Lightspeed POS

4.4 (117)
Point of Sale, Online POS & ePOS System, Restaurant Software

Overall rating

4.4 /5
(117)
Value for Money
4.3/5
Features
4.2/5
Ease of Use
4.4/5
Customer Support
4.5/5

90%
recommended this app

117 Software options

Jimmy P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Horrendous POS System.

Reviewed on 28/6/2017

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS!!! MOVE ON TO THE NEXT!

Pros

Nothing to say here. There is nothing good about this system except for the promptness of my customer service, who usually has bad news. But as I now understand my customer service rep doesn't ACTUALLY work for Kounta, she works for the company that sold it to me. I wish they would have sold me one of their other POS options.

Cons

Server level order control is an upgrade, they don't tell you that when purchasing, even though that is one of the most basic things. Check splitting is the most laborious I have ever experienced, if you have a table that needs multiple splits get them a refill of their coffee because it will take a while. No over all system close out, no way to re-open a check. In lieu of that simple option they have a refund button, but, guess what if you had multiple pay types IE Cash and CC that doesn't work, can only refund whole amount to one pay type, which then screws up the server report(one of the biggest reasons to have a POS system) Integrated credit card system has worst customer service ever. If you need to get someone after 9 good luck. Randomly loses checks! Have no idea how that happens but if you are on a check and the system reloads(which it does a lot) bye bye order!

Kim H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

LightSpeed Success

Reviewed on 24/6/2021

LightSpeed support is superior to all other product support I am getting both from a business standpoint as well as personal. Their response is quick and understandable.

Pros

Easy to use backed up by professional support. Conversion and training was excellent.

Cons

Consignment reporting requires a couple extra steps from my previous product.

Emma I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great system

Reviewed on 28/9/2018

Pros

Great easy system to use. Easy to change payment methods and products and downloading and updating on excel also possible. Just starting to sync with Xero so that’s good too. Customer support really has improved massively since we started using it 2 years ago. I would recommend as a good all rounder.

Cons

Reporting in close detail has been a tricky one but with Kounta insights it seems to be improving although I think it’s still work in progress.

Leanne M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Kounta for Cafe Use

Reviewed on 12/3/2017

We have found Kounta to be excellent for our cafe. Staff need no maths skills to operate it easily. the addition of photos makes product selection fast and accurate.

The only thing to watch is disgruntled staff that have been removed from rosters........they can sabotage the system by changing or deleting things. My advice, once they have been given notice immediately remove their access to Kounta and give them other duties until their time has been completed.

Pros

Overcomes the issue of staff not being able to read or do any math.
Provides multiple copies of invoices so that service can easily be tracked.
Allows lots of options to modify products which gives each client an individual experience.

Cons

Takes ages to set up if you have hundreds of products and options......but it is worth doing.

Christopher M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Kounta helped solve our need for a simple POS that integrated with CBA's Albert.

Reviewed on 11/7/2018

I am able to better analyse my business performance and make real time decisions.

Pros

It interfaced with our existing Albert and IT setup at the Cafe. Our staff quickly adapted to new methods for operating and recording sales. The interface is reasonably intuitive and the videos help with any learning gaps.

Cons

Some of issues that irked me.
1. There is no way to test workflow (options, etc) in a test mode. So you do everything in a live environment (and constantly have to swap to POS and back to test). So you can end up with 'false' sales figures, and incorrectly recorded refunds, or deleted sales. From the back office it would be good to 'test' new products setup before making them active.
2. There is no way to adjust a reconciliation if it is incorrectly entered.
3. The next price points are not attractive for small businesses to step up.

Steve B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great POS system for all to use

Reviewed on 17/2/2017

As our venue is a social enterprise employing people with a disability and or mental health issue, we require a user-friendly POS that can assist with Literacy and numeracy while being an overall easy to use system.

Kounta is perfect for what we required.

Thanks Kounta

Pros

visual aid

Cons

freezing at times

Anton H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Kounta took care of everything we needed effortlessly.

Reviewed on 26/3/2018

Up and running quickly with great support.

