ActiveCollab

4.5 (375)
Automated project management tool

Overall rating

4.5 /5
(375)
Value for Money
4.4/5
Features
4.2/5
Ease of Use
4.5/5
Customer Support
4.4/5

92%
recommended this app

375 Software options

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Self hosted or hosted, an excellent team tool

Reviewed on 10/11/2020

We have a global team that work on projects together, ActiveCollab keeps us progressing them.
We also use it for collaboration, requests and idea sharing.

Pros

We tried many alternatives, but the simplicity and the ability to self host won us over.
Task lists, Kanban Style boards, Time tracking, Notifying and Assigning all work well.

Cons

I feel the file sharing (or at least referencing a file you have already uploaded) could be simpler. Apart from that we're really happy.

Alternatives Considered

Asana, Basecamp and Trello

Switched From

Asana

Reasons for Switching to ActiveCollab

Primarily the ability to self host, and have a large team accessing without paying by user per month.
Michael J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The Right Project Management Tool for Small to Medium Sized Team

Reviewed on 6/12/2019

It's easy to use and worth the cost.

Pros

My team and I do really like the simplicity of the software. It helps us focus on doing the tasks rather than figuring out how to use the software correctly to assign tasks.

Cons

- Unmaintained mobile apps, both iOS and Android versions.
- No function to duplicate tasks list.
- Zipping attachments from a task to be downloaded, takes forever.
- Bulk actions on tasks seem to need an improvement on UX so that it's more user friendly to use. Currently, we need to scroll up and down to choose the actions.
- On the Reports page for Tasks, every time we choose a Custom Report, the columns and "sort by" are always reset.
- As admin, I can't see the full list of other user's Activities. I can only see the last 5 or something.

I might be able to give some more feedback. Do let me know if it helps improve your product :)

Alternatives Considered

Bitrix24 and monday.com

Reasons for Choosing ActiveCollab

Lack of bulk actions feature

Switched From

Trello

Reasons for Switching to ActiveCollab

Pricing term and cost effectiveness
Joe C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I can't say enough good things about ActiveCollab

Reviewed on 23/1/2020

ActiveCollab keeps our company organized, on task and on budget. From tracking work and projects to tracking the financials surround ing those projects, we couldn't live without ActiveCollab. I love how ease to use it is and how easy to navigate it is.

Pros

Active collab is intuitive, easy to use and easy to navigate. There are MANY other project management tools out there and I've used a number of them. Active Collab is the best in my opinion in light of the integrations and ease of use.

Cons

There are a number of more in-depth features that are sometimes hard to find in ActiveCollab. Nothing a simple support ticket can't solve though.

Alternatives Considered

Basecamp, monday.com and Wrike

Reasons for Switching to ActiveCollab

Price and ease of use.
Mavares P.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Manage and accompany to innovate

Reviewed on 9/7/2018

Control of project operations

Pros

In such a complex world, where the time and control factor in operations makes a difference, it is vital to have a platform that allows access to many tasks that, otherwise, would involve and coordinate many people, this type of tools allows us to save costs and reduce involuntary human errors, in everything that refers to the necessary coordination between all the members of the project. The calendar allows to have all the tasks, meetings, and filter the tasks by projects, and if that were not enough, all this can be complemented with the participation of the members remotely, so that it is possible to follow the general state of the proyects. In case of any problem, the support team is attentive to clarify your doubts, there are still elements that we have not had the opportunity to explore, but that, surely, according to our needs we will be using them to solve the growing demands of our organizations.

Cons

As with many platforms, the versions that are used in tables or smart devices show some limitations, in relation to those that are handled by PC, it would be very important to preserve and maximize the benefits when you have other devices and not limit the functions that, After all, knowledge or traditional devices for solving problems are not always available.

Alex F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Photography
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Our Favorite CRM Program

Reviewed on 12/1/2017

Creative Outfit Inc. uses Active Collab to manage our Projects, Tasks, Hours, R&D and more.
It has been more functional, effective & affordable than everything else we've tried.
The Support is also helpful & communicative during any Troubleshooting we've done.
We use Active Collab in the Office & On-Location via the Mobile App.
It is simply the BEST!

Pros

The range of options in the Dashboard are great for any Start-up.
Our Managers & Staff use almost All of the Features.

Cons

I wish there was 'Subscription' driven Hour Tracking.
So we could balance Time against an Account that Renews every Month.

Andreas S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Flexible project management tool with many features

Reviewed on 21/2/2019

Pros

The project management tool has many advantages and features. We've been using it for many years. A big advantage is the link with Slack and Google Drive. This gives us an optimal overview of every customer. In addition, our customers can create tasks independently and communicate with our entire team. Since the new version it is clearer and more intuitive. We can only recommend it and will continue to use it intensively.

Cons

The app itself is expandable and also the software for time recording is relatively unreliable.
The recurring tasks should include more options.

Stuart S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Media Production
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

ActiveCollab is worth it for us.

Reviewed on 25/10/2018

It does what we need for the most part, at a reasonable price.

Pros

ActiveCollab is pretty straight forward for our needs of project management.

