MYOB Business Reviews

MYOB Business

Online accounting & payroll for every business

Overall rating

3.8 /5
(128)
Value for Money
3.4/5
Features
3.7/5
Ease of Use
3.7/5
Customer Support
3.3/5

70%
recommended this app
Sort by

128 Reviews

Arslan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The Software helps me to evolve in my career my much .

Reviewed on 4/5/2018

The benefits are countless. I am really happy and exceptionally relaxed with using this software....

The benefits are countless. I am really happy and exceptionally relaxed with using this software. By far, its the most reliable and efficient software that I have encountered.

Pros

The systematic features really helps to sort out the accounting issues. I am always leading the task upto the standards and mostly efficiently only using this specialized software.

Cons

The complications of finding a specific set of files is really hectic. I have to go through the whole bunch of files and reenters the balance whenever I have to made some ammendments.

Rani
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great software. Does everything we need it to do and more.

Reviewed on 13/3/2018

Great accounting, and always updating with new features. Our accountant could just log in and do...

Great accounting, and always updating with new features. Our accountant could just log in and do our end of years immediately.

Pros

-Highly customisable for invoicing and parts inventories.
-Has great reports. We found if you knew what you wanted to keep an eye on in the business, then you could design a report for it. Not all accounting programs or workshop software can do that so easily.
-once it was set up for our workshop, it worked amazingly. Very intuitive

Cons

-We were new to this software, and it took a long time to set it up, (6 mnths), specifically for how we needed it to work. (automotive workshop), You almost needed to be a trained accountant i felt.
-Support used to take at least 1 day if not 2 to get back to you.

Lee
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

The software is good for a small entity but once you grow and need more detail it becomes a...

Reviewed on 22/5/2017

For a small firm with limited reporting requirements it is okay but for any jobs with Work...

For a small firm with limited reporting requirements it is okay but for any jobs with Work Breakdown Structure requirements it comes up short and becomes a limiter for the company. I get very frustrated with the after sales support system. It is not customer focused and leaves you wondering why you pay for it.

Pros

Good basic internal controls so novice bookkeepers can run day to day.
Easy to install and set up.
Reasonably cheap for what you get.
Handles GST well.

Cons

Not the best for Job costings.
Payroll system ordinary serious reporting drawbacks as far as information flow to the General Ledger.
Tends to freeze in reporting production which can lock out users.
Support service is very poor, you get the feeling the staff could care less in resolving issues.
Interactive screen supports not used you have to send a file and wait for a response.
Wait time on the phone for support is very bad.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

good value in terms of the price

Reviewed on 12/9/2017

The software is good for a small entity but once you grow and need more detail it becomes a...

The software is good for a small entity but once you grow and need more detail it becomes a handbrake on information.

Pros

easy to use ,A very easy to use and follow accounting software, the flow of information is easy to follow

Cons

I have been using the MYOB Essentials purely for payroll of a bout 10 employees. I find the customer service frustrating as it seems impossible to actually speak to anyone.

Kate
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Easy to use

Reviewed on 14/9/2018

Being in the cloud makes access to this program easy. It is user friendly and easy to navigate. ...

Being in the cloud makes access to this program easy. It is user friendly and easy to navigate. The cost did increase quite a bit over the 6 years I was using it but it is pretty relative to other accounting software available.

Pros

This program is in the cloud so it can be accessed from anywhere that has internet.

Cons

You couldn't do a recurring transaction.

Ian
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

MYOB Essentials

Reviewed on 14/11/2022

All good except for the slow support and issues with the product.

All good except for the slow support and issues with the product.

Pros

Easy to use once you know how. I like that I can log on from anywhere top access the accounting software.

Cons

MYOB ceased to support Account Edge on Mac so on recommendation by the sales team I transferred to MYOB Essentials. It is easy to use however because it's web based it hangs intermittently. MYOB added a feature to Item ID on invoicing, adding an information symbol without widening the column. This causes the Item ID to be partially obliterated. This makes it difficult when checking item numbers or picking the order. I have spoken to support who have failed to address the issue or even discuss it. The other issue is support. I have literally waited on for one and half hours before getting to the person I need to speak to.

Karen
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Sold a dummy!

Reviewed on 17/8/2018

I have been a business user of MYOB for other companies using bigger MYOB packages for over a...

I have been a business user of MYOB for other companies using bigger MYOB packages for over a decade and find it fairly good although it has serious bugs which are reported by the truckload by all the accountants I know and they are NEVER fixed even after a decade. Like how the excel file download makes all the numbers text and the "manual calculation" field is auto set meaning you have to reformat each and every download twice (format numbers and turn on auto calc) to use the spreadsheet to add up.

Designed and run by non accountants

Pros

Nothing. completely useless. Doesn't comply with ATO requirements unless you have no employees and what business has no employees? Misleading advertising and advice.

