106 reviews

Datadog

Cloud-Scale Monitoring Platform For Metrics, Traces, & Logs

4.6 /5 (106 reviews) Write a Review!

Overall rating

4.6 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
95%
recommended this app
106 reviews
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Next-Gen Cloud Monitoring solution

Reviewed on 3/10/2019

Excellent cloud monitoring solution which gives good visibility across multiple cloud applications.

Pros

Feature-rich cloud monitoring solution which works across multiple cloud providers (AWS, Azure, etc)

Cons

It takes a bit of time to get familiar with the admin portal user interface.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Datadog Sniffs Out Problems Fast

Reviewed on 18/12/2019

Datadog is an amazing cloud monitoring solution that provides great insight and alerting for our platform.

Pros

Datadog provides a great, easy-to-use and extensible interface for displaying data out of your own systems, providing you the insight to sniff out issues as they arise.

Cons

No matter how many integrations Datadog builds in, there will always be gaps, and some of those gaps hit our needs. As such, we need to use several monitoring solutions to cover our whole platform.

Kevin V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great metrics and monitoring

Reviewed on 9/3/2019

Overall Datadog has given us great insight into what is going on with our server infrastructure, it has opened our eyes to some issues we weren't aware of. On top of that it's helped send alerts when things are going wrong.

Pros

Datadog has integrations with pretty much every main software service you can think of. It has pretty robust support for Windows machines and the custom metrics support is great, so you can track anything you'd like.

Cons

The usability could be improved in some areas, the custom dashboard features are powerful but the syntax can be hard to work with.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great for working with AWS

Reviewed on 3/1/2020

We have been using DataDog to monitor our lambda logs for errors as well as keep track of load and uptime on various RDS and EC2/Fargate instances. The multiple account setup can be a bit flakey at times but overall the product works well and has a consistent interface

Pros

The log imports from AWS work really well and are much faster at searching than using AWS Cloudwatch. I find it easy day to day to search for items in logs, especially after implementing a few log transformers

Cons

initial setup gets a bit confusing sometimes, and it was easier to change the logging format of our code than to implement lots of parsers to make the log interpretation better

Mauricio S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Great platform for logs analysis and cloud monitoring

Reviewed on 20/9/2019

Choosing to use Datadog made my work so much easier to accomplish. The logs analysis is one of the best thing that I can have in order to monitor my projects performance and health. This tool performs well and it is really useful. Real time logging works well. Definitely a must have.

Pros

I think that the best features that Datadog has is that you can track and follow logs in real time, something really important to have if your project is live. I like the idea of creating custom views of sets of logs (with custom filters, data parsing and a lot more) and that you can share them with your team.

Cons

It is a bit complicated to set for the first time. Is not quite easy to use or know at first about all the available features that Datadog has. Interface is tricky and can be a blocker sometimes. Following that, if your fields are not mapped in the right way, filters are not that useful.

Christina D.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 31/3/2016

Shintaro S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 5/10/2018

Stephanie B.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Reviewed on 9/1/2018

Andrey P.
Overall rating
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Clound monitoring solution

Reviewed on 7/2/2018

Pros

Datadog is a SaaS monitoring solution, that could be used to monitor different aspects of you IT infrastructure. You can find pre-configured solutions in API marketplace, which probably cover all your needs after some fine tuning, otherwise you can build your own solution. Good and responsing customer support. Stable agents

Cons

Very poor set of solutions for Microsoft Azure monitoring
Very hard for new users, documentation is not very straightforward, so you`ll need to spend a lit of time communicationg with support

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Very good monitoring support with some cavaets

Reviewed on 6/4/2019

I haven't explored any other products, so for now, this serves our purpose. I don't have anything to compare this with.

Pros

Rich set of filters and plenty of graphs possible. You are only limited by your imagination. You think of some use case and Datadog mostly has it or you may get it in the very near future.

Cons

Though super feature rich, not a very easy to learn. You need to get some tutorials otherwise you may miss a lot of important features. Plus I find the time range filters are little too strict, they should be more flexible IMO.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Woof Woof...The dog in the cloud

Reviewed on 27/11/2018

Pros

Its a great product for single pain of glass of IT Cloud monitoring with some nice integrations and visualization

Cons

The cost of the product is a little higher then desired and would be good to lower it to attract more clients.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Used to monitor Elastic Search

Reviewed on 14/11/2017

Were able to get alerts when anything went wrong with the cludter

Pros

Easy of configuration, they have an agent app and sample configuration which get you started in about 20 minutes

Cons

Free tier is top limited, would have loved to get the service for free for monitoring 10 machines cluster

Radhika B.
Overall rating
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Cloud monitoring

Reviewed on 27/2/2018

Pros

Extremely easy and user friendly monitoring tool and syncs up with AWS very easily.
It has a dash board, alerting and visualization of metrics.

Cons

A little expensive. It is not mobile friendly. How can be known that the data is secured?
Can unexpected changes be recognized?

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Automotive
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Powerful monitoring and analytics platform

Reviewed on 13/11/2018

Pros

There are lots of integrations especially for AWS product but also with the server agent you can get insights to metrics from the whole stack. Also the custom metric reporting is very easy to do with their SDK.

Cons

The cost can become a cause for concern if you are not careful with what data you send to Datadog. However there are lots of tools to keep an eye it.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great title for monitoring tool

Reviewed on 14/9/2018

Pros

First of all I like the Name of this software and its Logo! So cute! Besides that this is a great monitoring tool. It is cloud based solution, it keeps present and historical data, so you can analyze if there are some problems or logs in your system and then fix them. Datadog integrates very well into other systems.

Cons

You must be a bit experienced user to install and configurate this software. It is not so easy to build your own solutions if you need. You have to contact customer support too often during first steps, aithough contact center is good and helpful.

