83 reviews

Microsoft Dynamics SL

Enterprise resource planning (ERP) solution

4 /5 (83 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4
/
5
Value for Money
3.9
Features
4.1
Ease of Use
3.9
Customer Support
3.9
86% recommended this app
83 reviews
Holly S.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Have used Dynamics SL for around 8 years. Very comfortable with it and pretty easy to get use to.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/1/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Using them daily, I understands many ins and outs. I've been cross trained over the years in many of the modules. I understand there will be an upgrade coming in the near future and look forward to seeing a preview of it.

Pros

Reporting is great. I use reports weekly for time sheets when entering in payroll, for commission data. All of the look up screens are simple and give great information-- such as in the modules for Accounts Receivable, Accounts Payable, Purchasing, and General Ledger.

Cons

Different modules do not speak to one another. You have to go to several different modules to complete a task, so multiple windows must be open at a time. It tends to slow down our servers and sometimes crashes when you are in the middle of something.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Timothy J.
Industry: Farming
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

SL may be a legacy product but provides solid value

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 25/1/2020
Review Source: Capterra

It has been in use at my company for 14 years. While lacking a modern UI, it has been a good value for the investment.

Pros

The ability to develop custom software modules using their tools. We created three robust modules that integrate with core financial, project and distribution modules.

Cons

Microsoft doesn’t seem to put much investment in the product any longer. The legacy VB.Net Windows client is dated.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Bonnie K.
Industry: Government Administration

SSI Consulting/Dynamcis SL review

Reviewed on 18/2/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Dynamics SL is very flexible, and it handles government contracting very well. SSI does a great job of implementation and ongoing support. It is especially helpful that they understand the nuances of government contracting.

Cons

Being very flexible is good news and bad news. It means you have to be more thorough in your setup to make sure you get things the way you want them. It also means that the support consultant is critical to getting it right. SSI is great at this. Just wish there were more like them.

Dynamics SL is very flexible and great for government contractors. SSI is great in those areas as well. They have been extremely helpful, from planning and implementation through continual support.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Allison D.
Industry: Philanthropy
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Microsoft Dynamics SL

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 17/2/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Good product. Have been using it for 17+ years.

Pros

user friendly

Cons

located on a server rather than online

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Magdalene I.
Industry: Accounting

Micooft Dynamics SL - Making Accounting Much Easier

Reviewed on 31/8/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

It helps me with entering time from any device.
For my company, less time needs to be invested to create invoices from timecards.
•Project profitability is guaranteed as we do less of the work that tends to lose us money and more lucrative work.
•The ease with which we are able to hide unwanted fields makes data entry simple especially for he users ho don't use computers on an ever day basis.

Cons

•When we have a lot of invoices rather than just a few large invoices, it can be frustrating by how long it takes Flexible Billings to generate a lot of invoices
•It would be nice if Dynamics SL had an easy integration to some of the nicer salestax tools but its ok

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mark L.
Industry: Computer & Network Security
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Dynamics SL works for most

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 8/1/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Microsoft Dynamics SL is a good program for tracking finance, service, human resources, and more. It worked well for most companies out of the box.

Cons

The problem with Microsoft Dynamics SL is it is not ideal for a lot of companies. The software is really limited in who it is useful for. I would like it to be more flexible.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Company size: 11-50 Employees

This product helps a lot of larger contractors effectively.

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 23/3/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Helps our team plan logistics quickly and integrate our routes efficiently for our jobs.

Pros

I love the fact that this integrates with so many things. You can iframe forms within your website to pull all your data directly into the CRM (a much cheaper option than having a developer build api connections that auto populate the information).

Cons

I would say this is a pretty expensive product compared to what is out there. Once you get over that size though, this is a good pick.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Srajan R.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Review of Microsoft Dynamics SL

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 15/11/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Organizations that have challenging project accounting needs should definitely review this product. Very few products come close to Dynamics SL in handling these broader project accounting needs as well as Dynamics SL.

Pros

Provides flexibility for complex project based cost accounting.
Flexible reporting and billing.

Cons

Improve the budgeting and forecasting.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Sagar C.
Industry: Marketing & Advertising
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Review of Microsoft Dynamics SL

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 15/11/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Installation and implementation require a lot of steps. Partner´s community is decreasing because of the raising of new ERP companies that are using new technologies to build its software.

Pros

I love the fact that Dynamics SL is extremely customizable when it comes to fitting my business needs. It is backed by arguably the biggest software name in the industry so the overall quality is definitely apparent.

Cons

The learning curve was a little steep for me which comes as a result of it being such flexible software. However, once learned, it is a very valuable resource and tool.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Robert p M.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Ms Dynamics

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 19/1/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I have used this product for over 10 years and have been very satisfied with an excellent business tool.

