Sage 50cloud Accounting

3.8 (330)
Cloud-connected accounting solution for small business

Overall rating

3.8 /5
(330)
Value for Money
3.5/5
Features
3.6/5
Ease of Use
3.7/5
Customer Support
3.4/5
Sort by

330 Reviews

Prof Cephas
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 1,001–5,000 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Super Integrated Cloud Accounting and Finance app

Reviewed on 15/1/2022

I found this accounting software to be very useful mainly to small and medium size companies and to a limited extent, to some large companies. It performs all the basic accounting functions relating to accounts receivables and accounts payables, inventory management, cash management and budgeting and compiling and producing financial statements.

Pros

1. Sage 50c offers user friendly navigation tools such as the menu bar, the tool bar, system navigation and
function and shortcut keys.
2. The software has cloud storage
3. A user can easily create and setup a new company using the Auto Setup facility
4. One can also easily create and edit general ledger accounts, inventory categories/items, supplier and
customer accounts, among others.
5. A user can easily import/export data from other sources. This saves a lot of time.
6. The software is integrated with other apps, for example, Microsoft emails and excel

Cons

1. Sage 50c requires proper and adequate training. The training is expensive
2. On average, it is expensive to buy this accounting package.
3. The integration with other apps (accounting and non-accounting) is still limited.
4. Sage 50c does not run on some operating systems, for example, windows NT.

Brandon
Overall rating
  • Industry: Package/Freight Delivery
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Sage 50 Review

Reviewed on 14/5/2019

Sage has always been helpful through online or phone calls whenever you need them. Find the right consultant for you, and you experience improves.

Pros

There is alot of things that are already set up for you to just hit the ground running and a lot of items integrated into the system to help small businesses that need a solution but no time to customize a whole system.

Cons

Sage 50 allows for minimal customization from their out of the box set up software. This plays as an advantage, but does not allow you to get the information you want in the view you want.

Alternatives Considered

Quickbooks Online

Reasons for Switching to Sage 50cloud Accounting

Seemed like more flexibility for our company to grow with instead of needing to upgrade at certain numbers of users, employees, or items.
John
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Good...But A Little Expensive

Reviewed on 13/8/2018

I use the Canadian version of the software. I suspect it's basically the same as the American version, except for sales tax and payroll, but I would check a review of that version for any American users.

Pros

Sage 50 is an easy-to-use piece of accounting software aimed at SMEs (small and medium-sized enterprises), and it is one of QuickBooks' major competitors.

It's fairly easy to find people who are familiar with Sage 50. That's a plus for small businesses looking to find an employee or outside service provider to take care of their books.

If you are looking to do the books yourself, Sage 50 is relatively easy to learn. They have thorough tutorials available to walk you through the basics.

Major transactions are grouped together under tabs on the left-hand navigation panel. The various workflows--receivables, payables, inventory and services, employees and payroll, and a 'company' category--are all shown graphically. Each task within a major area is represented as a labeled icon, making it is to start a new transaction from this screen. The 'company' link is a catch-all category, including general journal entries, the chart of accounts and tools for managing your data and accounting tasks.

Virtually every report that a small business could need is available in Sage 50.

Cons

I found Sage 50 to be glitchy in the past. I have spent too many hours on hold or on a call with their tech support.

I use the payroll-included version of Sage 50. I also have a support package. In all, that's not competitively priced. If it weren't for the fact that some clients have been using this software for years and are reimbursing me for the cost of the software, I would not be using it. QuickBooks is a better value.

Ashley
Overall rating
  • Industry: Nonprofit Organisation Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Ease of use

Reviewed on 13/2/2023

SAGE 50 meets the needs of our organization. AP an AR features are easy to use and easy to learn. I have been using it for several years and find it easy to work with.

Pros

SAGE allows you to track all AP and AR with ease of use. It allows for project accounting which is very important to our organization.

Cons

There could be room to adjust financial reports. For example, HST is important for tracking and it's not easy to pull reports that show true HST.

Jeannette
Overall rating
  • Industry: Insurance
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Weekly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 9.0 /10

Great for small business

Reviewed on 6/12/2022

Pros

Monthly, Quarterly Reporting and Payroll .

