288 reviews

Quicken

Brings all your accounts together in one place

3.8 /5 (288 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

3.8 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
72%
recommended this app
288 reviews
Fernando G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Events Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

I like it. I just don't like monthly fees or having to upgrade to be able to connect bank...

Reviewed on 17/12/2020

Great experience. The technology is great. Just hard to keep up with the monthly fees for a small business.

Pros

I like it. I just don't like monthly fees or having to upgrade to be able to connect bank accounts for automatic upgraded on my financial statements.

Cons

Good software. Easy to use and practical. Helps you accomplish accounting needs in an easy way. Connecting directly to your banks helps you get things done faster.

James D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Lack of availability for Mac

Reviewed on 11/8/2018

I cannot say more than I already have. I’ve had to save information on my Mac and then pick it up on my PC just to send an invoice. This is inconvenient. It takes time that could be better off spend doing other things. Please, Quicken, bring Home and Business to Mac. Also, allow the ability to edit previous entries. I’ve noticed issues in the past that could have been easily fixed with an edit button, but you cannot. This should be fixed. As the leader in accounting software, it should have more features available than it does.

Pros

Quicken seems to be the go-to accounting software in the industry, so naturally we went with it. We were very happy with Quicken, as it is easy to teach to our new employees. I also really like the seamlessness of the program between a Mac and a PC. My laptop is a Mac while my home computer is a PC, and I find that the program itself is very similar on both platforms, and thus very easy to use. However, we initially intended to purchase Quicken for Home and Business, but it is not available for Mac, so we had to take a step back and purchase Quicken Premier. This was more than slightly annoying, but we managed to make it work.

Cons

The lack of availability of Home and Business for Mac is a big con for me. The Home and Business program allows for custom invoices, which would look really good for our small business. We also wanted the ability to track our profit and loss, so we purchased it for my home computer. We can still send out the custom invoices on our PCs, but it would be a lot easier if it were available for Mac. Hopefully, there will be an option to purchase Home and Business in the future for Mac.

Michael C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Other for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Quicken

Reviewed on 14/11/2017

Still one of the easier desktop bookkeeping software to use.
Too bad no one else can create a competitive desktop bookkeeping software for the general public.
Many competitors created only an online version which can be Useless if something happens to your PC or you don't have power or an internet connection!
Worse, there's a monthly fee for their online versions!

Pros

Relatively simple to use as the basic program is basically an electronic version of a check register.
Many financial institutions have a Quicken export function for its online banking feature making bank reconciliation a bit easier.

Cons

Don't need to use other features like investment tracker which is essentially useless for most other people
Intuit FORCES people to set up an ONLINE account to link the program to, mainly for tracking and marketing purposes which is complete BS!
Update function has moved over the years that it's not as simple to just click 'update' anymore JUST to update Quicken and NOTHING else!
Be careful about importing information as it may not import 100% of the banking information, similar to QB.
Intuit keeps marketing you to join its other financial services!

Jeff S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product if you need a simple to use, yet powerful features product.

Reviewed on 17/6/2019

We own a variety of rental properties and having the ability to manage different types of property like monthly rentals which has standard monthly rent, as well as manage vacation rentals which payments and rental dates fluctuate. QRPM handles all the scenarios with ease and great reporting.

Pros

Have used Quicken products for over 30 years and for the cost you cannot beat the features and ease of use. Have used Rental Manager for past 5 years to manage 7+ rental properties and ability to track and manage payments and track expenses into a ledger with the greatest of ease is priceless for someone that doesn't need a full blown accounting system with GL#, etc.

Cons

Rare that you ever need to call support, but if you do, calling Intuit support has always been a frustrating experience. Just reaching someone knowledgeable to help was always challenging, but i have heard it's improved over past few years as have not had to use support but 2-3 times in life of product.

Mariana M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

All about your finances and assets

Reviewed on 1/10/2018

Quicken is a very nice domestic software to control your personnel finances. The app version was recently updated and it is easier to navigate now.

Pros

You can access your database through several devices.
You can create different types of accounts, such as checkings, savings, assets.
You can create different budgets.
Added your invoices and receivings, you will have a cash flow.
You can create categories to classify your expenses and earnings.

Cons

You can not do a transfer using your the app on your cell phone.
To categorize a transaction split in two or more categories is a little trick.

