Dynamics 365 Business Central

3.8 (107)
Enterprise resource planning for SMBs, formerly Dynamics NAV

Overall rating

3.8 /5
(107)
Value for Money
3.3/5
Features
3.7/5
Ease of Use
3.4/5
Customer Support
3.4/5
Sort by

107 Reviews

Saurabh
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

BC One stop ERP solution

Reviewed on 14/7/2022

Pros

It is a very ease to use software similar to just like using Excel Spreadsheet. As per my opinion it is a very effective product available today for all our Enterprise Building Solution. All the functions in Business Central are very Great and can be very fruitful for the Business if adapted effectively and efficiently.

Cons

Nothing to Report as of Now. I am not able to find anything to Report at the Moment

Alternatives Considered

SAP S/4HANA Cloud and Microsoft 365
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best ERP software so far

Reviewed on 30/6/2021

The procurement process has been made easier.
Our asset management is now on point.
The human resource management especially the payroll management bit is awesome.

Pros

Dynamics 365 BC has a variety of tools including the procurement module, human resource module, and the finance module.
It has a interface that is user friendly and easy to use.
It's workflows are outstanding and carrying out an activity from one end to another is made easy. With the workflows, at least a track can be made on the movement of activities carried out in the system.
The ability to generate reports is a plus which is also easy.
Another good feature is that it can be customized to accommodate the user needs.
It is also compatible with Microsoft Excel such that one can export and import data between the two.

Cons

At first, you will need some practice on how to manage it to avoid messing up with your crucial data.

Another issue is that running many processes at once can slow it down and this will force you to wait longer.

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise

Reasons for Switching to Dynamics 365 Business Central

Dynamics 365 Business Central has a variety of tools that our organization needs.
David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Dynamics Review

Reviewed on 6/9/2022

Pros

It easily integrates with Microsoft products and has a full set of features that we use regularly.

Cons

Like any software it has a learning curve. This takes time and effort of the individuals teaching and those learning.

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Database and SAP Business One

Reasons for Switching to Dynamics 365 Business Central

It was originally a vista and was a great software product for small businesses.
Nabapallab
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Pathatic Experiance about Microsoft Dynamics Business Central

Reviewed on 4/8/2022

I am having my life's pathatic experiance by purchasing this software by this product value I might had better lots of ERP sofware available in Indian market

Pros

Nothing is good about this sofftware, its totally waste of money just in the name of Microsoft.

Cons

Everything has limitation in this software and also non-customizable in maximum cases.

Lora
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Pretty easy to navigate, but the screen formatting needs adjusted

Reviewed on 19/9/2019

We use the collections module, sales, purchasing, service cost, job cost, subcontractor module, and more. We use purchase orders and 3 way matching and use dynamics for a wide range of use.

Pros

You can easily adjust titles to be in red or have distinctive features to stand out, but it is not always easy to do on the financial module and you cannot do it when using features like smartlist.

Cons

The inability to generate certain reports (you have to set them up yourself) which can be VERY time consuming.

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise and Quickbooks Online

Reasons for Switching to Dynamics 365 Business Central

Cost, accessibility, allowed amount of users, and the ease of PO's and invoice creation.
Jose
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

AZZURE-IT as our implementation partner in the UK have hidden the renewal process to charge us...

Reviewed on 28/6/2022

The software is very powerful, the support from AZZURE-IT has been awful, slow, not transparent and very misleading.

Pros

With Azzure-IT implementation was costly and long

Cons

When all implemented, we need to downgrade our license, we told them, they knew but then they hid the new terms so just for 1 day we got caught into another full year license with users we didn´t need and getting charged for ir. Totally inmorale.

Peter
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Full of unrealised potential

Reviewed on 20/3/2018

Pros

I've evaluated NAV for other roles and now I have been using the product I am convinced that it is a very powerful product when configured correctly. It has options for many roles and the ability to configure the system exists but is limited by design.

Cons

Very high cost support and difficult nature of upgrades is a real turn off. Each version upgrade is treated as a new deployment. Lacks the ability to make even the most basic changes without partner assistance or developer licence. While the product has a lot of potential I would be reluctant to upgrade an old version as I feel there are other products out there which can do the same job with a much more reasonable price tag.

Value for money is the main reason I have marked this application down.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Keeps everything in once place.