Cons

I am a small business with single employee. Noting that one touch payroll was becoming mandatory next year I decided to put my accounts on a basic package to comply. I rang up and they sold me MYOB essentials telling me it would fully comply. After upteem dozen attempts to create a single employee which failed I ring up and they tell me well actually this entry level despite having all the menu structures and appearing online to do payroll does not do payroll at ALL and I need to pay almost double.

I found the set up very very nonintuitive in its coaching. You start one entry set up the field, then it takes you away to a whole different menu you need to complete and then doesn't take you back to where you were. There are heaps of bugs and going online you see everyone else having the same problem.

Adam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A very easy to use and follow accounting software, the flow of information is easy to follow

Reviewed on 16/8/2017

This software is easy to use and organize. This software allows me to track and update information...

This software is easy to use and organize. This software allows me to track and update information easily and in a timely manner

Pros

I like the dashboards that show the flow of information from beginning to end. Reconciling the bank is very easy to do as well as enter in new sales and purchases. It's also very easy to export data into excel if additional analysis is needed outside of MYOB.

Cons

Generating sales reports, P&Ls, and BS is a bit cumbersome. It would also be nice if it had a 'dashoboard' feature, like xero, that shows all the relevant information on one page. Having one spot to go to for most of the day's relevant information would be very helpful

'Kim's
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

MYOB Essentials

Reviewed on 17/2/2019

Keep clients complaint!

Keep clients complaint!

Pros

This product makes the day to day task of a business owner more professional!

Cons

the Cost of the software could put a few people off!

Bruce
Bruce
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Need to be dragged into the new century

Reviewed on 16/6/2019

We have been stuck on it - and are currently planning our migration away from it.

We have been stuck on it - and are currently planning our migration away from it.

Pros

Commonly used across small business which makes it easier to find bookkeepers who have experience in it

Cons

Needs to have a major overview from a features, functionality and user experience perspective.
Nearly no new features in 15 years.
An upgrade in technology, but delivering using out-dated tech stacks and restrictive implementation.
Not a wonder people are moving in droves to other products.

Joanne
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

MYOB - easy to use, does what you need

Reviewed on 23/2/2021

Offers features that I need to do to manage the Company Financials. Support has been great and...

Offers features that I need to do to manage the Company Financials. Support has been great and responsive.

Pros

MYOB is intuitive for the user to use, easy to use, simple to setup, has all the features you need to manage the Company finances. Also when regulation changes it quickly incorporates those changes and explains easily how to use the feature.

Cons

MYOB can get quite slow around EOFY - needs more grunt put in place around these times for cloud hosting. There is no live chat within the application for support.

Alternatives Considered

Xero

Reasons for Switching to MYOB Business

Pricing and easier to use.
Jennifer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Ok platform at the time however went with Xero

Reviewed on 14/3/2023

Pros

I needed the ability to access accounting transactions online.

Cons

What I liked least about MYOB business is that is was very limited therefore went with Xero.

Kara
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Myob

Reviewed on 26/5/2022

Very easy to use. Clients are happy with it and also find it easy with minimal questions

Very easy to use. Clients are happy with it and also find it easy with minimal questions

Pros

The ease of using this program. Being able to get into clients accounts and finalising their work.

Cons

I have no issues to report with this program.

Mark
Overall rating
  • Industry: Maritime
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Absolutely disgraceful back up service.

Reviewed on 17/8/2020

A very unprofessional company. I have been using MYOB for over 5 years and have found the service ...

A very unprofessional company. I have been using MYOB for over 5 years and have found the service disgraceful. The service is the worst of any company I have ever used. They take forever to answer a phone call and quite often after waiting u to an hour for hepl, the phone is disconnectred. I need to call them agaion and try for help.
I did not leave hoping for MYOB to improve its service. Also the work to find an alternative. Just now i spent 3/4 hour and they hung up after the wait.

Pros

Nothing. Very bad service. No service. The software was very hard to use. I accepted and learned more. No ease of use.

Cons

The complete usability and back up service.

Jason
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Ongoing extortion, third world support, buggy and terrible reporting

Reviewed on 27/8/2019

A can't imagine a business could do worse than this product, go elsewhere and save yourself the...

A can't imagine a business could do worse than this product, go elsewhere and save yourself the hassle.

Pros

It didn't fail on install... that's about it!

Cons

I paid for the full version of the software and not even 12 months in they are forcing me to pay for a subscription service as well! Having disabled single touch payroll for offline users they have made the software obsolete.

Support is terrible and slow, you'll quickly get sick of the on hold music. Doesn't matter once you've identified yourself as soon as you're transferred you'll have to do it again.