Cons

Inventory . Was not a feature that I would ever use.

Alternatives Considered

Quickbooks Online

Reasons for Switching to Sage 50cloud Accounting

Comfort level and the ability to pay bills on my own.
Anthony
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Ethically bankrupt company

Reviewed on 24/8/2022

Sage is a money grabbing company that is forcing customers who bought a perpetual licence to either move to another accounting solution, loose all there data or pay Sage almost £2000 a year to keep using a product that they have already bought. This is completely immoral. Think twice before trusting anything Sage promises!

Pros

Good product with lots of useful features.

Cons

A simply version with stock control would be great

David
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 2.0 /10

Works well but very dated

Reviewed on 12/9/2022

It's old but reliable, though it will soon need replacing.

Pros

I've used Sage 50 at most of my jobs, its simple, easy to use and works well for most tasks. Don't have to relearn anything after updates.

Cons

It's woefully outdated. It's 1990s software barely painted over at this point. Even after cleaning out data we had to buy a very powerful PC just to keep it going. Support wasn't much help. There's bugs in the software that have been there since I first used it decades ago.

Anthony
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Hardware
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Monthly for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

The standard in accounting software

Reviewed on 17/11/2022

Overall the experience of using Sage 50cloud Accounting is positive, their support is fantastic and hiring new accounts staff is made easier because most have seen and used Sage software somewhere in their career.

Pros

Generally speaking, Sage 50cloud Accounting is easy to use, assuming you have an accounts background and know where everything is supposed to go. If you have never used Sage software before it will benefit you to take a short online course to learn the basics. It is easy to implement and setup, with no special requirements, and integrates well with our Order Management system, our banking and HMRC.

Cons

I feel like the software really needs to make use of a SQL/No-SQL based database system rather than the flat file-based system that it currently uses. If you are a very small business then you won't notice but we sit just at a level where the next size up of Sage product is too big. Using Sage 50cloud is frustrating once the amount of data reaches a certain size as it causes issues with performance.

Linda
Overall rating
  • Industry: Health, Wellness & Fitness
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Good Accounting Software

Reviewed on 16/2/2023

Pros

Ease of use is what we enjoyed using this software

Cons

We manufacture products therefore needed lot control however SAGE50 only allows serial lot control which made it more overall work to control our products.

Adam
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Software
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Ex user of Sage

Reviewed on 13/11/2017

Pros

The functionality available is very good, and the reporting capabilities are very good if you know how to use them.

Cons

The reporting side of Sage 50 requires a lot of knowledge which is not easily transferable. Also does not work on a Mac.

martinho
Overall rating
  • Industry: Executive Office
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I have been using the sage billing system for several years. I recommend

Reviewed on 15/2/2020

It is software that has been with me daily for several years, I'm already in tune with the program, the experience is fantastic

Pros

Very intuitive, easy to perform everyday tasks , Has very important sales charts, In the main frame we have all the necessary information, we don't need to go around opening several menus.

Cons

In my case, I cannot reconcile with my accountant , It is not easy to layout invoices is not a very easy process

Alternatives Considered

Oracle Primavera Cloud

Reasons for Choosing Sage 50cloud Accounting

It was more expensive and was not as intuitive as sage.

Switched From

Oracle Primavera Cloud

Reasons for Switching to Sage 50cloud Accounting

For the price, and the test I did was very easy, the menus are easy to learn. excellent software
Verified Reviewer
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 201–500 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

My Sage review

Reviewed on 19/1/2023

fair enough for the job

Pros

Is for small business and the accounting structure is perfect.

Cons

Not all the adding modules are on cloud, some modules are only on Premise.

