GitHub

4.8 (5,111)
Social coding & collaborative development platform

Overall rating

4.8 /5
(5,111)
Value for Money
4.6/5
Features
4.7/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support
4.4/5

98%
recommended this app
Sort by

5111 Reviews

Erkan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best platform for source control management

Reviewed on 15/8/2022

I am using Github for nearly 10 years. Many things has been improved over this time. Continuous integration features are added, private repositories are made free. I suggest new programmers to use GitHub for their projects.

Pros

GitHub is the most popular SCM (source control management) software in the market. Its UI is so simple and easy to use that you don't need training to start using it. It comes with issue tracking, continuous integration (CI). It is possible to create private repositories for internal projects for free.

Cons

In the past it was not possible to create private repositories for free but now they allow it.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Almost all developers already have GitHub accounts and used it to some degree. Most other softwares provides integrations with GitHub.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best software for Tech companies

Reviewed on 20/9/2022

I'm very happy with the product, since we have been using it everyday, the amount of new bugs has decreased a lot, and we can track more efficiently the work inside a sprint and at the end of it.

Pros

It's very easy to integrate with other software that the company already use it. For example, we use Discord to communicate between coworkers, and thanks to the Github bot integrated in it, there's a message each time someone approved a Pull request or Closed an important Issue. Also, with his integrated CI/CD, we can now upload a new version of the app and even testing it, so the final user can have a very good experience without major flaws.

Cons

I wish that Github can have a better use to link Issues and Pull Requests, it's very interactive but there are time that I forget to link some Issue and it's a little frustrating to have some unlinked Issues after a sprint.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

We need it to integrate some CI/CD to increase the quality of our product, Bitbucket have the feature but it's complicate and also a little expensive compared to Github.

Switched From

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Because of the CI/CD and the project management option that we are currently using.
Anurag
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

GitHub review

Reviewed on 25/9/2022

it has been pretty amazing , all our artifacts are moved to GitHub even excel files, source to target mapping document.

Pros

its user friendly , easily accessible as a desktop software , command line version is cool.

Cons

its a bit slow , the GitHub desktop version, and cloning repo fails every now and then. I always need to re-clone to get the objects from the repo.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best source control system ever

Reviewed on 29/6/2022

It always sent clear messages to help myself find myself at the development, no matter the stage it is. It always provided simple and safe tools to helpe me whenever I needed. In general I am very satisfied with the tool. Nowadays I do not pay for any use, for I do not ned it, but I will gladely pay again when the time cames.

Pros

In addition to being one of the first platforms of its kind and a great choice for software project management, github went further and became a true developer network, the first one I guess. Many companies hire exclusively considering the particular repository of each developer what mekes the employees even more eggor to lear the environment.

Cons

Not much but yet a little above the price if compared to other rivals.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Between others git was developed by Linus Torvalds, a code versioning tool by developers to developers and it led us to use git, from there we needed something remote, something easy to use and them we ended up using git, the most popular of that time (and probably yet the most popular)

Switched From

Apache Subversion

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

It was the most popular of that time (and probably yet the most popular)
Orianne
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Convenient when it comes to source control

Reviewed on 23/8/2022

Git allows us to work on one file instead of multiple versions. This helps with organization and allows us to keep track of changes. As you can take the history, restoration is also possible, and when you yourself do not complete the correctness of the code, you can also review it. The difference in correctness is also displayed in an easy-to-understand way, so it is easy to understand at a glance. In addition, since there are many users, there is a lot of information on the network, and it is easy to find the functions. It is easy for developers joining later to understand the history of the sources up to that point and easily understand the team's revision flow. Conversely, using this tool, it is easy to predict how the developer has operated with the source writing. Developers who are not used to using source code tools like Github may not have much experience working in a team.

Pros

You don't need to ask anyone from the development team to make simple changes to the website. With this increased autonomy, you are ready to make changes to the website. Git makes workflows faster since you don't have to awkwardly tap someone on the shoulder or send an email to commit changes. Working in a project with Git means you can make changes with confidence; it's nearly impossible to make a mistake that can't be fixed. This allows projects to develop more quickly.

