ConnectWise Automate

4.2 (108)
IT Automation for Today’s IT World

Overall rating

4.2 /5
(108)
Value for Money
3.9/5
Features
4.3/5
Ease of Use
3.6/5
Customer Support
3.7/5

108 reviews

Benjamin B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Should be call "Connectwise Autodraft"

Reviewed on 1/4/2020

The business is a con. They tell you they have a "guarantee" which they make impossible to obtain. will continue to bill you regardless fo whether the product works or not.

Pros

The software has its pros (connectwise screenconnect is the only good thing). The automation will automatically restart services or auto-approve and apply windows update on a schedule. When it isn't crashing or causing servers to crash that is.

Cons

It CONSTANTLY crashes. It will cause servers to crash. Only some automation features work. No support is ever avaaible to resolve issues. The ones that do respond don't know their own product.

Alternatives Considered

Splashtop Remote Support, TeamViewer, Atera and Pulseway

Reasons for Choosing ConnectWise Automate

Kaskersky partnership forced via DoD Contracts

Switched From

LogMeIn Central

Reasons for Switching to ConnectWise Automate

The sales pitch promised support, working automation, and a cost reduction. All of it was a lie. This product costs more money than it saves and is a terrible investment.
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

ConnectWise Automate, a great software

Reviewed on 14/1/2019

Labtech, as it was previously known, is currently operating in our offices and infrastructures, operating correctly and providing an optimal service, over time we have applied favorable configurations such as the reproduction of events associated with ConnectWise Manage.

Its monitoring offers us remarkable performance by tracking any device that is in the network, from the installed applications to the events presented by an error in the system. Its powerful command system manages to facilitate the deployment of any patch you wish to perform.

Pros

It has a large interface composed of various options that enhance its use, it works well enough to carry a monitoring on your devices, you will have detailed information of each action that this takes, you can even display any action by means of commands.

Cons

CW Automate is a fairly complete software, but with a support team that leaves a lot to be desired for certain problems, the resolution of problems is not very complete.

Ahmed A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The BEST tool for an IT Army of One

Reviewed on 26/4/2019

Its a love/hate relationship, but mostly love. I fought to have this at my company and I can not do my job without it.

Pros

You can access it anywhere. If I am on vacation in Mexico and the office back in the states needs support, I just open up chrome and go to my custom made website that CW gave me and I am in. I can see everything about a persons computer by just scrolling side to side or double clicking. Their customer service is also 24/7 AND they assign you technicians to help with implementation along with connectwise university to ensure you are ready to use their product to the fullest extent!

Cons

Its sort of difficult to learn. They have the university that helps with that, but some of their classes are outdated and some just sprint through the lesson in the hopes that you might have caught a thing or two that they just taught you. Also, their scripting language is their own(proprietary) and you have to learn it. So if you already know Java, C++, Python, etc, it doesn't matter.

Rachel H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The most powerful automation tool.

Reviewed on 23/3/2020

I really enjoy using the tool and the vast amount of solutions it allows us to assist our clients in solving. The automation genuinely saves time for all of our team with the functionality it offers.

Pros

I really like the remote control portion of the program. The ability to remotely patch servers and client devices is excellent.

Cons

The customer support for connectwise is their largest downfall. The software is excellent but the support is not always what it should be.

Tom A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

CW Automate

Reviewed on 23/8/2018

I would recommend this product to anyone managing more then 100 computers especially if they are not on a domain.

Pros

Single place to manage your workstations. Great patching product, great control product, awesome scripting engine.

Cons

Most of the rich automation is done in a fat client that is heavy and slow to launch. Once in the product everything performs well it's the startup that can take some time.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

ConnectWise Automate

Reviewed on 3/4/2019

It's been positive, but I would recommend shopping around to get the best tool for your firm.

Pros

It packs a bunch of features and it's integration with ConnectWise manage is nice. The scripting is powerful.

