfect to work with Workbook - it gives me a complete overview and structure in my daily worklife. I have all information gatheret, because my server talks to Workbook and automatically creates maps etc.
And whenever I have a problem or a question the support always gives me speed of service.
My best recommendations for Workbook :-)

Alex L.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Powerful yet simple project management office suite

Reviewed on 27/5/2015

I have used WorkBook v8 and I will share my opinion:

Pros:
+ Very intuitive and fast-to-use interface
+ Integrates nicely all the process: from registering a sales lead to controlling the delivery of a project
+ Powerful resource management (people availability & assignments)

Cons:
- Until now, the interface was Silverlight, now it is going to HTML5

Jens G.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Indispensable software to use for an effective working day in the consulting industry

Reviewed on 29/5/2015

For many years WorkBook has been Peoplegroup's anchor to structure our work, and it have contributed to a thorough and valuable input about our company's current status and expectations for the future.
Specially the many types of profitability reports gives us an exact picture of all aspects of our business that allows us to keep our high standard.

Steen Ø.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

We have used WorkBook since 2007 and have been very satisfied with the system

Reviewed on 6/5/2015

The upgrade to Workbook 8 has been a big improvement and implementation went well without major problems. Support has been good to follow up the errors found and our suggestions for corrections and adjustments in the system.

Allan P.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

well integrated but not intuitive for the user

Reviewed on 6/5/2015

You are getting close do going down the path of developing a "Reklamedata" set-up. People close to the use of ERP and finance systems in the industry will know what I mean. Not intuitive, and not easy to use, but well functioning for staff that has used it for many years and know the "best practice" by heart. I will be happy to elaborate on exactly what I mean, so feel free to contact me. I have multiple experience with: Maconomy, Reklamedata, SAP, eConomics, Quickbooks. kind regards

Martin C.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

overall, very positive.

Reviewed on 28/6/2018

Pros

excellent resource planning and project management, good summary information for PMs. easy to use. HTML interface is much better than Silverlight now.

Cons

a lot of the reports are unclear, where figures are derived from. There are too many of them to be of real use. It would be great if reports were tailored to company requirements as part of set up.

As an engineering firm and not an agency, we feel that sometimes our core requirements are disregarded, or overlooked.

Dolan H.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

UK Agency Review

Reviewed on 27/5/2015

We were looking for an intergrated CRM / Pipeline / Job Costing and finance system. We had conducted intensive research on the options available on the market. Our challenge was to have realtime information that allowed us to react swiftly and in an accurately informed way to work in process, not only on the external spend but the recording of time and the financial impact it was having on the project and therefore the company.

Workbook was a last minute option and we decided to have a demo in order to confirm our original choice but that demo changed our opinion and workbook proved it had arrived at a place the other systems were looking to achieve.

It is intuitive and easy to use that the key component areas of timesheets and budgets that the majority of staff use have been adopted enthusiastically. The move from our old systems hasn;t been without teething problems but customer service has been great and they have responded to all the requests and challenges we have thrown at them. There are still some challenges around certain elements in the finance section, the replacement of Sage 100 in our case, but these are now under development as thier model is to constantly seek to improve the product.

Importantly we now have the data from projects at our fingertips and this has proved invaluable and will in the long term it will have a positive financial effect on our business.

I would recommend this to any business that is fast moving, needs to record time accurately and respond to clients changes and needs quickly.

Anne sophie L.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

All in one place and still manageable - and great support department!

Reviewed on 27/5/2015

We have chosen Workbook because it is tailored to advertising agencies, and because we want to have everything in one place. My impression is that Workbook can handle close to everything, even though we only use a part of the functions. It is manageable divided into tabs, so once you become familiar with the structure, it is easy to navigate. And when you encounter challenges Workbook's efficient support department is always ready to assist and guide you through. However, it would be really great if they offered regular meetings with one of their consultants, to show the new features etc. as part of the support deal. I am sure we could get a better outcome if we got some occasionally guidance. But all in all, I can highly recommend the Workbook as a tool to manage projects and finance.

Erika katalin M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

not userfriendly, extremely "heavy to use", confusing trainslation, confusing set-up

Reviewed on 23/5/2015

The pros for the software is that is includes both CRM, Pipeline, Finance, RM and PM modules.
The contras are unfortunately many. For everyday use and as working Tool, it is absolutely not user-friendly.
Finance people, the way they think and Work, might be useful. However, sales and project managers think and Work completely different. Therefore the current set-up of workbook is far from being the best available software on the market.
The customer service is not wokring smoothly, ( a kind of stiff - compeared to another customer service experines in business life) the ticket system is lacking the possibility of seeing WHO is included in the ticket correspondance, and also the possibility of adding/deleting participants from the list .
Because of the complexity of the software, customer customized solutions are unfortunately very limited.

Response from WorkBook Software

Hi Erika

We are sorry you are not completely satisfied. Please reach out to us at [email protected] with any requests you have for improvement.
Also, you can see who is included on a ticket by checking out the little icons of peoples faces, or by looking at the resources tab. You can also easily add people either by the "add user" button or by @mentioning them. You can remove participants by right-clicking on them and choosing to remove them.

I hope this helps.
Nikolai

Georges A.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great software and the minds behind it are even greater

Reviewed on 29/5/2015

We have been using the system for a couple of years now and frankly its really great in terms of capabilities and user friendly. We use it for project Management, client profitability, resource/task allocation and timesheet. I did quite a lot of research before I found Workbook and it is the best system. Workbook guys installed the system in our data center and did us an initial training then we carried on the training and implementation across the region.
The system is very stable and easy to understand, and the guys at workbook are very supportive and knowledgeable. As to Cons; I just wish they had media module.
Good Luck Guys

John Ø.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Quick to learn and master for admins and users. Ideal for small and medium sized business.

Reviewed on 27/5/2015

Having used the software over an 7 year period I believe it to be very intuitive and ever changing. It is easy for new users to get acquainted with the interface and master the basics.
Workbook fulfills all our basic need for an ERP system, and any other needs the customer support are usually able to accommodate in various custom-made reports.
There might be a lack of business intelligence, but the vast and flexible data dumps easily make up for this.

Hans-henrik K.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Have worked with Workbook for the past 5 years and in 3 different companies

Reviewed on 8/6/2015

With focus on project management and related issues Workbook is perfect. With regards to finance Workbook is more than sufficient keeping the structure of advertising agencies in mind.

I am pleased to work with Workbook and I hear the same from projectmanagement. Even the production- and creative staff can use it without complaining

Greg C.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Workbook has been an integral tool in running our business. It is simply an excellent system.

Reviewed on 27/5/2015

Quick and easy implementation
Cost effective
PC and Mac Friendly
Excellent support
Well received by every level of user

I have no "cons" with Workbook