Datadog

4.6 (109)
Cloud-Scale Monitoring Platform For Metrics, Traces, & Logs

Overall rating

4.6 /5
(109)
Value for Money
4.2/5
Features
4.4/5
Ease of Use
4.1/5
Customer Support
4.3/5

95%
recommended this app

109 reviews

Satbyul K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Clear graphs and easy to set up

Reviewed on 28/3/2020

Used the open URL to add dashboard to a large monitor on our workspace to easily spot spikes.

Pros

Really simple set up to monitor our full stack environment. Dashboard is very clear and suitable for both technical and non-technical stakeholders.

Cons

Nothing really. Migrating to any product can be challenging but setup was pretty simple and no key functionality absent.

Neyda jose M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful tool for the analysis and monitoring of applications

Reviewed on 20/5/2019

Datadog is a very useful tool because it is known if the applications, servers or hots are working as they should or if not, we will be aware to prevent further damage solving the problem in the shortest time possible.

Pros

This tool called Datadog I love mainly because it is really efficient and very useful because it allows through it you can carry out a monitoring of the performance of applications in a very simple way, being this through the reading of metrics that are really simple to understand and issue very detailed information that is useful to diagnose the cause and thus be able to solve the problem in the shortest time possible, also is available 24/7 so in case of any fault send immediately a mail informing the same and the best thing is that it has a clean interface, intuitive and easy to use without having technical knowledge to manage it.

Cons

One of its drawbacks is that when it is integrated with a large number of tools it can become heavy, which causes the information to be slowed down.

Damian N.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

DataDog is one of our must-haves

Reviewed on 6/6/2019

Pros

It's got everything that's needed for infrastructure and application monitoring and alerting. It also fits extremely well into our Infrastructure-as-Code paradigm where everything we set up is kept in a git repository as a Terraform project. DataDog is what we recommend and implement for our clients, and provides more useful features than Sensu.

Cons

Metrics and monitors don't render correctly on mobile phones. It's totally unusable in portrait mode, and barely usable in landscape mode.

Alternatives Considered

Sensu
Ciprian P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great web monitoring tool

Reviewed on 5/1/2020

Pros

Great web monitoring tool if you have the time to dig into all the options and settings. The user interface is really professional and good looking and the charts and graphs are well thought out.

Cons

It requires a bit of server tinkering, which I wasn't familiar with. Not really a minus.

Alternatives Considered

New Relic One
Kevin V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great view of our server environment

Reviewed on 8/2/2017

Datadog has great support for a variety of different third party systems - Windows machines, linux machines, AWS instances, pretty much anything you can imagine. You can easily slice and dice stats on a good looking dashboard. Provides a good one stop view of your environment.

Pros

Datadog's Windows support is great, the Windows agent supports detailed IIS and MSSQL statistics. Their RabbitMQ support is good as well - providing good insight into queues. Customizable dashboards are very handy as well.

Cons

The User interface generally is good but in some instances can be a bit too technical to use.

Daniel P.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Using for monitoring multiple servers health

Reviewed on 9/3/2018

Let me know every time when my server is down. Great monitoring tool.

Pros

The implementation is easy.
Let you know in real time if your server is down or is failing.
The best tool I found.
It's always sending mails when the server fails in any way.

Cons

Should have mobile app or mobile notifications.
If you are not in the programming field you should get someone. The code is easy to implement but if you don't know the right place to call at the right function (assuming you have datadog code on a lib of your system) you wont get the data you need or in the way you need it.

Donovan G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Online Media
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good tool, super complicated pricing

Reviewed on 10/8/2021

Great tool, I am not 100% sure about the sales personnel and support. At times they come across a bit "laddish"

Pros

It is brilliant in how it helps to detect flaws in your system, especially their "AI" parts which give intelligent indications on where to look.

It also helps to keep everything you need to diagnose issues in 1 place. Making for a clear end to end vision.

Cons

It works out super expensive and the pricing is really hard to understand. Especially when it comes to K8s clusters.