Cons

We like being able to create templates for projects, however, there is no ability to copy a template and adjust it to be a different template. Every template needs to be made from scratch, and there's not an easy way to even copy and paste things from other templates. A lot of our templates are similar but have variations. We've contacted support multiple times and they like our idea, but they haven't done anything about it in about two years of asking.

Blade M.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great PM product from a progressive and adapting company.

Reviewed on 18/1/2017

When we first started with Active Collab (2 years ago), we we're so excited by the offering. I had tried tons of PM softwares - Mavenlink, Wrike, Trello, Basecamp, 10,000ft, Podio, Asana, Paymo - you name it and I had spent a few weeks with it.

When we came into activecollab, we found it to be almost tailored to our exact needs. Project management with time tracking, project budgeting and estimating/invoicing features. It was the right amount of sophistication with each of these features where the software did the job well, but it also wasn't overkill.

Once we started using the product, we we're thrilled with the support. From basic questions to feature requests, we found that the team at ActiveCollab has done a great job of building the product and supporting it along the way. We're excited by the new features that are constantly being added which are meeting the demands of diverse teams - KanBan and Gantt style project management being two fairly recent additions to the software.

Overall, the software is very flexible. We are a small marketing agency and use it for tracking both project-based work as well as retainer-based clients where they are paying a fixed monthly fee for our services. We've found ways to make ActiveCollab accommodate both client types and have used it to manage a variety of project types - from events to website builds to multi-channel campaigns.

We've been thrilled with ActiveCollab, it's pricing model, and the overall feature set of the product. Yes, softwares like Mavenlink have much more robust resource scheduling, or basecamp having a better client-facing experience, but those softwares are also missing things. Or are ridiculously expensive! ActiveCollab is the perfect blend of features and price.

Eileen O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Libraries
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great tool for project management

Reviewed on 26/2/2019

It's enabled us to stay organized and on track of the time sensitive development process for our online training program.

Pros

We use ActiveCollab to keep track of our online course development process. So the easy-to-navigate interface is huge. The fact that people are alerted at different points along the development path is also very helpful.

Cons

Keeping track of trainers is a but cludgy. We use Notes but it would be great if there were a dedicated section for tracking info about people (not necessarily ActiveCollab users). Being able to opt in or out of certain interface features would also be nice (we never use invoicing, for instance, so would just as soon not see it).

Christopher G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Architecture & Planning
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

This is a pretty good overall PM system for what it costs as it tracks main project requirement...

Reviewed on 9/2/2018

The best aspect is that it is low cost project management system for smaller companies like mine. It also is easy to train new employees how to use it.

Pros

I like mostly that the software has a simple layout, and has a pretty small learning curve. I also like how it integrates to other web apps like quickbooks and slack, etc.

Cons

I wish the software had a more robust system for storing contacts as well as an integration with outlook contacts. It would be

Andrew I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Active Collab Review

Reviewed on 18/2/2020

Well needed platform mainly used to organize projects within the team and rank priorities, completion of specific tasks per project.

Pros

The platform is simple to use and divides projects into folders that allows you to have checklists and collaboration within a team and clients. Overall, very simple to use and edit project status, etc.

Cons

When there are many different folders and specific initiatives, it can become somewhat lengthy to navigate through the platform.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

ActivCollab has been invaluable for our global team.

Reviewed on 9/2/2018

Pros

ActivCollab is really easy to pick up.
As a newly formed global team it has made our lives so much easier. We tried Asana and Basecamp before settling on ActivCollab due to the fact that its not overcomplicated and meets our needs.
Support are always quick to reply and fix bugs and have even taken on board feedback and implemented suggested changes too.

Cons

It would be nice to be able to use emojis!
We've experienced the occasional glitch but they usually get fixed quickly once we report them.

Rumbani N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

I did'nt know I'd appreciate ActiveCollab so much

Reviewed on 10/4/2019

It was annoying in the beginning because I just wasn't accustomed to it but it didn't take long to adjust to it.

Pros

Definitely a great organisational tool. I used to miss my deadlines before but with the daily reminder emails and the initiative to make specific tabs for stuff that overdue, and yet to be due really helps kkeep me on track.

Cons

It was a bit of an acquired taste in the beginning especially that I had never used it before. Not really a con. Depending on the speed of the internet, some days it won't even open.

Emanuele D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Overall a good product with Great value for money

Reviewed on 12/1/2017

We landed on Active Collab after a long process during which we tried several competitor's products. As an advertising agency our goal was to have a slim, fast and complete system to manage our projects that range from small projects to national campaigns.
We use the self hosted version that was very easy to have it up and running with very thorough help from AC help desk.
One of its main pros is the price, in this range it beats hands down all the credible competitor.
Using AC has also allowed us to drop many other services we were using and concentrate all our communications and activities in one simple and friendly environment.

Pros

Price, features, ease of use

Cons

non the best GUI, somewhat confusing at time. The mobile APP ( we have android ) is still al long way from being useful

Noëll T.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Easy to use

Reviewed on 20/12/2017

Pros

I have to say that Active Collab is a great alternative to people who have tried Basecamp in the past. It connects employees with clients and let them easily collaborate on their project. It works out of the box and has great customer service in case there's a problem.

