144 reviews

Overall rating

4.4 /5
  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Features
91%
recommended this app
144 reviews
Terry B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Religious Institutions
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Chrome River Expense

Reviewed on 30/11/2020

Expenses are now submitted in a timely manner and we now have receipts to match expenses. No more lost receipts.
The approval processes are quicker, making reimbursements happen faster.

Pros

The product is very easy to use and quite intuitive. The CRSnap APP is a great tool and make uploading receipts to the Receipt Gallery less time consuming. Integration on the most part was very good.

Cons

There are two things that I really would like to see some changes and they are, I would like the ability to have more customization on the Tiles. As a religious institution our expenses are often quite different from the corporate world.
Second, we are still having difficulty integrating our feed with our OBT, Egencia. We have to map our expense feed from our credit card company.

Ryan F.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Look elsewhere

Reviewed on 16/7/2019

Pros

I like how it had API integration with my credit card account.

Cons

CONSTANTLY GOING DOWN, the service is always having issues due to it being cloud hosted.

Todd T.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Banking
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Chrome River Expense Review

Reviewed on 6/4/2020

Overall experience has been very positive as all employees are now using it and we are saving time and money. We can rely on the system to help us with the process and the automation helps us manage the process.

Pros

The system creates a workflow that saves us time and money. It enforces our expense policy so the administrators don't always have to be the bad guy. It also integrates with other systems such as our HR system (employee feeds), our corporate credit cards and out Concur travel system.

Cons

The admin features can be a bit tricky to use. Features aren't always in the most intuitive place. The CR team is working on changing everything around. Once things are found/explained, it is a nice system to use. The help desk can also be slow to respond. Most times i want to be able to pick up the phone and call someone rather than dial 1-800 help.

Michael H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Chrome River Expense - Easy to Use

Reviewed on 25/2/2020

Monthly expense reimbursement and categorization used to be an extremely time consuming task. With CR Expense, it is now very efficient and streamlined. Our overall monthly close process has been sped up by at least 15%, simply because of CR Expense.

Pros

It is extremely easy to use. Our entire organization now uses it on a daily basis. It has completely streamlined our expense processes.

Cons

Implementation took a while, but we did eventually get it customized perfectly for our organization.

Mark B.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Excellent Solution for Expense Report Automation

Reviewed on 20/5/2020

Chrome River has been such a valuable tool for our Firm, especially with the challenges raised by COVID-19. Our ability to work with EXPENSE remotely was unaffected.

Pros

The OCR capability is fantastic...expenses can be captured from anywhere using any device and interpreted as accurately (in many case more so) than our users! Really saves time and enforces compliance.

Cons

We really don't have anything not to like...it just works!

Todd D.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Customizable Expense Reporting Made Easy

Reviewed on 10/6/2019

Huge benefit from the perspective of check printing and reconciling, less time for Accounts Payable to work through and sort paperwork and being able to use the A/P staff in other, more productive way was critical. When we lost a staff member we decided not to replace them because of the efficiency Chrome River gave us. We likely have the capacity to downsize another FTE but we will wait for either a retirement or someone to leave on their own.

Pros

Investing time on the front end of this product is well worth the results in the end and the overall buy-in of fellow employees. Keeping the initial screen simple is the key to employee adoption rates being higher than normal.

Designating an implementation person or two (cross-training is key) is all that is needed. Do not rely on the partner from Chrome River to tell you what you need. They will interview you and guide you but the important thing to remember is that this will be your software to operate once it is ready to be deployed.

Cons

Not much honestly. When I implemented it there wasn't much OCR technology built in but that was something that was being developed.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Great base product with fantastic add-ons on the horizon

Reviewed on 22/8/2019

Fantastic customer service with a quality product that allows a lot of flexibility regarding expense reporting.

Pros

Able to customize all aspects of the expense reporting, and easy to use functionality in every way.

Cons

Difficult to utilize 3rd party connectors for systems such as FinancialForce.

