184 reviews

Domo

Connecting people with the data they need to drive business

4.2 /5 (184 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.2
/
5
Value for Money
3.9
Features
4.2
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4.1
84% recommended this app
184 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 11-50 Employees

There are MUCH better options

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 27/4/2020
Review Source: Capterra

I have personal experience with several of Domo's competitors as an analytics consultant. None of the Storage/ETL/BI use cases I can think of would I put domo in my top 3 options. I have found it to be subpar in data warehousing, query editing, and data visualization which from what I can tell is the majority of its functionalities.

Pros

This product provides a web-based hub for your data and visuals that centralizes where your team focuses to interact with their data. The ETL tools provide an easy to use low/no code interface to build simple queries.

Cons

Where Domo has removed complication (I assume to ease the use) they have dramatically limited this software capabilities in comparison to competitors.

limitations include:
- No ability to build visuals based on multiple tables
- No ability to build filtering capabilities across tables
- No ability to build relational models with existing tables
- All "scripting" capabilities are glitchy and limited in their capabilities
- Poor/nonexistent version control options
- Compute resources are not brokered well and during high traffic times we can have dataflows run for up to 2 hours

My worst experience with domo was with their customer service/integration team. One of their prebuilt integrations to a popular Web App, which domo is responsible for maintaining and servicing, has never functioned properly with our domo instance. The support case has been open for nearly a month and has just been escalated to someone that appears to know how to read the code I have been sending them to trouble shoot THEIR integration. They have promised resolution timelines twice and are now 2 weeks behind their initial promise.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 0.0/10

Louis C.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Domo provides our team with an innovative and complete solution to Business Intelligence .

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 27/12/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

After having installed and integrated Domo BI software into our daily business practice, our team has realized a substantial increase in productivity
across our operations spectrum. As we were attempting to investigate alter solutions to our current BI software , we discovered that Domo offered
capabilities which far surpassed our current software BI. The overall result is a new found independence from IT service and entanglement to an extensive
degree.

Pros

Domo software allowed our team to bring together data from our cloud services as well as from our on premise servers. The resulting organization allows ease of access at all times and from this point we can create flow charts as well as whole profiles which we can then access from desktop or mobile
devices. These profiles are aggregated in what they call "cards" ; a rather easily understood and effective mode of communication and presentation.

Cons

There is not much to dislike regarding Domo's BI solution. From Domo's recollection, contextualization , and presentation our team productivity has accelerated
cycles and become much more productive, The only con to relate is is that not all features we wanted to try are available in the introductory trial version
of the software, This condition is not an impediment as the software performs so fluidly that we were happy to extend our confidence to the full version.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Jeff M.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Turn data in to actionable information

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/5/2020
Review Source: Capterra

As mentioned in the pro’s section, we have had several wins as a result of our use of Domo. Safety performance has improved because Domo has surface information that helps us hold our employees accountable. From the employee’s perspective, they are able to see what is expected of them and also see how they are performing to those expectations.

Pros

From loading data all the way to visualizing it, domo’s tools make the process very simple. Our business leaders now have accurate and timely information which helps them make informed decisions. We have several documented organizational improvements as a result of our Domo initiative.

Cons

Of all the software systems I have been involved in procuring, domo has the least amount of “cons”. One suggestion would be to include some type of utility to maximize the efficiency of datasets. We tend to create datasets that are probably redundant, it would be cool to have a way to know when that happens.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Susan B.
Industry: Management Consulting
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Domo How Do I Love Thee (A Creative Digital Analyst's Dream Come True)

Used Weekly for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 10/1/2017
Review Source: Capterra

I hate to write a review where I gush about an app because the cynic in all of us is "suspect of that." But honestly this a 100% independent, I-am-just-a-fan kind of review! So there's my disclaimer, here's the review:

Domo is the kind of app that closeted left-brain geeks masquerading as creative right-brain types LOVE to find!

Data is at the heart of showcasing almost anything one might do online these days. And Domo is the app to help you truly "showcase" the numbers, without needing to write a gazillion lines of code in the process.

As a creative marketer with a strong tech bent, I spend countless hours trying to visually show my clients what's what (clients who are rarely numbers savvy, yet always want to see "the numbers"). Domo has proven to be my "go to" place for accomplishing just that. The visualization capabilities are staggering. The ease of incorporating data sources into the platform is ridiculously simple (well, ok, not *ridiculously* simple, but simple enough that I think if you have any interest in data or numbers you could absolutely rock the platform).

Domo is as simple as connecting your data and building a "card" - sort of a mini-dashboard. I use it to create easy to read reports on Analytics and Social for my clients. They love it!

The only limit you may find in the Domo universe is the price point - while basic functions are free and come with a generous 100gb of space, may be a deal breaker for many consultants (as they only offer this as an annual payment option). If Domo would offer a pay by the month option, they would be golden!

Finally, there's Domo for Developers (beta) that allows you to customize just about everything you can think of! What's not to love in that??

The free version comes with 80 data connection options and they offer a trial period (to expand to all 400 data connection options) so give it a whirl, you might like what you find!