Eric B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Internet
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Monitoring Made Simple

Reviewed on 23/7/2014

After setting up Datadog, the value was immediately apparent. The instrumentation provided out of the box changed hours of troubleshooting to find the source of a problem in to minutes. While it used to take days or weeks to set up instrumentation, Datadog provides tools that make setup and installation simple. We use Chef at SimpleReach and in about 10 minutes, I had Datadog monitoring everything in the infrastructure. Spent a few minutes creating alerts for application metrics and turned what used to be a few weeks of work into a few hours. Coming from a systems administration background, I can't say enough good things about Datadog.

Pros

Easy setup. Wide range of integrations with common applications. Easy to create custom graphs and metrics on the fly.

Cons

If you don't already have your applications instrumented with statsd, then it can a little catching up. Also, their default set of metrics limits you to 100 metrics per server (which can be changed easily).

Derrick L.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great tool for SaaS Monitoring

Reviewed on 13/4/2018

Pros

Reliable, easy to integrate, supports all important types of monitors and events, fast UI. You can easily setup your dashboard for important metrics.

Cons

Learning Curve is a high. Overwhelming amount of information to search through in order to start using the product.

Luis miguel R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Datadog is a great tool to monitor your systems.

Reviewed on 30/8/2019

I used Data Dog as a QA engineer to monitor the health of the system on a daily basis.

Pros

* User-friendly UI.
* chart gives meaningful information.
* It has real-time metrics.

Cons

* It is a great tool, it takes some technical skills to understand and configure the tool.

Filip T.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Essential tool for infrastructure and application monitoring

Reviewed on 7/2/2018

Pros

Datadog is one of my favorite tools in every day work.

Some of my favorites include:
- great API,
- very flexible and informative dashboards,
- great integrations with various providers and application, which greatly improve visibility,
- a lot of libraries (eg. ruby-kafka) which integrate with Datadog,
- easy to deploy in numerous ways, ie. Kubernetes, ECS, Ansible.

M. serhat D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: E-Learning
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Monitoring with great detail

Reviewed on 2/4/2020

I have been using Datadog for 1 year now and I am quite happy with the product. I both used and implemented this product for low-traffic open-source projects and high-traffic enterprise projects. For both scenarios, my experience was quite positive.

Pros

Rich features, well-documented functionality, easy to use UI, being able to create custom dashboards that can integrate with hundreds of tools.

Cons

Custom dashboard creation is a little bit tricky. There is a learning curve for building your dashboard in the beginning, but after spending a day or two - you can create dashboards as you always imagined.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent tool for debugging

Reviewed on 7/2/2021

It is an excellent tool for the use case that I have for Datadog.

Pros

As a software tester, I use Datadog for debugging customer issues, when I may not have direct access. I can quickly filter through the logs in order to find the issue and generate reproductions or resolve issues

Cons

Sometimes when requesting to see a log in context it is does not return the correct context which makes the debugging process harder.

Vince P.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Datadog Cloud Monitoring Review

Reviewed on 12/10/2017

Pros

I noticed that this monitoring system is very flexible, you can track pretty much any metric, which is great.

Great integration with many services like AWS, Chef, Couchbase, JVM, HAProxy, MySQL etc.

Dashboard functionality is easy. Comes with UI, UI is simply designed but supports all the key functionalities that you would expect from a counter services, and to be able to create dashboard based on counters.

Cons

Noticed that the more data you have, the slower response Datadog service will become, when you query the service.

Query a specific counter, as well as when the counter contains high dimensional data, which is normal, we haven't yet tested what is the upper limit for how much data it can decently handle.

But we have been very satisfied using Datadog, and we feel that it should be enough for small to mid size company.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Monitor full stack app performance with Datadog

Reviewed on 11/5/2019

Pros

For our AWS deployment, we use Datadog for application performance and server monitoring as well as synthetic HTTP tests . DataDog enables real-time information and measuring engineering-specific metrics and allows you to control how you trace and diagnose data. If you are looking to track the time it takes for a web hook to fire after an asynchronous request has been made, you can store the time the request has been sent in your database and when the webhook fires for that request, measure the delta and send it to DataDog. DataDog integrates with Slack, which allows for alerts on average and max thresholds.

Cons

Datadog has a mature product but features are limited, the tool feels dated and the UI is very plain.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great Monitoring Tool

Reviewed on 4/4/2021

Pros

It´s very useful to use it as TV Dashboards of Apps health.
It allows you to use personalized counters for metrics you can set in your code.
It' s great to see app performance during product launching.

Cons

Theree's no mobile version of the app, would be very useful to carry those dashboards and monitors on your phone.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Analytics tool which helps customers and users always get the product you want them to get

Reviewed on 13/8/2019

Overall, having Datadog monitor our apps' performance and customers/users' pain points is invaluable. It's an amazing tool which lets us identify bottlenecks and better serve our users. Although the initial learning curve of utilizing Datadog's plethora of data analytics tools is steep, it's well worth the effort and price as there is much value to the metrics Datadog provides.

Pros

Datadog is probably one of the most notable analytics tool out there for large companies. It's easy to track users' flow in terms of what routes they're hitting, when they hit a snag and 404, or other metrics like how performant certain requests are which allows us to identify bottlenecks and get rid of them immediately.

Cons

There is a steep learning curve I will say with this software and needs an expert to help lead tutorials or sessions to get the ball rolling with new tool users. Although there are many built in functionalities and easily customizable features, it can be overwhelming and hard to pinpoint exactly what type of analytics you're looking for. It's one of those softwares where you have to play around with it to get the stars to align and find a model or metric that works best for your customers and use cases.