David H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Have purchased many generations of Quicken

Reviewed on 5/12/2019

Excellent. I will be redundant, but if you have checking, savings, mutual funds and stock accounts, it performs great. I also count on the cash basis easy statements

Pros

When I first started with Quicken years and years ago I used it to print my checks and that was replaced with e-banking. Always for maintaining account information, investments and even reconciling statements. Super easy to back up to a thumb drive or DVD

Cons

If you get screwed up with an investment account's info it is a pain to get it back on track and correct

Dennis S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Quicken is very comprehensive but difficult to navigate at times

Reviewed on 20/8/2020

Overall it is a very comprehensive expense and income record keeping checkbook register but it is also very expensive as they have gone to a subscription based platform. Not happy about that.

Pros

One of the better features of this software is the ability to create and assign categories to each accounting entry, which makes life easier at the end of the tax year.

Cons

It is somewhat difficult to create categories as it seems to be a multi step process as you can easily mis identify as an expense or income

Steve M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Quicken for Home and Business

Reviewed on 4/12/2018

Pros

Ability to maintain household records and part-time consulting business records in the same program. Ability to issue invoices and maintain accounts receivable. Maintain customer and vendor database. Maintain records of business related vehicle expense. Integrates easily with Turbotax.

Cons

The chart of accounts is difficult to maintain. It does not follow usual accounting conventions.It is difficult to save recurring reports. Printing reports is often confusing.

Anne F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An excellent software to manage your finances!

Reviewed on 6/1/2021

Overall, my experience is excellent. It helps with tax preparation but most important for keeping a handle on personal finances. An elegant software!

Pros

I have used Quicken for almost two decades, to keep our family's personal finances on track. It is excellent, dependable, easy to use even if you are not a tech-genius.

Cons

There are some challenges in linking to a personal bank account, probably to do with security; but it does make some downloads a little challenging.

Randy L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great product unless you need customer service.

Reviewed on 4/4/2018

Pros

The product is easy to use, accurate, and blends with banking protocols and apps. I like the fact that it helps you plan and budget your money and see exactly where you’re spending is going.

Cons

You must be very careful to categorize your spending accurately so that the app can help you budget your spending. If you need customer service, the number of times I have called them fortunately has been few because they are little or no help

Susan S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Legal Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Use for Personal and Busines

Reviewed on 6/9/2017

Wonderful program for personal and small business bookkeeping

Pros

It is very easy to use and reports are easy to pull from the software. It is a very powerful software for the price. You can use an app like Dropbox or OneDrive to keep your data available from anywhere.

Cons

Support/help was unable to assist with creating a report that was complex - probably needed to use Quick Books instead of Quicken for this type of report

Tuan N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good for small size business

Reviewed on 3/10/2019

Pros

The price is reasonable compares to Quickbooks, and it is easy to use. If you do not need multi users function, Quicken is a good option for bookkeeping job.

Cons

The software sometimes crashes for no reason especially working with big files. In addition, my version (2017) does not have multi users function, which is a limitation of the Quicken. Make sure you do back up file every single time because when the Quicken files getting bigger, it's easier to crash.

Christopher V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Overall This Product Does Its Job Well

Reviewed on 13/7/2018

Pros

It is a great and effective tool that allows small and medium sized rental managers to keep their rental finances separated from their personal finances in a familiar and easy to use interface.

Cons

The subscription cycle is a bit tedious . I would like to see a longer support cycle for specific versions.

Anthony H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fulfilling

Reviewed on 31/8/2018

It is a very easy to use and friendly to those with basic account knowledge

Pros

Easy to in put and set up accounts and reports. it save automatically the work. Anybody can used it.

Cons

That reports need to be transfer to excel to be edited. You cannot print a final report with it directly

Patrick S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great tool for personal wealth tracking

Reviewed on 11/8/2020

Pros

If you are looking for something to manage your personal finances, Quicken is a good choice. You can use as few or as many of the features as you are comfortable with to begin. As your life and your finances become more complicated and more diverse, Quicken is right there with you to grow as you grow.

Cons

The synchronization feature of Quicken can be flaky. Most of the time it works well, but if a financial institution changes their login process, Quicken can hit a wall and stop updating. The online forums are a great place to help you get through most problem situations.

Seth G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Quicken

Reviewed on 5/3/2019

Quicken has simplified my budgeting process and makes it easier to keep track of my current financial situation.

