TIBCO Jaspersoft

4.2 (26)
Business Intelligence solution

Overall rating

4.2 /5
(26)
Value for Money
3.9/5
Features
4.1/5
Ease of Use
3.6/5
Customer Support
3.6/5

81%
recommended this app
Sort by

26 Reviews

Román Josué
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best Reporting Tool for Java Developers

Reviewed on 13/2/2019

Sometimes the most difficult part to create custom reports using Jaspersoft Studio, is actually to write the query that will fetch the data. After that, building the report is mainly drag-n-drop, write some Java code, setup properties and parameters, and make your report ready.

Pros

This software is one of the best choices to create reports if you are a Java developer. All you need to know about is Java and SQL for the queries. It integrates with many databases, and I personally have used it with PostgreSQL and it works well. The reports you create from scratch are fully customizable, and can include the elements you need: labels, tables, images, ... I like a lot the subreport element, as it allows to create even more complex / nested reports, in which you usually follow a master-detail model.
In addition, you can use the Java libraries to integrate Jasper reports into your Java application, either Desktop or Web, this will enable

Cons

Some features or properties are not too intuitive, which is understandable if we think this is a tool for developers. Even though, it would be nice to have a more intuitive GUI.

Babatunde
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good reporting software for smal and medium company.

Reviewed on 31/1/2021

Good for reporting in real-time because it has helped us quite a lot in decision making. I am able to design and deploy reports easily without requesting for support.

Pros

The ability to integrate with different databases and the ease with which I can easily connect makes it great for me using the software. It can also handle huge database record simultaneously.

Cons

The manual designing is a little difficult when you are trying to create different fields and more easier when you can use the XML. If you are not a programmer, it will take you some time to use the XML. Additionally, you need to deal with the unused columns or rows when you export your report to excel.

Alternatives Considered

Tableau

Reasons for Switching to TIBCO Jaspersoft

Initially we had it free and was able to test and found it fit for purpose. Also, the pricing was within our budget.
Charlton
Overall rating
  • Industry: Government Administration
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Japersoft excellent for experience people that uses access

Reviewed on 21/7/2022

Jaspersoft is a good program and there can still be a big change in the customer support as well as the interface for beginners

Pros

I like the easy convert from data to the charts and the quality that it is done with is impeccable.

Cons

The fact that if you enter wrong information it is not easy to fix.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Business Intelligence Tool that's neither Intuitive or Intelligent

Reviewed on 27/3/2020

If you need a bare bones BI tool, this will work. On a rare occasion I am able to create a report that is visually appealing, works on the server, and exports well. It takes way more work and time to produce a professional grade deliverable in Jaspersoft than it does in any other BI tool I have used.

Pros

This software is very customizable in terms of the output formats. Scheduled report delivery is very easy to accomplish on their reporting server. It also has the ability to create HTML 5 charts.

Cons

The design interface for report creation is atrocious. Very clunky, not intuitive, and dated especially when compared to other tools available (MS Power BI, Tableau, etc.). It is maddeningly picky when it comes to formatting. Reports will function well on in Jaspersoft and not function on a server. The error output is cryptic and requires decoding. Exported reports will look excellent in one format and awful in another. Ineffective documentation from Tibco makes learning the software a challenge if you are not an explorer. Drillable datasets are impossible.

Alternatives Considered

Tableau and Microsoft Power BI

Reasons for Switching to TIBCO Jaspersoft

It is an opensource product.
Tom
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best report layout designer on the market.

Reviewed on 16/1/2018

I have been using Jasper Studio (iReport) and Jasper Server for the past 8 years and have really enjoyed the capabilities it offers and the ease of use. Continuous improvements have been made to both the designer side (iReport/Jasper Studio) and the report delivery side JasperServer. I would definately recommend you checking them out.

Pros

* Easy to use
* Flexible scenarios for report grouping
* No cost level available for simple deployment and use
* JasperServer has ability to automate delivery of reports.

