104 reviews

Microsoft Dynamics GP

ERP Software Package

3.8 /5 (104 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
3.8
/
5
Value for Money
3.5
Features
3.8
Ease of Use
3.5
Customer Support
3.6
74% recommended this app
104 reviews
Una H.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Solid mid market ERP system

Reviewed on 16/9/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

It is a comprehensive solution, with solid add-ons to compensate for deficits in the core system. We run a manufacturing operation with deep. multi level BOMs and FIFO costing, GP manages it very well. AP, AR and GL are solid.

The smartlists are a nice reporting tool, where you can drop the data into excel for easy analysis.

Cons

The front end has a clunky feel. On the back end trying to find the table the data is stored in takes a lot of time so the learning curve from a reporting sense is very long. The SQL tables are sparse - so you could end up having to add several tables to a query just so you can connect the one table you need. Report writing process is long and arduous initially. It is really expensive to upgrade. Other solutions in past lives have required minimal tech support to upgrade, this is a major process to upgrade and therefore very expensive.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Wassim R.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Reliable software

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 18/8/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Good experience

Pros

It's very reliable, scalable, has deep functionality and is well served by a large number of add-on vertical and other solutions

Cons

The user interface is quite old and does not resemble what modern day users would expect

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Arshad Z.
Industry: Philanthropy
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Easy to use, convenient to have web access, but lack of features

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 15/9/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

A decent system to use, but was disappointing due to the lack of flexibility in terms of generating reports/export functions - not as great as I would have expected from a Microsoft product.

Pros

-Web access
-Single database
-Integration with a variety of reporting suites
-A widely use system since it is Microsoft based, and a huge community to get help with if there are any issues

Cons

Not truly web-based as it relies on the program to be housed on a server;
-Limited in terms of GL reports - cannot jump ranges of accounts, or have multiple ranges in a single report like our old system
-takes a while to load reports like SmartList Favourites, and does not have as much flexibility as our old system
-freezes quite a lot
-tax limitations on the Accounts Payable module
-Desktop version slow

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Diem R.
Industry: Accounting
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

This software is easy to function for daily accounting tasks

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 28/8/2020
Review Source: Capterra

I use this software for daily accounting tasks such as recording journal entries, keep tracks of payments and invoices. It is super easy to function the software. I have such great experience using this software and would recommend it to mid-size businesses.

Pros

This software is very easy to use compare with other accounting software such SAP. The price is reasonable. The worksheet is clear, understandable, less complicated. I would recommend this software to a medium size business.

Cons

The least things about this software is it cannot show the entire balance sheet of a period.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Vinay M.
Industry: Retail
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

Needs better built in reports

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 24/4/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Good controls with audit trail. Has good importing function for Journal entries and inventory receipts to facilitate a 3 way match.

Cons

Needs better reports built into the system and not reply solely on Management Reporter. Preexisting list of reports added to smartlist.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Senando B.
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great erp software

Used Other for 1+ year
Reviewed on 15/2/2019
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

When you have dynamics gp your business is kn good hand.

Pros

Dynamics gp Is a great tools that helps our company to monitor the sales, production, accounting, inventory and financial status. With this application our company runs well with organize and realible date.

Cons

A non technical person cannot configure or install it on their own. We need expert ot licensed person to implement it which is I think another cost

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jennifer B.
Industry: Computer Software

I've used Dynamics GP to manage our business for a couple years.

Reviewed on 9/7/2015
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

I like the automation tools and the reporting. We can effectively and efficiently run our business and accommodate for growth without adding people to the accounting department. We also get real time financial reports for management.

Cons

Microsoft is always coming out with updated versions. I wish we didn't have to upgrade as often.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Scott D.
Industry: Accounting

Dynamics GP Finance and Manufacturing

Reviewed on 18/9/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Sits on the MS stack and works well for the smaller growing business.