Pros

- Almost too many categories for budgeting and tracking transactions.
- Excellent integration with online accounts (ex. banking, credit card, loans)
- Multiple options to create a custom dashboard for a quick picture of your current financial situation.
- Automatic transaction downloads and Quicken recognizes and assigns most transactions to specific categories.

Cons

- Almost too many categories for budgeting and tracking transactions. This can be overwhelming when trying to set up a simple budget. Thankfully there are options for managing how categories are assigned, it just takes a little bit of time and trial and error.
- More advanced features such as loan pay off planning are not as intuitive or automatic as the basic banking features and require some prior knowledge or a good google search to figure out.

Simon O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Financial Management Application

Reviewed on 6/12/2018

Pros

This software help me to monitor the performance of my investment at my convenience which helps to make effective financial decisions personally and for others.

Cons

Its difficult to use by big financial organizations with huge data. I think it should be improve for every organization to use it because the features are very good and would be useful for every financial firm.

Hilary G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Family finances tackled at last!

Reviewed on 24/3/2018

Pros

I love that we can consolidate all of our banking, savings, business and credit card accounts into one location to categorize every expense. It downloads automatically at sign on so it's really limited on the amount of effort needed.

Cons

The memorized transaction function is a bit tricky to get used to. The software attempts to memorize transactions so you don't have to re-enter info on future transactions if similar type or same vedor so I do think it important to reverie ever transaction individually when accepting them into your register.

Reggie R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Commercial Real Estate
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Property Management Product

Reviewed on 15/9/2017

Pros

Ease of use, uncluttered with a basic app for recording transactions on the fly. Generating reports foe tax preparation is a breeze.

Cons

It's everything we need it to be however it appears that since it is A local installation, we might not be able to have a second computer installation for shared management responsibility.

Delmar P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

I like it. Helps me keep track of my money

Reviewed on 28/6/2016

Pros

Easy to enter/edit transactions and run thorough reports. I love how I can do invoices (customizable too) and receive payments for projects/services.

Cons

UI could be modernized a bit more but that's not a big deal. The biggest thing is probably that it doesn't have all the Canadian banks to sync transactions with so I've never used that function. However, they might have updated that on a later version already.

Tiffani B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Quicken Gets the Job Done

Reviewed on 22/2/2016

Pros

As both the owner and manager of my rental properties, Quicken fits all of my business needs. One thing I especially like about Quicken is the quality of the reports that I am able to generate.

Cons

While Quicken is great, I wish it had a feature that would allow me to be able to log on to a web-based version so I could make simultaneous updates with my assistant manager.

James T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Solid recommendation for Quicken.

Reviewed on 13/3/2017

Used it for the past few years. Cannot live without it.

Pros

Solid functionality. Ease of use. Nice reporting.

Cons

Customer support

Tim P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use

Quicken 2018 release is the worst software ever!

Reviewed on 31/12/2017

Someone had best get control of the QA of the software. I would really hate to see this product die after all these years.

Pros

It used to be easy to use and very helpful. It can track your personal bills as well as track rental expenses.

Cons

Extremely buggy. Features that used to work are broken or just removed entirely. There used to be a cool interface showing what bills were coming up - that's been removed and replaced with a simple list. Linking to bill accounts just blows up the whole program and it crashes. Some of the totals don't appear to update when you make changes. All of this, and they've changed to a subscription model, so you can still pay full price, but just receive a year's worth of buggy mess.

Sergio M.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Quicken is the best software to manage your money, create budgets, manage your rental...

Reviewed on 28/7/2018

I was able to get out of debt using their budget features and keep track of all my bank transactions.

Pros

I used to be very bad with my money, my father told me that Quicken would help me create a budget, follow it and save some money. I was able to get out of debt using it. If you have rental properties you will be able to manage them all. I like that you can download transactions from your bank, pay your bills and even keep track of your investments.

Cons

Quicken has been around for like 30 years but it seems like there are many bugs, specially downloading transactions, I don't know if it's related to my banks or quicken's. the good thing is that Quicken's customer support is really good.

Maria E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A Rental Management Software Easy to Use

Reviewed on 24/5/2016

Pros

I have been using this product since it was added to Quicken. I like the product because it is easy to use. You can generate reports that anyone can understand, and yet it is perfect for accountants as well.

Cons

I would like to be able to save the reports I generate into a format that can be saved and opened easily in a document file.