Cons

* Hard to find support forums (as a community/free user)
* Custom data connectors present a challenge I haven't overcome for automated delivery (SQL reports are easy)

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Decent capabilities, but not without problems

Reviewed on 15/4/2022

Pros

Jaspersoft is a decent tool that works well when it works. Ease of use and deployment capabilities are good. Can easily develop reports, templates and dashboards. Generally user friendly

Cons

OK tool, you get what you paid for. Product is not without issues and can be frustrating at times. Some functionalities are limited and issues take longer time to get fixed.

Carlos Hugo Martin
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Experience with TIBCO Jaspersoft

Reviewed on 1/4/2022

It is used to generate inventory and status reports for monitored devices.

Pros

The query generation tool is easy to use, allowing you to generate complicated queries. The ability to configure so that certain operations are performed on the server and not on the database.

Cons

The generation of reports and dashboards with the factory tools is very limited, having to develop the dashboards using the java programming language. Which can only connect to relational data sources like Oracle, MySQL, etc.

Nathan
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Open Source Reporting Framework

Reviewed on 1/10/2018

I've found their reporting solutions to be reliable and versatile, I've integrated Jaspersoft into many projects over the years.

Pros

Ability to achieve highly customized reporting solutions without having to make concessions. Jaspersoft provides open source solutions for reporting and hosting of reports. (Along with premium versions with advanced analytics.)

Cons

It can be a bit quirky, and integration of the Java programming language is somewhat un-intuitive. It also has a fairly steep learning curve for new comers.

anthony
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Electronics
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Simple yet powerful reporting tool.

Reviewed on 28/9/2018

Jaspersoft help us to create reports which data source are come from different databases with ease and without worrying on display capabilities.

Pros

I like the most on this software is the ease of you. It is very easy to understand the user interface. With it you can easy understand the flow on how to use it especially when you have experience on using other reporting tool. Objects are dependable to display what you need. Filters is very flexible. it is also capable to connect to other many sql servers such as MSSQL, MySQL, posgres and many more as long you have a driver.

Cons

i don't like on this software is the looks. it is very corporate. This is because today's users are looking for fancy looking softwares.

Waqas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Best Report generator of Java Application

Reviewed on 17/2/2021

It is one of the great report generating application used with Java Application. Though the learning curve is very difficult but once you master it then you will love this application.

Pros

JasperSoft is one thing that comes in mind when we require our Java application to export data in visualization and state of the art format. I provides lots of features you can think of. In short is ease the job of Java developers to create gorgeous reports. It also provide function to create template of the reports that can be filled by data obtain from the database on the fly by the Java Applications.

Cons

Well it's learning curve is very hard due to little documentation is present. Integration with the application is also difficult and if you integrate it than you can create many reports with minimum code.

Robert
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Jaspersoft - A well rounded contender in the BI market

Reviewed on 16/3/2015

Pros

We've been using Jaspersoft in lieu of SSRS for several years now. The software is updated regularly, new features being added with every release. Jaspersoft supports a large number of data sources, including MongoDB. The support for their product is top-notch. We receive responses to our cases within minutes and most issues are solved shortly thereafter. On issues that we were not able to resolve, it was escalated to be fixed/included in the next software update.

Cons

Being a JAVA application, it was a bit tricky to embed into our .NET application. There's supposed to be easy ways to integrate, but none of those worked with our custom authentication. Unless you are using the approved and documented authentication methods, integration will be quite a bit of work, including custom JAVA classes, etc.

Nives-Marie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review

Reviewed on 11/6/2021

It's been mixed. Sometimes the built in functions do not work with the application I am publishing the report in. Learning java has been frustrating,

Pros

It is a pixel perfect report designing tool. It is very easy to design a descriptive report.
I like the spreadsheet page layout.

Cons

The learning curve is steep. It's platform is java based which can take a non expert a longtime to figure out.
Not a lot of chart options.