Reviewed on 6/1/2021

Pros

Dynamics allowed me to stay organised. as D-365 has many tools , with all the variety of plug-ins, setting up automation and communication takes some work but it is really easy to see how my pipeline is working and have a single view of the company in one single dashboard.

Cons

it would have been great if it had a bit more features . i think that the reporting is the Achilles heel of the platform, it's a time-consuming task and not very straight forward as done in other platforms

Erin
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Account and financial record needs

Reviewed on 18/1/2018

Pros

Accounting, G/L/ Receivables. Fairly straightforward and easy to use. Use from time it was GP 10. Standard reports were easy to use.

Cons

Glitches from time to time, we only had a certain amount of users accounts purchased and at times had more people trying to use so couldn't log in, but that isnt a software con. Just a con that you have to purchase a number of users.

Byron
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent Cost - Benefit Retail Solution

Reviewed on 23/8/2022

It is an excelent product, complete functionality, excelent cost benefit relation.

Pros

Easy to use
Complete functionality
is an economic option because is a software as a service

Cons

Does not have process manufacturing
Does not haave Cutomer service module

Ayass
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best Modern ERP Solution

Reviewed on 17/4/2015

Pros

I joined AL FANAR Electricals Co. KSA -in 2003, it has been decided to replace ERP system with NAV, Tec.Support was provided by AL FANAR IT an affiliate company who became golden partnership with Microsoft later and provided the system if Gulf Market, the implementation was very successful, early versions of NAV in 2003 was famous as (Navision Attain) at that time, the system provided a splendid AR, AP, and inventory reports and controls, was helpful in regional trading credit controls and manufacturing process, in 2006 the company upgraded the software to NAV5 and we learned a lot about setup requirements, Posting groups, general business posting groups, sales and system generated transactions setup accounts and matrix, Exr. Var and global dimensions etc..., in 2007 I joined Gulf Capital KSA the company management recommended NAV at that time tec. support provided by (NEWWAY) and I was assigned as a project manager, later in 2009 I joined ROTANA Media Group who recommended same ERP as well.
now new versions of NAV are available with business intelligence tools and some additional great features, I expect this fast positive evolvement of MS Dynamics will make them first Market Choice in a short time.
I used several softwares before and after NAV like (Dolphin, Oracle, Klipper, and others..) from my experience what I like most in NAV and make it remarkable are the following :
- SQL Server which provides flexible opened platform allow users to move to any information details and jump between templates they want from anywhere in the system to get information rather than closing screens and reopening another, other systems cannot provide this Dynamic feature.
- Reasonable and Logical controls of the system over transactions complying with exact financial requirements, other systems have nonsense controls in useless areas and gaps in other critical areas, and stand hopeless needing customization for an axiomatic small things.
- Easy and Smart setup requirements and users profiles access.
- Huge bank of ready reports provided by global MSD teams and partnership
- Friendly user = easy training
- Easy setup of financial reporting BS, Income statements , cash flow , Budgeting and variances any other because it leaves to user to choose , items lines name , tagging accounts, dimensions needed cost centers or business units , even user can add the equations of some financial statements lines !
- Easy customization and easy editing of all tables screens
- High Compatibility with Excel MS Office.
- Reasonable cost with complete business solutions package and including project management, Human resources, Cash Management etc..

Cons

No Disadvantages or defaults in my opinion if implementation requirements are clear and correct and finance knows exactly controls, processes outputs they need. everything is there in this system.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Msft Dynamics as a CRM - there are other options

Reviewed on 8/9/2021

I think overall its a pretty solid software that if customizable would probably be one of my go to CRM recommendations.

Pros

I did like it's functionality with Outlook and other msft applications. There was little need to reorder things when exporting to excel and all that.

Cons

I did find the lack of customizability of the software to be frustrating. It appeared that there were only pre-populated choices from a drop down list for most things, many of which did not fit what i was trying to label. Now, this could have been a byproduct of my companies enterprise subscription with dynamics, i am not sure.

Ashley
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The new way to do business

Reviewed on 17/9/2019

Our business is running smoother since changing but we are slowly getting everything in the new system. It is taking some time but it easy to find orders/invoices when you know what to look for. I use it daily to send invoices, correct price errors, correct PO numbers.