Cons

The amount of Add-on's required to meet all our functional needs and keeping them aligned.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Karen P.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Horrible experience with this software!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 21/8/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Terrible software. I would not recommend it to anyone.

Pros

It seemed like it had a lot of features at the beginning that we were very excited to implement in our company.

Cons

All of the amazing features turned out to be not so amazing once we began to implement them. For one, everything was extremely complex and very non-user friendly. Second of all, we were promised that it would do more than it was actually able to do. And lastly, it had a ton of glitches that were constantly having to be ironed out.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Russell M.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Good for ERP, Bad for MRP

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 11/10/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

When using great plains, I have found the software to be easily navigable, but fairly poor for being a robust ERP system. I work on the supply chain when I use ERP systems, and I wished it had better planning and MRP features. I ended up using spreadsheets as an MRP and planning tool!!

Pros

Easily navigable

Cons

Planning and MRP

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 5.0/10

Colte K.
Industry: Banking

Like with most software, everything depends on the implementation

Reviewed on 11/2/2014
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Microsoft is continuously putting R&D into this product and there are a lot of add-on functionalities in the marketplace.

Cons

Microsoft didn't offer much in the way of recommending a good implementation partner.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Tommy B.
Industry: Computer Software

Real Pain, keep dreaming of moving out.

Reviewed on 19/1/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Been supporting Dynamics GP for years, and I don't see anything good. If the migration wasn't so hard...

This is a Microsoft application, using Microsoft technology, meaning it uses SQL Server as backend. Easy to backup, or copy company from prod to test. It uses SQL user, you can use it to configure your password requierments.

Cons

First, the way you need to install the client and dependencies is a real pain. From computer to computer, you just can't get it work correctly.
Also, they keep session opened, and when you GP crash, you need to "DELETE" the session, really?
Switching across companies is very... painful
They don't always ask to change the date when you keep GP open overnight. And when it does, if you switch companies, it won't change the date on the other companies if it was already open overnight...

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 2.0/10

Allen V.
Company size: 11-50 Employees

East,reliable ,simple

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 7/11/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

This program has made work easier.Its a multi funtion program that has help me so much.I would recommend it to everyone.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Michael G.
Industry: Building Materials
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Helpful

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 10/11/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

great tools for organizing and managing your business

Pros

great support and training

Cons

very extensive, ie: lots of options

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Ed J.
Industry: Chemicals
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Rating only

Reviewed on 15/9/2015
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Kevin L.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Rating only

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 1/2/2019
Review Source: GetApp

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sazzadun nabi S.

Rating only

Reviewed on 8/8/2018
Review Source: GetApp
Kevin J.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 2-10 Employees

I had problems with Microsoft.

Used Monthly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 14/12/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I had problems with Microsoft. Specifically, Microsoft crashed on 05/16. Unfortunately, Microsoft Office had a virus. Once I removed that virus, then I may be in a market for a new Toshiba Satellite Laptop. Previously, I had owned my Toshiba Satellite Laptop since 2009. So, I owned that lap for eight years.

Pros

Microsoft Office was good for three things. First, Microsoft Office helped me keep organized. Second, Microsoft Office helped with finances. Third, Microsoft Office helped with communication.

Cons

I had problems with Microsoft.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Machinery
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

User friendly and versatile ERP

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 25/11/2020
Review Source: GetApp

I really liked using and implementing this ERP as users tends to like it and adpat very easy to it

Pros

I work for several years as a consultant implementing Microsoft Dynamics and I likes how user friendly this ERP is, is compatible with every Microsoft software, it is versatile and easy to use

Cons

It is not as strong in the manufacturing module as the most famous ERPs as it lacks on some concepts for manufacturing best practices, but for a small or medium company this ERP is more than enough

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

James X.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Senior Corporate Accountant

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 14/9/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I love GP. I have for years. I've been a GP consultant, and have been a user for eight years. Before making the decision to select an accounting package, ask such questions as: What types of financial statements do I want? How detailed do I want them? Do I want to create separate entities or will departments work? GP has a very simplistic, onboard report writer. But if you need the ability to customize your reports, you should consider FRx. I believe FRx may be called something different now. It has a very advanced set of allocation accounts that I highly recommend to anyone that has to allocate expenses.