Cons

There's always a downside on a management platform, but with Active Collab I actually haven't found one. The apps are fast and easy to use, the system is easy to operate and the server requirements are pretty standard.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Good software for managing remote teams

Reviewed on 12/9/2018

We recently worked with a design group that only communicated through ActiveCollab. I will say the experience at first was pretty frustrating, having to jump out of Outlook where you would normally send an email to log into another system to simply send a message. That frustration aside, the system works really well and allows for all parties on a project to coordinate well together.

Since I am only the end user I cannot speak to their pricing, but all in all I think the software does what it sets out to do and works really well. I am actually considering recommending this to other clients we have.

Pros

- Emails team members tagged on a post automatically
- Allows you to attach documents and screen shots directly inside a conversation
- Allows you to assign tasks to specific people
- Allows staff to keep their emails private with outside vendors

Cons

- As an end user that was forced to use this product on a project it was difficult to get used to the work flow and to understand, where and how to start a new thread
- Not easy to see how to clear or finish a task when one has been assigned to you

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

I have has an amazing experience with ActiveCollab.

Reviewed on 10/7/2018

Pros

I love how easy it is for a team to pick up the platform and how simple it is to keep track of tasks.

Cons

I dislike their time tracking system and use Hubstaff as an alternative. Hubstaff ability is incredibly important but seems to be an added expense. I would pay more to have this all in one platform.

Babak S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

it can be the pillar for every Designer team

Reviewed on 26/1/2018

we can review our projects & invoices super fast

Pros

Easy use
good features
brilliance support team
the best performance with slow internet connections
project process is perfect and every that we need is in it

Cons

report process it's a little hard
doesn't support RTL languages
the calendar is harder to another calendar like google cal.
many problems with fastspring
if in the AC corp. web site add some perfect and correct example for projects it can be better

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

navdeep review for Active Collab

Reviewed on 5/2/2019

over all this is good tool

Pros

Active Collab helps you to manage all your project very easily. Its a powerful, yet simple project management tool . It has user friendly interface which is the best part of this product.

Cons

The reporting system is not that strong as compare to other tools.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

ActiveCollab - Easiest for clients and tracking smaller projects

Reviewed on 29/12/2017

Pros

This is a super user friendly tool that we selected based on how easy it would be for our less technical clients to use. (We didn't want a huge learning curve after switching from Basecamp).

Cons

Sub-tasks can't have any details attached to them at all, and you can't close out dupes easily (you can only mark them as duplicate, and I don't see how that's helpful). If you have tasks that are dependent or related, you can't batch them up.

Marco G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Excellent overall experience

Reviewed on 26/1/2018

Pros

It's quick and easy to use. It's available on premise, update are constantly prices and very safe to apply.

Cons

Lack of some gantt-like feature to ease integration with custom invoicing and accounting system. Lack of plugin system for integration. Kind of poor advanced report system

Rachel C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Convoluted structure is a hindrance to workflow

Reviewed on 22/9/2020

We ended up transferring from ActiveCollab to Teamwork fairly quickly because it caused some business problems for us. Issues were missed (especially subtasks), and we lacked the reporting structure we needed to keep a good grasp of resourcing and individual task progress. The time logging structure was also a pain point compared to alternate software options we've since pursued.

Pros

While I will say I don't like much about this software, the budget and description location/transparency works well for the task workflow. It is fairly easy to include all necessary information in an individual task, but detail tracking and dependencies are where this ease of use falls off.

Cons

The relationship between tasks and subtasks is a pain point and lacks clarity/definition. Sometimes there would be dropoff when trying to upload attachments, and they would not actually post to the task. ActiveCollab doesn't have a great reporting structure (compared to Jira) for our specific needs, and that ended up being a hindrance to workflow. For as complicated as the reporting section looked, I felt it was lacking. While it isn't a functionality issue, I also dislike the visual design of the software - it feels antiquated and can be draining for such a frequently used tool. Time logging was difficult compared to the software we moved to later.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Consumer Goods
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

A great way to manage task oriented projects with my team.

Reviewed on 9/2/2018

Help with project management and organization, as well as, keeping support departments on task.

Pros

I great way to keep customers and support departments up to speed, and on task on many ongoing projects at once. I also rely on the the time tracking feature heavily.

Cons

The way we utilize the software is constantly evolving and improving. I have not had any negative experiences so far that have not been solved with additional training from support.

Simon G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great app for project management and team/client collaboration.

Reviewed on 8/3/2019

Pros

AC is easy to use, even for non techno clients. The interface is intuitive and modern. The new version is really fast. We like the Client+ feature allowing to assign task to clients.

Cons

We have some small issues with file upload from time to time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

We use AC as our primary pm tool in our digital agency (20+ people strong)

Reviewed on 9/2/2018

Pros

It's simple and functions well as a task manager. I can't judge the project management functionality.

Cons

Nothing serious to complain about :) but I missed the Zapier integrations which disappeared after the launch of the new version (they are back now).