Sarah P.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 51-200 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Chrome River Expense Reporting

Reviewed on 16/3/2020

Pros

This software is very intuitive for the front-end user while handling all of the needs of the back-end user with all of the options of customization to fit the product to the company's needs like a glove.

Before we selected this product, we had a list of everything we wanted and then went to market. Every single product we demoed was lacking many items on our list. Right when we were about to give up, we demoed Chrome River and felt very confident with selecting this product.

The 1-2-3-Go Implementation was one of the best and quickest implementations I have ever been through. Communication and understanding as well as the technological knowledge was spot on.

Three months later things are still running super smooth, and customer service is great. Couldn't be more happy!

Cons

Honestly, at this point there is not anything that we have encounter that there has not been a resolution to.

Maurita E.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Chrome River Expense system

Reviewed on 17/2/2017

Chrome River is light years ahead of the previous system we used. It is user friendly for the most part. It has reduced the work load in our Accounts Payable Department tremendously. Chrome River is much easier for navigate and to use to assist our staff in researching problems with their reports. There are a few things I don't care for, such as how you enter account allocations and how the system allows staff to enter an account allocation wrong by giving it an alias and then telling them the account is wrong when they try to submit the report. It should just tell them it is wrong in the beginning to avoid all the corrections they need to make later. Otherwise, it is great and the service is great also!

Pros

Ease of use

Cons

How you enter account allocations.

Ewelina J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Chrome River Experience

Reviewed on 5/8/2020

Pros

Great integration with our ERP system (PeopleSoft). Nice features like Snapp App, Uber integration. Really easy workflow process. Nice, user friendly design

Cons

I don;t see any disadvantages so far. App is stable, in case of any issue we have the service desk for the support we need

Carolina L.
Overall rating
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

Chrome River has improved our overall expense management

Reviewed on 15/6/2018

Pros

the ease of use and accessibility. users can upload receipts on the go, approve and review reports, and have historical access of their submitted expense reports.

Cons

I wish all users were as excited as I am about it. We've found that it takes a bit of time to adjust, but the overall response has been very positive

Hester A.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

CR Review

Reviewed on 24/2/2020

Overall, users are able to submit requests and be reimbursed quicker.

Pros

I like the ease of use and the ability to have all information in one place.

Cons

The ability to make changes sometimes involves higher Customer Support involvement and the lack of response is critical to our business.

Richard H.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Information Technology & Services
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great system, easy to use

Reviewed on 11/1/2017

We have found Chrome River to be the best fit for our expense management. We have been able to build in rules which cover all of our internal policies, as well as routing to specific approvers.

This has saved us countless hours per day in chasing approvals and expense claims.

Pros

The flexibility and ease of use

Cons

Original version is a little slow, especially when loading

Lottayne W.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Chrome River travel expense system scheduled to go live this summer.

Reviewed on 8/4/2019

We are hopeful Chrome River will provide a faster turn around for reimbursements to travelers. We also hope the excitement over the system's features will make transition more appealing for our end users.

Pros

While our campus will go live within the next 2 1/2 months, our end users are excited about discontinuing a manual system and have been sold on CR Snap. The end users appreciate the ability to track their reports allowing them to identify who has yet to approve their report. We are hopeful the entire campus will be as enthusiastic as our testers are.

The travel audit staff enjoys having Chrome River configured with university travel policies which assists the end users with proper reporting.

Chrome River imports from the ERP system allow the display of check information and payment break down for easy reference while reviewing submitted reports.

Cons

The travel audit staff in accounting is accustomed to correcting account codes during the final audit process before the payment is made in the ERP system. Items will now have to be returned to the traveler for correction then back to the travel audit staff for review again before payment is processed in the ERP system.

Ken F.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Been on ChromeRiver Expense for over two years and our users are very happy with the product.