Cons

Tool is very complex and even simple tasks can be tricky. Support for Automate is not nearly as good as with Manage. The product is expensive.

Jim M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

The solution for any size MSP

Reviewed on 22/2/2019

Awesome piece of software that allows to take your MSP to the next level

Pros

Provides you the tools that you need in order to streamline your systems and automate a lot of your processes as a MSP

Cons

Overwhelming for new users, need to introduce them slowly to all the features that it includes

Daniel G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy to understand, difficult to master

Reviewed on 3/4/2019

Pros

The ability to connect via web portal or application. I can see my items on the fly even when I'm out of the office

Cons

The application crashes quite a bit when not a very steady connection which makes it difficult to open items

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

This product makes my work life better.

Reviewed on 4/7/2018

It has allowed me to accomplish more during a work day.

Pros

How it is able to connect so well regardless of bandwidth constraints, Able to manage updates, antivirus with ease. Scripting is extremely easy.

Cons

The software removal process often will not work as it sometimes requires accessing the PC. Sometimes registering new machines can be a trying experience without admin level access.

Dillion S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

The best in the market

Reviewed on 10/5/2019

Automates dashboard lists all of your PCs which have agents installed on them and you can do just about anything with it. You can tell everything from usernames that are logged in to what update just ran on the PC.

Pros

The best part you have the ability to get so much information without remoting into a users PC. You can even use a remote PCs command prompt and registry without remoting into them.

Cons

I wish their patch management could get a little more TYC. They have some issues there.

Shon O.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Rock solid RMM

Reviewed on 15/10/2019

Pros

Very stable unattended remote access client. Works very well especially when doing remote upgrades to Windows 10.

Cons

Definitely full featured, but a little too pricey to be used for stand alone in house Corporate use, really designed more for MSP's.

Colton W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Perfect Remote Tool

Reviewed on 6/3/2019

I would describe it as an extremely positive outlook.

Pros

Easy use. Great interface. Makes managing a lot of equipment easy.

Cons

Can be clunky and scripting can be difficult.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

A program that truly understands that automation is important to IT support

Reviewed on 5/4/2018

Pros

Compared to our last platform we used, this has allowed our company to be much more proactive in regards to support requests. The automation of mundane tasks has freed up our engineers to be more hands on in other areas of the business such as project work now that things like patching are off their plate.

Cons

The newer UI has been a bit more cumbersome than before and has taken some trial and error for everyone to figure out things that were more intuitive previously.

Kyle S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

"LabTech" is a great tool which allows you do anything you want. "Anything custom" is not...

Reviewed on 12/7/2017

Its a powerful tool, in the hands of someone who has spent years building and tweaking the software, generally without supports help, it can do anything you want unless a bug gets in your way that won't be fixed for a few weeks/months.

Pros

Community (LabTechGeek) assistance,
The ability to do anything you want with powershell, internal scripting and plugin access

Cons

Horrible support. Bad UI Design, Bad Releases, horrible support staff willing to assist with issues, constant support problems as they always send a KB article that has nothing to do with your issue

David H.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Exceptionally capable and reliable!

Reviewed on 18/1/2018

Pros

Once properly configured, it has allowed for quick and easy monitoring, updating, troubleshooting, and management of the computers, servers, and networks at our many office locations.

Cons

With advanced capability comes advanced configuration. The initial set-up and roll-out of the software was a demanding process. However, the customer support and resources available were both excellent and, once set up, we were running smoothly.

Michael K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Medical Practice
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Powerful and robust remote management software

Reviewed on 4/5/2018

Pros

Very powerful and can perform just about any function needed given that you know how. Techs must take caution that learning this is a beast and your job could end up being managing this software full time since there is so much to it.

Cons

It can be very time consuming to get your feet on the ground with Connectwise Automate which can suck up most of your free time and transform your job.

Michael P.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Customer support

Reviewed on 1/2/2017

Lab tech values their customer service. They are responsive and quick to action.Their email resonance and efficient.