Cons

I would like you to expand it to at least 100MB per file. By just doing a still image in 4K, the source file can easily be about 100MB.

Theodor
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

One of the best version control solutions

Reviewed on 29/8/2022

I use GitHub at work and for almost every personal project. Its very user friendly and easy to use. I like the fact that I can track my activity.

Pros

GitHub offers the best UI you can find in any version control software. Recently it added the option to see the project through a embedded Visual Studio IDE by pressing the key '.' . You can use the git commands, like on any other git based version control, but you can also make some operation through the desktop app or web app very easy.

Cons

Some features (like project planning) are not explained that well. If there would be more tutorials on how to use them, maybe more people would discover them. Personally I think there are many hidden good features that other people don't know about.

Karthik
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Very Secured platform to work on project with good collaborative tools

Reviewed on 19/9/2022

Very good product with a collaborative environment.

Pros

While working on any project the most important thing everyone wants is collaboration. Here I can feel the collaborative environment

Cons

The dashboard accessibility Interface needs some improvement where someone can easily do the regular tasks with a single click.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Security has an adverse effect on any product. so I found the security is more in GitHub, has more accessibility with third-party applications compared to GitLab and I chose GitHub over Gitlab
Jared
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Early Stage Startup - GitHub is a no-brainer

Reviewed on 26/9/2022

Generally, a solid experience, great API and automation capabilities, and security posture are excellent. Worth it many times over for our small and mighty startup engineering teams.

Pros

In our early stages and through growth GitHub has the features and capabilities to quickly enable our next levels of growth and collaboration within our SDLC.

Cons

GitHub Actions originally was the feature we liked the least. But, it's grown in capabilities, and with custom runners for the actions, it's all come together well.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Hosting, ease of use, familiarity across personel.
Dimitri Alexander
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best open source platform, from far away

Reviewed on 4/8/2022

Despite the limited free tier, it is still one of the best UI for Git, and with free plan you can do almost everything

Pros

Since Microsoft bought GitHub, we can now host private project, and it will work with any CI environment such as GitHub or CircleCI

Cons

The Web IDE is quite bad, private project are free with a limit of contributor.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

It is the world most famous code base, and you don't need to worry about the service hosting, it's almost always up, and it grows fast it's feature.
Paul
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The gold standard of source control

Reviewed on 14/9/2022

Pros

It's the default, ever developer can use it, uses git but extends git with useful features, works everywhere, in development and production.

Cons

It's a target, outages are largely due to popularity and centralisation.

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

More people use Github, the website is simpler to use, and overall cheaper.
merroudj
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Most unforgettable software service

Reviewed on 24/9/2022

Due to the comprehensive guide and article support part that you may utilize as long as it is linked to git for practically any topic on earth, you need not miss information when using GitHub. You may learn more about the SSH keys creation from its content. There is a reference for the appropriate git workflow available. You can have examples of gitignore for your upcoming project and other things (and more). You don't need to look elsewhere for all the information you want

Pros

Free service, while there are also premium options, a Large community, quick searches inside the structure of the repo, and accessibility to support.
With GitHub, you may store your projects and make them available to your colleagues for inspiration or collaboration. The beauty of it is that you can have many people work together remotely on a project, putting you all, so to speak, on the same page.
With GitHub, you may store your projects and make them available to your colleagues for inspiration or collaboration. The beauty of it is that you can have many people work together remotely on a project, putting you all, so to speak, on the same page.

Since Microsoft acquired GitHub, we are now able to host private projects, and they will function with any CI environment, including CircleCI or GitHub.

The most well-known git implementation is GitHub. GitHub provides a wealth of reliable information about source code contributions for security evaluations. Both the command line and the GUI make it simple to search for new source code changes, making it simpler to find modifications and potentially susceptible code. Additionally, it is simple to comprehend what changes were made to the source code following a security update, making it simple to grasp how they were implemented.