Monica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Good tool compared with other tools in the market

Reviewed on 4/8/2017

Pros

The report designer is very easy to use
The tools provided in the GUI interface allows technicians to create in a fast way solutions end users analyze data.

Cons

In the version we use in our company (5.2) the Java usage is a con
Dashboard Designer is very limited.

Kate
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Can be powerful, but still contains some sloppy bugs for being as old as it is

Reviewed on 11/5/2018

If you need a pixel perfect reporting engine, Jaspersoft is going to be one of your best options. For those kind of reports, there are a lot of great features and you can do a lot. That being said, I think they got lazy because they had significant market share and could charge an arm and a leg for it for a long time, and now there are other competing systems coming out that are slicker and cheaper. Hoping that Jaspersoft gets back into a growth phase and cleans up the system while making their prices more competitive.

Pros

Powerful features
Easy to jump between editing design or XML source
Preview within app works relatively well

Cons

Still finding sloppy bugs in designer years after release
Pricing is extremely high compared to more recently launched systems that are definitely stealing market share
Some long-requested features have gone unaddressed.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospital & Health Care
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Tibco review.

Reviewed on 11/6/2021

I like this software unique ability to dive deep with analytics.

Pros

I was impressed by the software ability to give me detailed analytics that were actually useful daily.The software takes a bit of time to grasp how to use it to full functionality. I was very impressed with the help and support menu on this software. I had no compatibility issues with this software.

Cons

I think the menu layout could be adjusted to improve user productivity.

Monica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Great quality right out of the box!

Reviewed on 3/8/2017

I really enjoyed my chance to work with Jaspersoft. I thought the software was robust with lots of possibilities.

Pros

A quick get up and go reporting solution right out of the box. If you're turn around time is quick - this is a great option.

Cons

Once you start tinkering with parts of the package and removing features. Its very difficult to get back to square one.

Arthur
Overall rating
  • Industry: Civil Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great and low cost reporting software

Reviewed on 2/4/2018

Helfup report generation.

Pros

I could build very complex reports quickly. There was a learning curve for sure but I integrated these with an application I was working on to produce reports used by the company.

Cons

Mostly the problem was the integration learning curve. I imagine this would happen with any software. I think their documentation could use improvement.

Dilum Chamantha
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

This is a marvelous product to use for report developments.

Reviewed on 13/7/2021

Great product for report development

Pros

GUI based Tool supports to develop complicated reports, charts. especially 2-D reports which are growing the data for both horizontal and vertical.

Cons

There are chances to hang the tool when you open multiple reports.

Gloria
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Latest solution with BI

Reviewed on 21/8/2018

Pros

This software always used the best in the industry business intelligence with latest reporting and solutions package always.

Cons

The support from the service needs improvements as all will not have the same knowledge on BI so some basic training also required.

Fadzai
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

good and manageable experience

Reviewed on 19/5/2017

Generally it's a good tool to use for i reports

Pros

provides good reports with a good interface, works perfectly for cross tab reports, easy to implement graphs and pie charts, learning information is available on the internet

Cons

it requires experience and lines are difficult to adjust, sometimes when you edit the report it does not show exactly on the web

fadzai
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

best experience ever

Reviewed on 9/5/2017

produce best result of reports.

Pros

its user friendly and smart and the user interface is neat,easy to learn and does not need too much experience,tutorials for it are easy to find on youtube

Cons

its too rigid,editing of lines and creation of cross tabs is difficult.it is also difficult to save work to folder of choice

Thomson
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 20/2/2019

Blanca Patricia
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

For academic purposes

Reviewed on 23/5/2014

This is an excellent product for implementing business solutions.

Kseniya
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Using Jaspersoft BI free version

Reviewed on 15/9/2017

I understand, that inconvenience of this program is most likely caused by the free version.

Pros

This product has a lot of usefull tools and quite extensive opportunities to create report and add data sourses.

Cons

Frankly speaking this product is highly uncomfortable, it is not intuitively clear how to perform some features or where this features located.

Narayanaswamy
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Reviewed on 31/1/2017