1,145 reviews

Microsoft Project

Project management & collaboration software

4.3 /5 (1145 reviews) Write a Review!
Overall rating
4.3
/
5
Value for Money
4
Features
4.4
Ease of Use
4
Customer Support
4
88% recommended this app
1,145 reviews
Cesar C.
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Manager for the control and development of projects of great impact in the company

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 31/8/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Based on the experience of the use of the tool, the organizational capacity is more efficient and effective in each task, as well as the security and the status of the results offered by each member of the project. Another element to highlight is communications and how this allows improving the flow of information, thus improving the willingness of managers to take corrective action at the best times.

Pros

Of the positive things that Microsoft Project & Portfolio Management has, is that you can use a driver prioritization module to develop workshops in which executives openly discuss the issue importance of each business controller and thus be able to prioritize the strategies according to the established objectives. that's why it's an advantage to be able to prioritize commercial drivers at any level
within the organizational hierarchy Another element to highlight is the tool's management capabilities, which helps to capture the resource requirements at the beginning of the project's life cycle and all the programmed activities, providing visibility, certainty and assertive predictions about the demand future and the best thing is that it can be accessed from any device available to the members of the company.

Cons

One of the difficulties is the development of the chronogram of the different projects and the information that is offered to the teams involved in the different projects, as well as the possibility of associating one or more plans for the execution of the project and a baseline for the project. supervision, development and management and thus be able to generate changes in the various levels in a corrective manner. In addition, the implementation of the schedule change and operational capacity is difficult and prevents providing the project teams with an updated map for the execution of their tasks and therefore the delivery of a new baseline to verify progress and manage the change programmed by the bosses.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Antony S.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Easy and Comfortable Planning Software

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 10/1/2020
Review Source: Capterra

Project Planning , Cost Calculation, Cost Control , Optimizing resources to optimize project output ,

Pros

Task Adding Feature of ms Project is very Easy and We can Easily Edit order Without Any Problem, simple planning and scheduling

Cons

Cost Of resources Added Feature is Less also there must be option for creating Some regulate chart like planned progress vs Actual progress , Sn Curve Etc

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Francis carolina L.

It is the most conservative, complete and useful tool for project management.

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 30/6/2018
Review Source: Capterra

It is a complete and robust software that allows you to control the different phases of a project in progress. This translates into efficient data that allows you to make timely decisions in your company or organization.

Pros

I think that this tool is the most complete and complex of the market. It is the software that best fits the PMP methodologies. It is constantly updated. What I like is the possibility of managing different phases of the project in the same viewing window. You can manage costs, risks, critical routes, human resources and others.

Cons

It is a restrictive tool, it can only be used in Windows environments, not compatible with Linux or MAC OS. It can be expensive, but if it is acquired by a large technology company, the cost-benefit ratio is an advantage. The interface is not very friendly when you are using it for the first time. So taking a tutorial, even a basic one, could be considered before you start working with it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Verified Reviewer

I consider that it is the most used tool worldwide to manage projects because it allows an efficient

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 19/6/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I consider that it is the most used tool worldwide to manage projects because it allows an efficient administration of resources, quickly converts proposals and ideas into operational projects, plans and manages small and large projects, standardizes more and more processes to improve the functioning and facilitate project management, visualize the performance of our projects and resources, detect trends, manage risks more easily, identify problems or areas for improvement. I'm sure there are more advantages to this product

Cons

For many years I use and prefer this tool because I have never presented any type of inconvenience with it. Recommended to manage projects 100%

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Germán andrés C.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

An essential tool for the project manager

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 20/6/2017
Review Source: GetApp

Pros

Microsoft Project is one of those tools that every project manager must learn to use. It has a lot of great features for the beginner to the expert in project management. You can easily plan and forecast activities, assign resources and even get a full project cash flow. I use it to plan project activities, assign resources and detect when they are overcharged and if you use a baseline you can get control of project deviations. You can find a lot of functionalities that can grow as your needs of project management and knowledge of the tool evolve. There are a lot of good content about how to use it properly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Maxxine R.
Industry: Oil & Energy
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Microsoft Project for the Consultant

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 13/4/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Microsoft Project has a lot of really great features provided you purchase the correct version for your needs otherwise, just like any other software, it will not perform to your expected satisfaction.

Pros

Lots of different views for the same data input. Allows for individuals to have different time schedules built in and different cost centers and rates to pull from across multiple assets. Most of our clients use this software and allows for easy transfer of schedules.