Cons

It isn't completely open because you aren't allowed to upload anything larger than 100MB and the free version's repository size is just 1GB.
Getting used to the mental model when you're new to GitHub is one of the difficulties that is frequently mentioned but becomes easier over time and with experience.
It might not be the ideal instrument for documenting ideas or the creative process. LayerVault or a program that is comparable to it would be a fantastic choice for this particular task. Git, in our opinion, is not the ideal tool for tracking design but is quite effective for tracking code. When drawings must be converted into code or exported to a production environment, it might appear to be a little bit of a murky area.
I'd love to see GitHub release a feature-rich mobile app to make managing repositories on tiny screen devices easier and more practical. This would be necessary for developer workflows that need problems or work-item capabilities.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Why use GitHub in 2022?

Reviewed on 12/8/2022

As the CPO at the company, I am always under pressure to produce good results on time. Through using GitHub, this goal has come to fruition. The developers can collaborate remotely, bugs get quickly resolved, and products are seamlessly deployed on GitHub.

Pros

I find the whole GitHub model quite refreshing. In a matter of seconds, I am able to create an account, create a repository and get instructions on how to set it up on my computer. The introduction of the GitHub desktop made things even simpler. Project tracking, graphical progress representation (commits, issues, pull requests and the timeline), project boards, automated deployment, seamless integration, webhooks, bespoke security keys and CI/CD are among the many functions that GitHub is able to perform. All major IDEs nowadays have the option to integrate with GitHub accounts directly and initialize Git for every new project you start making source control a seamless process. I love the immense collaboration tools and the fact that it works with many existing workspaces such as Notion, therefore, making product development quick and effective.

Cons

GitHub needs to add more integrations to ensure new users have a smooth transition from other products so that work done before onboarding is not lost.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Bitbucket
Meraz
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Must have for all Development Endevours

Reviewed on 27/5/2022

It is a safe, scalable, and trustworthy technology that can successfully handle the version control of any program, making it appropriate for a wide variety of code. GitHub is equipped with a comprehensive set of features and safety precautions. We have aggressively elucidated a lot on the manner that standard getting resources are not really helpful when trying to find a solid engineer. Top designers don't hunt effectively for new opportunities and don't use regular work sheets or LinkedIn. It is recommended that you search in certain locations for high-end technological expertise. How exactly does one go about locating a designer in this day and age? On the stages where the IT people group gathers to collaborate, exchange coding techniques, and learn from one another, you will find programming engineers.

Pros

Setting up and getting started with Github is quite simple. When you begin a new repository, you will be guided through the process of effortlessly adding your source code from your computer to your repository using a few simple instructions. It also has a large number of other capabilities, such as task management, problem management, interaction with DevOps for deployment, static hosting of websites, and a great deal of more functionality. Additionally, it has a high level of extendability and enables you to integrate a large number of market-sourced components. You have the option of keeping your source code private or making it available to the public.

Cons

Some time for me Because GitHub was developed without a simple user interface, verifying even the smallest and easiest things, such as a date, requires you to hover over another date in order to give you the exact hour and time of a commit per se. Because of things like these, using GitHub may be challenging for those who are just starting out with the program, but it becomes easier the more you work with it.

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Bitbucket is too expensive.
Ava
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wireless
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful tool for developers and to be able to carry out a wide variety of projects as a team.

Reviewed on 30/5/2022

It has been a great step for the development of my personal and commercial projects, because I can work hand in hand with my colleagues, being able to carry out projects from scratch either in private or public repositories, assigning tasks, being able to follow them, exchange ideas and even solve problems in the code in a short period of time. In addition, when working together with other colleagues, it is much easier to complete projects on time and deliver successful projects.

