ManageEngine ADAudit Plus

4.3 (38)
Active Directory change audit and reporting software

Overall rating

4.3 /5
(38)
Value for Money
4.1/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.2/5
Customer Support
4.2/5

38 Software options

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Could be better...

Reviewed on 5/10/2018

It was something that I inherited when I started with my current company. It's decent, but I'm probably going to move to something that's a little more robust and easier to upgrade.

Pros

I like the amount of data that ADAudit Plus can gather. It can pull your file server auditing, your domain controller auditing, and a whole host of other things. You can also setup alerting on specific events that makes it easy to see what's happening with your servers.

Cons

The upgrade process is the worst thing I've ever seen in a software product. You have to put your build number into the support website, download a major upgrade, install that, and then download a service pack, and install that. It doesn't sound so bad, but the upgrade process itself is dependent on this antiquated process that uses a batch file and a Java utility. It fails more often than not and the upgrade instructions listed on ManageEngine's website has inaccurate data (lists the wrong batch files to use, etc).

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

You can get all kinds of reports with this product in the active directory environment.

Reviewed on 19/5/2019

It has a particularly user-friendly interface and simple to use. It includes reports of users of groups and other objects of Active Directory in detail. An Active Directory-specific SIEM tool. With this product, you can store your data for years with the archiving mechanism.

Pros

It has a particularly user-friendly interface and simple to use. The alarm can be generated when the log is in accordance with the conditions determined on the application.

Cons

The quality of the support team is insufficient to solve problems of the product and quickly shut down calls.

Renesh G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Telecommunications
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Really Useful

Reviewed on 27/6/2019

Overall experience is great as it allows me to determine what changes were made in the domain and by who at any time.

Pros

The ability to track everything that’s going on in my domain and who actually made changes in the domain.

Cons

There is a lot of options and sometimes it’s hard to find what you need if never used before.

David C.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Get the job done; overall a good product

Reviewed on 11/4/2018

Pros

Reporting is pro as long as your AD infrastructure is working properly! Helps address security holes you might otherwise miss with day to day operations!

Cons

Reporting is a pro and a con with accuracy. Doesn't always read every attribute correctly but nothing is always 100%

David S.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use

AD Audit reports at our finger tips!

Reviewed on 17/5/2018

Pros

We are now able to access very granular reports on all aspects of Active Directory auditing. Prior methodology, before AD Audit Plus was very laborious.

Cons

We would like to have application high-availability where the AD Audit Plus service fails on a primary server, then the service automatically starts on a standby server.

Brandon M.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

A platform that will unlock every secret of your AD Domain, if you can find it.

Reviewed on 2/4/2018

It is a cost effective tool for monitoring everything in your AD environment.

Pros

This software monitors every aspect of your AD environment, and can even monitor file shares, member, servers, and desktops as well. Any piece of data or information you would need to know is there.

Cons

However, it can be sometimes very hard to find. There is a huge amount of data to sort through, and many reports to look through to find what you are looking for.

Uzair A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Oil & Energy
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

One of the best Active Directory Auditing Tools

Reviewed on 21/11/2019

We use this product to assist internal audit team with their requirements regarding any specific user auditing.

Pros

Capability to audit even minute changes that have happened on domain controllers (users, computers, Groups, GPOs, PSOs, DNS Zones) and on user workstations.

Cons

Not having the option to add in bulk workstations for auditing.

Dean R.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Publishing
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

ADAuditPlus - block errors in user permissions

Reviewed on 18/5/2021

Very useful product which integrates well with our systems and allows our L1 techs to keep a handle on user login issues on a daily basis without requiring any extra permissions in AD.

Reports can be emailed on a schedule which we use for auditing 3rd part access to our systems for example.

Pros

We have integration with various products and mainly from our helpdesk.

We use this to monitor changes to user accounts - we have some restricted groups for access to some systems, so if someone copies a user and the new user should not be in one of these groups, it blocks it and alerts us.