Cons

Because there are so many features the learn, it can be daunting to learn how everything fits together. Although this is an early Con, in the long term, the functionality is worth the perseverance.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Genieve P.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Yay or Nay Microsoft PPM

Used Other for 2+ years
Reviewed on 28/3/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Entire project in the field is what we use this software for . This is a great tool for PM's to keep dates on track and to make sure they are not supposed to be installing in 2 different areas at the same time.

Pros

This software is by far hands down for scheduling your projects. I only use this software to set up the basics of a new project and the PM's will go in and fill out the dates. This software is great because you can see a visual of how long your duration is for each section of your project. Example would be if you are installing glass on 1 section of the building and how long it would take field guys need to be done, then you would plug in your dates and it tells you if you are overlapping on installation. Which is good to know so if that happens you can adjust accordingly.

Cons

I am still learning and I actually have 2 classes coming up that I will attending for training. Hopefully I can become fluent in this software and use it to it's full potential.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Heyonil L.

It is excellent for consultancy purposes. We create our portfolio and work in harmony.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 19/6/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Saving time and practicality.

Pros

The management of the projects through this software is extremely easy and practical. You can visualize the progress of your projects immediately and visualize the percentage of compliance with it, in addition to relating the necessary resources for those projects. Of the best.

Cons

Initially it can be a little complex to relate to software resources but once you identify them, there is nothing stopping you. Sometimes the programming of automatic tasks can become cumbersome but these details are already at the user's expense.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Industry: Higher Education
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

MS Project Review

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/12/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

I've used MS Project on several projects throughout my career. Project scheduling has never been easier as the auto-schedule configuration allows you to factor in dependencies, start/end dates, number of days to complete task and much more. You can also sync this software with O365 which is very convenient when working with cross-functional teams. Projects can be complex, however, scheduling doesn't have to be.

Cons

My only negative regarding this software is that it's costly. But, you get what you pay for!

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Sherry B.
Industry: Human Resources
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Complex but offers major benefits!

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 18/2/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I love this software! I wish there was a cheap student version available... that was NOT subscription based as I would love to be able to use it at home!

Pros

The software has great templates to allow for easy starting of a new project, and maintaining of consistency across multiple projects. There are timelines that allow you to see that status easily. The reports are great! I am an analyst, so the reporting on the project status is very important to me. These are dashboard reports with great visuals.

Cons

For those that understand how to use Microsoft Project, the learning curve is easy on this. Without any Project background, it will take a while, but it is worth it.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 7.0/10

Charith R.
Industry: Shipbuilding
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Best project management tool from Microsoft

Used Daily for 1+ year
Reviewed on 17/9/2019
Review Source: Capterra

As an electrical engineer during my work hour and my daily workload, there are a lot of projects to management. In some busy seasons, many projects related both ships to building and ship repairing. Therefore it is very complex management these type of many projects without Microsoft PPM.

Pros

This software offers a lot of tools to manage project regardless of type and size. There are tools extract data from Microsoft product and other software easily. Also, we can keep track of each task of the project and progress.

Cons

For new users, it takes some time to learn how to use some tools. Also sometimes it very complex to learn.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Mk N.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 201-500 Employees

It makes you an efficient project manager.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 20/1/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

This application helped me become a better managing operations. It helps you maximize your time managing projects - from planning to commissioning, to monitoring materials, manpower and project progress with gant charts that you may need for management meetings.

Cons

To really enjoy using this application you have to learn its features. It is not something anyone can just use.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Scott G.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 11-50 Employees

User friendly, attractive schedules

Used Weekly for 2+ years
Reviewed on 5/12/2016
Review Source: Capterra

we utilize MS Project for all of our construction project schedules, from over all site phasing plans, to the complete duration schedule all they way down to our detailed three week look ahead schedules.

Pros

This software is simple to use. There are similarities between it and other MS suite programs. The functionality is endless and can be utilized for several different aspects of the construction process. TI can integrate with our online project management software to further its capabilities and help with our open communication and change management through all parties involved in our projects.

Cons

The first few times you will need to hunt around for some of the features that should be obvious, like spell check and page layout formatting, but once you know where to find it, operation is simple.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Maristel E.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 5,001-10,000 Employees

Never been this easy

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 12/12/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

The simplicity of this software and the things that it can offer like how we can monitor every element on each tasks. Even the man power planning can be incorporated on this module which is very helpful and beneficial so we don't need to check into other software or system.

