81 reviews

MYOB Essentials

Online accounting & payroll for every business

3.8 /5 (81 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
3.8
/
5
Value for Money
3.3
Features
3.6
Ease of Use
3.8
Customer Support
3.3
69% recommended this app
81 reviews
Joe B.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Manual System Converted into Digital

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 29/12/2020
Review Source: Capterra

MYOB has changed the way we work, simplifies book keeping to take away so much pain

Pros

- Easy to signup and simple setup to get things started
- Pricing - Special offer for new start ups
- Invoice reminders
- Invoice templates look very professional
- Invoice shows when customer / vendor have viewed (SUPER HELPFUL)
- Intray for emailing receipts and tracking

Cons

- Not being able to invoice in multiple currencies, have to workarond this by invoicing in the charable foreign currency then after payment is recieved adjusting the template to the local amount that is received.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Lee P.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 201-500 Employees

The software is good for a small entity but once you grow and need more detail it becomes a handbrake on information.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 22/5/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

For a small firm with limited reporting requirements it is okay but for any jobs with Work Breakdown Structure requirements it comes up short and becomes a limiter for the company. I get very frustrated with the after sales support system. It is not customer focused and leaves you wondering why you pay for it.

Pros

Good basic internal controls so novice bookkeepers can run day to day.
Easy to install and set up.
Reasonably cheap for what you get.
Handles GST well.

Cons

Not the best for Job costings.
Payroll system ordinary serious reporting drawbacks as far as information flow to the General Ledger.
Tends to freeze in reporting production which can lock out users.
Support service is very poor, you get the feeling the staff could care less in resolving issues.
Interactive screen supports not used you have to send a file and wait for a response.
Wait time on the phone for support is very bad.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Matthew K.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Don't start your business accounting with a regrettable decision, look elsewhere!

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 18/5/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Underwhelming to say the least. I was partially sold on the fact that they have a customer service number to assist if need be, don't be fooled by this either, the call centre workers are rather unfamiliar with the MYOB product (unless I was unfortunate enough to speak with their newest member each time) and all my queries had to be looked up each time and they read answers from a screen which I could find on-line myself , they weren't able to elaborate nor answer any further questions I had outside of what was written in front of them.

Pros

Reasonably easy to use but have found Xero to be much better in almost every way.

Cons

Limited features and limited expandability compared to Xero. No was to have a back up of accounting file on your computer. If or once you decide Essentials ins't for you, they do not offer a way to transfer to their own Account Rite product nor do they off to export data to Xero. They will give you 1 month access as a read only before all data is deleted off their server unless you pay $25 Per month for the remaining 5 years you're required to keep the data

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Chris F.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 2-10 Employees

This is great accounting Software thank you

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/2/2017
Review Source: Capterra

I have been using this software for over 10 years it is a bit expensive but works well
Especially after it went to cloud based

Pros

And I like if anything goes missing my computer gets Stolen or burns or virus then I don't lose everything because it's on the clouds

Cons

The cons are that it is too expensive for what it is

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Kate L.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Accounting software to begin with

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 25/1/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Good for small business and do not need to worry about back up when you are using cloud version

Pros

Have most of the function and very stable software.

Cons

The platform looks a bit old fashion and payroll function is not easy to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Liam G.

I really like using MYOB for my Business as it makes everything very easy and carefree

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 11/3/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I like MYOB for my business as it is intuitive and it combines many different softwares. It is a 'one stop shop' for all my business needs which is what I need when I am very busy

Cons

What i like least about MYOB is that other softwares are more competitive in price. I stay with MYOB as I am used to the functionality off it and dont wish to change.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Jason P.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Ongoing extortion, third world support, buggy and terrible reporting

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 27/8/2019
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

A can't imagine a business could do worse than this product, go elsewhere and save yourself the hassle.

Pros

It didn't fail on install... that's about it!

Cons

I paid for the full version of the software and not even 12 months in they are forcing me to pay for a subscription service as well! Having disabled single touch payroll for offline users they have made the software obsolete.

Support is terrible and slow, you'll quickly get sick of the on hold music. Doesn't matter once you've identified yourself as soon as you're transferred you'll have to do it again.

And the reporting is a waste of time (and paper), you can't even print a list of employees with their birthdays!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Mark R.
Industry: Maritime
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Absolutely disgraceful back up service.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 17/8/2020
Review Source: Capterra

A very unprofessional company. I have been using MYOB for over 5 years and have found the service disgraceful. The service is the worst of any company I have ever used. They take forever to answer a phone call and quite often after waiting u to an hour for hepl, the phone is disconnectred. I need to call them agaion and try for help.
I did not leave hoping for MYOB to improve its service. Also the work to find an alternative. Just now i spent 3/4 hour and they hung up after the wait.

Pros

Nothing. Very bad service. No service. The software was very hard to use. I accepted and learned more. No ease of use.

Cons

The complete usability and back up service.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Andrew K.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Cloud based computing

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 19/5/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Could based software makes it easy to log into from any computer and phone to make changes or reconcile transactions. Really like MYOB Essentials

Cons

Moved from a once off payment for the desktop version to a monthly subscription based system which costs a lot more to maintain.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Martine H.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

MYOB Accounting and Payroll Software

Reviewed on 7/6/2016
Review Source: GetApp

Bookwiz Bookkeeping has been operating since 2000 and over the years we have used many accounting software products. MYOB is hands down the best Accounting & Payroll Software solution for our clients and we highly recommend it. We now have nearly all of our clients online and with features like Bank Feeds and Pay Super we have been able to really streamline the bookkeeping and payroll process for our clients which they love as it saves them money. We also love that MYOB caters for the very small business operators out there by have a very affordable and easy to use solution for them which is MYOB Essentials.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Janet G.
Industry: Hospital & Health Care
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 5/1/2017
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Zoe W.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Could be more functional

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 9/1/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Overall is an asset

Pros

Does the job and can track incoming and outgoing accounts

Cons

Multiple windows and lack of auto-fill function for repetitive entries.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Les W.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 2-10 Employees

A good accounting program for small business

Used Monthly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 19/10/2018
Review Source: Capterra

running a small business is easier with this program.