Pros

All in one, comprehensive data visualization platform that makes my clients happy! The free features are good enough to give anyone a decent jumpstart on data analysis.

Cons

The pricing structure could be more flexible to allow for independent consultants to utilize the platform with greater ease (and ease SMBs owners into the value of the platform).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Eric L.
Industry: Computer Software

The future of cloud analytics

Reviewed on 17/5/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Domo's vision of analytics is that data from many SaaS apps can be aggregated, analyzed, and visualized in a single system. It aims to make analytics the new water cooler of company discussion, replacing slack or chatter as the main company chat app. It's visualizations, while less sophisticated than Tableau/Qlik are much easier to create and visually attractive out of the box, and many of the features are copied from best-in-class social apps: From Pinterest, Boards with a scrolling list of pins, from Tumblr the ability to "reblog" or remix individual charts into your own dashboards, and to "follow" specific dashboards, Slack, excellent contextual chat system with alerts and @notifications. Domo also recognizes that analytics requires at least some implementation services to get the data organized and talking to each other and they are ready to provide this (for a fee) for companies that are missing in-house analytics expertise.

Cons

Expensive! There is a significant upfront fee plus large ongoing fees based on the number of users. Domo has set their pricing to be competitive with Tableau/Qlik and current leading analytics packages.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Mary Y.
Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Versatile Graphic Analytics for Any Fields and Users

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 4/5/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Analysis of our top donors and distribution of grants using these funds over a period of time have been very insightful and critical to determine how our funds are allocated.

Pros

DOMO Cards and graphics provide quick accessibility for the user and team projects. Very user friendly to learn and create your own displays and graphs to share with internal and external clients. Various chart types and easy integration with current business processes were definitely a plus in navigating the software and completing projects on time or sooner than expected with great results. Readily available on the desktop, laptop and mobile with all of the great features intact.

Cons

N/A. A plus would be to include animation with the data in the Data Cards. For example, instead of a simple stacked bar chart graph and line graph overlay on the same DOMO card, reveal the pieces of the stacked bar chart, discuss with audience and then slowly integrate the line graph up to current year with extension of future years added to the same DOMO Card.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Dan O.

Executive Friendly. Easy Visual Snapshot of KPIs.

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 6/5/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It's a great platform for aggregating, manipulating and displaying a snapshot (or real time view) of your business metrics.

Domo is very executive friendly, and is very visibly pretty.

Beast calculations (effectively functions in the language of MS Excel) and magic transformations provide the ability to manipulate data that has been imported into Domo.

Domo has a wide range of connectors that enable you to pull data into it and produce what they call cards. Cards are effectively presentation displays of data that can be updated automatically with a continuous feed of data.

Cons

Domo lacks some more advanced functionality, such as:

(1) The ability to display on one card, data from more than one date object
(2) Geo-spatial analysis

TableAU, QuickSight by AWS and QGIS offer functionality that may better fit your use case.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Richard F.
Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Domo Helped the Boomers at my Company Value Data

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 14/7/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Data drives a business, bottom line.

Pros

Domo helped us move away from manually compiling reports from various sources and made it a one point solution.

Cons

The baby boomers at my company do not trust this "internet stuff" so adoption has been slow. However they are finally coming around thanks to the power of Domo.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Domo has greatly helped team productivity.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 30/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Time saving for the team, especially the devs .

Pros

Previously, my team built our own reporting internally. Domo has increased our productivity greatly, freeing up dev time and allowing even with the most basic tech experience to create reports they need on a dime.

Cons

Set up takes awhile and learning the ways of creating data flows and reports. Not super user intuitive until you get the hang of it

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Matthew O.
Industry: Hospitality
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Domo Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/5/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The ability to display our database and cut out the manual reports that used to be ran/created each day.

Cons

Addition connectors would be useful (gotowebinar).

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Internet
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Solid reporting tool

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 30/10/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Domo did the job and provided a consistent view into our data. We would have been finished without it.

Pros

Domo was our main analytics platform. As a user, I found it somewhat easy to navigate, filter and export the data I needed. It was reliable and consistent so if the right reports were created, you could get the data you needed.

Cons

Basic functionality was confusing. As an example, why did you need to go to another screen to sort columns? That should be done with one click! As a user, I felt 10% reliant on our data team. I would have liked some tools to make easy for the user to build custom reports.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Tracy A.
Industry: Luxury Goods & Jewelry
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Great analytical tool for assessing your business

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 14/3/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Domo allows me to see all aspects of my business together in one place. It's extremely helpful and being able to see everything that I need to do without having to switch back and forth from one program to another or download many sources of data to excel to analyze them together.

Cons

The cost for this program feels a little steep for my budget but for a company that was a little bigger it would not be a stretch at all.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Sean W.
Industry: Public Relations & Communications
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Domo'd

Used Daily for 1-5 months
Reviewed on 5/10/2016
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

We have been using Domo for almost a year now. The product can quickly connect to most data sources and has some great visualizations. Their strength is in dashboarding. They call each view a card. We had several use cases up front that we started with, and we will quickly up and running. We hired their professional services to help with the implementation, however they were probably not worth the money we spent on them. As with any data consultant they didn't understand our environment well and sent us in the wrong direction a few times. As for our own abilities, if you have someone who is familiar with SQL you should be good to go. They are still relatively new so there are hiccups along the way but it's a great product overall.

