About Paymo

Paymo is a work and project management solution dedicated to Marketing, Design, Creative, and Advertising Agencies, Architecture firms, Universities, Law firms, and Consulting businesses.
It allows you to manage projects, track work time, invoice your clients, get paid online, and measure profitability from the same platform.

Pricing starting from:

US$11.95/month

  • Free Version
  • Free Trial
  • Subscription

Key benefits of Paymo

- create, assign, and manage tasks
- track work time in browser, via desktop tools or mobile apps
- see who's overbooked or underbooked in Paymo's Team Scheduler
- track expenses, issue invoices to your clients and get paid online
- measure employee performance and track leave days
- comunicate with your team in real time with task comments
- proof designs faster thanks to the file proofing & versioning feature

Typical Customers

  • Freelancers
  • Small Businesses (2-50)
  • Mid-size Companies (51-500)
  • Large enterprises (500 and more)

Deployment

  • Cloud-based
  • On-premise

Markets

Austria, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada , Switzerland, Chile, Cyprus, Czechia, Germany, Denmark, Spain, France, United Kingdom, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Malta, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Sweden, Singapore, Slovenia, Slovakia, United States, South Africa

Supported Languages

Chinese, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English , Finnish, French, German, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Traditional Chinese, Turkish

Pricing starting from:

US$11.95/month

  • Free Version
  • Free Trial
  • Subscription

Images

Paymo Software - Kanban View
Paymo Software - Full Task Details
Paymo Software - Timesheets
Paymo Software - To Do List
Paymo Software - Advanced Task Management
Paymo Software - Real-time Comments and Discussions
Paymo Software - Desktop Apps
Paymo Software - Mobile Apps
Paymo Software - Team Scheduling
Paymo Software - Time Reports
Paymo Software - Invoicing
Paymo Software - Expenses
Paymo Software - Add Bulk Time
Paymo Software - Web Timer
View 18 more
Paymo video
Paymo video
Paymo video
Paymo video
Paymo Software - Kanban View
Paymo Software - Full Task Details
Paymo Software - Timesheets
Paymo Software - To Do List
Paymo Software - Advanced Task Management
Paymo Software - Real-time Comments and Discussions
Paymo Software - Desktop Apps
Paymo Software - Mobile Apps
Paymo Software - Team Scheduling
Paymo Software - Time Reports
Paymo Software - Invoicing
Paymo Software - Expenses
Paymo Software - Add Bulk Time
Paymo Software - Web Timer

Features

Total features of Paymo: 98

  • @mentions
  • API
  • Access Controls/Permissions
  • Activity Dashboard
  • Activity Tracking
  • Agile Methodologies
  • Alerts/Notifications
  • Assignment Management
  • Bar Chart
  • Billable Items Tracking
  • Billing & Invoicing
  • Budget Management
  • Calendar Management
  • Capacity Management
  • Client Portal
  • Collaboration Tools
  • Colour Codes/Icons
  • Commenting/Notes
  • Communication Management
  • Contact Database
  • Core Accounting
  • Credit Card Processing
  • Customisable Templates
  • Document Management
  • Document Storage
  • Drag & Drop
  • Electronic Payments
  • Employee Activity Monitoring
  • Estimating
  • Expense Tracking
  • File Management
  • File Sharing
  • File Transfer
  • For Creative Agencies
  • For Small Businesses
  • Gantt/Timeline View
  • Goal Setting / Tracking
  • Hourly Billing
  • Invoice Creation
  • Invoice History
  • Invoice Management
  • Invoice Processing
  • Kanban Board
  • Marketing Calendar
  • Milestone Tracking
  • Mobile Access
  • Mobile App
  • Monitoring
  • Multi-Currency
  • Multiple Projects
  • Online Invoicing
  • Percent-Complete Tracking
  • Portfolio Management
  • Prioritisation
  • Productivity Tools
  • Progress Tracking
  • Project Billing
  • Project Management
  • Project Planning
  • Project Planning/Scheduling
  • Project Scheduling
  • Project Templates
  • Project Time Tracking
  • Project Tracking
  • Project Workflow
  • Real Time Data
  • Real Time Monitoring
  • Real Time Notifications
  • Real-time Updates
  • Reminders
  • Remote Access/Control
  • Remote Support Software
  • Reporting & Statistics
  • Reporting/Analytics
  • Reporting/Project Tracking
  • Resource Management
  • Resource Scheduling
  • Single Sign On
  • Status Tracking
  • Tagging
  • Task Editing/Updating
  • Task Management
  • Task Planning
  • Task Progress Tracking
  • Task Scheduling
  • Task Tagging
  • Third Party Integrations
  • Time & Expense Tracking
  • Time Tracking
  • Time Tracking by Client
  • Time Tracking by Project
  • Time Zone Tracking
  • Timer
  • Timesheet Management
  • Traditional Methodologies
  • Visualisation
  • Web-based Deployment
  • Workflow Management

Alternatives

Things

4.9
#1 Alternative to Paymo
Things by Cultured Code is a task management software designed to help iOS, Mac, and Apple Watch users handle structured...