Useful for tracking locked accounts as to where/why they are being locked.

We use it daily to check failed logins, for example when someone with an expired password (or leaver) has left a PC logged in generating thousands of audit failures in AD. We can then identify and resolve these easily.

Cons

Setup for some of the above can be quite complex and we can sometimes catch ourselves out if the rules are too strict. (Manually adding someone to a group and forgetting we restricted it for example).

David G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Incredibly powerful audit software

Reviewed on 20/5/2019

The ADAudit support team were really good with helping my team get the product set up in the first place, making sure that everything that needed to be seen could be seen.

From a user perspective I am very happy and believe I will be able to make lots of improvements based on audit results, and the HR team are happy that they can audit what they need to see too.

Pros

As a Head of Department I wasn't involved in the setting up of the software, so the first I saw it in anger was when I first logged on. It is really intuitive and there are tons of reports already set up - this meant that I found a potential error in our network permissions setup within minutes of logging on, which once resolved I think will improve performance enough for our users that the time saved will pay for ADAudit Plus within weeks. Amazed!

Cons

Nothing so far, although the breadth and depth of reports available is pretty daunting at first.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy to use and effective

Reviewed on 7/4/2019

Very positive, I'd like if the software could pull more info on user lockouts. For instance if a use locks out on exchange it will say they locked out on a DC with no further info you have to check security logs on exchange. Other than that great product!

Pros

Configuration is easy, there are many canned reports to pull daily, monthly, and quarterly reports on changed and access to AD and other integrations. The search function is well put together to tell you what you need to know quickly. Has instant alerts for critical changes and AD restore.

Cons

A few times we needed information but our auditing GPOs we're not properly set up. More our fault than theirs. You can't audit file shares from a DC which is a downside, I monitor a replicated DFS share but it won't show who make the changes on the non DC since that's the primary file server, just says system. Should work fine if you don't use DC for file shares. It would be nice if you could monitor who locks up a SQL database with a large query

Fatih S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11-50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

All you need for MS active directory and file server auditing

Reviewed on 5/8/2019

If you have a large scale active directory environment you can not see what is going in it. You must use a auditor software and AD audit plus is perfect match for that need.

Pros

AD audit most useful software for large active directory environment. You can see what user doing very easily and you can export reports about that. Also if you add your fileserver, it will be act a perfect file server auditor.

Cons

Actually there is no negative things but if it has a step to step initial configuration wizard will be good.

Jayesh P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

ADAP

Reviewed on 13/10/2020

Good.

Pros

Easy to add nodes as well as report generating. good GUI which make it much easier to access console and mange it.

Cons

Co-relation part of custom report generating is bit confusing for me but support team can help in same as well.

George H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

ADAudit Plus - Very helpful to track users and their roles

Reviewed on 25/10/2019

AdAudit allow my to keep my server and user environment in top shape. When I check on a monthly basis, my user accounts and server and up to date.

Pros

With AdAudit, I was able to keep track of users access and what they were doing. With this information, I can keep users account clean and server access within compliance. The application was easy to setup, but need assistance from support to fully configure. Support is very helpful!

Cons

I was an early adopter with ADAudit from ManageEngine. It was easy to install, but it didn't work 100%. I needed to call support to get the last 10% working. It wasn't something I can do as they would remote to our environement and go into command line run various commands and scripts.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Very Informative Auditing Software

Reviewed on 5/12/2018

Windows user auditing is a breeze with ADAudit.

Pros

Ease of use
Easy to navigate interface
Filters galore

Cons

No real cons to mention.
Filters could be a bit much to an inexperienced user.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Airlines/Aviation
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Easy solution to our logging requirements.

Reviewed on 6/10/2018

Pros

Its quite simple to setup on the domain, we have a number of domain controllers and it connected to all of these just fine.