Jill P.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 8/3/2019

Dave B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 23/1/2018

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

If you have the money to spend, spend it.. if not.. there is other options`

Reviewed on 6/5/2021

Overall, I am very happy with Connectwise Automate and would continue to use the product. If you work in a critical industry, I wouldn't recommend this as being your only source of remote access since support is very slow and very unhelpful in most situations.

Pros

The best part of this software is how robust the software is. When you purchase this software, you receive control and "WSUS" as part of your package. The software contains reports, pulls data on each computer, provides some integration and overall is a great automation and remote access tool.

Cons

Support is very slow to respond. Getting credits for downtime on their hosted web server is like pulling teeth. When you get into the chat queue, you may be waiting an hour or more for someone overseas who doesn't know how to fix the issue anyway. Then you have to wait until someone gets back with you when they "open a ticket." Honestly.... the only reason I WOULDN'T buy this software is their support system lacks ability for true support!

Alternatives Considered

TeamViewer

Reasons for Choosing ConnectWise Automate

The ability to do more than just remote access the PC was the main reason for the switch. Cost was a close second reason.

Switched From

TeamViewer

Reasons for Switching to ConnectWise Automate

Overall cost is the main reason.
Sam H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Connectwise Automate

Reviewed on 25/3/2020

Connectwise Automate is a critical part of my business that I use. I could not work without it and I really enjoy working with this tool!

Pros

I really like the features that Connectwise Automate offers. The ability to remotely patch servers and endpoint devices is excellent.

Cons

The only issue we have with this software is the customer support and occasional instability of the software.

Alternatives Considered

GoToMeeting, LogMeIn Central, TeamViewer, LastPass and Join.Me

Reasons for Switching to ConnectWise Automate

Connectwise offers what all of these tools do with many other additional options!
Andrew W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

ConnectWise Automate - box of LEGO with no instructions

Reviewed on 5/3/2021

Pros

ConnectWise Automate empowers users to perform generally complex tasks such as patching and monitoring with ease.

The scripting engine is extremely powerful and allows anyone with zero to little programming knowledge to perform automation tasks.

Cons

ConnectWise has yet to realized the world is moving to the cloud. Monitoring servers is no longer important, cloud services are.

There is no cloud awareness in the system, which is going to force partners to pilot to other systems.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

I believe this is still the best RMM around, but it's a bit clunky and often slow.

Reviewed on 21/5/2018

RMM, Scripting, Easy MSP setup and management of our clients systems.

Pros

If you can imagine it, you can do it. It really does have all the tools to do whatever you desire remotely. You can access almost any aspect of a managed machine without even interrupting the end user. The built-in ignite monitors are pretty amazing on their own.

Cons

It can be incredibly slow at times, you have to have a lot of patience. The script editor being object and mouse based is very clunky, I'd prefer to learn the syntax and just type it all out, but that option isn't readily available in the GUI you have to dig into the guts to do that. If you use ignite monitors you'll need to parse out the noise they create for items you don't want to be notified about. Integration with Connectwise Manage is still a bit quirky but it works.

Geoff B.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

I have been using this for about 5 years, since it was Labtech.

Reviewed on 9/1/2018

I run my company on it.

Pros

Very powerfull management software. They continue to add value to the product by incorporating new features.

Cons

I much prefer the old interface to the new one. It seems that the company is not listening to the users and trying to make the software pretty at the expense of functional. Support is so, so, and often tells me that my "problem" needs to be sent to their custom programming department at additional cost.

Brian P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Very powerful remote monitoring software

Reviewed on 11/7/2017

Remote monitoring and alerting as well as some automated remediation. More efficient usage of engineering time.

Pros

Once setup and configured properly does a great job of monitoring devices and alerting of potential or real-time issues.

Tons of options that can be configured.

Cons

Very difficult to set up and tweak all of the settings to meet your needs. Sometimes common things that should be setup out of the box are not and need to be manually configured