Pros

I like that we are able to have all of our stages in one program. From our quotes to our invoices, we can keep track of the progress of each transaction. You can search by customer, order number, PO number, amount and there are many more options. After some training and a better understanding of how accounting works, I have excelled at understanding what needs to be done to correct issues or fix errors. I appreciate the ability to put notes on each quote, order, and invoice.

Cons

I wish there was a little more features such as having automatic invoices from multiple vendors but I think they may be working on that. I also wish there was a creation date for invoices and not just a posting date. I also wish there was a way to link invoices after you have made a change/correction such as the PO number being incorrect. Once you change the PO number, you have no idea that it went to another invoice.

Ron
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great ERP software with great integrations

Reviewed on 23/1/2021

I have been working with Dynamics NAV and Business Central for almost 4 years now, as a technical consultant. I install and implement BC on regular basis.
Also I support customers with technical issues around Business Cental, which I love to do.
The possibilities with BC are endless.

Pros

As a technical consultant, who installs and implements Microsoft Dynamics Business Central I find the integrations with all Microsoft's Azure applications a big plus.
Seamless integration with Microsoft's Flow, PowerApps, Outlook, etc work very well.

Cons

There USED to be some disadvantages of Business Central, because for a long time Microsoft wasn't clear what course they would go. But now the course is set to the cloud (Azure) and I think that is the only way to go.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Dynamics Review

Reviewed on 11/1/2019

It is really for basic use. If you are part of a manufacturing business or a large business, the software is not for you. In my experience, it is best used for small to mid size companies. The support is also terrible.

Pros

Pulling information out of the system in simple reporting isn't bad if you leave it in the same format. Basic reports are easy to read, and usually you can get the numbers in that you need by updating fields.

Cons

Entering information is extremely time consuming. You have to be very familiar with the software to be able to know what you can and cannot tab through. Pulling any information into excel is extremely time consuming and takes a lot of manipulation for it to look presentable.

Deepak
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Our 18 month experience on MS Dynamics

Reviewed on 10/7/2015

Pros

MS Dynamics is pretty user-friendly considering the other CRM products in the market. It's got a pretty good coverage in terms of customer engagement process. Right from Presales interaction center to post sales Services, it covers most processes. Microsoft as a vendor is placed well to offer this as a cloud offering as its also owns Azzure

MS Dynamics does have a mobile app for Apple devices which is pretty useful and easy to use. That helps in user adoption on field.

The support provided by MS is good, but gets activated only when situation gets into emergency mode.

Cons

The comercials could have been more affordable. I would have loved more seamless integration between Dynamics and Navision as both are from the same family. Easy to deploy mobile applications for Andriod phone is something which would have been really useful

Yessica
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software to support accounting processes!

Reviewed on 13/6/2019

A great tool for everyday accounting processes: reports, invoices, and managing different outlets within the company.

Pros

It is easy to run reports, since all the data you might need is in there. We use it to make invoices, and pro-forma invoices. It is great to have and keep our customer's database updated. It's easy to add new data. Be able to customize the data you use it everyday is a big plus.

Cons

Managing this software requires a lot of practice. You have to get familiar with it before run important reports and invoices. If there are too many processes at once, it can run slow and even block you out, so you'll have to wait until the system get less busy.

James
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Power the growth of your business with "Microsoft Dynamics 365 business central"

Reviewed on 22/7/2022

I have enjoyed working with Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business central ,it's easy to use and the APIs which have made it easier to customize it with our needs .The customer support is amazing both on call and in person.

Pros

Microsoft Dynamics 365 business central is a very great product , it's easy to use since it has a great user interface .The deployment is easy and took a very short time .It has inpremises and cloud based functionality which has enabled work flexibility.

Cons

The initial purchasing cost is relatively high mostly to the small enterprises.The system keeps on freezing whereby delaying our customers.

Scott
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 30/7/2013

I have worked in the supply chain for 5 years now and have experience with 3 different ERP's. Our old ERP was limiting, though it was also fairly straight forward. The biggest issue seemed to be how incredibly date sensitive how ever without requiring dates at the same time. This pushed the change to a new ERP and Microsoft NAV was chosen through their partner company Just Foods.