Sky L.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

DataDog - App and System Monitoring

Reviewed on 4/3/2016

We recently flipped from using an older SNMP based monitoring system and couldn't be happier. From the initial install during our trial I was smitten. It was everything I would want in an application and system monitoring system all wrapped up in a beautiful API.

Pros

Easy... seriously dummy proof.
Robust - So many integration's and easy write your own plugins.
Solid API with great documentation.
It's StatsD and Graphite, at the push of a button.

Cons

Somewhat expensive.
Doesn't have an integration with every single application? I actually have to do some work...
That's all I can think of....

Cauvery G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Really good for monitors

Reviewed on 25/6/2020

Pros

Its really good tool if you are searching or shopping for monitoring tools.

Cons

I don't use it on daily basis, but so far no issues.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Real-time data dashboard

Reviewed on 4/3/2020

We liked it ease-of-use and its customizable dashboards.

Pros

We can quickly create customizable requests and filters to get all the data and organize it like we need. We can get a real overview of all are valuable data in a glance.

Cons

Using Datadog can get pricy when you need many features or you have many hosts. However, its ease-of-use make it understandable.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Datagod is one of the best for IT monitoring

Reviewed on 12/4/2018

Pros

Datadog is easy to use, you can have custom and multiple dashboard, what is nice to control your environment/network.
Great notifications.

Cons

Could have a mobile app so we can have mobile notifications, It could be hard to integration with others tools.

Sam M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Reviewed on 26/4/2017

Bryan I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Datadog is a solid performer but not the heaviest in features

Reviewed on 27/9/2019

Pros

Datadog solves most of our needs for general system/application health monitoring and even covers some performance metrics that we use to make improvements.

Cons

Some of the detailed views of where bottlenecks are troubling a system can be lacking. Something we've seen a lag getting data refreshed in the dashboards.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Reviewed on 22/3/2016

Enrique M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Monthly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

best monitoring tool ever

Reviewed on 23/7/2019

Pros

- dashboards are super customizable and refreshing time is very quick
- templates save you lot of time

Cons

building the queries for the dashboards require quite a lot of knowledge (not intuitive)

Ankush K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Datadog Review

Reviewed on 2/10/2019

Overall it's great monitoring/visualizing tool for any organization and I'd recommend, it would have been great if it had great learning resources to explore it more.

Pros

- The filter functionality is great which lets you filter out errors for quick analysis, can easily create custom dashboards.
- Great Visualizations, easy to set up dashboards/monitors with options do maths like ratios, rates, average, interval.
- It can be easily integrated with other apps like Slack to set alerts for failed jobs.
-

Cons

- A slow learning curve, lack of resources on how to get useful functionality from UI or APIs.
- UI sometimes be bit slower although not bad if you've integrated with multiple external apps.

Caroline S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Powerful tool for monitoring business applications

Reviewed on 27/5/2019

Datadog has been really efficient and useful since through its implementation you can monitor all business applications and thus be aware of its operation whether the same is appropriate or not and if not, you can take the appropriate measures so that the same is again the appropriate performance, that is why having this tool is a great advantage at the business level.

Pros

Datadog is a tool that I like for several reasons, because implementing it does not require technical knowledge, has a series of metrics that allow you to read whether the performance of applications or servers is appropriate or not, so if you find a failure or something out of the ordinary in these applications the user immediately receives alerts that notify him of this problem so that it can be resolved in the shortest possible time, these alerts being received at any time since Datadog works continuously 24/7 and the best thing is that it is a software that is very easy to use and implement, in addition to being extremely flexible because it allows you to choose the monitoring parameters that you want to apply.

Cons

Datadog is not a perfect tool because it has some drawbacks and is that the more applications are integrated with this software the performance or speed of information delivery tends to slow down which should not be since the integrations are to improve even more the performance of said tool.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer & Network Security
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Great service for monitoring

Reviewed on 30/1/2018

Pros

Datadog provides a way of having a lot of information about your systems, clusters and infrastructure in only one site, being able to analyze valuable data for your company. It is possible to create alarms and notifications when overpassing some threshold or value, for example, when a service is down in your systems of when the CPU gets a high percentage of usage.