Reasons for Choosing Sage 50cloud Accounting

My client needs their software in the cloud

Switched From

Microsoft Excel
Iain
Overall rating
  • Industry: Industrial Automation
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Tried and tested product with 1 foot in the cloud

Reviewed on 11/10/2021

Used for 15+ years with minimal issues. Support were always great when needed. We 'outgrew' it not in terms of number of users or quantity of data but the ability to join up more business processes and to work in a more modern cloud-based way

Pros

Accountants are very familiar with this - almost an industry standard.
Core accountancy functions are strong

Cons

Some aspects are hard for non-accountants to understand the terminology. Cloud implementation is only partial, Its a dektop product with uploads and synchronisation to other computers via cloud. We suffered several disconnects and issues that needed the remote stations to be re synced losing work. Some of the more peripheral aspects (Sales orders, purchase orders, stock management) had some limitations and there were several places where it was easy to accidentally mark every quote in the system as won if you did not have anything selected. No link to cloud payroll from sage - needed the much more expensive desktop software or manually enter payroll data into Line 50 every month

Eric
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Save yourself some frustration and don't waist your money

Reviewed on 14/12/2021

We have uses Peachtree/Sage 50 for 22+ years. The cost of use has grown exponentially and the service is useless. Its imposable to find a telephone number for support. They route all support to their automated chat system that has no comprehension of actual problems. So, after 25/30 minutes of arguing with a computer trying to get a "real person", you may or may not get connected. Then you have to reverify all the same info you just gave to "Pegg" the computer.

Once you finally reach a real person for "support", they will send you a link to a help article that you have already googled and tried. That's all the support you get! Good luck fixing it yourself.

Pros

Hard to say. Its too expensive. Support is useless. Has lots of technical glitches. Backup is unreliable.

Cons

tech support! Free tech support is included with the subscription. But if you can't talk with a real person, what's the point? When you get a real person, they only send you a "help article" that you can google.

Jason
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 6.0 /10

Used to be the standard for small business in Canada, but no longer.

Reviewed on 9/6/2017

I have recently discovered Xero and moved my accounting practice to this software. It is so simple with the convenience of being cloud-based. I now recommend Xero to my clients and given its simplicity (yet still very powerful) I can foresee clients taking charge of their own bookkeeping and getting rid of their existing bookkeepers.

Pros

Sage 50 was the accounting program I used to recommend to all my small business clients. Stable program that has most of the simple functions needed for most small businesses. Most used small business accounting software among my clients and almost all bookkeepers in our area use and have experience working solely with Sage 50.

Cons

It's not the most user-friendly program and has a reputation of being difficult for non-bookkeepers and bookkeepers alike to use properly. Sage has been slow to make it more user-friendly and were behind in moving to cloud options. Personal experience is Sage support is very slow to respond to queries.

Kathy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Hospitality
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support

All out blackmail...

Reviewed on 19/12/2017

I have been a customer for over 30 years of Simply Accounting, which changed to Sage 50 over the years. Last year I purchased the new update, as they deactivated the software I was using. This year, they want a whopping amount for one year. As a small business owner, this is an unexpected expense that is not feasible. I was on holidays when my credit card expired. told them I could not update, as I did not have card. Did it when I returned, and found out then the cost... Told them I wanted to talk to manager. They disconnected me. I can't get into my accounting software, as I can not even fix a paycheck that was previously posted. Blackmail, will be looking at other software this winter, after 30 years. Bad company policy.

Pros

The pro was that i was familiar with this software after working with it for 30 + years, but no longer. Customer support is not good.

Cons

Disconnect, with no alternative then to pay 400 % + markup. Very unhappy customer of 30 + years, will no longer be a customer

cindy
Overall rating
  • Industry: Financial Services
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Sage is awesome and you get the most for your buck

Reviewed on 15/8/2022

It is awesome. The software is very accurate for Accounting professionals

Pros

Very accurate, reliable ease of use, they are the best yet for small business owners

Cons

The payroll module is a little expensive compared to others

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise

Reasons for Switching to Sage 50cloud Accounting

ease of use, affordability
Bonnie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Software backup headache

Reviewed on 29/1/2020

Causes anxiety attacks. I have more negative things to say then I do positive. If you buy the program and upgrade and then downgrade expect to have some sleepless nights.

Pros

The software is fairly user friendly as far as reports and posting goes.

Cons

Every year you have to pay to upgrade to file and if you don't upgrade in the same version. YOU CANNOT open your back up files. Sage does not want to help they want your money. I have paid them thousands of dollars over the past 15 years and now I don't want to use the same expensive software but have downgraded to a affordable version for my little business. The computer I had the version that I could open my old files on crashed during a Microsoft update. Even though I have the backups I phoned sage to see how I could get the software back to open my backups and they told me I have to pay the fee to upgrade. I do use QBO online and much prefer this program and the people their are understanding.