Cons

Maybe add some kanban system like color coding and more. Will just wait for the next upgrades to come.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Tyler D.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Easy and Quick for Making a Schedule on a Project

Used Weekly for 1+ year
Reviewed on 24/2/2019
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Most of the project managers in my office use Microsoft Project to do all of their scheduling. I found that it was pretty easy to figure out if you are decent at other Microsoft's software such as excel. You can make a critical path that is dependent on finishing until other items can start. For example we have to poor the slab before we can start framing. Project is easy to adjust when things change as well. I am having to adjust the schedule a couple times a month because it is constantly changing. It automatically calculates working days and takes out the weekends. I would recommend any project manager try this out for their scheduling.

Cons

I think it could be a little more user friendly for first time users. It would maybe be helpful to have more wizards to guide you through the planning. Once you figure it out though it is pretty simple.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Jafet O.
Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering
Company size: 11-50 Employees

Best software to create schedules for a construction project.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 11/5/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

It is an easy program to use. If you have used other Microsoft products you will find that the ribbon is very easy to use when creating activities, assigning duration, resources and generating the different reports provided by the program.

Cons

Sometimes you have to close the program and open it again to recognize specific changes in the report tool to create reports.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Teresa herbic H.
Industry: Telecommunications
Company size: 10,000+ Employees

Microsoft Project is Great for a Thorough Project Plan

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 22/10/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Great program. Thank you!

Pros

I loved this program for product development project planning. The comprehensive nature of the program allows you to submit step-by-step project action items that can be assigned and then implemented.

Cons

I never had any problems with this program. I love it and enjoy the ability to thoroughly submit step-by-step planning stages.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Gaspar G.
Industry: Food & Beverages
Company size: 1,001-5,000 Employees

very good for small and large projects and easy to use and implement in practice

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 2/3/2018
Review Source: Capterra

ease in planning and controlling daily tasks as well as projects

Pros

I like very much because it includes many components that have to do with project from the human resources management to the control of costs for each activity

Cons

At the beginning it is very difficult to understand and do project with this tool has complex steps to make cost plan

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Dun D.
Industry: Financial Services
Company size: 11-50 Employees

I use word for my job

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 21/4/2019
Review Source: Capterra

I create a lot of contract and a lot of business offer

Pros

I like this because I easy can make a new contract or some text document with good tools

Cons

If I made some document on my pc and after that I want to open this document on my laptop, this document don't looks good because of its not responsive.

Rating breakdown

Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 9.0/10

Stevan B.
Industry: Architecture & Planning
Company size: 51-200 Employees

Microsoft Project opinion

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 17/8/2017
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Well developed product hard to beat in performance.

Pros

Easy to use and redo changes. Easy to learn. Lot of instruction manuals and templates available at Microsoft template site for Project

Cons

Pricing.
Will be nice if we could tie with some accounting software directly. In that case we have budget and very accurate accruals happened instantly.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Stephanie S.
Industry: Pharmaceuticals
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Project-able

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 25/10/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

When I first became aware of this software I found it to be very intimidating. I had to teach myself on how to use it. I found I liked it a lot. It helped me with doing different project for my management team.

Cons

It was nothing I didn't like about this software. I just took time on learning on how to use.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Devin M.
Industry: Construction
Company size: 11-50 Employees

I use this product to type things up while I'm on the go.

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 8/8/2017
Review Source: Capterra

I am able to be more efficient because of this product,

Pros

I like being able to use this product while I'm on the go and I don't have to worry about stopping to use my computer to get things done.

Cons

It is difficult to save files because it is not setup like the traditional style on a PC. Once you figure it out it becomes much easier.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 8.0/10

Ron O.
Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing
Company size: 501-1,000 Employees

Best for Managing Projects

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 18/12/2018
Review Source: SoftwareAdvice

Pros

This is the best application that I've been used for several times. I can easily organize the activities and duties of my team. Easy to track the projects and it can save time and money.

Cons

It works better than other that's why I can see any negative in this application. Great and amazing tools.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10

Verified Reviewer
Company size: 201-500 Employees

The standard

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 30/7/2018
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Microsoft PPm is the stand tool for project management. Most customer have used it and are familiar with how it works! That is the a major pro.

Cons

This tool is difficult to correct dates and have actual timeline represented. You have to know workarounds or not make tasks dependent.

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 6.0/10

Jose O.
Industry: Computer Software
Company size: 2-10 Employees

Amazing

Used Daily for 2+ years
Reviewed on 7/9/2017
Review Source: Capterra

Pros

Using this software since 2010, this is how i learned how to administrate projects, and as new versions appear, new and exciting functionalities come along

Cons

licensing teams had become a challenge to small/mid size enterprises because it became too expensive, pushing us to look for other sources

Rating breakdown

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Customer Support

Likelihood to recommend: 10.0/10