A truly bizarre system, the flow of documentation through the program makes little sense and over complicates what would normally be easy transactions. For instance Purchase Orders follow this document flow - First the purchase order is created once you receive your order, a warehouse receipt document is created and received in. However, once it is received in the warehouse, the receipt document disappears and becomes a posted receipt document (both have completely different document numbers that don't connect to each other). At this point your original Purchase order has been changed to reflect what ever was received in, and you have to have a second column to view what you originally ordered. Otherwise, figuring out if you over or under received is difficult at best. Now once the invoice comes in and is posted against the posted warehouse document, your purchase order disappears. The only place your purchase order exists in its original form is the in Purchase order Archive, which was never mentioned to us during implementation, forcing us to call Just Foods later on and pay for their customer service.

This same, strange flow of documents, that are essentially intermediary documents only existing to complete a transaction, over complicate what should be a straight forward shipping and receiving process. There are some other basic functionality issues, like figuring out what day you actually shipped or received an item. The easiest way to figure that out seems to require access to the warehouse functionality, which you may or may not want people to have. We get a lot of errors where the tables are locked with other users, and you are just stuck until the report or other person finishes up. The Dimensions on lines can mysteriously disappear, even though the G/L Code and Department code show as filled out in the order. Our MRP has never worked correctly, so in general, we are forced to use Excel to put together our production schedule. All in all, its a sub-par program that you can tell is 5 or 6 different original programs that have been slapped together to try an resemble an ERP system.

Now having said all that, obviously I am looking at this from a supply chain perspective as it is what I do. Perhaps on the accounting end it has some ease of use, but due to how difficult it is to understand on the operations end, the accounting rarely comes out correct due to faulty information in the system. On the positive side there do seem to be a million different ways to do the same thing in NAV, and many of the built in reports are extremely useful assuming that the information in the system is correct.

Kelly
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great software, if you're not afraid of customization

Reviewed on 27/11/2018

Great software for small and midsize businesses.

Pros

One of NAV's biggest strengths is the fact that it's a Microsoft product, so the ease of use factor is high, given the fact that virtually all employees are familiar with MS ribbons, icons, etc. NAV is also customizable (with the help of a consultant). The fact that it is customizable, yet easy to up-gradable, is a huge factor.

Cons

There are some basic items that are only available through customization. I would like to see MS make these accessible as items that users can configure, vs. having to pay for customization.

Hunter
Overall rating
  • Industry: Machinery
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Product

Reviewed on 23/10/2019

Microsoft has always been a great service that our company enjoys using. This service continues to strengthen the brand of Microsoft.

Pros

The thing i like is that the interface is easy to use. The setup requirements are better than the normal setup ideals.

Cons

I did not like how it is difficult to add users into our system. Not everyone has had a positive experience with this software.

Alternatives Considered

vSphere

Reasons for Switching to Dynamics 365 Business Central

We knew that Microsoft would provide the best front and back end support to our business.
Ralph
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Feature Rich and Highly Customisable ERP

Reviewed on 12/12/2018

Good ERP for Small to medium enterprises

Pros

If you get the right partner- developer it a highly customizable product
Great compatibility with MS Office Suite
As an accounting or Financial Management ERP it is function rich, from the custom reports- account schedules, intercompany to navigation functionalities

Cons

Jobs lacks proper integration with Financial Management
The number of updates or releases are just overwhelming

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great cloud based solution for small-medium businesses.

Reviewed on 12/12/2017

Keeps all our business data in one spot. Very easy for everyone do to their own paperwork.

Pros

Attach PDF's of invoices, PO's right to the entry. Keeps all ERP data in one spot. Can work from any device. All of our guys can work in the field and we have yet to hire an administrator.

Cons

Report creation requires a developer to help set up. Support costs can be high if you don't have a computer savvy person in your company.

Elizabeth
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Needed an upgraded accounting system

Reviewed on 27/2/2022

Pros

This system offers a lot of reporting options. It helps us keep track of multiple businesses in one system.

Cons

The initial set-up and use of this system was a little difficult. The training was not as thorough as it could have been by the BC team. Once we received actual system use it was easier to kind of train ourselves on the system features and the best ways to make the system work for us.

Scott
Overall rating
  • Industry: Printing
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Microsoft 365

Reviewed on 30/3/2021

Overall experience with this software is great haven't had any problems.

Pros

I would say almost everyone in the front office use office 365. For the needs we have for it the software works great.

Cons

Don't really have anything I like least about it. We are mostly Mac-based computers and it still works out great for compatibility.