Rosie
Overall rating
  • Industry: Real Estate
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Very poor customer service no support for issues which affect the business

Reviewed on 11/3/2023

we have a number of companies and the customer support for issues is very poor i am told have to wait 2 days to get access for the software i am paying for so i have to stop my business for two days so sage can help me get access the online help chats just keeps going in circle's

Pros

unable to comment as 9 out 10 times does not work

Cons

if we are paying for a service we should not wait day to access the sevice

Diane
Overall rating
  • Industry: Computer Networking
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Sage 50cloud software review. Formally Peachtree

Reviewed on 24/6/2021

Love it!! My preferred software program. Used Peachtree Software since the 90’s and then
went to this program with no problems.

Pros

This software is very user-friendly. And pretty much walks you through every step. You have numerous chances to go back and edit before you submit. If you ever make a mistake it can always be fixed. This software is very easy to teach temporary workers or new employees.

Cons

I am not real good with general ledger but it is hard to set up but once you do things work very well.

Amber
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 11–50 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 0.0 /10

Will keep charging you after cancellation

Reviewed on 4/3/2020

After cancelling my subscription Sage continued to charge my account for 5 months . After contacting customer service and being told I was owed a refund I have still not received a refund and that was 5 months ago

Pros

I use Sage 50 for my accounting , but would never purchase any service through them due to their customer service. After renewing my subscription & charging my account without authorization then continuing to charge my account after I cancelled the unauthorized renewal

Cons

Their Customer service is terrible purchasing any monthly service through them is risky , make sure you keep all bills , emails and transcripts of phone calls

JENNIFER
Overall rating
  • Industry: Wholesale
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 5.0 /10

Basic accounting program with limited customization options

Reviewed on 8/2/2018

Cheaper than other larger programs, easy to use and manage.

Pros

The dashboard feature makes using the software and locating specific functions relatively easy. Invoicing, accounts receivables and accounts payables is straightforward. Program is cheaper than other larger accounting programs.

Cons

Inventory management features are very limited, pricing options are limited. Designed really for small, basic use . Limited customization abilities. You now have to upgrade and pay for upgrade every year because it is on cloud. Customer service is horrible, very rarely can solve any problems and wait times are very long.

Tonette
Overall rating
  • Industry: Accounting
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Peachtree makes it easy for you!

Reviewed on 1/8/2018

Love this product. My favorite.

Pros

Being able to change items past and easy function for doing so. Very easy to setup g/l. I like being able to modify reports at ease. Would highly recommend this product. Bank reconciliation is also a breeze.

Cons

Very little would I change maybe making the product cheaper. When you enter timesheets and have a change after you have updated - you cannot just delete the line from weekly timesheets you have to go to the list and select line and delete. Doing it on the weekly timesheet entry leaves zeros if you just delete the line.

James
Overall rating
  • Industry: Construction
  • Company size: 51–200 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

SAGE 50 - Pcs

Reviewed on 15/8/2022

Pros

World recognised system which means our team are generally proficient in using even when no training has been provided
Easy to learn and navigate

Cons

Integration with other systems (e.g. bank feeds and in bound integration with other ERP systems) is difficult... for example, our bank is not supported so no bank feed available
Backup system can be slow sometimes
Reporting is sometimes difficult from the system itself due to difficulty in customising reports.

Chris
Overall rating
  • Industry: Retail
  • Company size: 2–10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 3.0 /10

Does The Job But Expensive

Reviewed on 18/2/2020

Overall, not too impressed. Yes it does the job, but it’s expensive and Sage keep increasing their prices year on year trying to justify uplifts on pretty useless product additions. Also the lack of ANY customer support, unless you pay for it, is pretty poor when spending so much every month.

Pros

As it’s a leading accounting software clearly it does the job and has everything you need. The range of functions is vast.

Cons

The software is quite difficult to use, training online is confusing, and a newbie would struggle in places.