Pros

There are several aspects that I like about GitHub as a software developer, having this high potential tool at hand makes it much easier to carry out projects of great value, since in one place it is possible to carry out the entire process necessary for a clean code.I like that it allows to be able to manage in a more reasonable way the time of development of versions and the time that is needed for the review of the code, because by being able to allow access to whoever you want to be able to solve any problem in the code, it makes it easier for them to solved in the shortest possible time. Not only does it guarantee a clean code but it also allows synchronizing the development of the code, that is, different tasks can be assigned to several members so that the progress of the project is rapid. A valuable feature of this tool is that it makes it possible to get the original code and even make changes without having to worry that the other team members will not have the updated version, this saves time and avoids overwriting the code which can be a great benefit error. In addition, assigning tasks allows the project to be much more fluid and that the workflow does not fall on a single person and the best thing is that it is simple to track progress. For example, assigning tasks gives me and my team to have better coordination and be able to advance in each task quickly.

Cons

GitHub is an ideal tool for developers and programmers and even students since it allows you to work in private or public repositories, being able to interact with other developers, however, before being able to use each of its functions smoothly, you need time to fully understand it said software, this is because its learning curve can be somewhat high and more so if you are a beginner.

Santosh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Developer Tool - GitHub

Reviewed on 13/5/2022

- The overall experience with GitHub is excellent and very satisfactory. The tool has many good features provided OOB for many customers to get go from the initial setup itself.

Pros

- The most important feature that we use at a very critical phase is the version control, creating pull requests for the developers to review the code base continuously, for continuous integration and continuous deployments for merging code and deploying code to production
- The tool is very easy to use and navigate without any prior experience
- The tool has very good support team to resolve any issues in the process
- The tool is very widely used by enterprise companies in the market to manage the code base

Cons

- The pricing could be more reasonable as compared to the other tools in the market
- The UI can be more intuitive for the users to work with
- The tool can include more features in the tool that could be used by many customers instead of building custom API's and having issues in the workflows.

Alternatives Considered

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

- The pricing was less when compared to the other tool we choose. It did not had other integrations we are looking for.
Fábio
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GitHub for devs and for security reviews

Reviewed on 25/4/2022

Overall, GitHub offers all main features of git in a user friendly website.
Everything can be done through the interface, including creating your own static site.

Pros

GitHub is the most well known git implementation.
For security reviews, GitHub offers many solid information regarding source code commits. It is easy to search for a new source code change on both command line and GUI, making it easier to detect new changes and potential vulnerable code.
It also is easy to understand what was changed to the source code after a security fix, allowing for easy comprehension of the implementation.

Cons

Since it is an implementation of git, the learning curve of more complex commands and features is very steep.
The average user will only use the basic features (like git clone, which downloads a copy of the repository to the local machine, or git pull/git commit, which will publish the changes to the remote repository), but when trying to use the more complex features (like merging, purging code, reverting a state) it can be time consuming to learn.

Tsitsi Hazel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

GitHub Collaboration Review

Reviewed on 4/4/2022

It is a secure, scalable and reliable tool used to effectively manage version-control of any software, ideal for various types of code. GitHub has a wide range of capabilities and security measures.

Pros

Users can manage their time more efficiently by doing code versioning and code review.

Multiple developers can stay in sync with each other and can develop their software products in collaboration with one another.

Open Source software products can be created, accessed and improved publicly and developers can contribute to the Open Source project from anywhere in the world.

GitHub can be used as a resume as it helps with visibility and reputation building for developers by allowing recruiters to view their interesting projects when applying for job opportunities.

Cons

The intial learning curve can be tricky for new users. Onboarding requires a bit of detail and practise with regards to cloning repositories, creating a fork/ branch, pushing changes to code and raising pull requests when getting started, but once this process is well understood, the product is easy to use.

Alternatives Considered

Slack

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

GitHub is more widely preferred and used by software developers globally, uses less bandwidth and provides visibility of projects for future version improvements and for recruitment.
Elian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Github Review

Reviewed on 29/3/2022

My experience with Github has been awesome and it continues to be like so. Is very handy and I use it on my daily routine.