Pros

Simple Setup, Easy to train staff to use. Staff were familiar with the software and were happy to jump in and take orders at busy times. Instant reports are really great!

Cons

Cloud based software will always let you down when you're flat out busy. Murphy's Law! Maybe some way to operate and upload at the end of each day would be an answer.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Terrible Integration with XERO

Reviewed on 17/7/2018

Pros

Daily monitoring of the sales
History of sales figures
taking the orders at the till although couple of times it started to update in the busy time without asking

Cons

- Updating without asking on busy times in front of customers
- Frequent disruptions
- Very poor integration with XERO, multiple times we had to export the reports manually and recently they changed the whole thing and the reports of three months did not export to XERO and it's very complicated to setup and retrieve the data. Customer service and support was poor as well
- It's very expensive and not value for money

Ari V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Bar Saracen

Reviewed on 5/8/2018

Overall, I am very happy with KOUNTA and I believe such systems are the future for the hospitality industry.

Pros

The software is fine, it is a POS it doesn't do anything better than a server based 'traditional' system. The positives of KOUNTA are the tablet based interface, competitors such as IMPOS are too lazy to adapt the CRT system to tablet; the ease of instigating changes, the price; and importantly the support and expertise of the technical staff at KOUNTA .

Cons

There is an instability in the system ie the seeming loss of functions such as printing, and the delay in synchronising between tablets.

Jun C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Restaurants
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Buggy and lack of support

Reviewed on 7/9/2017

Worst POS system ever. I would give zero stars if I could.

Service was dismal and a lot of bugs with the program. It seems like the program was half completed when it was released.

While it might perform at a satisfactory level when the business is relatively small and not as busy, this software clearly cannot handle when we have over 100 covers per service as there was no bugs during our quieter service period.

Absolute waste of money and time. Only consolation I have is that I can use the reuse the hardware with other POS system as it was just iPads and cash register.

Little follow up with the problems we had and when they did contact us, 90% of the time they were unable to resolve the issue. We had double prints of orders resulting in wasting and also missing prints of kitchen orders resulting in angry customers and damage to our reputation.

If you are looking to get Kounta because it is cheaper, don't bother. We were happy to get rid of it.

Pros

Simplicity of the features and simple pricing structure. We were able to view all the reports remotely.

Cons

Buggy and full of errors especially during a busy restaurant service. Reports were insufficient and support was also unable to resolve the issues we were having.

Mark K.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Kounta Review Grazers Yorkshire Ltd

Reviewed on 18/3/2017

Having used Kounta for 4 months it is proving it's worth. Running the system on Jiffy Vans it allows me to be able to take card payments linked to an izettle card reader. It is easy to update, has a great range of back office information which can help with menu planning, logistics, cash reconciliation and more. Customers love the set up and are amazed when they see such a system on the vans. With regular updates and good customer support Kounta is now an important tool in my business.

Pros

Form, Function and ease of use

Cons

Can sometimes reload during transaction but it is very quick.

Ruth H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Fast and efficient service for a complicated roll out.

Reviewed on 14/5/2018

Time saving, improve the professional profile of the store, reduces administrative burden for sales and support staff.

Pros

Data synchronicity of sales and inventory data. Ability to offer a smooth client experience when closing sales transactions in store.

Cons

Search functionality not strong enough to meet all the potential uses for search-ability within our code list. This is a factor of our unique category list which is much larger than the average hospitality client.

Stefan V.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Kounta- great service, great team- a young company going places

Reviewed on 25/2/2015

Kounta has continually supported us from the initial set up in our retail stores to the continual development of the back office. Kounta has tailored its offering to suit our business needs and continues to take on board our feedback and our requests for newer developments. We have seen Kounta grow from a simple interface to a more well rounded solution. We find their support to be good. As our needs grow we hope that Kounta can continue to move with us.

The POS interface has continually developed since its inception, this aspect has been excellent. There are elements of the back office that we would like more development in so we can use Kounta as a one stop shop. For a business that is starting out Kounta is a viable option. For a bigger business with more reporting tools and statistical needs Kounta would be satisfactory.