Pros

Ease of Use and Interface capabilities.

Cons

Learning curve.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Payal S.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Review of Microsoft Dynamics

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 17/11/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We have been using Microsoft Dynamics SL 2011 for a while now and it seems to fit most of our needs. It is not super user friendly or intuitive and does take some training and a little time to get into. It is fairly easy to customize yourself if you are a tech minded person. The database is very well documented and easy to navigate which is a huge plus for developing custom reports. There are a couple reporting suites that go with this, we use FRX and like it for the most part. I have built several custom reports using SSRS simply because it is easier and provides easier access to everyone in the company without any software installed.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Allen V.
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great program

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 21/11/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Its a good program the helps with payments and more, makes work easier.Its actually not complicated like other programs out there.

Pros

Great easy

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Joanne C.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Microsoft

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 6/12/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Love it works better then any of them out there it's a ease to handle lays outs payroll, time sheets .

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Marielis H.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Marielis Hernandez

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 6/12/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

It good program. This program offers a large variety of things to do that makes our jobs simple .

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Anastasis A.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 31/1/2018
Review Source: GetApp
Hem T.
Industry: Automotive
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Very Good

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 18/7/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

very easy to use and great in value for the money, overall quality is great for the beginner and new comer.

Cons

Pretty complicated, feature and functionality is not great to use, could be more easy to work around

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Mohammed I.
Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Honest review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 1/11/2020
Review Source: Capterra

The best programm I have ever used in this field

Pros

Designed to empower my employees ; make them more productive and the most important thing is basically it makes our work more easier.

Cons

Not suitable for small business because it's allitel bit expensive for just starting business

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Design
Company size: 51-200 Employees

The system is good for a smaller company. As our company has grown it has become difficult to use.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

As a smaller company it was pretty easy to get around. I have felt the upgrades have made significant difference.

Pros

It's basic set up isn't too hard to use ONCE you have had some training. The set up of projects versus general ledger is pretty user friendly.

Cons

The reporting piece is pretty limited without customization. We have had to rebuild the general ledger and projects. If we didn't have an EXCELLENT internal support employee we would be in great trouble.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Janet L.
Industry: Plastics
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Dynamics is great

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 24/7/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Its been great as I am able to get my reports and business analysis.

Pros

I like Dynamics as it one of the better ERP systems and is easier to use than the traditional ERP systems.

Cons

There wasn't anything that I disliked about Dynamics as all the features are available and is easy to use once familiar.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Yanli Z.
Industry: Philanthropy

Non profit organization experience

Reviewed on 8/6/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Flexible and easy to use, customer service are very knowledgeable and you most likely have the same support person for each module. The turnaround is very fast, within 24 hours.

Cons

It would be better to improve reporting functionality

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Yanli Z.
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Dynamic SL accounting

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 23/1/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

This is a great product for accounts receivable, accounts payable and general ledger. Not quite great for fund accounting, we have to twist it to work for us to manage the project, fund etc.

Pros

Easy to use, works very well with Microsoft excel. You can copy/paste from Excel to Dynamic for some of the data entry which is so convenient. Customer service staff are very experienced and helpful.

Cons

Reporting is a weakness. I have to work between Dynamic and Excel to manually generate financial statements.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Julie O.
Industry: Retail

Great product!

Reviewed on 22/7/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

We converted everything from Quickbooks to Dymanics and the transition was smooth.

Cons

Nothing. Really liked the product and they improved the software as customers suggested.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Michael O.
Industry: Telecommunications

Dynamics SL Review

Reviewed on 25/7/2014
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

We love the flexibility of Dynamics SL and being able to customize it if necessary. Working with SIS has been great, and their team is very knowledgeable about SL and writing code.

Cons

Like any software, it has some quirks that one has to figure out, such as the attachment functionality. If you copy a JE that has an attachment, it brings the attachment to the new JE. However, if you delete the old attachment from the new JE, it also deletes it from the original JE as well. There's just quirky stuff like this.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Daniel R.
Industry: Retail

Good product

Reviewed on 20/9/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The ability to manage all my financial accounting in one view. It's a great plus I. 2015

Cons

There is nothing I don't like about it. The service should be better

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Sagar C.
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Review of Microsoft Dynamics SL

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 8/11/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

It is a very efficient software for small and midsize companies which require project and product management.

Pros

Strong Distribution Series
Strong Financial Capabilities and Multi-company / Intercompany

Cons

The technology seems very old
It does not have other modules like Grant Management, National Accounts and Fixed Assets.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10