Cons

Some of the reports require some tweaking to get them working correctly.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Pharmaceuticals
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for Free Trial
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Manage the AD logs

Reviewed on 28/3/2019

Good experience and software is working as per my requirement.

Pros

IT is very user friendly software. Any IT person who has basic knowledge of AD and servers can do their work with this software.

Cons

It is bit difficult but if i am using continuously then only can get the least details.

Karla L.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Large variety of Predefined Security Reports

Reviewed on 26/6/2018

Pros

Easy to use tool, I like the fact of having different graphics, it is quite complete, it can track and correct errors, finding details of blocks and eliminating the necessary information.

Cons

Against: High cost.

In General: It can be used reliably, knowing that it can detect any malicious information. It is easy to handle.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Very good for compliance

Reviewed on 18/6/2019

We had many cases with different departments who remove files or folder, who made changes in excel file. The software always gives the right answer, never disappointed me. If you are looking for a file server audit, you should just buy it.

Pros

File server auditing is the best so far, very easy to use. UI is well designed. Ad reporting is really helping us to find out who has an old session and locked account

Cons

AD audit tool can be improved as far as event log wise. you have to run the software as service, don't forget that, The pricing is a little bit higher.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

ADAudit audit's EVERYTHING.

Reviewed on 18/7/2019

Pros

AD Auditing is only a necessity for regulatory requirements and when you need it the most. However, AD Audit also provides intuitive reporting functionality for those times you can't easily give a quick answer, AD Audit is there for you.

Cons

Some of the upgrades are a bit of a pain due to services, and it's hard to install multiple products on the same server due to port usage and service installations.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Gone are the days of endless lockouts.

Reviewed on 4/12/2019

We use this for tracking bad password attempts and keeping logs of group changes.

Pros

I like how clear and easy to use the UI is, my biggest qualm with active directory is it seems like most of the fields are intersparsed in random places and it doesn't always give you a full picture of whats going on. With AD audit plus you are able to get clear concise information.

Cons

Sometimes the web UI glitches out, but this may be due to our implementation and not necessarily the software.

Racey C.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Does the job, decent technical support if needed

Reviewed on 27/2/2018

Pros

ADAudit Plus actually does a lot more than just audit AD. In an environment where you have multiple technicians making changes to AD, it's helpful to have an audit trail for both security reasons, as well as troubleshooting when a change is made that produces an unexpected or undesirable affect. With the audit trail it's easy to see what the most recent changes were so they can be rolled back if necessary.

This product will actually do some auditing of your file servers as well, which we found fairly helpful. When a file gets deleted, it's never a problem to restore it, but it's helpful to be able to see who deleted the file so you can either identify malicious activity or advise a user of what's happening in case they're not aware that they're removing needed information.

Mohsin M.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Life Saver if you have a complex file server

Reviewed on 17/10/2018

We have a very complex file server where alot of file movement happenes every minute. and wihout it made the tracking of a file very difficult.

Pros

the simplicity and detailed file audit.
we now have a fully audited file system, who access a file and when.

Cons

it takes a bit of getting used to but once the basics out the way, the software works a treat

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Utilities
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Always Registering and Alerting about Changes In AD

Reviewed on 9/1/2019

ADAudit Plus has helped us to fulfill a requirement: monitor our AD for changes with respect to security settings.

Pros

The software is always active, registering changes in Active Directory and can alert you about them. For instance, we get notifications when an account is added, changed or has gained privileged access. This makes it easier to be 'on top' of security events.

Cons

The software's update procedure is error prone. It runs in Java and not all updates are succesful.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Could be a great product

Reviewed on 10/10/2017

Pros

It has a lot of features and can give a lot of auditing data. It's also fairly cheap and gives amazing reports.

Cons

Hard to setup
Annual fees
Requires a lot of resources to run (setup separate VM)
Not great support

Jendra J.
Overall rating
  • Review Source

Overall rating

Reviewed on 5/3/2019