Pros

Very traditional, easy to use accounting package that is easy for non-accountants to use.

Cons

It costs a lot, considering its simplicity.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Les V.
Industry: Chemicals
Company size: Self Employed

Unmotivated by others

Used Weekly for Free Trial
Reviewed on 21/1/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Great templates, works well and the logic seems functional.

Cons

It no longer supports submission to the ATO and is no longer used by the ATO for reporting.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Nigel B.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Beginners and advances users both like MYOB

Used Other for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 8/3/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Simple to generate a quote or invoice. Creating customers while creating quotes or invoices is good to keep you moving easily. Good integration features, such as cards.

Cons

When theres an error, sometimes its not clear what the source of the problem is. This can be frustrating and better error message text would be on the advice to developers list.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Civil Engineering
Company size: Self Employed

Great software, but too pricey for my needs

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 2/11/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Good software with lots of useful functionality, but too pricey for my needs and too cumbersome compared to other options

Pros

MYOB will polished with lots of mine integrations and options.

Cons

There are a number of different portals with different purposes and I would get lost sometimes navigating the various sites.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Paul C.
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Probably OK If you Are a Trained Accountant or Bookkeeper

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 29/9/2019
Review Source: Capterra

We wasted a lot of time and resources using this software for our small business accounting needs. Whilst it did the job in the end we believe there are simpler options such as XERO for us non- accountants.

Pros

As a small business owner not trained in the art of accounting there wasn't a lot we found easy about using MYOB Essentials. The reporting process at the end is probably our highlight.

Cons

We found MYOB Essentials cumbersome to set up and use. The support team was basically of little help. Sending files to our Accountant at the end of the tax year was a pain. MYOB Essentials is better suited to those with a deeper knowledge of accounting than what we have in our business. That is why we switched to XERO which we find much easier and more efficient to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 4.0/10

Sarah S.
Industry: Law Practice
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great reconciliation and payment software

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 26/5/2019
Review Source: Capterra

MYOB is used for all office payments, cheques, reconciliation and staff wages. Creates a one stop shop for all things payment related!

Pros

Easy to use interface with quick access to each area of the program.

Cons

Program can be expensive and costs per computer

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Chris P.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 11-50 Employees

good value in terms of the price

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/9/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

The software is good for a small entity but once you grow and need more detail it becomes a handbrake on information.

Pros

easy to use ,A very easy to use and follow accounting software, the flow of information is easy to follow

Cons

I have been using the MYOB Essentials purely for payroll of a bout 10 employees. I find the customer service frustrating as it seems impossible to actually speak to anyone.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Pam D.
Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Small business user

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/7/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Good program for small business and very easy to fix mistakes but no audit trail

Pros

Easy to use and can have detailed accounts set up,at 4 levels
Reports are set up so easy to use out of the box
Great program in box

Cons

From an audit perspective not great as you can renter things without an audit trail
No reporting flexibility

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Legislative Office
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Great Product

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 14/1/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I would recommend it to someone say a professional bookkeeper, I found Quickbooks to be more user friendly for easy bookkeeping soultuons also finding Quickbooks a lot cheaper than MYOB.

Pros

Very detailed, Easy to add transactions.

Cons

I found the software was not very “user friendly” especially as someone who isn’t the greatest at Bookeeping, the terms (words) and navigation was very hard sometimes. I ended up switching to Quickbooks.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Marcus maciej N.

The interface is ok but the customer service is terrible

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 6/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I liked the layout of the software. It is generally easy to use. The colour palette and general design is quite pleasing to the eye.

Cons

It's quite expensive for a small business and of course they hide a lot of information before you purchase. At per month I could not enter more than 5 expenses per month! Ridiculous! Had to upgrade! Cancelling you account is very difficult and they will try and screw you out of every last cent. I will never ever use this company or software again. SO ANGRY at the account closing process. They might have stolen but it has cost them a customer and I will tell everybody I meet to avoid that software and company like the plague!

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Annie G.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Game change for my business

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/6/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This software has made my bookkeeping so much easier, faster and even more accurate. I like when they change a function, that they teach u how to use it with little instruction pop ups.

Cons

I find that the dashboard figures aren't always accurate with my bank accounts. Sometimes the layout can be confusing.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Travis K.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Fun and simple to use for small businesses

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 15/5/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Reconciling the bank, making invoices and categorising expenses is easy

Cons

There are a lot of desktop versions of MYOB and it can be seriously confusing trying to figure out which version you need to open when you receive and client file.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Melanie F.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Easy to use for Small Business

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 4/10/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I've been using MYOB Essentials for about 2 years now. It's a simple system for a small business.

Pros

Great import feature for bank accounts (main bank accounts are available - some smaller banks are not able to auto import)
Simple payroll functionality
Easy account reconciliation

Cons

There is no simple search facility across the database - you have to enter each screen to perform a search
Reports are hard to find and dates are

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10