84 reviews

Microsoft Dynamics SL

Enterprise resource planning (ERP) solution

4.1 /5 (84 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.1 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
86%
recommended this app
84 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

The system is good for a smaller company. As our company has grown it has become difficult...

Reviewed on 2/4/2018

As a smaller company it was pretty easy to get around. I have felt the upgrades have made significant difference.

Pros

It's basic set up isn't too hard to use ONCE you have had some training. The set up of projects versus general ledger is pretty user friendly.

Cons

The reporting piece is pretty limited without customization. We have had to rebuild the general ledger and projects. If we didn't have an EXCELLENT internal support employee we would be in great trouble.

Mohammed I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Business Supplies & Equipment
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Honest review

Reviewed on 1/11/2020

The best programm I have ever used in this field

Pros

Designed to empower my employees ; make them more productive and the most important thing is basically it makes our work more easier.

Cons

Not suitable for small business because it's allitel bit expensive for just starting business

Daniel R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good product

Reviewed on 20/9/2016

Pros

The ability to manage all my financial accounting in one view. It's a great plus I. 2015

Cons

There is nothing I don't like about it. The service should be better

Janet L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Plastics
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Dynamics is great

Reviewed on 24/7/2020

Its been great as I am able to get my reports and business analysis.

Pros

I like Dynamics as it one of the better ERP systems and is easier to use than the traditional ERP systems.

Cons

There wasn't anything that I disliked about Dynamics as all the features are available and is easy to use once familiar.

Yanli Z.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Non profit organization experience

Reviewed on 8/6/2016

Pros

Flexible and easy to use, customer service are very knowledgeable and you most likely have the same support person for each module. The turnaround is very fast, within 24 hours.

Cons

It would be better to improve reporting functionality

Yanli Z.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Dynamic SL accounting

Reviewed on 23/1/2017

This is a great product for accounts receivable, accounts payable and general ledger. Not quite great for fund accounting, we have to twist it to work for us to manage the project, fund etc.

Pros

Easy to use, works very well with Microsoft excel. You can copy/paste from Excel to Dynamic for some of the data entry which is so convenient. Customer service staff are very experienced and helpful.

Cons

Reporting is a weakness. I have to work between Dynamic and Excel to manually generate financial statements.

Julie O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great product!

Reviewed on 22/7/2016

Pros

We converted everything from Quickbooks to Dymanics and the transition was smooth.

Cons

Nothing. Really liked the product and they improved the software as customers suggested.

Michael O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Dynamics SL Review

Reviewed on 25/7/2014

Pros

We love the flexibility of Dynamics SL and being able to customize it if necessary. Working with SIS has been great, and their team is very knowledgeable about SL and writing code.

Cons

Like any software, it has some quirks that one has to figure out, such as the attachment functionality. If you copy a JE that has an attachment, it brings the attachment to the new JE. However, if you delete the old attachment from the new JE, it also deletes it from the original JE as well. There's just quirky stuff like this.

Sagar C.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Review of Microsoft Dynamics SL

Reviewed on 8/11/2016

It is a very efficient software for small and midsize companies which require project and product management.

Pros

Strong Distribution Series
Strong Financial Capabilities and Multi-company / Intercompany

Cons

The technology seems very old
It does not have other modules like Grant Management, National Accounts and Fixed Assets.

Charlene W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Microsoft Dynamics SL - Accounting

Reviewed on 19/1/2017

This system is very easy to use in a menu driven sort of way. It has good features and not so good features. Hopefully, they are working on a fix for the not so good.

Pros

Menu-driven, easy.

Cons

Reports need to be customized, not able to do some year-end reports so you have to do those manual.

Carl P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Soloman Review

Reviewed on 15/4/2016

Pros

It does a great job of job costing and recording all the detailed transactions

Cons

To many extra processing steps, example, after you have entered a cash transaction, then you have to release the cash transaction, then you have to release it from the GL, then you have to post to the GL.

Lynn B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Microsoft Dynamics SL

Reviewed on 20/9/2016

Pros

Microsoft is a large company so hopefully Dynamics SL will be supported and be around for a long time.

Cons

This accounting software does not come with canned financial statements and even though this has been requested for years, it is still not available.