Adobe Workfront

4.3
#2 Alternative to Paymo
Plan, execute, and deliver great work with a single source of project truth across the enterprise. Adobe Workfront...

Zoho Projects

4.2
#3 Alternative to Paymo
A completely reimagined UI, enhanced search and filters, easywork allocation, new portfolio dashboard, and more to...

Wrike

4.3
#4 Alternative to Paymo
Wrike is a collaboration & project management tool that helps users manage projects from start to finish, providing...

Reviews

Overall rating

4.7 /5
(437)
Value for Money
4.6/5
Features
4.5/5
Ease of Use
4.6/5
Customer Support
4.7/5

Already have Paymo?

Software buyers need your help! Product reviews help the rest of us make great decisions.

Showing 5 reviews of 437
Krystle Chanel
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: Self Employed
  • Used Daily for 6-12 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

I finally found the one!

Reviewed on 26/6/2020

It is important to note that Paymo isn't idle in enhancing its software. Not only that, but new...

It is important to note that Paymo isn't idle in enhancing its software. Not only that, but new features are thoughtful and integrated seamlessly with the tool. I appreciate this because I have used other software that seem to have their priorities mixed up when releasing enhancements; adding things that don't move the needle ahead of things that do.

Pros

After years of using project management software for both myself and companies I've worked for, I found the right tool for the job for my personal, small business as a marketing coach and online entrepreneur.

Until I build a team, I'm using Paymo for myself, and other tools are not always price-sensitive for a solo user. I appreciate that Paymo provides an option to pay for one user until I'm ready to grow.

A particular feature I was looking for was the option to view all projects on a single Kanban board. In the rare case that I found this option, it was a significant upgrade to acquire. But Paymo offers this and it's super easy to use!

Other features I love:
- Time-tracking/timesheet: Visual representation of where my time goes. I use the in-app timer every day.
- Flexible viewing options: I can easily switch between list, table, board, and Gantt views, with easy to use filters that allow me to see exactly what I want. No custom reports or views need created - which can be time-consuming and inflexible (enterprise tools).
- Note: The user experience of the Gantt chart was also what I was looking for. It is drag and drop and allows you to adjust your timeline from within the view.

There's so much to love about Paymo! And that is saying a lot coming from someone who has researched and used as many tools as I have - including enterprise solution, Workfront.

Paymo is definitely worth giving a try!

Cons

I wish there was a way to invite collaborators/reviewers like there is in Asana. If I want a coaching client to be able to collaborate, there is no way to do this without paying for another user.
This is superficial, but, the name! When I tell people about Paymo, they immediately think it's a financial tool, not a project management tool, based on the name. I would hate for this to hold Paymo back in the market.

Reasons for Choosing Paymo

I switched from Asana, Teamwork, and Things. I was looking for a tool with a kanban board option that allowed me to view tasks across all of my projects and I needed a cost-effective tool for someone who is currently solo but building a business. Asana was cost-prohibitive in that I could not pay for a single user, but had to pay for 5 minimum. Also, the kanban board option I was looking for was an additional upgrade for Asana and Teamwork, making these options even more expensive. Additionally, user experience was a factor. Asana generally has a good UI but I just like Paymo better. Teamwork has some work to do in this regard.

Switched From

Asana

Response from Paymo

You sure did your researh, Krystle, thank you for the review :)

Actually, we're working on an improved client portal with in-app access to guest users, so they can collaborate with you on the same page. This is our #1 priority atm, so stay tuned!

As for our name, this goes back more than 10 years when we started out as a time tracking and billing tool. The purpose was to use the app and GET PAID MORE, hence Paymo :)

Hope this helps, thank you again!

Jaime
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 10.0 /10

Jaime Zubiaur

Reviewed on 18/11/2022

The control of the hours assigned to a project is Paymo's most useful tool. It lets you know...

The control of the hours assigned to a project is Paymo's most useful tool. It lets you know quickly if a project is using more resources than expected.

Pros

Although it has many functions, it is very easy to use and allows you to manage many projects with a global view of them.

Cons

I don't like the way the invoices are issued. I don't like that the list of tasks appears on the invoices. For a creative studio I think it detracts from the value. That's why we don't invoice using Paymo's tools, and it's a shame because I find the accounting charts very interesting.