Pros

Quickly connect to data, great visualization, relatively easy to learn for developers

Cons

Professional services, and product governance from an IT perspective

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Justin B.
Industry: Security & Investigations
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Thoughts on DOMO

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 5/5/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

It is very easy to navigate. It features all my reports for scheduling and billing in one program

Cons

Nothing of note. I am very satisfied with the program.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Michael R.
Industry: Plastics
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Does the job, clean interface.

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 11/10/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The interface is fairly minimal and easy to use for users who have less experience with this type of software. The card analyzer (where cards are designed) can be learned by most anybody.

Dataflow creation (whether MySQL or ETL) has a good layout and is easy to follow. Really easy to train users who have no experience with SQL how to make dataflows by using the ETL.

There is a good collection of training materials online. They also have a good community for support online.

Cons

When running a dataflow the processing is not done on-prem, it is fully subject to Domo servers in the cloud. Sometimes a dataflow that would normally take around 5 minutes will take an hour in order to run. We were told it wouldn't be a problem to run multiple dataflows at a time, but we've found that running two dataflows isn't that great in terms of speed and running any more than two at a time is just bad.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 4.0/10

Thomas Y.

Domo is a middle-of-the-road data visualization and analytics tool

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 26/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Domo makes my job easier by offering some visualizations that other tools make much more difficult to accomplish. The software is generally quick to run, although not the best.

Pros

Domo's web user interface is nice, and make it easy to set up shareable analytics. Domo's visualizations are also nice, perhaps a little bit above average compared to other visualization tools. The dashboards are perhaps Domo's biggest advantage.

Cons

Domo sometimes feels like a sub-par tools for data visualization and analytics compared to other software tools. It takes some time to get things up and running, and the software does not seem to run as fast as other competing tools.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Doug M.
Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Domo eval drm

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 22/3/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Overall pleased. Much still to learn to optimize use and return. Support Desk could be more responsive.

Pros

Self serve and intuitive

Cons

None

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Aakarsh K.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Domo

Used Daily for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 18/10/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Ease of use.
Very intuitive to use for business users.

Cons

Support can be a bit better and more responsive

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Jeremy F.
Industry: Internet
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Great Product! Worth the Investment 100%

Reviewed on 24/9/2015
Review Source: GetApp

Love the support and set up process Domo offers from the start -- they ensure success of BI for your business.

Pros

Support turnaround time, innovative BI offerings, ease of communication with reps, always growing and improving based on customer feedback!

Cons

support documentation for self service! They're growing this out, but would love to be as much of a power user as possible.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Jeremy M.
Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Intergation

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 27/3/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

Domo is a great calibration tool that will allow for teams to impute and use data to not just evaluate but to take actionable steps.

Cons

Expect an non-supported expensive integration process, as DOMO does not support any interrogation with your current solutions

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Mela S.

Business intelligence tool

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 27/2/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Very nice interface. Great dashboard widgets. Shows very nice and creative trend indicators. Offers a lot of connectors to other apps like Quickbooks or Social Media, so you can create indicators from external data to analyze and present results to the board.

Cons

The price is very high. Not for small or medium companies, obviously they will not be able to afford it because of the high price.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Rafael B.
Industry: Real Estate
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

The Domo for your business

Used Monthly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 4/11/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Domo will function as a hub for your business, it could gather information from various sites or social media sites you frequently use as long as the API from these sites hasn't changed or allows them. You're able to create dashboards, charts and so on with DOMO and export them easily but for the more complex task, you might need the bare minimum knowledge of programming.

Cons

The software is not easy to get a hang on, and in some instances the information it'll pull is not the information you're looking for.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

David B.
Industry: Telecommunications

Appealing to the eye, Functional and useful, effective

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 6/4/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

The look of the "Windows 8-8.1"-esque GUI was appealing to me. Everything works as it should. Overall, it is great for small-medium sized projects.

Cons

This is not the most appealing tool to use for larger projects because overall the lower user friendliness means more pointing, clicking, and typing. This could get cumbersome when things get bigger.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Consumer Goods
Company size: 201-500 Employees

Domo has allowed the company I work for to gather data that is relevant for our company.

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 9/3/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Having data pull in rapidly is essential for a fast-driving company. That is its greatest benefit.

Pros

I like the option to create collections that gather only certain data. The ability to filter certain data and pull in a select number of products is a great advantage to using DOMO.

Cons

It is SO slow. I understand that DOMO is a 'real-time' data analysis software, but it is extremely slow. It makes finding data last minute very stressful.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Smile L.
Industry: Information Technology & Services
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Great tools for data analysis

Used Weekly for 6-12 months
Reviewed on 21/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Customize and share function make it easy to use/share within the organization.

Cons

Training / support function will sure improve the usage of the data.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10