Charlene W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Philanthropy
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

11 years of satisfaction

Reviewed on 24/6/2016

Pros

Microsoft Dynamics SL has a very user friendly AP/AR/GL data entry system. It is very easy to figure out and makes data entry a breeze. They have great customer service!

Cons

There is still a lot of manual work to produce your monthly/quarterly/yearly financial reports. You are able to export the data into Excel to get the reports you need but there is not an easy/automated way to get those reports.

Hanna B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Big Fan of the Functionality

Reviewed on 31/10/2016

As a PM manager of a coffee shop, professionalism and communication is key. This program allows us to introduce and share a number of thoughts, maintain finances (such as projects on a budget), assign tasks where needed, and much more. These are important concepts that many other programs lack (in sum). I have been extremely satisfied with all Microsoft products, and this only affirms that appreciation for their quality.

Pros

Better budgeting options, assigning/creating specific tasks that allow others to be engaged and the business to grow.

Cons

More options regarding inventory would be a helpful addition to the program.

Jeff H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to use

Reviewed on 4/1/2017

Very easy and user-friendly it has a very good layout and setup is easy.

Pros

Setup

Cons

Startup time

Elethabeth I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great software

Reviewed on 11/12/2016

It is user friendly. It is easy to use and very helpful.

Hemanshu P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

MS Dynamics Review

Reviewed on 9/12/2016

My experience has been mixed with this platform. It does the GL accounting part fairly well. IT has limited functionality in terms of effective project management. The system reports are very basic requiring extensive external data manipulation and custom report writing. It's a reasonably priced solution.

Pros

- Low Total Cost of Ownership
- Ease of implementation
- Reasonable GL accounting module

Cons

- PM capabilities are very limited
- Canned system reports are limited
- Multi-currency financials are challenging requiring third party solutions.

Nilesh K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Primary/Secondary Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Review of Microsoft Dynamics SL

Reviewed on 3/11/2016

Great ERP system, used it for project management and reporting finance. Amazing for for cost allocations, markups, and pricing. It has a strong independent Users Group. Customization is very easy and contains a lot of otions for the same. Ability to Copy/Paste into Dynamics SL has always been a strength- especially from Excel. Documentation needs some improvement though (you can find more details online, that is always there!).

Rajesh L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Other for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Microsoft Dynamics SL review

Reviewed on 24/4/2019

Pros

Finance is very powerful
Project Accounting is very good in it

Cons

Technical resources hard to find for SL as compared to GP

Ben B.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Dynamics SL

Reviewed on 8/12/2016

We use Dynamics SL as our financial suite and it does a very good job. We utilize the Accounts Payable, Accounts Receivable, General Ledger, and Budgeting / Forecasting modules.

John C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Simplistic made more simplistic

Reviewed on 18/8/2016

Pros

It really helped optimize our practice, the vendor has been very helpful with providing content utilized for training.

Cons

The price point was great for us because we do have budget concerns.

Sazzadun nabi S.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 8/8/2018

Justin C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Microsoft Dynamics

Reviewed on 27/10/2016

Microsofts POS system has been very easy to learn and very straight forward.

Pros

Was able to teach employees how to use system with great ease.

Holly S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Have used Dynamics SL for around 8 years. Very comfortable with it and pretty easy to get use...

Reviewed on 9/1/2018

Using them daily, I understands many ins and outs. I've been cross trained over the years in many of the modules. I understand there will be an upgrade coming in the near future and look forward to seeing a preview of it.

Pros

Reporting is great. I use reports weekly for time sheets when entering in payroll, for commission data. All of the look up screens are simple and give great information-- such as in the modules for Accounts Receivable, Accounts Payable, Purchasing, and General Ledger.

Cons

Different modules do not speak to one another. You have to go to several different modules to complete a task, so multiple windows must be open at a time. It tends to slow down our servers and sometimes crashes when you are in the middle of something.

Timothy J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Farming
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

SL may be a legacy product but provides solid value

Reviewed on 25/1/2020

It has been in use at my company for 14 years. While lacking a modern UI, it has been a good value for the investment.

Pros

The ability to develop custom software modules using their tools. We created three robust modules that integrate with core financial, project and distribution modules.

Cons

Microsoft doesn’t seem to put much investment in the product any longer. The legacy VB.Net Windows client is dated.