Cameron
Overall rating
  • Industry: Marketing & Advertising
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1-5 months
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 1.0 /10

Monopolize you cause you can't export ANYTHING easily

Reviewed on 8/1/2020

Would NOT recommend it to anyone who has even the slightest of "outside the box" process for...

Would NOT recommend it to anyone who has even the slightest of "outside the box" process for projects or billing/invoices.

Pros

Yet another system that after several months of use only did what we needed it too at 75% of the way, then AFTER buying into the "huge discount" and special they had going, did I find out they do not allow refunds at all!

If you put ANY data into the system and ever need to export it for any reasons ...find a data entry person and hope you didn't enter a lot of information because unless you are a developer that can setup custom API's...your info is stuck in their system!
You can enter clients, companies, etc. and change view to "Table" and see it in table mode, but that view still only gives you the general company information, NOT the contacts for that company and that is 1 of 2, yes that is right 2 places in the entire system of everything you may have entered where you can download/export that view into Excel/CSV file....everything else is PDF if you are lucky!!

If you are a VERY small, VERY basic bookkeeping/accounting freelancer (NO TEAM, just you and very basic billing) - fine, it may work...but if you have more than 1 person in your team other than you, have different rates or even the SLIGHTEST out of the norm billing or cycles...GOOD LUCK!!!

I am furious with this system after being told what it could do and I explained in detail, and "oh yeah, that is not a problem at all"...only to find out, everything I explained about what we needed, went in one ear and out the other just to make the sale...now I have a barely usable system and wasted $$$$!!

Cons

Can't export anything unless you have a developer standing bye.
System is very "inside the box" thinking even after being told it would easily do what I had explained that I needed it to do
support seems to take longer than usual and they are quick to respond with an answer that has NOTHING to do with what you originally asked (bots maybe?!?!)
Can't get a refund, no matter how many lies they told you to make the sale in the first place!!!

Response from Paymo

Hi Cameron,

Sorry to see you disappointed. Our goal is to help you improve the way you work, not to sell you on something.

Indeed, you can export client, project, user lists, as well as time reports in csv format - invoices and Gantt Charts are available in PDF only.

However, due to the fact that there's no standardised data structure for project management data, the only practical way to export it is via our API.

And no, we're no bots, and don't force anyones hand to make a sale.

Heike
Overall rating
  • Industry: Education Management
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 1+ year
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Ease of Use
  • Customer Support
  • Likelihood to recommend 7.0 /10

Helpful!

Reviewed on 10/9/2022

Pros

It helped me a lot in my billing routing and planning work. Made my work schedule so much easier. Very useful app for my company.

Cons

I asked customer service for help on a few issues, but unfortunately there was no response, other than that it was a good experience.

Sean
Overall rating
  • Industry: Graphic Design
  • Company size: 2-10 Employees
  • Used Daily for 2+ years
  • Review Source

Overall rating

  • Value for Money
  • Ease of Use
  • Likelihood to recommend 8.0 /10

Paymo helps my team and I every single day

Reviewed on 17/11/2022

It's has been really great. Honestly cant even imagine changing or going back to manually billing...

It's has been really great. Honestly cant even imagine changing or going back to manually billing or manually keeping time on projects.

Pros

I like how easy it is to use. It's very easy to bill for projects, create projects, set up reminders & see project status.

Cons

When you set a task to have a start date & end date. That task always gets dropped to the bottom of the list. So if you have something scheduled for 1/1/2022 & another for 1/1/2022-1/14/2022. The last one will go towards the end of the list near the 14th as apposed to the top towards the 1st

Showing 5 reviews of 437 Read all reviews

Paymo FAQs

Below are some frequently asked questions for Paymo.

Paymo offers the following pricing plans:

Free - For 1 user Free for Universities, Colleges, and Schools Starter - $4.95 / user / month Small Office - $9.56 / user / month Business - $20.79 / user / month

Paymo has the following typical customers:

Self Employed, 2-10, 11-50, 51-200, 201-500

Paymo supports the following languages:

Chinese, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Traditional Chinese, Turkish

Paymo supports the following devices:

Android (Mobile), iPhone (Mobile), iPad (Mobile)

Paymo integrates with the following applications:

Adobe Illustrator, Google Calendar, Google Docs, Google Drive, Jotform, LambdaTest, Make, Pabbly Connect, PomoDone App, Quickbooks Online, Rethink, Slack, Typeform, Xero, Zapier

Paymo offers the following support options:

Email/Help Desk, FAQs/Forum, Knowledge Base, Chat

Related categories

See all software categories found for Paymo.