Paul I.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

GREAT POS

Reviewed on 10/11/2018

Pros

Ease of use, layout, nice looking, fast,

Cons

Disappointed with the reports. It really doesn't suit for restaurants that go past midnight. So "Today" in reports includes after midnight of yesterday and before midnight of today. It would be nice for the reports to reflect the times we open. 6:00pm till the end of the shift, which is really when you do takings at the end of the day

Tony S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Easy to use and compatible with a lot of add-ons

Reviewed on 10/6/2018

Pros

very straightforward and easy to use. It is compatible with Boppl, and bump it which makes much easier for the kitchen to process orders

Cons

The inventory is a bit complicated, we have to add all the ingredient for every dish, I don't know if there are better inventory management software in the market, this one is complicated.

Alex M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Freckles review

Reviewed on 11/11/2018

Haven’t had any issues yet, very happy with the service and software. Easy to train staff too.

Pros

Ease to set up and use, it’s perfect for a busy takeaway shop.

Cons

It could use some better printing options e.g. kitchen printing in shorthand rather than printing the buttons title.

Sue E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Management Consulting
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Setting up and Training it for Clients

Reviewed on 21/2/2018

Pros

Easy to use, adaptable in most situations. Any staff member should be able to use it especially on the visual side of things. Links to the accounting programs.

Cons

A few little enhancements would be nice to give the client and few extra reporting outcomes but I'm being a little picky.

Melissa F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Amazing support and customer service

Reviewed on 13/11/2018

They make everything quick and easy

Pros

Out of all the software and apps we use in our small business kounta has been the easiest and most supportive would definitely recommend.

Cons

That there is no uber eats add on yet!!!

Gazal J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Food & Beverages
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great pos

Reviewed on 12/4/2017

I have moved to kounta and im extremely happy with the pos great and easy to use and great value for money with excellent customer support thanks

Pros

Its very fast and easy to use

Cons

Nothing it's absolutely fantastic

Rachele P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Thanks Kounta

Reviewed on 18/12/2018

Great thanks

Pros

24hr support is what i liked most about this software

Cons

When wifi fails in our premises there, Isn’t the possibility of using the software.

Jennifer V.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

greatly misled

Reviewed on 4/5/2017

a very disappointing and expensive experience. They have even now told me that they know Kounta is not really suitable for retails but more for hospitality. They had visited our store and discussed our needs....now they tell us they have another new programme we can buy from them. Consumer Affairs is my next stop

Pros

I have absolutely nothing good to say about Kounta, its programme or its service. Trying to talk them they just become argumentative. So I have given up.

Cons

very complex and clunky. scanning feature complex and doesn't work a lot of the time. too many steps to complete simple entry of products - downloading and uploading spreadsheets every time takes a lot of time and often causes errors when uploaded. after several months and many thousands of $ in wages trying to get it running and loaded and we are at the point of giving up. A very expensive exercise. While the system had so many problems, the sellers wanted to charge us for any training or fixing problems.

Tony A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Kounta is great...

Reviewed on 31/3/2017

Kounta POS is In the implementation stages of introduction into our store & we feel that it has satisfied our needs so far...

Pros

Ease of use...

Cons

NA

Scott C.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Espresso Bar

Reviewed on 22/4/2017

Great support, great options and fast functions. I would recommend Kounta to anyone and everyone. The only issue I have is internet drop out and this slowing down the firing of the cash draw. Apart from this; the team at Kounta is all over it with the updates and solutions to all the little web browser bugs.

Raman J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Lots of features to make the day to day challenges easier

Reviewed on 22/5/2017

There are lots of customisable features.

Pros

Bump screen feature .is quiet good as it reduces the need to print paper.If we can remove the need to print totally it will be brilliant.

Cons

That it still makes us print lot of dockets for different things whereas it should be reduced to bump screen.

Graham W.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Kounta Nails it

Reviewed on 25/4/2017

Very easy to use and cost effective.
Great system and very happy with it.
Awesome that you can log in anywhere.