And the reporting is a waste of time (and paper), you can't even print a list of employees with their birthdays!

Joshua
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mental Health Care
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great software for small business

Reviewed on 23/8/2022

Pros

User experience is great and is easy to use for beginners. As the product has been around for some time, the forums are helpful for common issues and troubleshooting. From my experience the online support chat is helpful when needed. The myob capture app is great for recording receipts and invoices on the go for allocation later on desktop.

Cons

Recurring invoices are a great feature, however for my purposes, I would prefer a create from template feature for recurring contacts. Would prefer to have final say/approval over invoice reminders so the template can be customised to the circumstances. Some basic filtering and sorting features could be added for betting tracking of transactions, invoices, etc.

ELLIE
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Friendly user

Reviewed on 28/11/2018

To be more flexible on forms and reports

To be more flexible on forms and reports

Pros

Editing and backup easy to manage and restore function for any error or lost of data to be fixed easily

Cons

Cannot customise report and limited on letters and character to be insert. Control on printing page is not user friendly

Kate
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Accounting software to begin with

Reviewed on 25/1/2019

Good for small business and do not need to worry about back up when you are using cloud version

Good for small business and do not need to worry about back up when you are using cloud version

Pros

Have most of the function and very stable software.

Cons

The platform looks a bit old fashion and payroll function is not easy to use.

Jade
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good basic accounts system

Reviewed on 12/1/2018

Pros

Simple in most cases to use and looks good, integrates with our hire software well , if any issues the help section normally answers the query so no need for customer service.

Cons

I have found it to be slow and sluggish at times, some of the processes are over complicated and difficult to understand/process.

matt
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

A must for any small business

Reviewed on 8/7/2022

Pros

its ease of use, Its simple. Everything is a click a way all bookkeepers and accountnats will have access in the back ground to pullt he data they need to complete tax things

Cons

I would ideally like to see a scheduling app or component added which id desktop and phone friendly

Alternatives Considered

Quickbooks Online
Glenn
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Can not export or import anything useful. Locked in.

Reviewed on 13/10/2017

I would avoid unless you only want to use it for a small business with no plans to grow to the...

I would avoid unless you only want to use it for a small business with no plans to grow to the stage where you need to upgrade your accounting software. Also requires a internet connection to run.

Pros

Easy to use for a small business. Its web based so you dont need to install any software, and you can use it from any location where you have internet access.

Cons

Import and export data options VERY limited. Can only import items and contacts, can only export a account and journal summary for your accountant. This means you cant use Essentials with a 3rd part system, or export your data if you later decide to stop using Essentials, effectively locking you in. Would make it difficult for a growing business to upgrade to a more advanced accounting system, you would need to manually enter all your records from scratch.

Harinder
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Call center people don't know what they are doing or how to setup licence properly

Reviewed on 3/3/2019

Horrible experience so far with MYOB, time I have waste every day to get my MYOB going is beyond...

Horrible experience so far with MYOB, time I have waste every day to get my MYOB going is beyond limit as I have other things to do.

Pros

Overall software is not bad but support team is not trained enough to sort out all the issues customer might have. I know my licence issue not been resolved from last two months!!!

Cons

I'm trying to sort out my licence issue from last two months but unfortunately it is still keep going. I have to spend couple of hours on phone to get it sorted and they assure it won't happen again but after couple of weeks and sometime every next day it stop working and keep asking for renew your subscription.
I'm very much pissed off with support people as it seems like they don't know shit and I'm thinking to change to xero instead.

Marcus  Maciej
Marcus Maciej
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

The interface is ok but the customer service is terrible

Reviewed on 6/4/2018

Pros

I liked the layout of the software. It is generally easy to use. The colour palette and general design is quite pleasing to the eye.

Cons

It's quite expensive for a small business and of course they hide a lot of information before you purchase. At per month I could not enter more than 5 expenses per month! Ridiculous! Had to upgrade! Cancelling you account is very difficult and they will try and screw you out of every last cent. I will never ever use this company or software again. SO ANGRY at the account closing process. They might have stolen but it has cost them a customer and I will tell everybody I meet to avoid that software and company like the plague!

Melanie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Easy to use for Small Business

Reviewed on 4/10/2018

I've been using MYOB Essentials for about 2 years now. It's a simple system for a small business.

I've been using MYOB Essentials for about 2 years now. It's a simple system for a small business.

Pros

Great import feature for bank accounts (main bank accounts are available - some smaller banks are not able to auto import)
Simple payroll functionality
Easy account reconciliation

Cons

There is no simple search facility across the database - you have to enter each screen to perform a search
Reports are hard to find and dates are

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great invoicing software

Reviewed on 7/9/2023

Pros

MYOB is the solution for managing the companies taxes and invoices in Australia.

Cons

I would love to have it in more languages