Pros

I mostly like the ease of use and in the same time the big hand that Github gives me and my colleagues every day to
accomplish our daily tasks and be coordinated with each other.

Cons

To be honest I think that Github is the best code hosting platform and is very hard to find any disadvantage. I use it every day and I am happy.

Alternatives Considered

Jira and ClickUp

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Bitbucket was inly focused in versioning and code hosting and did not provide all those functionalities that Github offers.

Switched From

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Ease of use and the possibility to do a lot of things like project management, task planning, versioning, collaboration, review etc.
emil
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An assortment of undertakings for associating with GitHub

Reviewed on 23/3/2022

We have proactively expounded a lot on the way that to track down a solid engineer, normal obtaining assets are not exceptionally supportive: top designers don't look effectively for new positions and don't utilize ordinary work sheets or LinkedIn. You should utilize specific destinations to track down top tech ability. So how might one track down a designer nowadays?

Programming engineers can be found on the stages where the IT people group shares coding tips, works together and gains from one another.

Pros

Administrator takes your code and changes it into a powerful, dispersed pipeline. You can keep on utilizing your current devices, dialects, foundation, and contents.

Official forms a rich DAG structure, however such that regards positive designing and doesn't repress it. You can utilize Prefect's useful API to change scripts with insignificant snares; or you can get to the conceded computational diagram straightforwardly; or any blend thereof. It depends on you.

Cons

GitHub is dead-easy to use in the fundamental list of capabilities. The arrangement is negligible and all forming observes guidelines and so forth We had no issues setting up access for different clients and when private archives opened up even in the complementary plan it was an easy decision.

Githubs Actions region large assistance - when set up appropriately and can assist with computerizing errands like sending more than a few servers. It is an exceptionally useful asset, however perhaps more convoluted to arrangement then in other comparative products.

Dandre
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Essential to every developer

Reviewed on 10/3/2022

Overall great experience, for bot myself and my team.

Pros

Github is secure, promotes collaboration and is free for the most part. The core features of git is free and for further more "niche" features you can get enterprise. Github is great to go and check how you dependencies work in projects that you use and to see anything from issues to versions related to the source code

Cons

One (I want to say annoying) thing is that all the repositories is stored in one place. I would love to just be able to separate personal projects with fun projects and shared projects with the use of a folder structure.
Also difficult to get a hold of GitHub documentation, i found myself learning trough Youtube videos instead of practicing from a document page (I am sure there is but i could not find it)

Alternatives Considered

Azure DevOps Services

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Licenses are expensive and limits the number of members in our team.

Switched From

Azure DevOps Services

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Free to use. Secure and popular.
Jakub
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Github Action solves automation issues

Reviewed on 4/3/2022

Generally it is ok. The usage is simple. Connection 3rd party apps to GitHub works well but not out of the box. Sometimes there was an encoding issue when using 3rd party apps to push changes - but they were probably client issues rather then GitHubs.

Pros

GitHub is dead-simple to use in the basic feature set. The setup is minimal and all versioning follows standards etc. We had no issues setting up access for other users and once private repositories became available even in the free tier it was a no-brainer.
Githubs Actions area big help - when set up properly and can help automate tasks such as deployment over several servers. It is a very powerful tool, but maybe more complicated to setup then in other similar produts.

Cons

The product management additions seemed as a good idea first, but rendered unusable (for us) since it people (devs) tend to use one app for versioning in command line and other apps for tracking and reporting. Comically joining them was not well received.
The GitHub desktop app can cause authentification issues for non experienced users.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

GitHub seems to be used by a broader userbase. We wanted to fit in easier. Plus the private repos became available in free tier. Until then BitBucket was the better choice. GitHub actions help a lot in CI/CD.

Switched From

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Userbase and pricing (can be free) for organizations.
Charles Boampong
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best project management tool for software developers.

Reviewed on 26/2/2022

We're currently building an advanced Learner Management System and the workflow and collaboration via GitHub is so rewarding.