Pros

t's role tailored software that's easy to implement and use
It looks and feels familiar to software your people use every day: Microsoft Office Excel, Outlook, and Word
It enables fast, relevant access to current and complete information about your business activities and operations
It goes beyond basic reporting and extends insight across your entire organization
It seamlessly integrates with your other technology platforms
It permits one to over 1,000 concurrent users
It's highly customizable with dozens of industry-specific solutions
It automates and standardizes recurring tasks
It's scalable, versatile and flexible

Cons

With respect to the allocations, once the expense is entered into the allocation account, you lose the ability to run any detail on just the total of the expense. It would be nice if you could run a trial balance on the allocation accounts the same way you can with regular accounts.
I've always thought security set up could be a bit simpler. It actually has gotten better through the years. Specifically, with eight separate entities, it would be nice to have a "master" setup where you could call up one group entity, assign the users rights, and then be finished. Currently, whenever I have a new user, I have to call up each individual entity and select all of the features I want the user to have. That means I have to do eight steps for each user.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Judith F.
Industry: Industrial Automation
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Microsoft Dynamics GP Manufacturing Rave

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 6/12/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

I am a true believer in Microsoft GP products. This accounting software, although a bit cumbersome to initially learn, is well worth the education. The ease with which you can navigate from customer related transactions, to back end AR functions, and over to strictly financial entries, is incomparable. Many accounting software systems, although quick and easy, do not give you a clear overview of distribution and coding layout. GP allows you to clearly access what has been recorded, and makes it easy to reverse anything if necessary. The "Smart List" is one of it's finest features. This tool allows you to not only access reports, but to streamline, and create reports that are tailored specifically for your needs. I believe this is one of the best systems out there for processing of manufactured goods, and inventory control. I highly recommend Microsoft Dynamics GP - Manufacturing!

Pros

Report Building
Distribution and coding clarity
Easy navigation
Excellent Customer support

Cons

Product does bog down occasionally, if too many people are on it ( usually more a month end kind of issue)
Very detailed - makes for slower learning of system **However, in the end is worth the work**

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Michael W.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Dying product

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 9/8/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

It is too bad that this product is being left behind as the push becomes for Dynamics 365, which is a completely different product and will require a complete reimplementation (if the features we need are even in there).

Pros

Used to be very easy to use and was cutting edge for several years. Great functionality for distribution.

Cons

Microsoft is no longer developing the product, so it has become very stale. Hardly any new features and no current online resources.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Linda R.
Industry: Banking
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Microsoft Dynamics GP

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 8/5/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

This system is laid out like a folder on your PC, making it intuitive for most users to learn. The import/export functionality is robust and allowed my organization to seamlessly integrate external website sales into the order processing/accounting module. This was possible because the solution is sequel based.

Cons

In order to share reports, the solution requires SharePoint, and there are times when the system processes slowly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Tesa D.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Simple and easy to add SKU bulk tool. Appreciable dynamic data integration

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 20/9/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The easiness to start even if you've never used a ERP before and tracking things (contracts, clients and other documents) in one place for your clients is a plus.

Cons

Limits in the customization areas. licenses are restricted to full access or read only.
Not knowing the amount of data which is stored in entities is also a minus (Especially when you have a lot of data integrations and add-ons).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Lewis M.
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Microsoft Dynamics Solomon Iv

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 10/11/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Has all accounting features,
Best for manufacturing/production
Accounts for all raw materials for manufacturing through ease of use in the inventory

Cons

Poor customer support
No ease of upgrade
Frequent error messages after longterm use which freeze or quits the system

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10