It integrates pretty well with tons of services and systems, such as Amazon Web Services, Apache, Nginx, several databases, and a long etcetera. Also, it is possible to send notifications to apps like Slack or Hipchat.

Cons

Datadog is not very easy to use at the beginning and it needs a little bit of investigation but it is worth to learn it.

Jahiezer I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

one of the best software for monitoring in the market

Reviewed on 27/6/2018

Pros

This software allows to monitoring all you need and also can find lots of solutions for a high gama of cases. by using this app i be able to see the problems that me and my team have, so we can solve it by utilizing all the data that datadog provides. Works in differents OS and that make things more easy

Cons

The proces to instal and put in march this softwre can be a nightmare if you have not experience, it is really complicated. Though the software have nice tools, the price is not the best in the market, is posible to find something good for lowes price if you know what are you loking for. And finally haved some problem with some data transfer working with this app but i really dont konw what was the razon why

Diego M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Investment Management
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great server monitoring

Reviewed on 23/2/2019

They monitor everything we run at our company and we recently moved logging to them too. Very happy with support, had to ask them several questions over the years and they always know what I'm looking for.

Pros

The metrics navigator, you start by picking a metric or server, and it then tells you all the information it is collecting from it, so you can start designing your monitoring dashboards and see the data that will appear as you go

Cons

There are times where a chart would omit certain spikes, due to the way they aggregate values. But a quick email to support and they'll give you the settings you need to adjust not to miss such events, even when you look at a chart for the month

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Entertainment
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great first step for data tracking and incedent monitoring.

Reviewed on 14/10/2021

Pros

I use this tool on a daily basis for handling errors both in our live environment and for testing. It allows me to see where an error may be coming from and follow it through to its source. I could not do my job effectively without datadog

Cons

The filtering of data is not as comprehensive as I would like. I sometimes need to search through the results to find what I need.
Displaying a record in the chronological order is not always perfect and I sometimes don't get the context I want.

Jessica H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Helpful monitoring tool

Reviewed on 28/12/2018

I'm not a DevOps engineer by any means; just a member of a customer support organization. However, I use Datadog to quickly check in on reports of downtime or slow page loads from our customers, and can quickly gather the information I need to confirm those reports, to see if any issues are still occurring that need a quick resolution.

Pros

Datadog is very helpful in reviewing the status of apps and servers for our system. It's easy to see how things are doing at a glance, reviewing when an issue started/ended, etc.

Cons

The software isn't intuitive to the newest user, unless they are familiar with with the setup and maintenance of cloud frameworks; but that's not important, as it's meant for those users in the first place. It's quick enough to learn for your own purposes if you're only there to see the current status at a glance.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A robust, but complicated tool.

Reviewed on 26/9/2020

We primarily use DataDog as a monitoring and communication tool. Alerts are sent out daily to a wide variety of users and non-users to keep them up to date on what is happening, when it happened and when it was recovered.

Pros

It has a great UI feature. It offers a variety of integrations with other third party software. Communication e-mail reports are valuable, even to non-users of the tool.

Cons

It can get very expensive to use and can be extremely complicated to use. There is a steep learning curve to try to get users up to speed with the needed functionality of the tool.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

One of the default server monitor tools in my list.

Reviewed on 16/5/2018

Pros

The best about datadog is the simplicity. Ranging from the dashboard to the addons everything is done smoothly and in a proper manner.
The pricing is very fair and the free tier allows many to explore it's possibilities.

Cons

The dashboard could expand a bit more, also the ping are quite inconsistent. I have tested them together with other services and datadog throws more false negatives than other tools.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

An excellent monitoring service packed with features at a very affordable price

Reviewed on 8/2/2018

Pros

The integration is fantastic, allowing me to see what's going on at a high level. It's extremely nice to be able to tap into their API from anywhere & install their agent on any server. Along with all that one great feature is to prevent unexpected bills from pulling too many instances, saving me a ton of money.

Cons

Moving graphs can be difficult due to space when you try to move them horizontally but vertically is fine. Pulling in graphs, while simple, can still be difficult to use when resizing & color coordinating, but it's minor.