Reviewed on 22/5/2018

Pros

The user interface is very easy to use. We have the person load feeding from our HR data, so new employees are automatically fed into the system. When an employee leaves they are also removed from ChromeRiver

Cons

The itemizing of hotel bills has been an issue when the hotel does not send all the information. Not really a chromeriver issue, because the hotel is not sending the information, but the users see it as a problem with ChromeRiver. This process has gotten much better since we originally went on the system

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Chrome River Review

Reviewed on 18/1/2019

Pros

Chrome River is a great expense management tool. We use it for personal expenses and visa cards. Users love the easy to use and pretty interface

Cons

Initial setup takes some time and is difficult to customize outside of what Chrome River offers.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Chrome River Review

Reviewed on 23/1/2019

Overall, CR is easy to use. Depending on your firm, itemizing each and every expense can be burdensome. The software can also be pretty slow at times.

Pros

Depending on routing preferences of your firm, it can be difficult to use. For my international firm, there are so many routing numbers and budget groups that I wish Chrome River made suggestions on which are best to use.

Cons

The software has certain areas that require you to re-do completely instead of correct.

Mohamad S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Best expense system out there

Reviewed on 29/12/2020

Pros

The software was easy to use right off the bat.

Cons

The reporting was lagging a few things. But with a little extra training. We got it up and running. It's amazing.

Davette C.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Easy Expenses

Reviewed on 3/3/2020

I really love this system and it has streamlined our invoicing and expensing.

Pros

I appreciate how easy it is to submit expenses for reimbursement and invoices for payment. I especially like the feature that allows you to scan your invoice directly to Chrome River which saves time having to upload it.

Cons

I wish I could edit invoices after they've been submitted.

Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Higher Education
  • Company size: 501-1,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Great way to bring our University into the 21st century and strive for paperless expense...

Reviewed on 10/5/2018

Auotmation

Pros

The routing rules, compliance rules and the ease of being able to track items quickly. Enabling the user to have more flexibility in timing and to not spend the majority on their time on "paper-work" shuffling. Creating an "all-in-one" place for reporting and multiple functions that can reduce headaches from both the fund manager, auditor, payables' team and the users.

Cons

The platform becoming not a fully functional system and the fix for the problem taking months to correct when all of the programming and configuration was completely in tact prior to any "upgrade" globally.

Rich M.
Overall rating
  • Used Weekly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

this system was a big improvement over our old expense reporting process

Reviewed on 12/5/2017

automated business process workflow and policy controls.

Pros

we like the way we can build our policies and routing rules into the software. the system was easily configured to our preferences.

Cons

there are some limitations in the way we like the user interface to be displayed and the email approval template formats. we have worked around these things.

Michael G.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 10,000+ Employees
  • Used Other for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Can take pics of your receipts

Reviewed on 5/12/2020

It provides more detail than the previous expense software we used.

Pros

You can take pictures of your receipts to provide evidence of your expenses and chrome will often correctly guess it is a meal expense.

Cons

It can still take a long time to log all my expense. The function to read the amount from the receipt doesn't always work.

Janyce J.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Law Practice
  • Company size: 201-500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Chrome River is helping our firm streamline expense entry and reporting

Reviewed on 10/1/2017

We have only been live for three months. But we are already experiencing ease in entering expenses, speed in the approval process, great tracking ability and reporting. Thumbs up.

Pros

Ease in entering costs, tracking of costs, reporting, streamlined approvals.

Cons

Rejecting an expense or invoice for any reason, after a certain point in the process requires the user to start from scratch in getting it entered.

Lisa B.
Overall rating
  • Used Monthly for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Works okay to track expenses

Reviewed on 19/3/2018

Pros

What is useful about ChromeRiver is being able to store receipts & add for my expense report. You can have as many reports as you want for a given month.

Cons

Something I don't like is that you can't (or I haven't found out how) to edit the Name/Title of an expense report. I have to delete it & start over with proper name. Also, unless I check on another screen prior, I can't see how I've formatted the titles for past months to make the naming consistent.

Nitin S.
Overall rating
  • Industry: Logistics & Supply Chain
  • Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Overall its a good tool in some of the expense tracking and reporting

Reviewed on 15/2/2021

Its a great tool and user friendly.

Pros

Its built in reports which helps in analysing spend.

Cons

It should have feature to auto audit and approve.