Pros

Our team of web developers live in different geographical locations but GitHub offers us the best environment to meet, collaborate and manage projects. It offers modern tools that help developers to work remotely and yet be more effective and productive than if they were to work in one physical location. It is the number 1 platform that I'd recommend for every web/software developer.
The ability to track all the changes you make during the lifecycle of any project and it's flexibility to allow other team members to make their contributions to the project is so cool.

Cons

Not any that's affecting our projects yet.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Someone recommended GitHub to us because of the few hitches that we were experiencing that time.

Switched From

Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

It appeared to have more positive reviews.
Masoud
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Secure, innovative and feature rich, a competitor to all other providers

Reviewed on 22/2/2022

I cannot imagine working without GitHub, to be honest. I appreciate that there are many other alternatives these days but GitHub to me is the industry standard that makes developer jobs a lot easier and manageable.

Pros

When you think about source code management you'd think of GitHub straight away. The security is taken seriously on GitHub and the CLI has made using it super simple and convenient from the comfort of your terminal. The offering of integrations with different DevOps tools is a must-have these days that you'd get out of the box with GitHub. Another important factor that makes GitHub stand out is its reliability which in the entire time that I've used it has always been available and has never been down.
GitHub has not stopped innovating new features and improving their services after all these years and it's amazing to see that they offer a new feature frequently.

Cons

I'd love to see a feature-rich mobile app from GitHub to allow managing the repositories easier and more practical on small screen devices.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

I believe GitHub is more reputable between developers and more reliable compared to other competitors.
Amitava
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Goto Source control for software developers

Reviewed on 16/2/2022

Pros

I've been using GitHub for more than 10 years. It is the goto hosted Git service for my personal and enterprise SCM platform. It has pretty much everything you need for software development starting from source code management to issue tracking, project management, build tools (Actions) and online code editor. I also use GitHub CoPilot which is great productivity tool saving at least 30% of my development time every day.

Cons

There are no complains really! I love everything about GitHub.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

I find GitHub much better product, better offerings in terms of features and user experience.

Switched From

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Better offerings, free plan is less limiting and better and faster UI.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

GitHub - the industry standard but could use some interface help

Reviewed on 2/2/2022

Overall it's made our work so much easier I can't even explain. Back when we used Subversion for code management, version control was a total disaster. Now we use Git and GH for managing our entirely cloud-based infrastructure, and it's a dream. Git works smoothly with GH, and GH makes our code available wherever we need it: AWS, Slack, wherever. GH is kind of like putting your code on wireless headphones -- now you can walk around wherever you need it, and it's there with you.

Pros

GitHub is the industry default for code management with Git. If you use Git, you probably already know and use GitHub to keep your various repos safe and in the cloud. It integrates with absolutely every DevOps tool and system under the sun. And probably also the text editor you are working in. And probably also the communication tool you are using -- Jira, Slack, whatever. All of them talk to GitHub. Its help pages are the best in the business too. And it seemingly never goes down. We depend on it the way we depend upon electricity being in the wall socket.

Cons

Unfortunately, the UI on GitHub is far from ideal. I use GH every single day, yet I still often find myself struggling to figure out where to find what I KNOW is in there. The Go to File button -- not sure why that is always hard to find. How to pull up a list of all the commits for a particular branch? Why is it that tiny little 'commits' button? It's like there are 3 or 4 different subnavs on the site -- each of which has its own logic, but it's not intuitive which one you should be looking at to figure out what you're supposed to be clicking on. It feels like somebody with real UI chops could figure out how to help GitHub take all the awesome features they have unleashed and put them into a more sensible layout. I hate feeling stupid, yet I often do when looking to find something in GH.

Alternatives Considered

GitLab and Bitbucket

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Once we moved to Git, it was obvious that GitHub was the place to be. Back in those days it was the only real option.

Switched From

Apache Subversion

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

It felt (and still feels) like these other products are aimed at niche markets that have very particular needs. What we want is something that is powerful, simple, just works, and can integrate wherever we want it. GitHub has solved that for us since day one.